cherroy
post Aug 18 2015, 09:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 18 2015, 05:36 PM)
Petrol price at all time low - every barrel of crude oil produced from Malaysia oil fields right now is loosing money! In the last quarter on 2014, Petronas loss RM7.3B (USD90 to 54 per barrel that time). For Jan-Mac 2015 (crude oil per barrel around USD50), they made a surprised profit of RM11.4B. but today price of crude oil per barrel is at record lows (less than USD45/barrel - same like in 2008 when we got a recession).

How long is the coming recession going to last this time? God knows. But one thing for sure, get ready for September to October months and if nothing major happens, I guess we will be out of recession pretty quick. But if this coming recession is going to be long (like 5 years), those with Cash in hand will get to accumulate assets at low prices and will be making tons of money when our economy recovers (so will those with landed property but can't say the same for gold).
The loss reported of Petronas on last Q 2014 was because of one time write off on the valuation of asset.
Asset valuation adjustment is just like you holding plenty of stocks in warehouse, now value goes down, then you need to make a provision for writedown in value in the account book.

Production of oil still profitable at price range of USD50~60 range (Tapis crude (Malaysia oil) price normally roughly the same with Brent, not the same with WTI), not something surprise to see still able to registered ten of billion profit.

Sorry a bit OT.

cherroy
post Aug 19 2015, 12:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Aug 19 2015, 12:15 PM)
you believe him?  laugh.gif
lets all put $$$ into br to get 5.356% 15 mth. brows.gif  laugh.gif
Put 2 years easier lah, 8.57%. laugh.gif

Edit
better put 1 month 3%.

1 year 36%. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 19 2015, 12:50 PM
cherroy
post Aug 19 2015, 12:57 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Aug 19 2015, 12:51 PM)
laugh.gif that fellow is super in his calculation. bank closing if his calculation is correct.  laugh.gif

he still not proof his 4.285% 1k 12 month fd in br. show us proof, bro.  tongue.gif
4.285%?

5% also got as claimed, but don't know how it is calculated then... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Aug 18 2015, 09:12 AM)
Really? Because I have BR FD @ 5.0%  for 12 months.

How come FD fan club in lowyat doesn't know there is 5% 12 months FD?
All fail already... whistling.gif

cherroy
post Aug 19 2015, 01:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Aug 19 2015, 12:58 PM)
In other post, the 4.5% nominal for 15 months yields a 3.6% effective interest.
Since when FD interest rate got quoted in nominal rate one? whistling.gif
I think it is fair to assume that all rate quoted by any banks in this country or what ever country are always p.a.

If people don't know this, then TOHTTB.

cherroy
post Aug 19 2015, 01:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Aug 19 2015, 01:32 PM)
I am here merely to point the what BR offers.  It is up to you to ask for it from the bank.  If you cannot, then YOHYTB.
Please guide FD fan club here to get 5% 12 months. Ty.

Many forumers will thank you big time.

cherroy
post Aug 19 2015, 01:52 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Aug 19 2015, 01:43 PM)
if xx% is quoted as 12 months, 1 year, or p.a., it is effective.

Anything that is not 12 months, 1 year, or p.a., it is nominal because you have to divide by 12 and times the numbers of months.

eg. the step up rates you see in various bank promos....1st 3 months, next 3 months etc etc....

and at the bottom their table, they put effective interest is xx%.
wah, really powderful maths here.
Less than 12 month, effective.
More than 12 months, nominal.

May be we should pin this post in the collection of "classic post of lyn". laugh.gif
cherroy
post Aug 19 2015, 09:15 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Aug 19 2015, 09:11 PM)
I have seen many happy person in my life.

And notice that the happiest type of person on earth is a fool who doesn't know he is one

While the majority ordinary people remain unhappy most of the time

Who is better ? A fool or a ordinary person ?
Never mind, I guess many do have a happy day in FD thread for today. laugh.gif

cherroy
post Aug 25 2015, 09:57 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 25 2015, 07:26 PM)
Guys, what is the sentiment out there? With the turbulence in the share market, will the Fed increase or decrease the interest rate? And with the bank negara meeting in September, will it follow suit? Am wondering whether I should go for short term or long term FD placement.
Fed is expected to raise rate in September.
But with the turbulence and wild drop in the stock market, it basically may handicap Fed to raise rate for near term.

10 years treasuries plunged below 2% last night basically signal that rate hike chance is becoming minimal.
cherroy
post Aug 25 2015, 10:00 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 25 2015, 08:15 PM)
So meaning when everyone is taking out money to buy shares, there is a chance for banks to increase the FD rate to attract more fund?
Liquidity still ample, banks do not need to raise FD rate to attract more fund.

Klibor is the best indicator for liquidity situation, not stock market.

cherroy
post Aug 26 2015, 08:00 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 25 2015, 10:15 PM)
Anyone think that the recent move by china could be move to prevent US from raising their rates? hmm.gif
Yup, I think so, especially with the stock market wild swing to the downside that basically handicap Fed to raise rate.

To raise rate at current point to "sink" down the market further could jeopardize the economy growth.
cherroy
post Aug 31 2015, 09:31 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 31 2015, 05:25 PM)
With the depreciation of MYR against USD, will BNM announce hike in OPR on 11/9 to mitigate the impact which is gud for depositors?
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 31 2015, 05:36 PM)
The depreciation of MYR have weaken our economy tremendously
If BNM do nothing, our economy will b heading South at faster rate
The economy may head into more south with hike in interest rate.

The depreciation of RM is not because of low interest rate, but other issues.
So increase in interest rate is not solving the problem.
Solve those problem, RM will rise naturally.

BNM under Zeti has good reputation in term of managing the monetory policy, so highly the interest rate will be status quo.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 31 2015, 09:33 PM
cherroy
post Sep 1 2015, 09:26 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 1 2015, 08:01 PM)
Banks are fighting to secure liquidity in malaysia.

Big fund are dumping myr to convert to usd in huge chunks. So banks are racing to keep liquidity afloat by growing their fd rates gradually.. sooner or later.. opr need to grow up in order to help this.. if not.. bank margin will be squeezed tighter.

Why squeeze tighter.

Cost of fund increase. Lending rate no increase, or increase sikit... means profit rate smaller. So need to resort to VSS, rationalization of branches, firing head count..

U somemore with basel III, bank need to have certain threshold of liquidity.. and it keeps on increasing..

Unless opr go up n make the money flow back to malaysia, those myr that is flowing out like water will resort in bank suffering, liquidity issue will then resort to?
Resort to more panic lo.. then more people dump n dump n cabut faster lor..

Now bank chop headcount... also make more people no job..

Ai am favorable on a opr increase
Board rate is not increasing at all and Klibor rate doesn't shoot up as well which suggested that liquidity is not a major issue.

Bank resort to promotion rate instead of board rate that being offered from time to time, means banks require certain amount of liquidity but reluctant to commit entirely that may result in increase in cost of funding.
If banks are struggling for liquidity, you see board rate being raised across.

The liquidity definition will be changed due to Basel III which resulted banks need to attract more long term stable deposit, eg. deposit less than 3 months, like FD below 3 months, current and saving account type of deposit are not taken into the calculation of liquidity coverage ratio that needed (something like that, as I am not 100% correct on this, as just glance through it, quite complicated), so we see banks offering long term FD across under promotion instead of short term one.
Also many are using step up rate instead of one long term rate, means that they also reluctant to commit long term, as rate of step up FD can be revised if there is a drop in OPR.

If the interest rate is poised to be up, banks want to lock up the rate long term one, where they can make the most profit from it.

Also, if there is liquidity shortage within domestic bank funding, BNM has the ability to provide those liquidity needed as well.

Banks do not like OPR to be increased, as it may increase NPL as well as affected loan growth which eventually may affect their bottom line.
An OPR increase at current situation may worsen the situation, instead of helping them.

Banks like to operate in low interest rate environment, not higher.

Outflow of RM has nothing to do with interest rate of RM, but other issues.
Solve those issues, then outflow will stop, this is the root solution.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 1 2015, 09:29 PM
cherroy
post Sep 7 2015, 10:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Sep 7 2015, 04:53 PM)
good deal wor.
assuming the note 5 resell value at RM2.2k.
that's additional 1% on the capital outlay. multiply by 3 to annualised it so becomes 3%.
so can get 3.88%+3%. 6.88%
If Note 5 is given complimentary with FD 3.88%, I guess you will see many FD fans in this forum will queue up long long in front of the bank... laugh.gif
cherroy
post Sep 17 2015, 08:51 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Chili_90 @ Sep 17 2015, 12:29 AM)
anyone tried public bank fd promo with the free samsung note 5?
There is no FD promo with free Note 5.

Note 5 is given for Casa deposit only, not FD.

cherroy
post Sep 17 2015, 10:51 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aegis6503 @ Sep 17 2015, 10:38 AM)
why not just with PB with free Note 5. although RHB higher rate which is additional around RM500 only. if use money from RHB to buy note also need around RM2.7k.  tongue.gif
There is no PB FD promote with free Note 5.

Don't know how many times need to post this...
cherroy
post Sep 19 2015, 02:21 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 19 2015, 09:19 AM)
Yes, for AmBank they also asked me to open an Islamic SA for the Islamic FD that I placed, though I already have a normal SA with them.  biggrin.gif
Actually, A bank and A islamic bank are 2 different and independent entity. They do not cross linked each other in term of transaction and operation, even through they are operated under the same branch, same parent company.
cherroy
post Sep 28 2015, 10:10 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Sep 28 2015, 09:55 PM)
It is guaranteed. I'll never blindly sign documents anyway. If it isn't, I won't go for it. Sometimes they also fed up that I sit there and read and read and read all the documents they ask me to sign ... Zzzzzzzz
Capital guaranteed /= return guaranteed

They both carry different meaning all together.
Becareful the term being presented.

If interest rate is going up, secondary bond price may be go lower one.

There is no free lunch, when one is able to get higher return, then there is almost certain extra risk needs to be taken.

FD
- guaranteed the capital, even premature withdrawal
- guaranteed the interest rate set

Bond
- guaranteed the face value of the bond if held until maturity with no default, while premature withdrawal is subjected to secondary demand of the bond aka based on secondary bond pricing.
- based on the coupon rate on face value when first published
cherroy
post Sep 28 2015, 10:27 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Sep 28 2015, 09:16 PM)
The CGB, one is with Genting Capital Bhd which gives out the higher interest. The slightly lower one is with CIMB but I forgot which subsidiary or division. Will know more tomorrow. Just note, the bond has a minimum 6 figure requirement  sweat.gif

This interest me because I'm not a fan of lock in period which doesn't give me liquidity flexibility.
Bond although can be sold at anytime, if doesn't guaranteed you won't make a loss if secondary bond market going down.

If only guaranteed when you held until maturity.

Somemore, if you enter the bond not at face value or during initial issuing, it just means you buy the bond at secondary market, which could be higher or lower than the face value.

There are plenty of corporate bond available even for overseas and denominated in USD or other foreign currency.
Not just one or a few local.
cherroy
post Oct 1 2015, 04:05 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Oct 1 2015, 03:59 PM)
For this promo, can I withdraw the capital after 6mth (after got 4.05% interest)?

I went to Port Klang branch and ask, the girl seems like blur blur.. Said "can take out after 6 months but cannot".. Langsung tak tau apa dia cakap..  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

And... What is the best rate for short term FD? (3-5mth). Which bank?
Yes, you can.

You get the 4.05% full after 6 months.

You can use this as short term (6 months FD) as well.
cherroy
post Oct 1 2015, 04:30 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 1 2015, 04:21 PM)
The officer told me no
Tell the officer to read the T&C

https://www.pbebank.com/pdf/Promotions/tc-pbfdextra.aspx

The promotional interest or profit (whichever applicable) will only be paid
on each completed 6-month placement i.e. first 6 months or the rollover. In