DIY Router, Turning ur old pc into gaming router

wilson88
post Mar 13 2007, 10:21 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(syyang85 @ Mar 13 2007, 07:49 PM)
Last time i tried it on DSL-500T. The linux distro installed in dlink router is Busybox.
Too bad it wont work. =( Prolly it cant save the information I've entered. Maybe its installed in a ROM. not sure, just my guess.
As for me, i would choose to use WAP(wireless access point, its something like a wireless switch) rather than a wireless router.
Because when you use a wireless router, its behind NAT service and your ipcop uses NAT service too. And your computer will be double NATed.  That would a make port forwarding a hell.
Anyhow, you still online and surf the and do your stuffs even you're behind 2 NAT.
Just your choice.
Why I choose wireless router because its cheap. I don't have any idea why WAP is so freakin expensive vmad.gif

Is there anyway to disable to NAT ?
scorps
post Mar 13 2007, 11:29 PM

Something you call love, but I call sex
9,572 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Mar 13 2007, 11:21 PM)
Why I choose wireless router because its cheap. I don't have any idea why WAP is so freakin expensive vmad.gif

Is there anyway to disable to NAT ?
wilson88
post Mar 14 2007, 08:47 AM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

so is still possible to use a wireless router ? so the network cable is connected to the wireless router switch right ?? the WAN port is totally different tongue.gif
scorps
post Mar 14 2007, 09:56 AM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Mar 14 2007, 09:47 AM)
so is still possible to use a wireless router ? so the network cable is connected  to the wireless router switch right ?? the WAN port is totally different tongue.gif
yes,why not?
wilson88
post Mar 14 2007, 12:43 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

how about PCI wireless card ?? will it work ??

Anyway !! I just bought a PCI ADSL modem !! It works with my IPCOP !! RAWR !!!
scorps
post Mar 14 2007, 01:20 PM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Mar 14 2007, 01:43 PM)
how about PCI wireless card ?? will it work ??

Anyway !! I just bought a PCI ADSL modem !! It works with my IPCOP !! RAWR !!!
wow, tongue.gif pci adsl modem??i never heard about that before this??
can give me that model?? brows.gif
wilson88
post Mar 14 2007, 05:19 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Mar 14 2007, 01:20 PM)
wow,  tongue.gif  pci adsl modem??i never heard about that before this??
can give me that model?? brows.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry10644595
there u go Rm30 cheap cheap cheap
scorps
post Mar 14 2007, 06:43 PM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Mar 14 2007, 06:19 PM)
so u buy it already,
and can u share to me how about the performance??
and if you have manual ,can send to me??? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by scorps: Mar 14 2007, 06:43 PM
wilson88
post Mar 14 2007, 10:40 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Mar 14 2007, 06:43 PM)
so u buy it already,
and can u share to me how about the performance??
and if you have manual ,can send to me??? notworthy.gif
performance ??? just the same tongue.gif

u need the manual ?? for ???

those are instruction how to install the pci adsl modem with windows platform
scorps
post Mar 14 2007, 11:32 PM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Mar 14 2007, 11:40 PM)
performance ??? just the same tongue.gif

u need the manual ?? for ???

those are instruction how to install the pci adsl modem with windows platform
just for my collection.. brows.gif

can give or not? shakehead.gif
wilson88
post Mar 15 2007, 10:32 AM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

found the pdf version of the manual !! Google ROX !! rclxm9.gif

Attached File(s)
Attached File  167987_mk2.pdf ( 1.46mb ) Number of downloads: 38
scorps
post Mar 15 2007, 10:51 AM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Mar 15 2007, 11:32 AM)
found the pdf version of the manual !! Google ROX !! rclxm9.gif
ok bro thanks rclxms.gif
wilson88
post Mar 15 2007, 01:38 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

oh man .. I took for a while to understand how to use winscp man rclxub.gif

I google about it only I know have to enable the SSH from IPCOP web configuration rclxub.gif

I think better highlight it at the first page of this thread rclxub.gif

Added on March 15, 2007, 9:25 pmwho knows how to use the vpn function ?

ding dong !! Anyone ??

Added on March 21, 2007, 12:36 pmI there any DMZ feature for ipcop ?

This post has been edited by wilson88: Mar 21 2007, 12:36 PM
TSsyyang85
post Mar 25 2007, 10:40 PM

982 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Mar 15 2007, 01:38 PM)
oh man .. I took for a while to understand how to use winscp man rclxub.gif

I google about it only I know have to enable the SSH from IPCOP web configuration rclxub.gif

I think better highlight it at the first page of this thread rclxub.gif

Added on March 15, 2007, 9:25 pmwho knows how to use the vpn function ?

ding dong !! Anyone ??

Added on March 21, 2007, 12:36 pmI there any DMZ feature for ipcop ?
Got lor

Added on March 28, 2007, 1:41 amHas anyone one tried Vyatta community router? www.vyatta.com
it boasted on having 50% more efficiency than cisco router.
someone me help on setting this up. its all command based. and i suck in unix.

i read the tutorial, http://www.vyatta.com/documentation/1.0/Vy...rt_R1.0_v01.pdf
and i dun understand a thing. =(

This post has been edited by syyang85: Mar 28 2007, 01:41 AM
nxgame
post Apr 3 2007, 11:38 PM

85 posts

hi guys ~~

can some1 tell me how to make tis DIY ROUTER into more easy so tat i can follow step by step rather than jumping around here and there to memorize ~~~

nice and thank you for the person who reply into more nice and simple step to ceate it ~~

i know is good ~~ but rather than i got to click here and there to follow the guide ~~~~~
r00ted
post Apr 4 2007, 10:28 PM

125 posts

dude, no free lunch... if you don't try it yourself with click here and there, then you won't learn, doh.gif

The Perfect Linux Firewall Part I -- IPCop
http://www.howtoforge.com/node/1007

QUOTE(nxgame @ Apr 3 2007, 11:38 PM)
hi guys ~~

can some1 tell me how to make tis DIY ROUTER into more easy so tat i can follow step by step rather than jumping around here and there to memorize ~~~

nice and thank you for the person who reply into more nice and simple step to ceate it ~~

i know is good ~~ but rather than i got to click here and there to follow the guide ~~~~~
nxgame
post Apr 5 2007, 07:37 PM

85 posts

OMG ~~~ yet i am totally dunno eveything about LINUX ~~~

can soem1 help me into tis ?????

a small note to create a DIY ROUTER are really that hard ????
blindbox
post Apr 5 2007, 08:29 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Hmmm... since the TS didn't mention this, there's an x86 (aka computer version) of dd-wrt. Good for noobs perhaps? It won't offer that much functionality, probably, but since it is linux, you probably could super upgrade it (if you're good at it).
TSsyyang85
post Apr 5 2007, 10:57 PM

982 posts

QUOTE(nxgame @ Apr 5 2007, 07:37 PM)
OMG ~~~  yet i am totally dunno eveything about LINUX ~~~

can soem1 help me into tis ?????
a small note to create a DIY ROUTER are really that hard ????
rolleyes.gif I thought i made a step by step tutorial, didn't I?
screenshot by screenshot for god sake. If u cant even understand that, then God helps you.

QUOTE(blindbox @ Apr 5 2007, 08:29 PM)
Hmmm... since the TS didn't mention this, there's an x86 (aka computer version) of dd-wrt. Good for noobs perhaps? It won't offer that much functionality, probably, but since it is linux, you probably could super upgrade it (if you're good at it).
Cause you know what, ddwrtx86 has many limitations. and the ddwrt has Better off with my good old ipcop. =D

take a look at this http://www.bitsum.com/about-ddwrt.htm

zoney
post Jun 29 2007, 01:42 PM

22 posts

First of all thanks for sharing, I notice that you are recommeding ipcop. But just want to know if ipcop is capable of bandwidth monitoring per ip address? Eg. I want to know which computer is downloading a lot.

Currently I'm thinking of using freesco, but ipcop looks for friendly but freesco has the addon for network monitoring i think it's called darkstat.

Thanks for your help in advance.

zoney

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0281sec    1.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:46 PM