The official WoW connection rant thread, 2k pings? Insane lag? Come in here!

lilzany
post Apr 8 2005, 06:24 PM

1,479 posts

Sometimes I really wonder how with all the superb high pings and all we can still stay in the game for so long without getting linkdeath or something. Can anyone please tell me how is this possible. Anyway, this just brings to the fragile state we are all in...so totally dependend on the scremyx service that we will be left with an unplayable game if they failed to buck up. I mean the undersea cable being disrupted happened only like last November right? Just a few months later and it screws up again? Just how many times does the cable need to screw up in a year?

p/s: I am really pissed now. Just a few days ago, I found a cyber cafe that allows me to play WoW normally(400ms on average) after 2 weeks of 2k pings at my home PC. I though at least with the cyber cafe, I could kind of immerse myself into the game once again. How wrong I am! Who would have known that the worst has yet to come.

I take back what I said...found Autosurf and guess what 210ms latency. Awesome. Guess I am so here until they fix the streamyx shit.

This post has been edited by lilzany: Apr 8 2005, 08:54 PM
lilzany
post Apr 9 2005, 06:42 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Apr 9 2005, 02:41 PM)
Please people. they said they will fix it on the 20th, but also that they will fix the other cut line by tonight. I suppose they will then route traffic over to that line. It may well end up as 219 having good ping while 218 and 60 get horrid ping times, as this original cut line (not the one cut 2 days ago) seems to be the reason some of you have been facing bad lag for the past 3 weeks. Comprehendo?

Do read the entire article. Don't just go posting that the ship will repair it by the 20th without taking note of other things.
I sure hope so. Since they totally change the routing for the 219.95.***.*** since the ACPN2 cable was damaged. At least, TMNet will kind of acknowledge the problem earlier instead of saying there are no problems at all. Also since 219 IP is the most common IP used in the country, your assumption that they will reroute traffic for the better over the 218 IP and 60 IP seems downright obvious.
lilzany
post Apr 10 2005, 01:10 PM

1,479 posts

Its 1pm now and the ping is still good....lets hope its not another 1-DAY good ping and all the way down on the next. Lets all hope that its FIX for the better! This is with 219.95.***

lilzany
post Apr 21 2005, 02:30 PM

1,479 posts

Mine is on 219.95 and gets below 1k but mostly around 930k...still sucks anyway....but gone are all the lag spikes experienced earlier. So, the line really seems "fixed" under TMnuts eyes and I honestly don't think we 219.95 users would get the the below 500-600ms we were getting previously.

lilzany
post Apr 22 2005, 01:17 AM

1,479 posts

Well, there can be various reasons why you get 2k ping.
first of all, have you checked your own pc and make sure no other networking applications is running in the background(intended or not intended? virii? updated that latest scan lately? patched to the latest windows?)

Their streamyx website is not often updated on the fly maybe it's delayed?.. if the problem is really on your side you could do yourself a favour by doing some checking on your own first instead of relying on tmnuts to come help(if they do come help you that is....)

This stuff is nothing new. Everyone here is facing the same problem at the same time even with very different computer configurations for each user. Such as, reports of an improvement in latency and the 2k pings at the same time with 219.95..users...and that one day nice latency...I am sure everybody remembers that day... Besides nothing in my PC has been changed at all since I played WoW lol. With my computer its always playing WoW, no downloading stuff anymore except patch day but downloading files won't hurt? It has been 500-700ms on day one till the DM patch. A few days before the DM patch, latency was around 1.0-1.5k...so its equally bad...

There's also the problem is congestion at the area where you're staying at. Have you check with other people staying in your area to see if congestion is a normal problem? The bottleneck could sometimes be at the DSLAM itself .. if you live with a lot of anime freaks in your neighborhood.. well.. good luck tongue.gif

I think the 219.95 connection to AT&T network and blizzard's server hosting center.. is still having some kind of a problem.. maybe its rate limited.. maybe it's mpls.. maybe 218.x is meant for business users who gets higher priority but due to the high number of home users they let it spill over to the 218.x as a temporary measure while they work on a permanent solution...

Its too bad we don't get a tmnet official forum...ISPs should have them ... and should have responsible moderators and all that..(or does one exist that I am not aware of ?)

You know, thinking about this...I am very sure Jaring Broadband will be a much better alternative. Streamyx in my area may be oversubcribed and they probably don't upgrade the DSLAM they had for 5 years now but with increased subcription rate of 300% in the area. But then again 219.95 users are nationwide and even those in rural areas experienced the same ping as those in Klang Valley. So what gives?

TMNet just sucks.....plain and simple.
lilzany
post Apr 22 2005, 01:45 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(Xeoalpha @ Apr 22 2005, 01:02 PM)
My gf back home (Sunway) reports that the ping to WoW just shot up to 7k+ and is totally unplayable now because of the spikes. Earlier, it was spike free, and the lag was ok (1k).

The hell ? sad.gif Any news on the APCN2 cable ? Suppose to be done on the 20th.
Funny, all was good until 20th. Previously the latency was really good but with a few lag spikes...not that bad considering the lag spikes average about 6s long and not that frequent anyway(at least the lag spikes doesn't occur at the wrong time most of the time). All I can say now is bye bye to my mage char for ever doing ANY high end instance again. IAE every 3s? Poly takes 3.5s? This is a joke.

And Tarpaucase....my place is old, so its gotta be those age old copper wires from 20 years back...no idea if they change the line before or not. The only thing I am aware of is Tenaga changing their distribution lines to homes. Before this thread started, I did experience some lagspike but then it was a server side lag cause everyone else said so in general chat.
lilzany
post Apr 24 2005, 09:25 PM

1,479 posts

Yeah, most of us is getting that ping. It would have been perfect if not for the packet loss. Anyway, we just need to keep on pushing TMNet, calling them repeatedly, pestering them about the packet loss. It is because if you wanna play WoW, streamyx is the best ever response time...well before not now...don't even think of Jaring Broadband wireless cause its even worse as all wireless is.
lilzany
post May 2 2005, 06:16 PM

1,479 posts

i've been playing whole day today with average 650ms in game with a 219.95 IP. Not bad and no noticeable lag spikes. Guess its good from now I hope.
lilzany
post May 14 2005, 07:11 AM

1,479 posts

I have no more bad pings for me right now as I am having 56ms latency but too bad its only temporary and I don't have much time to play it So, has streamyx stabilized to the 500ms range lately? Between 56ms and 500ms is not that noticeable but once it gets to around 1k is when it starts to suck real bad.

lilzany
post Jun 8 2005, 09:49 AM

1,479 posts

So...I am very curious. What is the latency right now for WoW atm? I still remember that stupid "bad dream" shit that happens after DM patch...and the following weeks.
lilzany
post Jun 8 2005, 03:32 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(Wolfgard @ Jun 8 2005, 02:37 PM)
I was running at 1200-1800 this morn. My guildies in the States aren't having any problems but not too sure about the Aussies since they're not on at that time. I'm on the Earthen Ring server, BTW.
This is not good and its totally what I am worrying about and ALSO at the same time, TMNET happens to be doing the MAINTENANCE again right after the patch day of WoW (why is it such a coincidence??? TMNet had previously timed it after the DM patch too...and now they did the same with the BG patch!) You know bad things always happens with their International Link maintenance.

Hey, Eikan....ya 500~600 feels just great....getting yellow latency bars in both IF and Ogrimmar is phenomenal and ~300-400 in Dre Maul feels so great. It was like going to a better world. And it so happens that my six-month subscription ends today....lol.
lilzany
post Oct 22 2005, 11:01 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(Wolfgard @ Oct 22 2005, 08:20 PM)
Whoa, 1k-1.5k pings, that's very laggy. About the same as what I'm experiencing now with Streamyx having gateway issues. Used to be able to play with latencies around 600 >.<
Same...I hope its temporary only.....hopefully its not like the "April-June Latency" all over again....
lilzany
post Oct 27 2005, 03:39 PM

1,479 posts

At least you guys still can get on the internet. My ADSL line went down last Friday. I called them up on Monday and they told me its fine. The people at Telekom thinks they need to do is to reset connection at the Telekom exchange near my house and they close the case intuitively thinking that should do it without even calling back to find out if my connection is all good. First class customer service to tell you!

After a few complaints later and 3 days later, they decided to send someone to check my line and confirmed that their line is faulty at the connection port where it diverts from the main line to my house. They told me they can't do it cause they need two people to do it. Their response in when they will get it done? They said "Kalau boleh, minggu ini." Its like OMFG tomorrow is the last official day day before the raya and deepavali week.

If they expect me to have zero internet access during the holiday week...the best time to work with my PvP rankings...then I will say bye bye to streamyx and get Jaring wired broadband...which many say is comparable.
lilzany
post Nov 16 2005, 10:26 AM

1,479 posts

is streamyx still lagging today? I am always on the 219.95.xxx....no chance on others IP lah. so if streamyx lag i guarantee die one..can't play
lilzany
post Nov 16 2005, 05:57 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(flying_dug0ng @ Nov 16 2005, 05:25 PM)
219.95 from my office in pj:

1  <10 ms  <10 ms  <10 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    2 ms    1 ms    1 ms  219.95.178.105
  3    43 ms    64 ms    77 ms  219.93.218.176
  4    19 ms    21 ms    39 ms  219.93.216.113
  5    32 ms    25 ms    21 ms  219.93.155.29
  6    20 ms    21 ms    20 ms  210.187.132.83
  7    77 ms    72 ms    57 ms  219.94.9.21
  8  313 ms  316 ms  314 ms  219.93.153.158
  9  3101 ms    *        *    12.118.44.5
10    *        *        *    Request timed out.
11    *        *        *    Request timed out.
12  2484 ms  2426 ms  2408 ms  tbr2-cl2.sffca.ip.att.net [12.122.10.42]
13  3168 ms  3096 ms    *    gar3-p370.sffca.ip.att.net [12.123.13.161]
14  2402 ms  2376 ms  2386 ms  mdf1-gsr12-2-pos-7-0.lax1.attens.net [12.122.255.254]
15  2419 ms  2412 ms  2416 ms  mdf1-bi8k-2-eth-1-1.lax1.attens.net [12.129.192.242]

Thank gawd can get 218.208 from home  thumbup.gif Usually 300ms on that.
lucky you. I get 219.95.....100% of the time. I tried before to get that but failed.
lilzany
post May 27 2006, 08:38 AM

1,479 posts

I am very blur can anyone tell me why the tracert at step 9 is timeout now? Thanks.

Tracing route to us.logon.worldofwarcraft.com [12.129.232.115]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 94 ms 95 ms 95 ms 219.93.218.177
3 23 ms 17 ms 40 ms 219.93.216.109
4 73 ms 55 ms 17 ms 219.93.155.41
5 18 ms 17 ms 17 ms 219.94.12.141
6 18 ms 17 ms 29 ms 210.187.143.1
7 18 ms 17 ms 17 ms 219.93.174.154
8 18 ms 17 ms 17 ms 219.93.151.211
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 232 ms 229 ms 270 ms ix-2-0.core2.LAA-LosAngeles.teleglobe.net [66.19
8.112.14]
11 235 ms 271 ms 233 ms 12.123.222.22
12 453 ms 363 ms 342 ms 12.123.222.93
13 235 ms 248 ms 237 ms mdf1-gsr12-1-pos-6-0.lax1.attens.net [12.122.255
.102]
14 267 ms 238 ms 243 ms mdf1-bi8k-2-eth-2-3.lax1.attens.net [12.129.192.
118]

lilzany
post Jun 5 2006, 09:11 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(Owen @ Jun 5 2006, 07:11 PM)
Notice that it's now been a few days since lag of about 1500ms. If you check your tracert, you'll see that the packets are travelling through "ALTERNET" rather than "LosAngeles" and "attens". That was the result of this:
http://isp.tm.net.my/html/news_details.cfm...&type=News&pg=1
Today, 5th June, tracert shows that Streamyx is now back to using the proper route "LosAngeles" but the ping is still 900ms average.
I tested this using 218.111.x.x . Can somebody with different IP give their results?
I'm getting this:

2 196 ms 143 ms 83 ms 219.93.218.177
3 17 ms 19 ms 17 ms 219.93.216.101
4 17 ms 17 ms 17 ms 219.93.155.29
5 19 ms 19 ms 17 ms 219.94.12.137
6 19 ms 17 ms 19 ms 210.187.142.1
7 19 ms 18 ms 19 ms 219.93.174.147
8 19 ms 17 ms 19 ms 219.93.151.227
9 247 ms 246 ms * if-8-0.core2.LAA-LosAngeles.teleglobe.net [66.19
.112.33]
10 239 ms 239 ms 237 ms ix-2-0.core2.LAA-LosAngeles.teleglobe.net [66.19
.112.14]
11 246 ms 245 ms 246 ms 12.123.222.18
12 244 ms 243 ms 244 ms 12.123.222.89
13 243 ms 243 ms * mdf1-gsr12-1-pos-6-0.lax1.attens.net [12.122.255
102]
14 255 ms 256 ms 256 ms mdf1-bi8k-2-eth-2-4.lax1.attens.net [12.129.192.
4]

The * is the sucker.
lilzany
post Aug 2 2006, 10:37 PM

1,479 posts

Anything thats streamyx suck balls lol....

I have discontinued my WoW account, all thanks to TMNut for providing such a lousy service. Malaysia tak boleh la. Nothing pissed me off more than seeing a * when doing a tracert.
lilzany
post Dec 9 2006, 01:56 PM

1,479 posts

Latest rant is dated OCT 30. More than a month! Seriously, streamyx giving you folks a good time now?
lilzany
post Dec 9 2006, 07:40 PM

1,479 posts

Damn and I was thinking about signing up for WoW again. So I guess I won't activate my account until BC comes out. And lets hope for the best!

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0403sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:08 PM