GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!
TSBaronic
Jan 2 2007, 11:40 PM
Problem?
QUOTE(sniper msia @ Jan 2 2007, 11:02 PM) One question. How does using a BT GPS affect battery life of a PDA (for example an O2 Atom Exec)? Does it really affect the battery life of the PDA. I mean when using the software for navigation a lot. With all those animations and tracking and BT data transferring, will the battery life of the PDA be really affected? Thanks. u mean battery life, how long can your PDA last before need recharging? battery life dunno la, but of course, if u're using BT GPS, battery drain faster than using plain inbuilt GPS
TSBaronic
Jan 2 2007, 11:49 PM
Problem?
hmmmm, lets see.
inbuilt GPS: your Pda must power GPS, and the software
BT GPS: pda must power bluetooth, which is not only on, but CONSTANTLY transfering data. Plus the software of course.
I'm not too sure, but my money would be on that constantly transfering data via BT uses a lot of battery
EITHER way u choose, your PDA will not last long, about 3-4 hours if you're lucky
Solution, get a PDA car charger. No worries at all
TSBaronic
Jan 3 2007, 11:28 AM
Problem?
I think got some better accuracy, (chipset) while the more expensive ones can detect more sattelites at a time, though for our use, 8-16 satellites is more than enough. the expensove ones can get 32, but no point wan since u dun need so many
TSBaronic
Jan 4 2007, 10:53 PM
Problem?
QUOTE(StormZ @ Jan 4 2007, 10:44 PM) Hi ppl, im a total in GPS n PDA...but after readin the post in this thread...quite filled edi...hehe...so, now for me to get the GPS working...i need to buy the BT GPS receiver...buy the software....install in pda....download the map....and start using rite???.... just one question....this entire gps service is free is it?....coz my gps receiver can just connect to any satellite and use it for free ar???..... yeah just connect and its free from there on in. 16 channel and 32 channel is believe is the number of sattelites at a time it can detect max. which in my opinion not much diff also. thats cuz u connect also can normally detect 5-8 onli i think. which is more than enuf.
TSBaronic
Jan 5 2007, 04:39 PM
Problem?
QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 5 2007, 02:42 PM) Just to ask, there was a post in another thread mentioning about the Malsing Maps (covering MY and SG)... Are those dedicated GPS maps or also used as normal electronic map?  by normal electronic map wat do u mean dude. if u asking if can simply use it to view around, yea of course u can do that. but i recommend using a normal paper map for just viewing
TSBaronic
Jan 5 2007, 11:20 PM
Problem?
QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 5 2007, 10:42 PM) Thanks... I'll do that as soon as possible... Need such a map in electronic form, at least not so ma-fan to carry a paper-based one!  lol, but i find paper one much easier to read. electronic when go beyong screen must load and all. and even worse when u have no idea the location u're looking for is N-S-E-W of your current position. map book can get overall view easier. But yea, u can use it alone as a electornic map
TSBaronic
Jan 7 2007, 02:52 PM
Problem?
yep definitely. before going out at an unknown place using GPS, i have a look using a paper map first before heading on the road. this way i can have a general direction to be heading towards.
TSBaronic
Jan 8 2007, 03:25 PM
Problem?
QUOTE(Kiding @ Jan 7 2007, 08:59 PM) Once you have GPS + routable maps, you can throw away the paper maps, I have never used paper maps since two years ago. lets say u on the road. GPS shows u a path thats damn traffic jam already. If u know the general direction of where u shud go, u can take a diff road, and force the system to reroute you to a better path
TSBaronic
Jan 9 2007, 08:20 PM
Problem?
Instead of staying on position, waiting to get a fix, drive a bit. gets a fix faster. No idea why, sometimes maybe the position u are currently has bad GPS reception, so as u move, u can perhaps come to a good position. I remember once i was waiting a frickin 45 minutes for reception, still cannot get a fix! got pissed off and fed up, so i started driving. Drive about 500m away from the spot suddenly, got a fix already!!!
TSBaronic
Jan 12 2007, 12:36 AM
Problem?
i just been to digital mall recently, didnt see any shop that specifically dealt in GPS, but quite a lot of electronic shops. but dun buy games from there. bloody hell, i bought a DVD conpendium, thats supposed to contain Age of Mythology and the expansion, BOTH also DONT have! like, wtf!!! waste my money, inside got crap games instead. Also, the crack never work properly, i had to tweak myself
but thats OT, not sure the prices at Digital Mall can compare with lowyat though or buying online here in the forums
TSBaronic
Jan 12 2007, 10:18 PM
Problem?
stand alone product cost a few K wor....and people wait steal lol, cuz u fix to the car, dangerous lor
TSBaronic
Jan 13 2007, 10:32 AM
Problem?
QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jan 13 2007, 09:25 AM) If I buy that software (Mapking). Can it be use with PDA + BT GPS device? or It special for PDA with built-in GPS chip? ANybody ever use it? Advice please... definitely can, no problem.
TSBaronic
Jan 16 2007, 10:29 PM
Problem?
now got Mapking also wat. and Mapking for palm os got mar. so use the malsing maps, mapking format lor
TSBaronic
Jan 17 2007, 11:00 AM
Problem?
how fast is very fast lilcool? wanna check bluetooth GPS battery consumption vs GPS consumption. Built in GPS PDAs run approximately 2.5-3 hours from fully charged to dead
TSBaronic
Jan 17 2007, 11:02 AM
Problem?
QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 17 2007, 10:23 AM) No. Could not make it this Friday..hopefully the Drtamil from palmx.org will be there too to assist u...he was there during last gathering...Log-in to malsinmaps & put ur name under the "member staying around Subang Jaya" thread... hey, i stay practically 5 mins drive from that location. what do u normally do there usually?
TSBaronic
Jan 17 2007, 12:55 PM
Problem?
waliow, extended battery?? i went and got my self a good car charger is good enough. It charges the battery faster than i can drain it using GPS. So after driving for about 1 hour plus, my pda is fully charged haha.
ah, borak borak like that i feel out of place lol. and yea, Rawang is unmapped. Been there before, got lost, and malsing maps totally screwed me up lol.
TSBaronic
Jan 17 2007, 01:55 PM
Problem?
I not going there again lar. I wanted to go Shah Alam from SUbang Jaya. Haha, dunno how i ended up in Rawang. Nightmare, driving for 4 hours straight, when i shud have taken Kesas 20 mins. Had an accident. Had to pay a local to guide me out of Rawang. Reach home at 1 am. TRIPPLE KILL!!!!
TSBaronic
Jan 17 2007, 03:27 PM
Problem?
TSBaronic
Jan 17 2007, 03:56 PM
Problem?
hahaha, u read my mind. Glofish M700. Asus p535 i dun fancy typing my sms with touch screen lar, super slow. and though the processor is fast, but i dun multi task on my pocket pc also. 300 Mhz more than enuf for gaming also.
selling my k800 also, so combine get the glofish
This post has been edited by Baronic: Jan 17 2007, 03:56 PM
TSBaronic
Jan 19 2007, 03:30 PM
Problem?
if go IPAQ store directly can find i think. i believe 1U got Ipaq shop.