87 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Bottom

Business Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)

bumbebumb
post Apr 26 2014, 08:32 PM

Anyone know where I can get the BA II pro calculator?

I hate the normal version as the keys are not sensitive enough as I am used to Casio

siew14
post Apr 30 2014, 12:08 AM

845 posts

to all L2 passer, should i skip fixed income? I couldnt understand a shit from this topic... I find it hard to digest compared to others. A lot of alien words to me, Im done reading the rest, left fixed income.

rclxub.gif
fino_abama
post Apr 30 2014, 01:06 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Apr 30 2014, 12:08 AM)
to all L2 passer, should i skip fixed income? I couldnt understand a shit from this topic... I find it hard to digest compared to others. A lot of alien words to me, Im done reading the rest, left fixed income.

rclxub.gif
Normally the part at the back is the confusing ones (i.e. ABS, MBS). Are these the ones? Fixed Income is normally 5-15%. If you score <50% for FI you will have to make it up in the other sections.
fino_abama
post Apr 30 2014, 01:08 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(bumbebumb @ Apr 26 2014, 08:32 PM)

I hate the normal version as the keys are not sensitive enough as I am used to Casio

check out Times Bookstore@ Pavilion

siew14
post May 2 2014, 09:01 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(fino_abama @ Apr 30 2014, 01:06 PM)
Normally the part at the back is the confusing ones (i.e. ABS, MBS). Are these the ones? Fixed Income is normally 5-15%. If you score <50% for FI you will have to make it up in the other sections.
I wont find it confusing, is just that, the reading is difficult to understand properly ( maybe is a new thing to me). i can do the calculation part, but not the theory. I find it the LOS for fixed income mostly involves explain/describe/compare, very little on calculate. Hmmm... Maybe i should focus more on the notes instead of reading the textbook.

So, so long you could cover other sections (Equity + FRA for instance , these are the heavy weight) it is ok/viable to ignore one of the topic, say fixed income or econs.
CLOUDLUM
post May 4 2014, 01:59 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(bumbebumb @ Apr 26 2014, 09:32 PM)

The texas instrument ba 2 pro is that more sensitive than normal texas instrumrent ba 2. now I using the texas instrument ba 2 not too sensitive.
fino_abama
post May 4 2014, 08:47 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ May 2 2014, 09:01 PM)
I wont find it confusing, is just that, the reading is difficult to understand properly ( maybe is a new thing to me). i can do the calculation part, but not the theory. I find it the LOS for fixed income mostly involves explain/describe/compare, very little on calculate. Hmmm... Maybe i should focus more on the notes instead of reading the textbook.

So, so long you could cover other sections (Equity + FRA for instance , these are the heavy weight) it is ok/viable to ignore one of the topic, say fixed income or econs.
Not to say totally ignore. Maybe at least score that 40-50% of the topic.
travalone
post May 12 2014, 06:48 PM

QUOTE(Dreamie_gal @ Mar 12 2014, 08:07 PM)
Hi siew14,

Thanks for your comments!
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif are u kidding me????
Hi ShinG3e...
i'll pm you and discuss there.
cheers...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hi there, can u pm as well ? Thanks
hannster
post May 14 2014, 04:02 PM

Did any members go for the CFA Society Malaysia gathering last weekend? I was away outstation so had to miss it...
s0urapple
post May 15 2014, 02:46 PM

Hi to all seniors.
I am so surprise that lowyat forum has various discussion on education and especially in CFA topic which it bothering me much recently.

I am an Accounting & Finance student from UCSI, currently doing my internship in an accounting firm. Two option i have to choose now after my consideration.

1 ) Work in an accounting firm to perform general accounting job as in AP or AR which i think won't bother me much and give me a stressfree environment to concentrate in CFA. (Even just level 1)

2 ) Work in Finance field right after my graduation as Finance field is my aim for life career, without taking CFA to avoid that I can't handle a studyworking life well and causes collapse on both.

Besides, " is it recommended for a fresh graduate to take CFA before having a career related to finance? "
I hope anyone can help me figure out and point a right path for me.

roninhere
post May 15 2014, 03:17 PM

172 posts

anyone cfa certified here?
pls share soem tips on the exam
fino_abama
post May 15 2014, 03:25 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(s0urapple @ May 15 2014, 02:46 PM)
Hi to all seniors.
I am so surprise that lowyat forum has various discussion on education and especially in CFA topic which it bothering me much recently.

I am an Accounting & Finance student from UCSI, currently doing my internship in an accounting firm. Two option i have to choose now after my consideration.

1 ) Work in an accounting firm to perform general accounting job as in AP or AR which i think won't bother me much and give me a stressfree environment to concentrate in CFA. (Even just level 1)

2 ) Work in Finance field right after my graduation as Finance field is my aim for life career, without taking CFA to avoid that I can't handle a studyworking life well and causes collapse on both.

Besides, " is it recommended for a fresh graduate to take CFA before having a career related to finance? "
I hope anyone can help me figure out and point a right path for me.
My advice is if you can get into a related job, do that first. You can decide whether you want to do the program or not later.
fino_abama
post May 15 2014, 03:27 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(roninhere @ May 15 2014, 03:17 PM)
anyone cfa certified here?
pls share soem tips on the exam
You sound like a Level 1 candidate? By now you should have finished studying. Do your mock exam, work on your weaker areas.
vcheewei
post May 15 2014, 05:27 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Apr 30 2014, 12:08 AM)

rclxub.gif
My advice is not to skip fixed income, reason being, fixed income is one of the largest topics in CFA's exam, on top of that, you'll see it again in L3.

Try reading it over again if it helps, otherwise hit the practice questions to get a better understanding. If you think fixed income is confusing, derivatives will be even worse wink.gif So don't skip it, don't give up.

yenforyen
post May 15 2014, 07:13 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Feb 28 2014, 04:29 PM)
thx for the info.  icon_rolleyes.gif

btw, to anyone who took classes at noesis before, may i ask, does the tuition fee include set of reference books (ie:SchweserNotes)? thank you.
Kasturi College sells them for approx. RM 100 for the set of Schweser Notes. Not sure about Noesis.

This post has been edited by yenforyen: May 15 2014, 07:13 PM
hussain.isma
post May 16 2014, 05:58 AM

67 posts

Hey, I'm totally clueless about CFA..
Tis exam need work exp or placement to retain ar?
or just pass the paper exams?

thx sifus. smile.gif
siew14
post May 16 2014, 01:29 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(vcheewei @ May 15 2014, 05:27 PM)
My advice is not to skip fixed income, reason being, fixed income is one of the largest topics in CFA's exam, on top of that, you'll see it again in L3.

Try reading it over again if it helps, otherwise hit the practice questions to get a better understanding. If you think fixed income is confusing, derivatives will be even worse wink.gif So don't skip it, don't give up.
huh? I find derivative is easy... piece of cake.. tongue.gif
Not that confusing. This is weird, anyway, thanks for the advice. biggrin.gif
siew14
post May 20 2014, 02:48 PM

845 posts

Hello cfa candidates, exam is in 2 weeks time, how is ur preparation?

I m done reading all the topics, now doing revision and memorizing. smile.gif

vcheewei
post May 20 2014, 09:57 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ May 20 2014, 02:48 PM)
Hello cfa candidates, exam is in 2 weeks time, how is ur preparation?

I m done reading all the topics, now doing revision and memorizing.  smile.gif
I'm only half way through my target amount of mocks, it's taking ages to go through them. How many mocks have you done?

This post has been edited by vcheewei: May 20 2014, 10:03 PM
siew14
post May 21 2014, 02:43 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(vcheewei @ May 20 2014, 09:57 PM)
I'm only half way through my target amount of mocks, it's taking ages to go through them. How many mocks have you done?
hey,

wow... you started to do mock already? zomg!! i havent start any mock yet, because i still left 30% of equity, 40% of alternatve invest and 100% of fixed havent memorize/revise.

How many no. of mock are you aiming ? Keep it up yo! rclxms.gif

my aim was to spent the last 1 week or 5 days to spam mock questions. haha, which means memorize/revise everything , latest by this saturday!

This post has been edited by siew14: May 21 2014, 02:44 AM

87 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Top

0.0394sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:39 AM