Gerbils part III, 3rd thread up!

jaswwp
post Oct 26 2006, 10:31 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

1. How to DIY a water bottle hanger

One of the popular problems faced by gerbil owners is the issue of how to provide a source of water for gerbils. Although a dish can be used, but most of the time the gerbil will bury the dish in shavings, making the bedding wet. It is important for a gerbil to have water especially if it is pregnant or nursing. Gerbils have been known to reabsorb fetuses or even eat a pup to get the water it needs if water is not provided.

There are many types of bottles available on the market. If you are able to find a bottle with those suckers or those that stick to the tank wall then it is good, however sometimes the gerbils will chew the suckers or the water bottle itself.
If you have the type of bottle that points downwards, you can hang it from the tank cover, however if you have the normal type of bottle, the kind without a small hole at the top for you to hang wire through..you might have to make a bottle holder yourself.

Example:
Water bottle with no hole at the top provided.

Water bottle with hole provided at the top

2. How to make a split cage

Why need a split cage? Note that gerbils have very short memories and can forget their friends in 3 days or even less. If you have to seperate your gerbils because of breeding but wish to reintroduce them at a later date, you should use a split cage so that they can still see and smell each other. New gerbils can also be introduced in this way for a few days, so that there is less chance of fighting when you finally put them together. Remember that gerbils can fight to the death, dont think that they look so loving and tame to their friends, once they see an unknown gerbil they can fight viciously and cause very serious wounds. I'm speaking from experience here.

This is the simplest split cage you can make for a plastic tank. The sides are rubber hose split into half, the purpose is so that you can wedge the whole thing into the tank, and it wont move or slip. Remember that plastic tanks are wider at the top than at the bottom, so you have to take that into account when cutting and bending the wire mesh. Try to use metal wire mesh with small holes, with big holes the gerbils will keep on chewing at it, and hurt their noses. Make sure it is tall enough, gerbils can climb up the split and crawl through any small spaces at the top.

3. Alternative to tanks

Gerbils given birth and you want to seperate the dad from the mum? Or perhaps your gerbil has fallen sick and you want to seperate it from the other healthy ones temporarily. If you can't get a tank at short notice, you can use a storage box

This is just to give a general idea. Note that the top should be securely fastened, else the gerbil will escape. Usually I put the storage box lid on top covering half the wire, and something heavy on top, but more pegs should do the trick as well.
jaswwp
post Oct 26 2006, 11:22 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Random pics from over the months

This post has been edited by jaswwp: Oct 26 2006, 11:30 PM
jaswwp
post Oct 26 2006, 11:36 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

More photos from jaswwp

jaswwp
post Oct 27 2006, 02:48 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Congrats zoe!
Normally I seperate the boys away when they are 2 months old though, haha..some boys start mounting their mum even at 6 weeks, so better to be safe la...
jaswwp
post Oct 27 2006, 05:22 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Suet @ Oct 27 2006, 05:02 PM)
After you get 2, then in comes 4, then before you know it, your room has 3 tanks... ;_;
and before you know it, 3 beomes 5.... like me cry.gif
jaswwp
post Oct 28 2006, 12:28 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Habitrail is rather lousy quality food. Try to get slightly better like delikate or living world classic which is only slightly more expensive than habitrail.
jaswwp
post Oct 28 2006, 12:45 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

well yea, benjy and habitrail hamster food both oso not too good, hehe... a lot of sunflower seeds lo.... if possible try to get slightly better mixes la.
jaswwp
post Oct 29 2006, 01:34 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

If their stock is new then the hay will be green and fresh. If it looks brown and like "layu" adi, then its probably old stock.
jaswwp
post Oct 29 2006, 11:47 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

I bought a big toyogo box for my gerbils, hehe... now wondering who I should move into it, hmm...hehe... I decided to change my tank setup a bit for my male tank. This time I filled half the 2 feet tank with shavings and russel bedding. Thats about 11 inches of bedding ! They all went wild digging and burrowing around. There goes so much of my bedding, sob sob... but they seem to enjoy it.
jaswwp
post Oct 30 2006, 09:18 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(M@r0R! @ Oct 30 2006, 12:06 AM)
wah...if like that u guys mar hard to find them out?
wont la, when food comes, they all wll run out, haha
jaswwp
post Oct 30 2006, 05:38 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Monday blues ma... but its near the end of the working day for us adi..hehe.... go home and squeeze my gerbs
jaswwp
post Nov 1 2006, 10:55 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

This morning I woke up from a bad dream..then saw it was 6.50 a.m. Even lying on my bed I still feel kinda uneasy.... then I could here my parents making a fuss about something downstairs... I went back to sleep.... half an hour later my mum told me... all your gerbils from one tank escape lar... I was like huh? Then she said, we caught all of them adi, your box got a hole ar....

Sigh, I guess that storage box wont last much longer although I patched it up a few times, time to move them to the toyogo box adi.

This post has been edited by jaswwp: Nov 1 2006, 11:36 AM
jaswwp
post Nov 1 2006, 09:41 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

I got the box adi last weekend, but the problem is I got one that is too big, hahaha........... now thinking how to fit it in my current space
jaswwp
post Nov 1 2006, 11:47 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Well so far all caught back la... coz my gerbils all in the living room, no where for them to go coz usually we close all the room doors at night, hehe...
jaswwp
post Nov 2 2006, 09:23 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Ah I wish I had your camera, mine ar to take closeups I have to really strain it and also myself

Agoutis look better on camera somehow. Hehe one thing all Keith and Pecan's kids have is long long whiskers. My cam is Canon Ixus 40 I think.

This post has been edited by jaswwp: Nov 2 2006, 09:23 AM
jaswwp
post Nov 4 2006, 10:53 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Well true, my most active girl Anya is black too...haha... always trying to escape and very notty
jaswwp
post Nov 5 2006, 09:25 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

I went back to the Giant petshop... the 3 young gerbils are still there in their little cage. Strange because 2 of them look like 1 sp lilac and 1 argente golden, but they seem to have black eyes, so weird. The argente is very dark in color, almost like agouti. I think sometimes the environment they are kept in cahnges their appearance.
jaswwp
post Nov 6 2006, 02:23 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Oh dear.. well introducing gerbils can be a pain sometimes. Suet if you cant manage you are welcome to drop by my place with your gerbs, since its nearer than Foo's place... i cant try and intro them for you with my methods, lol....
jaswwp
post Nov 6 2006, 02:45 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

sure its ok, no probs...hehe....jus let me know beforehand la... dont be horrified by my incredible messy house and piles of pets though tongue.gif
jaswwp
post Nov 6 2006, 03:17 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Eh, I'm not good at it la... just can try basics only..Nowadays I must arm myself with gloves, else i will add more scars to my collection.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0435sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:04 PM