Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

magika
post Aug 18 2015, 09:02 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(TheAccountant @ Aug 18 2015, 02:23 AM)
For HL Bank. Do we have to actually pay RM 8 for a debit card in order to create a savings account. My purpose is just to transfer the monies from the savings to the fixed deposit. Felt so cheated to pay RM8 for debit card because the bank officer just issued me the card without informing me anything.
Insist on opening BSA n choose option without any charges. Debit card is issued also without charges. Mostly banks do not encourage opening these type of accounts as no profit but must insist.

magika
post Aug 18 2015, 10:11 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 18 2015, 10:07 AM)
Ah Boom & Big Magician, have u guys called BR to confirm even 1k can get 4.285% in Klang Valley ? For Penang, I don't think for 1k can get that.  biggrin.gif
Last week placed 2 joint FD much more that <100k but did not ask for nego got 4.1% 12 months only. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 18 2015, 10:14 AM
magika
post Aug 18 2015, 10:34 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 18 2015, 10:25 AM)
doh.gif You missed the boat (chance) for a good free lunch. 100k will be RM185 add'l !  tongue.gif
There comes a time when time constraint at the moment and lazy to nego. Its part of the reason why removing most of my BR Fd's for other promos. Main reason is Not Scaxxx meh ! tongue.gif

magika
post Aug 21 2015, 12:57 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 21 2015, 10:48 AM)
Since there is so much hush hush on BR, decided to call BR Penang.

I was told just now (fresh info!!) nego rate 50k can get add'l 0.05%, 100k can get add'l 0.1%. This is the branch that I maintained my acct.  biggrin.gif

Ah Boom and High Magician, why not you guys try to call your BR contact in Klang Valley to confirm if nego rate still available ?  hmm.gif
No point when other banks promo is 4.2% , waste time nego.
Boomchacha you are right that if fd not uplifted then its more difficult to get higher rate.

magika
post Aug 21 2015, 04:32 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 21 2015, 02:47 PM)
To avoid losing interest, withdraw BR FD and put it in another bank for 1 month FD first; then nego with BR until
satisfy, after that put it back to BR..
Ah Sir, I just called to my BR branch.

The BR nego policy is still available like you mentioned:
(1) FD amount RM 50K and above: extra 0.05%
(2) FD amount RM 100K and above: extra 0.10% (maximum)

If extra 0.10% then just equal OCBC rate at 4.20%. Without clear difference might as well goes for PIDM banks. Not Scaxxd meh !
Nowadays not much cash at hand to deposit around. shakehead.gif

magika
post Aug 21 2015, 04:52 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 21 2015, 04:41 PM)
Your kids fund you did not ask for the nego rate ?  hmm.gif
Reason because of CD ? Inflation ? Imported "goods" getting expensive ?  tongue.gif

For me, cough out some eggs for USD recently.  shakehead.gif
Buying some properties lah..

magika
post Aug 21 2015, 11:41 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 21 2015, 09:17 PM)
This is true also.
Better to go for PIDM.

But the good thing of BR is monthly interest.
It is my pleasure...  cheers.gif

Another prerequisite to get more than 0.10% is PR and leng zai / leng lui....  biggrin.gif
Magic, I personally do not think now is a good timing to buy property...  sweat.gif
Monthly interest only complicate matters as need to monitor interest oayment. Blood pressure will be out of control later.

Dont worry about the properties as got huge discount as high end is not selling well nowadays.

magika
post Aug 27 2015, 08:47 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 27 2015, 05:20 PM)
laugh.gif Only in spirit that I will swim with you ! Really with leng lui ? Not leng chai (I am no leng chai) brows.gif

Jokes aside, I think MBSB still ok for me like BR. The 18 mth 4.5% FD promo is attractive.  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Dont lah disclose your preference in public .. tongue.gif
No Scxxed meh !

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 27 2015, 05:44 PM)
New ocbc promo. 4.3% 9 months. 1 week only. Starts today.
Jsut uplifted OCBC Fd thats just about 2 weeks. Need money for something.
Next week have a RHB maturing so most probably will be going for OCBC 4.3% if available.

magika
post Aug 28 2015, 09:31 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 28 2015, 09:01 AM)
Hopefully you are not needing money for CD.  tongue.gif

So now knowing OCBC actually is 9 mths 4.13%, you are not going for it ?  hmm.gif

Come come, join me for MBSB's 18 mth 4.5% !  thumbup.gif

Add: I know you are going to say again: You no scare meh ?  tongue.gif
I am also waiting for the Hugo Boss pen from OCBC for FD placed on July 9. Anyone have received it ?  hmm.gif
4.13% also not bad. Have to recheck my financial data planning to ensure appropriate funding needs for next year. 18 months is out of the question at present. U No Scxxed Meh ! tongue.gif

If ringgit still plunging, then OPR has hopes of increasing.

magika
post Aug 31 2015, 03:35 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Castor Troy @ Aug 31 2015, 12:38 PM)
Hi there. I noticed from the early post that,

Banks that do not pay interest for non-working days
Am Bank
RHB
Standard & Chartered Bank

Does it mean that these banks do not pay interest for weekends as well?
If that is the case, any promo rates these banks offer is actually lower than what is advertised??
It is meant to be maturity during weekends.

magika
post Sep 5 2015, 11:36 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Sep 5 2015, 10:55 AM)
kiddo geting rn20 per month sure do not care? brows.gif

pipu talking of rmxxx! laugh.gif
Sadly not enough xxxx ! hmm.gif

magika
post Sep 12 2015, 12:11 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 12 2015, 12:02 AM)
strange. my branch told me can do partial upliftment.
Maybe can, i recall seeing some promo like that. But important to have that clause in black n white. Safer if split the certs.

magika
post Sep 18 2015, 10:17 AM

2,612 posts

Maybank just refused to sell me Banker Cheque without 3rd party invoice. Heh...heh.. at last something to past my time. RHB , OCBC upliftment with banker cheque no issues.

0.0450sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:50 AM