Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai V2
ahmadfaizadnan
Dec 1 2017, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Dec 1 2017, 12:36 AM) Feel like getting the Schiit Jotunheim to pair with the HD6XX / Hifiman HE4XX Any other recommendations? Anything below 2k is appreciated  Schiit Jotunheim is actually pretty good especially with the balance feature. iDSD micro BL is another great option.
chiahau
Dec 1 2017, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Dec 1 2017, 10:54 AM) Schiit Jotunheim is actually pretty good especially with the balance feature. iDSD micro BL is another great option. iDSD is portable right?  Seems tempting as I do move around alot. I'll head to starpickers after their renovations to check em out. Any other recommendation?
Senpai onegai
Dec 1 2017, 12:19 PM
Hi guys! not sure if this is the place for it.. have been awhile since ive used my ASGs...
ive got a razer hammerhead pro v2 that i use for gaming, both mic and sound, but unfortunately, the cable is too short.. should i get a dac? i probably wouldnt want to spend more than 200 for a dac, but i dont think theres any dac below 200 thats worth it.
can i use cable extensions with mic and sound splitter? thanks!
Lego Warfare
Dec 1 2017, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Dec 1 2017, 11:12 AM) iDSD is portable right?  Seems tempting as I do move around alot. I'll head to starpickers after their renovations to check em out. Any other recommendation?  Audio-GD NFB 11. I just sold mine to another forumer here yesterday, and he preferred it over his Schiit stack.
ahmadfaizadnan
Dec 1 2017, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(Senpai onegai @ Dec 1 2017, 12:19 PM) Hi guys! not sure if this is the place for it.. have been awhile since ive used my ASGs... ive got a razer hammerhead pro v2 that i use for gaming, both mic and sound, but unfortunately, the cable is too short.. should i get a dac? i probably wouldnt want to spend more than 200 for a dac, but i dont think theres any dac below 200 thats worth it. can i use cable extensions with mic and sound splitter? thanks! You can get a longer third party cable. There's a lot of them in ali, ebay etc..
Senpai onegai
Dec 2 2017, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Dec 1 2017, 10:37 PM) You can get a longer third party cable. There's a lot of them in ali, ebay etc.. what are they called?
ahmadfaizadnan
Dec 2 2017, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(Senpai onegai @ Dec 2 2017, 12:00 AM) Just realized that it is not detachable. Try search for 3.5mm female to 3.5mm male cable. Something like this https://penonaudio.com/3.5mm-Cable?product_id=297
Senpai onegai
Dec 2 2017, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Dec 2 2017, 02:43 PM) Just realized that it is not detachable. Try search for 3.5mm female to 3.5mm male cable. Something like this https://penonaudio.com/3.5mm-Cable?product_id=297need mic cable also Q_Q
ahmadfaizadnan
Dec 3 2017, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(Senpai onegai @ Dec 2 2017, 11:50 PM) Yeah I guess that's true. Instead of get a dac, you can just get an amp.
betawatcher
Dec 3 2017, 10:22 AM
I just bought Genalex Gold Lion tube from vivatubes.com and they gave me a coupon code. Since I dont plan to buy a new tube anytime soon, anyone wants the code? 25% off purchase of vintage tubes!
Please PM me for the code if you're interested!
Exeunt
Dec 4 2017, 03:42 PM
hi guys, just want an opinion from sifu here....
since q1 mark ii .. sold out in most shop,
i did some googling on entry level stuff, couldnt find solid comparison
Fiio A1 vs Fiio K1,
any sifu can share some insight ?
b3x
Dec 6 2017, 10:24 AM

QUOTE(jeremycming @ Dec 6 2017, 01:22 AM) Hello, I am currently seeking advice for a portable dac/amp combo to go along with my HD6XX. Currently researching on the audioquest dragonfly red. Any sifu who got any experience or recommendations do give me some  probably need something more powerful than dragonfly. ever considered Fiio portable amp?
vincetee06
Dec 7 2017, 09:40 AM
Guys, need advice, currently deciding between Chord Mojo and Sony PHA-3 with condition below:
Player: Note 8 phone Music Source: Spotify Fav Music: Chill Mix, Pop, KPOP, Chinese Pop Earpiece: Sony IEM XBA-N3AP
Which DAC will be more benefit for me, pls advice, thanks in advance.
jeremycming
Dec 7 2017, 10:07 AM

QUOTE(b3x @ Dec 6 2017, 10:24 AM) probably need something more powerful than dragonfly. ever considered Fiio portable amp? Probably the fiio a5, but other than that, thats it...
b3x
Dec 7 2017, 01:00 PM

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Dec 7 2017, 09:40 AM) Guys, need advice, currently deciding between Chord Mojo and Sony PHA-3 with condition below: Player: Note 8 phone Music Source: Spotify Fav Music: Chill Mix, Pop, KPOP, Chinese Pop Earpiece: Sony IEM XBA-N3AP Which DAC will be more benefit for me, pls advice, thanks in advance. Note 8 sound should be ok. Is your spotify premium? If not then maybe spend that money into premium? QUOTE(jeremycming @ Dec 7 2017, 10:07 AM) Probably the fiio a5, but other than that, thats it... A5 should be good enough, depending where you listening from.
vincetee06
Dec 7 2017, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(b3x @ Dec 7 2017, 01:00 PM) Note 8 sound should be ok. Is your spotify premium? If not then maybe spend that money into premium? A5 should be good enough, depending where you listening from. Yup, i subscribed premium. So u mean even if a better DAC added won't have much improvement?
b3x
Dec 7 2017, 04:12 PM

QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Dec 7 2017, 02:00 PM) Yup, i subscribed premium. So u mean even if a better DAC added won't have much improvement? chances are: yes because Note 8 considered premium phone, so should have ok amp, and at least better than most of the phone in the market. best to try these dac/amp with the phone, then only you can justify spending that much on a dac/amp, or spend that money on high impedance headphone and an ok dac/amp. Some people thinks that dac/amp should be around 1/3 of the price of the headphone you pairing, that is if dac/amp is required.
penmarker
Dec 7 2017, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Dec 7 2017, 02:00 PM) Yup, i subscribed premium. So u mean even if a better DAC added won't have much improvement? Before buying extra thing, try subscribing Tidal HiFi trial and listen to "Master" quality tracks. Previously I was ok with Spotify but once I started to notice how bad it is compared to Tidal or my hi res files and CDs, I can't un-notice it again. This post has been edited by penmarker: Dec 7 2017, 04:17 PM
Lego Warfare
Dec 7 2017, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(vincetee06 @ Dec 7 2017, 02:00 PM) Yup, i subscribed premium. So u mean even if a better DAC added won't have much improvement? I know someone using a Note 8 who said the SQ is quite bad. If you can, go to an audio shop to test with an external dac/amp yourself I think.