7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Traders Kopitiam! V8

TC-Titan
post Oct 4 2015, 05:15 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

Guys, just wondering, I know some of you are Long term investors, some short term investors, some are pure traders, some play purely intra-day trading.

So what is your cut-loss level that you usually set based on the above methods of investing/trading? (e.g 1%, 5%, 10%, 15%)

Some people don't cut-loss, so end up being a long term investor and some become a forever and ever investor. sweat.gif

Or if you believe in the stock, you will continue to average down?
TC-Titan
post Oct 4 2015, 08:11 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Oct 4 2015, 06:48 PM)
Dude...
You need to know yourself first.
You know the Sun Tzu stuff?
Before you go to war, you need to know yourself first....

Knowing what kind of player you are is far most important.
For example...you can know all the hop haa about trading....
But.....

If you cannot cut ( despite knowing the importance )...
Then....it's common sense you should not be a trader...

Or if you wanna be an investor...
And you know all you want to know about investing....
But....somehow....
You might be one who is easily swayed by early and easy profits...
You would end up always selling fast and short...
Unable to build good profits....
And might even end up holding a portfolio of stocks....
just cos they are paper losses....

Know yourself first....

So who are you?

tongue.gif
Knowing yourself is one thing. But I believe if u want to do well or even try to survive in the market and make money, u need to be versatile and keep honing/improving your skills along the way.

U must know how to be a trader and investor for different type of investment objective, different type of company's, different type of circumstances and timing, just like what Pinky said.

Not one method applies to all companies all the time right.

U can use two methods or more for one company. Whichever poison u choose as long as can make money.

I'm just trying to gauge some of the styles/strategies the veterans are using. Can learn from discussion and improve from there ma.

So to answer your question, I am doing both. I do cut-loss when I am doing short-term trading, at 5 to 10%.

For stocks, which I believe in their biz model, prospects and FA, then I will average down (if downtrend) or just hold and ride the wave.

TC-Titan
post Oct 5 2015, 09:24 AM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Oct 4 2015, 09:00 PM)
My poison to you.... don't  laugh.gif
I always use only one method...
the one best method that suits me...
I don't believe in using more than one method.

If I know I am good at investing...
I will just be an investor...
And if I know I am good at trading...
I will stick with trading...

I just do not believe in using many methods.
Ooooh....
Short term trading... ?

I do not do short term trading.
Why?
It's not that I cannot skin a trade...
It's not that I cannot day trade...
It's just that I know myself...
I discovered myself after years of just paper trading.
And what I know is...
I cannot do short term trading...
It's just who I am.
So I avoid it.

But that's just me...
Who knows....
You might be a good short term trader.
pssst.... We are discussing. laugh.gif
For me... these stuff... ie finding out what one is good at... these are the very important first steps....

pssst.... I paper traded for many years.  biggrin.gif
I think it is outright stupid to mess around and pay tuition fees....
Money is always hard earned...
I respect money too much.....  tongue.gif
So I don't mess around...

pssst.... if you insist...
for short term trading....
use 6% cut loss....

pssst.... if you are an investor.... averaging down...
I know...
common saying is...
you are getting the same good thing but cheaper...
so you buy more ... ie you average down...
the risk?
such thinking leads to mistakes....
why?
sometimes... you invest the stock...
the price goes down.....
what IF...
what if... the main reason why the price goes down.... is invested wrongly?
ie... you could either pay too much for your initial investment...
or... you simply made a wrong judgement call on the investment...
either way...
when you average down....
you are simply buying more of your initial mistake.... wink.gif
Nice sharing Master Jedi Boon3. May the force be with you~
thumbup.gif

On the last part, it can be subjective...

U won't know from one qtr result or from sudden change in price patterns when there is no announcement on whether how u invested was wrong or not.

When people invest for long term, they should have some compelling reason (conviction) to invest. Out of the blues, when the market decide to mess around with u via a whiplash or orchestrated u-turn for the insiders to accumulate or if there is something brewing and about to announced soon, there is simply no way for u simply say your judgement was a wrong call until u receive further info to support that basis.

So normally, people who suddenly see 10 to 30% negative unrealised loss, will always either observe what is happening or accumulate more on weakness.

When things really go north 30% above losses or when the 2nd qtr results really confirm shit is happening or when there are plenty of news sprouting out everywhere that there is real shit happening, then the decision to cut-loss or to average down further is even more challenging. Put in money to a potential major falling knife or save your bullets for another rainy/shiny day?

But with that said, I think to avoid all the above drama, the best is to just be discipline and cut-loss when it has reached your preferred threshold. Go back in again at lower prices only after reassessing the whole situation objectively whether it is still worth the investment.

TC-Titan
post Oct 5 2015, 09:28 AM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Oct 5 2015, 09:15 AM)
Is it? All this while I thought you are a trader, not investor. Haha!

OOps  sweat.gif
He is using Jedi mindtricks on peons like us....

Master Jedi main Bagger, so he must be an Investor.

Very rare to see short-term traders getting baggers, unless your timing, luck and insider info is perfect.
TC-Titan

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

-delete- multipost. Internet amok/emo d.

This post has been edited by TC-Titan: Oct 5 2015, 09:32 AM
TC-Titan

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

-delete- multipost. Internet amok/emo d.

This post has been edited by TC-Titan: Oct 5 2015, 09:31 AM
TC-Titan
post Oct 5 2015, 09:38 AM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 5 2015, 09:32 AM)
Trader vs Investor

Lines are blurred lar...

Why so anal about this? doh.gif
Hahaha Monday blues wei. Please post new hawt chick avatar.

Pss: did u add on more Century lately?
TC-Titan
post Oct 5 2015, 03:15 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Oct 5 2015, 11:35 AM)
Ah.. more conspiracy...

Let see the list...  tongue.gif

1. Gain market share and destroy shale oil
2. Punish Russia over Ukraine
3. Punish ISIS to reduce thier income..
4. Punish Iran... their arch enemy
Hmmmm.... who is the dominator/dominatrix here brows.gif
TC-Titan
post Oct 6 2015, 07:30 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

More like shiok sendiri post. Tsk tsk.
TC-Titan
post Oct 7 2015, 10:01 AM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Oct 7 2015, 09:38 AM)
hell no!
tongue.gif
Lap Sap stock!
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

What looks like Lap Sap to you may appear as a rare Gem to others.

Everybody have their own "Poison".

Word of caution would be don't follow blindly.
TC-Titan
post Oct 7 2015, 10:16 AM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Oct 7 2015, 10:08 AM)
so you trade this ?  rclxms.gif
Nope. But, I understand the rational why they constantly do free-marketing for that stock.

Regardless of whether there is real turn-around case here or not, its obvious they are trading and getting easy money from those willing to follow blindly.
TC-Titan
post Oct 7 2015, 10:41 AM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Oct 7 2015, 10:15 AM)
Ah this is true. biggrin.gif

However, I was only giving Gark my honest opinion about the stock and my definition of a Lap Sap stock is a company which hardly makes more than 1 million ringgit a quarter. This is way below par.

And yes... do have your own niche when you play the market.

I am a fussy trader.
I do NOT simply trade for the sake of trading.
I do NOT simply trade any penny stock.
I do NOT treat the stock as an ATM machine where I foolishly believe I can make money on any given time.
I do NOT trade for a lousy, pathetic KFC meal. It makes no sense, betting so much money, just to win a lousy KFC meal.

Hehehe.... ya... I am a fussy trader.  tongue.gif
Your way... is the more appropriate and sustainable investment method in the long-run.
Your way... rewards you well with a good 30% return to multiple baggers.
Your way... ensures you have limited down side but tremendous upside.
Your way... requires capital protection and capital growth.
Your way... makes you exercise patience and cashflow management at the highest level.
Your way... makes you see things as it really is. No sugar-coating and extra preservatives required.

Can lock-up Boon's secret recipe for investment for success in a Coca-cola or KFC vault d. tongue.gif

TC-Titan
post Oct 7 2015, 11:39 AM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Oct 7 2015, 11:36 AM)
Let me join in....

Boon3 is the bugger
who picks his booger
while profits get bigger
more than ten bagger
but no tips for beggars
hahahahaa! Lai lai lock this up at the vault too. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

Can I add this to my sig? lolz tongue.gif
TC-Titan
post Oct 7 2015, 12:40 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Oct 7 2015, 12:28 PM)
One of the ways to learn and improve is to study those who are more successful than you. That's why people read books by famous traders or investors etc. Does not mean the methods will apply to everyone, but must try and see if it works for you. No harm in trying. But its difficult to try when you don't know the exact method....
+100

In addition to what you have just said...
You won't know what is your true potential or what is your limitations without a benchmark and continuous reassessment.

Sometimes, you can read all the books you like but still can't see how it fits in actual reality.
You can only comprehend its true significance and the possibility if there are people close to you in real life or in this virtual world (lowyat), that demonstrates the same traits as those described of super investors in books.

The interesting part is reading/interpreting in between the lines and finding out for yourself the hard way on what works and not.

TC-Titan
post Oct 7 2015, 03:34 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Oct 7 2015, 02:10 PM)
I have gamble all the way from ho hum stage to DEAD!! stage.. now taking a rest..  hopefully can reach WIN stage sweat.gif
Based on your opinion, what do you think of the odds of reaching BEYOND DEAD stage (WTI between $16 and $30)?

Regardless of the stages, I believe your investment will be well rewarded if oil price does head back to between $60 and $100.

Stock up more on "patience and bullets" for the next few years.

TC-Titan
post Oct 7 2015, 03:34 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

-delete-

This post has been edited by TC-Titan: Oct 7 2015, 03:34 PM
TC-Titan
post Oct 7 2015, 04:10 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Oct 7 2015, 03:39 PM)
some of the company may have cash flow problem before the oil price back to favourable price. then really  sweat.gif
Eh u din update your blog d? Getting mouldy n growing mushroom already lol
TC-Titan
post Oct 7 2015, 04:14 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

GHL went amok today. Why?
Ifca doing good.
Mpay hovering. Let's wait for it to explode.
TC-Titan
post Oct 7 2015, 05:02 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

What in the donkey is happening?

Goreng lvl 999 Godlike status.

TC-Titan
post Oct 7 2015, 05:12 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Oct 7 2015, 05:06 PM)
Errr..... Volume actions is more important than anything.... but then it depends on how and what kind of time frame you are trading.....

Some traders wants to react with every singe price action that they see in the chart....
They think the best is to try to profit from every spike and every down turn....
It's possible...
but for me...
ie... judging on MY OWN standard and capability la....
I cannot.....

I cannot sit still starring at the chart 10 hours a day....
I tried I cannot....
and it exposes myself to making constant decisions all the time....
this is so damn difficult.....
I could get it to maybe 45% correct on a trail period of 14 months...
but considering all factors....
this is not something I desire....
I do not want to be slave to the market.... blah, blah... bah..... tongue.gif

see?
it's like what I was saying...
know ownself first....
not everyone can be that someone....
it's not like that one....

on indicators....
every single indicator that is out there....
it's all based on the past data/factors....
think about that...
practice that long enough....
and you will see what I am trying to see....
it's not reliable...
sometimes...
it may appear to work like a charm....
but many times .... it won't...
and those times when it doesn't work...
these are the times which will hurt one badly............
so bad.... that it will take a long time to recover....

err.... you do know that you are trying to ask me to write a many moons and many cows stories.....
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

next week la....
choose a stock....
any stock....
and we do a live chat.....
you will see my limitations one....
tongue.gif
Whatever opinion/remarks/live chat/moons and cows stories you have.... there is always something for us to learn, regardless of how experienced or inexperienced we are.

So keep up the good work in being frank and sharing your honest 2 -3 cents. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TC-Titan: Oct 7 2015, 05:17 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:00 PM