Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

pearl_white
post Aug 19 2015, 05:15 PM

232 posts

it would be better that you take 4.285% for 12 months and roll over 5 years, thereby giving you 4.6683% for 5 years, (hence, effective rate is 4.6683%.)

fyi, the effective rate for your 4.5% for 5 years is approx 4.1% (which incidently ties with BR 12 month rate of 4.1% and 60 months at 4.5%) assuming profit is credited annually and rolled.

of course, 4.5% for 15 months formulae cannot be used like your 5 year FD. hence, not 0.9. tongue.gif

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Aug 19 2015, 04:08 PM)
Walao! Luckily i did not take up the recent BSN promo 5 years 4.5%. Otherwise I'll end up with 12/60 * 4.5 = 0.9% effective rate.  rclxub.gif

Screw you, BSN! You are just like your boss plundering the rakyat!

Errrr.....Just kidding....no hard feelings pls, BSN. tongue.gif
pearl_white
post Aug 19 2015, 05:25 PM

232 posts

in case for those who are mathematical savvy, the formulae is the Future value of the annuity for the 1st computation.

the formulae would be a simple NPV calculation from the arising cashflow for the 2nd computation.

This post has been edited by pearl_white: Aug 19 2015, 05:26 PM
pearl_white
post Aug 19 2015, 05:45 PM

232 posts

I am very tempted to conclude there must be a reason why ppl cannot get 4.285%. TOHTHB

QUOTE(kyenli @ Aug 19 2015, 02:41 PM)
Small potato they don't want to layan me haha.
pearl_white
post Aug 19 2015, 06:45 PM

232 posts

tsk tsk tsk. dont get upset when YOHYTB

You are the ones not getting any and running around for scraps.
pearl_white
post Aug 21 2015, 10:17 AM

232 posts

When people are upset because the OTC staff can't see them when they are standing in front of the counter or cant hear them, they feel discriminated because they are not getting what they want.

In fact, they are not getting the respect. What is worst, they feel that they are entitled to special treatment.

Hence, these individuals would always ask for proof, not because they want you to prove what you say, they want use your proof so that they can screenshot it and print it out and take it to the bank and use it as "firepower" demand for their special rates.

These are also the same individuals who cannot fathom your explanation, maybe because they never paid attention in school, and hence resort to google, wiki, investpedia, to prove point. However, they do not realise, doing so means they are admitting being lame and blind. There is no conviction, no belief, just cut and paste.

You don't get what you want, YOHYTB.

Put in a little effort and improve rather than relying on "tongkat".

This post has been edited by pearl_white: Aug 21 2015, 10:18 AM
pearl_white
post Aug 21 2015, 03:47 PM

232 posts

Looks like "just by giving a call", you got 0.15% extra. rclxms.gif I wonder what rate you would have had if you went to see them face to face. cool2.gif cool2.gif

When people are sitting at the counter working and BR being very quiet at times and very government office like (hence they are bored), a good vendor comes in and cheers them up, makes them happy, praises them and joking around (joker) can really make the little extra difference to the rate you get.

I think you can get 0.035% extra if you did just that rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

A happy OTC staff and manager sure makes alot of difference. rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif They go the extra mile "just" for you.

I did that, and got a good deal. tongue.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 21 2015, 02:47 PM)
To avoid losing interest, withdraw BR FD and put it in another bank for 1 month FD first; then nego with BR until
satisfy, after that put it back to BR..
Ah Sir, I just called to my BR branch.

The BR nego policy is still available like you mentioned:
(1) FD amount RM 50K and above: extra 0.05%
(2) FD amount RM 100K and above: extra 0.10% (maximum)

FD depositors cannot get more than 0.15% extra...  sad.gif
This post has been edited by pearl_white: Aug 21 2015, 03:53 PM
pearl_white
post Oct 2 2015, 11:45 AM

232 posts

Maybank GIA-I FD Promotion

1st - 6th Months 4.00%pa
7th - 10th Months 4.50%pa
11th - 12th Months 6.00%pa

APR = 4.50%pa

Effective 1st October 2015 till 30th November 2015