Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

andrekua2
post Sep 19 2023, 08:44 AM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ Sep 19 2023, 08:39 AM)
how you guys deal with musty what mold smells like ? take of whole indoor unit to clean or just buy cleaner tools
Turn down the temp?

I do noticed that sometimes at 26C, I can smell something but disappear when I lowered it down to 25C.
andrekua2
post Sep 19 2023, 08:58 AM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jun 4 2023, 03:22 AM)
Anyone experienced after calling air conditioner technician to clean aka full wash.

Then after clean and put back then realised not colder than before.

Mainly what's the cause?
Just lower the fan speed.

Blower and cooling coil get clogged over time which slowed the speed of air travelling through the coil. Therefore it cools down much more and result in cooler air. Even if you get a new a/c, it felt the same way. It cold faster but not that cool.
andrekua2
post Sep 26 2023, 09:26 PM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Sep 26 2023, 08:07 PM)
I think the larger HP does help to cool down faster hence the compressor can slow down and provide some savings. Btw, whats the easiest way to check electric usage of the compressor, like how many A it currently run?
He probably has a wifi 20A switch connected to his ac.

LG ac with wifi has live power draw ontop of monitoring. Samsung app only can monitor without live power draw.

andrekua2
post Sep 26 2023, 09:48 PM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Sep 26 2023, 09:38 PM)
Very good energy consumption. Only 0.17kwh
LoL... you teasing me? This LG is only rated 4 stars despite being a premium ac.

Look at the live power draw, 0.77kwh... which means it's just being turned on not too long ago. The initial 2 hours power draw is a bit higher than my son's room Samsung Windfree which is rated 5 stars.

Do you still think very good power consumption?

andrekua2
post Sep 26 2023, 09:50 PM

13,474 posts

Deleted due to double post... I'm not even sure how this gets double posted after 2 minutes. My apologies...

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Sep 26 2023, 10:30 PM
andrekua2
post Oct 23 2023, 09:32 PM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 22 2023, 09:01 PM)

Anyone knows what this funky flappy fan thingy is? Saw it at a restaurant just now. Where can buy it, etc?
It doesn't make your aircond feels colder. It just divert the cold wind from blowing directly at you.
andrekua2
post Nov 26 2023, 05:07 PM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(hottemper @ Nov 25 2023, 06:05 PM)
just wondering, is it better to relocate an 4 years old air con in room A, to room B, or to buy another new unit to install in room B?

planning to get the midea 1.0 non-inv since all good reviews here.

if buy and install new units, any good installer/supplier can intro? or shopee is trustable with those pwp installation?
Why non inverter though? Inverter is proven to save electricity cost when used as designed. Unless you like to set 20c for a really cold temperature, then the inverter wouldn't make any difference.
andrekua2
post Nov 27 2023, 11:37 AM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(hottemper @ Nov 27 2023, 11:29 AM)
not using for long hours, like 10-14 hours straight, so doesnt make much difference
You don't need long hours to make a difference. Depending on your set temperature, it could be a huge difference.

You can have a look at my LG premium inverter 1hp power usage

I had my temp set to 26c. The first 2 hours is the most taxing. After that, inverter kicked in and using almost the same energy for 6hours vs 2hours.

But if you buy a non inverter, it will continuously draw say 0.6kw/hr with some cut off in between then compressor restart again at 0.6kw/h.

Of course that depends a lot on your set temp. If you're going for 22c or lower, inverter probably not going to save you much.
andrekua2
post Feb 4 2024, 08:52 AM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Feb 4 2024, 02:08 AM)
Nope

1.5hp “needed”
I install 2hp inverter

One key difference is the 2hp will reach my desired temp faster.

A 200hp car and a 100hp car, both can do 100km/h speed. The 200hp car will get to 100km/h first. Unless it’s a Panasonic. Then it’ll get there last.

And with inverter, the compressor can slow down to maintain the temperature I want. so no such thing as overpower.

I truly, genuinely hate my Panasonic. I set I-autoX mode at 16C, my temperature sensor reads temp as 26.4C for the last 20 minutes. Basically Panasonic just take my command as a suggestion and it think I want to save electricity. Sadly I paid too much for this Panasonic inverter and I don’t have desire to spend money to change it.
Did you read what is i auto x?

It's basically temporary fast cooling. Besides from what I read, once it reaches certain temp (most probably set by manufacturer), it will auto direct the air flow upwards to prevent human over cooling. Why don't you use normal cooling mode if it annoys you so much?
andrekua2
post Feb 4 2024, 07:22 PM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Feb 4 2024, 05:25 PM)
Cool mode is even slower than I auto X to cool down.
There’s no power mode on Panasonic air con, unlike the old Panas.

Basically there’s no mode on Panasonic to give me what I want - max cooling. You’re saying the temp is set by manufacturer, then why bother giving a remote and temp setting. Give on and off enough lah.

I don’t know about you. If I buy an air con, I want it to function at the settings I determine.
I'm guessing since you're saying it stop cooling at 26c.

From what I read from Panasonic site, it said iautox will maximize cooling to lower temperature faster. Then added that once it reach set temp, it will divert the airflow up away from human. The graph and remote on the page was set at 25C.

However, you set yours at 16c as you explained earlier. Hence I guess maybe the algorithm for iautox probably was hard coded to a higher level to avoid over cooling human. This also why I said try to use normal cooling and see if it will maximize the cooling.

As with most ac, even when you turn power mode on, it will only run for a certain period of time before turning itself off. Since you had the temp set at 16c, the power mode would have turn itself off even if it havent reach set temp.
andrekua2
post Mar 10 2024, 12:25 AM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 9 2024, 09:41 PM)
My room aircon consumes so much more electricity than the current inverter models on sell. All are 1HP.

almost double in terms of electricity consumption.

R32 vs R410a

Personally I feel R32 cools faster but R410a feels more colder at the same set temp. However R410a does consume more electricity than R32.
andrekua2
post Mar 18 2024, 01:04 PM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Mar 17 2024, 06:57 PM)
Non inverter like living room or dinner , still okay, you can’t feel that on and off compressor.
For bedroom 1hp to 1.5hp go for inverter, no matter on 1-3 hours, still save for 50-150 monthly.
The comfortable sleeping good for you.
While non inverter, some time very hot and wake up suddenly, then keep hearing the compressor on and off.
This is supper annoying 😂
1-3 dont save much really. Better open 5-6 hours because the energy savings mostly comes after 3 hours.
andrekua2
post Jun 10 2024, 03:43 PM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(Created On 21/1/2021 @ Jun 10 2024, 02:01 PM)
Not sure if I'm just pure bad luck or Panasonic is really bad.

My Panasonic X-Deluxe Inverter is so problematic.

In just 14 months, Panasonic technicians already came to my house 6 times to fix various problem, gas leak, faulty sensor, faulty blower etc. Thank god all this is covered by warranty.

Now my warranty has ended, suddenly there is a loud vibration coming from the left side of my indoor unit.  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
Time to use the hidden power of your right hand
andrekua2
post Sep 24 2024, 04:16 PM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Sep 8 2024, 04:31 PM)

Am i installing daiso filter properly?
Why are you installing them inside? Didnt you received velcro tape to secure the filter on the casing of the ac?
andrekua2
post Sep 26 2024, 07:50 AM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Sep 26 2024, 12:18 AM)
Not sure install inside or outside better
Install on casing damn noisy
Noisy? I dont hear any sound after placing it on the case and I dont see any reason why it would create sound.
andrekua2
post Sep 26 2024, 08:07 AM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(Voreus @ Sep 21 2024, 01:11 PM)
I did my rough research, seems like higher btu is better as the aircond won't get strained all the time, better and efficient cooling thus better lifespan

1.5 is like the sweet spot, I might be wrong though
Some 1.5hp BTU is not much different from 1.0hp BTU.
andrekua2
post Nov 24 2024, 03:59 AM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 23 2024, 08:16 PM)
My Daikin FTKU just dead after 3 year due to Outdoor PCB Faulty.
Fan moving then stop.
Daikin so louya one ah?

andrekua2
post Dec 11 2024, 07:35 PM

13,474 posts

Honestly I never had any problem with my ac. Samsung inverter used for 6 years, hitachi non inverter used for 10 years. The only reason I changed them is because power consumption.
andrekua2
post Dec 13 2024, 12:11 PM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(soyusa @ Dec 13 2024, 12:36 AM)
The reason I mentioned about Panasonic not that cold - I have three units of Panasonic Inverter AC (1HP + 1HP + 2HP), installed few years ago.
All my room are properly seal to avoid air leak and set temperature at 25 Celcius only.
Hitachi AC is in the room easily expose to sunlight during the day (easily get warm at noon) while another two rooms with Panasonic AC expose lesser sunlight (remain cool during day).
Compare both Hitachi and Panasonic - we prefer Hitachi AC as it can keep the room cold easily during day and night, way better than Panasonic AC unit.
Thanks for the feedback about Haier, Midea and Acson.
For the Hisense... I think better get Haier for better warranty coverage (3+10) and the price not that far.

As far as I know Hitachi Malaysia offer two newer model - AirHome 100 and AirHome 300 (not sure whether MY made or not).
The other Hitachi AC models are old stock, confirmed MY made.
Old hitachi? R410A?

I also had one non inverter hitachi 1HP which I later moved from my bedroom to living room (now replaced with LG). Cant really compare those day AC to the newer R32 ac. Im shocked to find out my 1hp hitachi outdoor unit is way bigger than my 1.5hp LG premium inverter. Imagine the surface area advantage it had compared to newer ac.

I do find that the newer R32 ac cool faster but feel less cold compared to the old R410A ac. After changing my ac to save power consumption, I find myself needing just a tiny blanket to feel comfortable at 26C whereas I needed something thicker with the old R410A ac at the same setting.
andrekua2
post Feb 3 2025, 11:01 AM

13,474 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Jan 17 2025, 11:11 AM)
Just bought and installed LG-S3-Q12JAPPA 1.5HP aircon

Not sure is good buy or not with everything discount + 5 years warranty @ RM1.9k

So far still learning the AC which ThinQ app kinda limited and less feature than remote controller, lol ..
Actually this range of purchase pricing can recommend which alternate AC eh ? ( 1.5 ~ 2.0 HP )
Think of replacing my other room's AC which has 10 years usage already  sweat.gif
Energy consumption is pain.
Not bad the price. I think LG is nice because you can manually turn on the inverter to save power. However this manual inverter mode is only available on the remote. It also log usage by hours which is nicer than Samsung.

On the other hand, I believed LG inverter is rated at 4 stars instead of 5. Power consumption is slightly higher than Samsung which is rated at 5 stars for their premium range. I just double check and it seems like your model is rated 5 stars instead of the JA2PA which I had.

A lot of people are questioning why I didnt choose Japanese brands but honestly my experience with Samsung triangle inverter is pretty good, hence I stay with Samsung and buying another LG to try since I bought them cheap. I even installed a 1.5HP in my living room due to this manual inverter whereby I can lower the power consumption since I will be using them with ceiling fan. Where did you bought them since the price is kinda cheap? I kinda regret didnt bought more to stock because I got my 1.5HP (older model) from Onking warehouse sale which dump them for 1.25k and even with additional 2 years warranty, it still cost less than RM1.5k.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Feb 3 2025, 11:08 AM

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0353sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:15 PM