6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Ultrawide monitor fan's club, Ultrawide master race

Cynox
post Jul 31 2017, 04:55 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 31 2017, 04:32 PM)
Will support X34ck ( free sync ) IF price are much lower, RM800 are not enough to justify missing g-sync, lower refresh rate ( 75MHz ). Try monitor 11street or Lazada for discount code or coupon.
After using Predator X34A, the extra premium definitely worth it ( should have higher resell value also )
My 4 years Dell U3014 just died. Looking for a ultrawide replacement now. Is the X34A really that good for gaming? You can run it efficiently with a MSI 660ti (as in your sig) for gaming?
Cynox
post Jul 31 2017, 05:49 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 31 2017, 05:26 PM)
Depend on games  whistling.gif  that old card can run old games only.
On my previous GTX1070, almost all games with ultra setting, some will be at 40fps ( The Division ) but with g-sync you dont felt laggy like regualr 40fps. Recommend GTX1080 and above  whistling.gif
thanks for the info. That's what I am considering - getting a X34A will require a new GPU. Then total cost will be shocking.gif with a 1080Ti. sweat.gif

my brief price search yesterday night concludes that: cost of (free sync curved monitor + AMD card) < cost of (G-sync monitor + 1080ti). The difference can be as much as RM1,500, worth it?

This post has been edited by Cynox: Jul 31 2017, 05:51 PM
Cynox
post Jul 31 2017, 09:44 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Jul 31 2017, 09:21 PM)
Depends on ur budget bro.. If low budget then go for freesync, but if get extra go for gsync, really worth it.. ultrawide + 1440p + 100hz , really superb bro.. really satisfied for me.. either for gaming or surfing.. I can open side by side fb n youtube.. no words can describe bro hahaha.. If u got extra n extra budget for later upgrade gc, then go for gsync la bro.. Nvidia card more expensive, later u need to upgrade to nvidia also coz u use gsync monitor, plus u need a powerful gc to run it nicely..
or whether should top up more and get the whopping Dell U3818DW. brows.gif But i never try any 144hz monitor so dun know to go for refresh rate or pure mega screen. hmm.gif
Cynox
post Aug 1 2017, 07:50 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Jul 31 2017, 11:26 PM)
Thats 60hz only bro plus no Gsync.. Gsync that make it  icon_idea.gif
Gsync only good for gaming, right? I m semi retired from gaming already. More into video editing stuff maybe which I think no difference 144hz or 60hz.

The U3818dw is similar specs to LG UC38 I think plus better connectivity but without Freesync 75hz and Bluetooth audio. I saw U3818dw spec sheet, it can actually run 85hz but not officially maybe.
Cynox
post Aug 1 2017, 02:18 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Aug 1 2017, 02:07 PM)
you are like me haha not gaming much but want a nice monitor so panel quality is more important than other feature

U3818DW panel same as LG UC38 just some differences but LG not available here and for dell can buy it now
haha...yes, big screen is more important than high refresh rate for me. But just saw the Viewsonic VX3211 (IPS 2560x1440) in the other LCD monitor thread. At only RM1,299, really strike me hard - so damn cheap!! Buy 3 to form 3-monitor setup only RM3,897. laugh.gif

I think ultra-wide in comparison still not mainstream yet, I will just get the VX3211 and wait another 3 years. By then 40 inch ultrawide 21:9 144Hz WQHD IPS panel maybe just RM3k or less. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Aug 1 2017, 02:11 PM)
Damn, just visit Dell Msia website, that price  cool2.gif
It is consider "cheap" actually if you compared to LG 38UC99. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: Aug 1 2017, 02:20 PM
Cynox
post Aug 1 2017, 02:54 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Aug 1 2017, 02:44 PM)
buy from a guy here teng_08..cheaper at RM5.8K  laugh.gif

but this is nothing compare to the upcoming x35 and asus, HDR..FALD plus 200Hz..imagine the price  sweat.gif

if 3 separate screen is good for the work you do then you can consider that, the viewsonic is a very value for money monitor but thats about it..just dont expect super great things from it

for video editing work you wont go wrong with dell ultrasharp also these ultrawide or you can consider monitor like "coming soon" viewsonic VP2768 

ultrawide also wont drop price but will only go up haha, it's a niche product for enthusiast and more added feature means more expensive

found LG 34UC98-W at lelong RM3999 LG

lingloong or dotatech selling XR-342CK for RM3655 ACER
Yes, i did some research and come out with this few model shortlisted too. But 34 ultra-wide like not big enough. blush.gif

Thanks for the info on X35 and Asus PG35VQ, more reason to buy a cheap monitor like VX3211 to use temporary (my Dell U3014 just died Sunday) innocent.gif

I actually dun do work at home, the computer just a leisure comp, so not intended to setup 3-monitors, too overskill for me. biggrin.gif 38" Ultrawide is also overkill but it is awesome looking, so i can bear with it. laugh.gif
Cynox
post Aug 1 2017, 05:39 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Aug 1 2017, 05:16 PM)
1440p 32inch still alright, ppi same as 23inch 1080p..32inch with 1080p this really  doh.gif

4K 32inch is also nice, but then everything would be small right?

asus = no thanks from me..super premium price here
yes, i think so too. 2560x1600 on my Dell U3014 is just nice. So i am expecting 2560x1440 on VX3211 shouldn't be too bad. 1080p on my old Samsung 27" is bad though, cannot get used to that big pixel already. laugh.gif
Cynox
post Aug 3 2017, 09:27 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Just setup my new Ryzen build yesterday and use back my very old Samsung 27" FHD P2770HD monitor temporarily. Surprisingly it does not feel very much smaller than my 30" U3014 but of course the pixel is very big at FHD. May be i should reconsider to get the 34" Ultrawide. hmm.gif

The height of the 34" 21:9 ultrawide is about the same as the 27" 16:9 monitor?
Cynox
post Aug 3 2017, 01:54 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(koonghx @ Aug 3 2017, 12:43 PM)
LOL
Bro, why didn't check Lowyat first.. I had been selling these here for a few years already.. Never before anyone kena tax RM800.  brows.gif
since you are here, can i ask the LCD from Korea is shipped direct to us? If got custom issue we have to deal with it ourselves? Saw you got some attractive offer but I dun want to deal with custom and the uncertain import tax issue.
Cynox
post Aug 7 2017, 02:01 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Anyone using Samsung CF791? Any good or bad point about it? Thanks. smile.gif
Cynox
post Aug 9 2017, 09:24 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Aug 9 2017, 12:15 AM)
if you want this really have to import, no choice anymore haha

im even more leceh..im quite decided on X34 but see the new Z35P is quite good im thinking of waiting for it but then dont know have to wait till when acer will release here
I have the same dilemma. Z35P is more mouth watering... laugh.gif

Now already August, so I am still wait and see if they will bring in by Sept. I actually PM Acer Malaysia at FB last week. But they just reply standard answer - "Thank you for your enquiry. Please stay tuned on our page for updates."
Cynox
post Aug 9 2017, 05:57 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Aug 9 2017, 05:33 PM)
yea, if not wont delay so long since last year

im sitting in the middle now should i just buy x34 now or wait z35p..different panel all that but having a tv with VA panel picture quality is really good especially black
I will wait though coz for me monitor change is not an easy task as it is bulky and thus involve more expensive shipping fee and higher risk of damage during transportation. Not like other computer parts - CPU, motherboard, RAM, etc that you can just sell them off and buy another set easily if you find them not suitable or not up to your expectation.

So far most of the youtube review of the Z35p has been quite positive (of course I know cannot trust everything blindly on the internet). Will google for more user reviews in various forum when it is available here in Malaysia before I fork out the cash on this toy. icon_rolleyes.gif
Cynox
post Aug 11 2017, 09:06 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Aug 10 2017, 11:39 PM)
That's true, but I was going outstation soon so I can't wait for them to come over. They did offer to send back to my place, which I declined too. I can't wait to pick it up and continue gaming!
Good to hear Acer got a comparable service as Dell (on monitor RMA). Just grab a GTX1080 Ti, now just waiting for last piece of puzzle - an 34" ultra-wide monitor to complete my new build for this year. biggrin.gif
Cynox
post Aug 11 2017, 11:19 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Aug 11 2017, 11:00 AM)
nice!!!

now you should wait for X35 or PG35VQ  brows.gif
wow... that Asus is priced out of reach. Unless X35 come earlier than the Z35p, I will settle for the Z35p. Have to endure the horrible pixelised FHD 27" Samsung display now everyday at the moment. shakehead.gif
Cynox
post Aug 15 2017, 09:09 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Aug 14 2017, 06:31 PM)
haha I at cross roads now laugh.gif doh.gif

2 get the 1080TI first or 2 get 4k monitor first laugh.gif doh.gif

I still don't buy the ultrawide hype since even consoles and smartphones will be 4k ready soon puke.gif  puke.gif
For my personal preference, 4K is not that suitable as a monitor - it is DPI kinda too high for a 32" 16:9 monitor (max monitor size I can tolerate). If go bigger at 40", then have to stay quite a distance from the monitor which will defeat the purpose of large monitor, might as well just get a 60" 4K TV. Not to mention 4K resolution will need higher end GPU to drive it.

In the contrary, 4K on TV is understandable as you will sit 2-3 meters away from it, so higher res on the larger 60-70" TV is always better.

4K on the mobile phone? What's the point? Can't really see much difference between my S8+ 6.2" 1440p and Mi Max 2 6.4" 1080p. Unless of course if you put the screen 2 inches from your eyes (as in the case of VR).
Cynox
post Aug 15 2017, 11:53 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Aug 15 2017, 11:21 AM)
I agree, maybe the only reason you want a 4k monitor is that you edit 4k videos. 4k on phone if you use a lot of VR.

I don't mind having a 35" 3840x1600 with 144hz tho...
what's that "dun mind"... haha... I think it is the dream specs. thumbup.gif But I think 35" 3440x1440 with 144hz is good enough without having to wait too long I hope. Yes, I am talking about Acer Z35p - wait till neck very long already. sleep.gif
Cynox
post Aug 19 2017, 11:06 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Aug 19 2017, 10:35 AM)
Even I can wait don't think I wanna wait anymore haha

How is your x34 going?
You are planning to get X34A? I think my patience is wearing out too waiting for concrete news of availability of Z35P in Malaysia. Most likely will just get the X34A in early Sept if by then still no news at all for the Z35P to arrive.

Cynox
post Aug 21 2017, 08:02 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Aug 21 2017, 01:35 AM)
actually last weekend i was thinking maybe i can buy vega 56 and freesync ultrawide, much cheaper option but after vega 56 launch dont think so im gonna waste time with amd gpu..its 1 year+ late and gonna be a long wait for AIB cards

so X34A is the only choice for me now, quite fedup already waiting for any Z35P news
Yes, me too. Another video to convince u to get X34A instead of waiting for Z35P. biggrin.gif

Cynox
post Aug 24 2017, 11:28 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Aug 24 2017, 11:18 AM)
dont know though, me meself never use 21:9 before

ordered X34A.. moneyflies.gif  bye.gif
wow...wow..wow.... thumbup.gif Where did you buy from? Do share some photos and your thought after getting it.

I will get mine after I came back from school holiday next week. wink.gif
Cynox
post Aug 24 2017, 02:21 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(soul_fly9900 @ Aug 24 2017, 02:04 PM)
Uh order already? You guys gonna hate me late in informing this. I just saw some random fb posts Asus is running a merdeka sale, their ultrawide is around rm4899 now if not mistaken, try ask you guys fav vendor for confirmation.
is the price RM4899 refer to PG348Q? I doubt they will give such a deep cut in price from RM6k plus.

Edit: Just check Idealtech pricelist updated today, PG348Q only listed at RM4,699.

This post has been edited by Cynox: Aug 24 2017, 02:53 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1305sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:08 PM