67 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

imperialrealcs
post Nov 2 2006, 11:23 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(titansulcata @ Nov 1 2006, 11:35 PM)
ok, thanks for the advise... guess i have to shop around

btw, why my bluetooth headset only can use to make calls. but if i on my music player, the sound won't come from bluetooth...

for nokia, my n70 can listen to sound from bluetooth
lol.. wayy off topic.. this aint a thread about N70 nor bluetooth.. nontheless, AFAIK, N70 doesnt support A2DP as i heard somewhere.. how true is that biggrin.gif
titansulcata
post Nov 3 2006, 12:58 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Nov 2 2006, 09:08 AM)
@titan

thats a bit offtopic, but the bluetooth-mp3 capability is software and bluetooth  headset dependant.
QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Nov 2 2006, 11:23 AM)
lol.. wayy off topic.. this aint a thread about N70 nor bluetooth.. nontheless, AFAIK, N70 doesnt support A2DP as i heard somewhere.. how true is that biggrin.gif
yikes... sorry... i forgotten... thought i was at the 838pro thread
liewss80
post Nov 15 2006, 02:00 AM

404 posts

Hi all, I accidentally reach this thread while doing some reading. Surprised to c my lelong posting (selling GPS) is brought up here. smile.gif

Well, I've tested my GPS on notebook and HP Ipaq 2868 (with mapking) .... and I think its really helpful.

Just put the receiver on car dashboard, connect via bluetooth to PDA and hold the PDA by a holder and navigate around.

Further ques... PM or email me. smile.gif
TSBaronic
post Dec 29 2006, 11:42 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

I'm trying to get mapking to work now, found that malsing maps seem to always lead me away from highways. take me through residential area. long, triring, and easy to get lost.

also, bringing up the thread cuz people asking questions on GPS
liewss80
post Dec 29 2006, 11:56 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 29 2006, 11:42 AM)
I'm trying to get mapking to work now, found that malsing maps seem to always lead me away from highways. take me through residential area. long, triring, and easy to get lost.

also, bringing up the thread cuz people asking questions on GPS
Thr's 1 option in routing, you may set to 'recommended' instead of 'shortest route'
zepple
post Dec 29 2006, 02:25 PM

135 posts

Hi all!

Hmmm do we need to pay for this gps service? if yes, whats the rate?
TSBaronic
post Dec 29 2006, 02:53 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Imagine this,

GPS = Bluetooth. Do u have to pay for bluetooth? lol, no right? ok, so all u need is a GPS receiver first (like a bluetooth receiver, if u dun have, u cannot use bluetooth mar)

Once u got bluetooth receiver, yay, u can use bluetooth. (or GPS, anyway, just using bluetooth as reference)

However, u need a GPS map software. U already have the hardware, but u need software too.

This is the part u must pay. Usually a one time payment, to buy a software, and then install in your pocket pc. Once such commercial software is MapKing. One such free (and more up to date, since its by malaysians for maaysians) is malsing maps

TSBaronic
post Dec 29 2006, 02:56 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

This is me. (seeing an example maybe can help u understand better)

I bought a pocket pc, Dopod p100. It has inbuilt GPS receiver, so that solves my hardware problem, i dun need to buy another GPS receiver.

But i need software. So, i elect to use malsing maps, which is free. I install into my pocket pc, and thats it! I'm good to go! No additional charges d. All i paid for is my pocket pc.
zepple
post Dec 29 2006, 03:35 PM

135 posts

Ohh..okay! thanks dude! hmm so i guess u are paying for that Mapking software eh?
Deani_77
post Dec 29 2006, 04:07 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Is this GPS receiver can be use for other thing, like perimeter survey or something else than use it for find location to one place from another.
TSBaronic
post Dec 29 2006, 11:04 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(zepple @ Dec 29 2006, 03:35 PM)
Ohh..okay! thanks dude! hmm so i guess u are paying for that Mapking software eh?
well, i use malsing maps. I do have mapking, but dunno how to use. (its ahem version, aisay, all the shops when u buy GPS they give u mapking also ahem version la. how i know? cuz they give u version 7. If u know where to find u can get version 10)
civic98
post Dec 29 2006, 11:34 PM

1,255 posts

I think most ppl here are getting it wrong, malsingmaps are maps, not software. Software are like Garmin Que, Mapking etc.

So there's actually few parts that u need to use GPS, hardware + software + maps.

Check out Malsingmaps.com and you'll find all you need to know, FOC.
TSBaronic
post Dec 30 2006, 09:56 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

well usually maps made for one software can be only used by that software. so can say software also wat the maps

This post has been edited by Baronic: Dec 30 2006, 09:57 AM
Deani_77
post Dec 30 2006, 09:57 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

How much this device cost (GPS)? Any recommended (popular, most valued for money, easy to set up and use).
TSBaronic
post Dec 30 2006, 10:00 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

U want a standalone GPS unit, (hyper expensive, normally for rich people lol, can cost a few thousands i think)

a GPS receiver, that connects through bluetooth to either laptop or pda? (about 300-500 bucks)

for PDA with INBUILT GPS i recommend Dopod p100, i'm using, lowyat selling rm999 brand new
MX510
post Dec 30 2006, 10:07 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

I'm using PODO GPS Receiver for My O2 Atom problem is the antenna is the problem if you have sunroof in ur car it won't be a problem if not it will be a problem and considered to buy external antenna, ngbh will bring the antenna in his bulk i will considered to buy one from him since i'm using myvi and no sunroof, my brother using rexton he had sunroof in his car so no problem on receiption. I'm using Map King 10.7 rite now working perfectly

This post has been edited by MX510: Dec 30 2006, 10:08 AM
Deani_77
post Dec 30 2006, 10:11 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Dec 29 2006, 04:07 PM)
Is this GPS receiver can be use for other thing, like perimeter survey or something else than use it for find location to one place from another.
Anyone have the answer?
civic98
post Dec 30 2006, 11:30 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Dec 30 2006, 09:56 AM)
well usually maps made for one software can be only used by that software. so can say software also wat the maps
Well not exactly, Garmin maps are for Garmin devices and Que, Malsingmaps are Garmin compatible maps (and recently Malsingmaps developed Mapking maps). So when referred to Malsingmaps, it IS strictly maps, not software.

Enough of that said, Malsingmaps are the best Malaysia Singapore maps ever!
civic98
post Dec 30 2006, 11:35 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Dec 30 2006, 10:11 AM)
Anyone have the answer?
GPS tells you where you are in coordinates, by capturing GPS satellite signals and then plot the coordinates on the maps you have, so you need maps to know where you are. From there the softwares are capable of routing, telling you how to get to a place from another through roads on the map, and you can choose faster time or shorter distance. Works best with constantly updated maps.

GPS depends a lot on accuracy, meaning satellite signals AND accuracy of the maps in use. The best GPS signal can provide up to 3 meters radius, it may or may not be sufficient for the uses you mentioned.
Deani_77
post Dec 30 2006, 11:47 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Dec 30 2006, 11:35 AM)
GPS tells you where you are in coordinates, by capturing GPS satellite signals and then plot the coordinates on the maps you have, so you need maps to know where you are. From there the softwares are capable of routing, telling you how to get to a place from another through roads on the map, and you can choose faster time or shorter distance. Works best with constantly updated maps.

GPS depends a lot on accuracy, meaning satellite signals AND accuracy of the maps in use. The best GPS signal can provide up to 3 meters radius, it may or may not be sufficient for the uses you mentioned.

67 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0616sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:15 PM