1. Brand:
Better known brand

2. Budget:
800~1000

3. Specs:
Prefer high ram, battery life, small size, screen size not important

4. What you need in the phone:
1. Lasting 2. durable

took care of my S2 and it lasted me 4 years, so i hope next phone could do better in terms of performance as my S2 now running out of RAM as soon i loaded 2 or more apps, thanks!
Alan Yee
post Aug 6 2015, 11:31 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(mr_mm @ Aug 5 2015, 11:17 PM)
hi sifu..
ive oledi seen in the satu gadget..
n a bit confuse..
wat r the dffrent btween imported set n malaysia set..
but the warranty 2 years by satu gadget 4 import set..
cud u help me sifu..whch 1 ok.
TIA
ekceli i wanna buy redmi note lte..

Reply on behalf of other sifu, correct me if I'm wrong.

Imported set = AP set. Where warranty is not at Malaysia, and you cannot bring your phone at any local service center. Phone will be send back to China factory for warranty, thus waiting time is much longer.
Thus it is labeled "imported set" where it is imported unofficially from other country (China).
Normally it is cheaper than the Malaysia set or Original set.

Malaysia Set = Original phone that is intended to sell in Malaysia that conform to Malaysia network specification.
You can bring the phone to any local service center for repair, original and genuine part are used and sold.
Because of the good warranty, and genuine original part for Malaysia market, the price is higher than AP set.

afif95
post Aug 6 2015, 01:20 PM

180 posts

Hi guys, looking for an android phone. Doesn't matter what brand. My budget is about RM 1200+. Will be mainly using it for social media and media. Gaming not so much as I've got my iPad for that.

Looking for the best bang for buck, prefer good camera and smooth experience and Lollipop. Help is much appreciated sifus!

This post has been edited by afif95: Aug 6 2015, 01:20 PM
fishmango
post Aug 6 2015, 02:52 PM

796 posts

1. Brand:
Any

2. Budget:
less than 1.8k

3. Specs:
Good camera, got micro sd slot, good battery life, no overheat problem

4. What you need with the phone:
easy to sell after one yr of used with min depreciation and min. loss
monocle
post Aug 6 2015, 03:18 PM

2,645 posts

QUOTE(fishmango @ Aug 6 2015, 02:52 PM)
1. Brand:
Any

2. Budget:
less than 1.8k

3. Specs:
Good camera, got micro sd slot, good battery life, no overheat problem

4. What you need with the phone:
easy to sell after one yr of used with min depreciation and min. loss
Note 4, xperia z3
Speedodevo
post Aug 6 2015, 07:47 PM

257 posts

I've come again.

Seeking a phone that is below rm500.

Criteria - for hotspot only
Requirement - must have wifi tethering and support 4G. If dual sim 4G is the better.

Brand is not a concern, as long i can get the cheapest i can. Thanks in advance sifu.
Alan Yee
post Aug 6 2015, 09:33 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Speedodevo @ Aug 6 2015, 07:47 PM)
I've come again.

Requirement - must have wifi tethering and support 4G. If dual sim 4G is the better.

Brand is not a concern, as long i can get the cheapest i can. Thanks in advance sifu.
Xiaomi Redmi 2
Speedodevo
post Aug 6 2015, 09:47 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Aug 6 2015, 09:33 PM)
Xiaomi Redmi 2
Already got that, use as primary phone for normal use, redmi note and mipad for game use. Any cheaper than that?
Alan Yee
post Aug 6 2015, 09:56 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Speedodevo @ Aug 6 2015, 09:47 PM)
Already got that, use as primary phone for normal use, redmi note and mipad for game use. Any cheaper than that?
AP set from some Lenovo phone.
Or, second hand Redmi 2. brows.gif brows.gif
Speedodevo
post Aug 6 2015, 10:04 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Aug 6 2015, 09:56 PM)
AP set from some Lenovo phone.
Or, second hand Redmi 2. brows.gif  brows.gif
Lol, looks like there are no any other cheaper option. Btw thanks for your help Alan. 😉
SonnyCooL
post Aug 8 2015, 12:20 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

brand any brand will do.
prefer dual sim (single sim is ok) n lte.
high ram prefer and mid to high ranger.
budget 800-1200.

current phone z2 n mi4i (dropping thiz phone, iz kind of suck for me)
imoogi99
post Aug 8 2015, 12:34 PM

147 posts

Wait for this Thursday pending Redmi Note 2 announcement. Could be a better phone in the below RM800 price bracket. Am holding back my buying on others.
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 8 2015, 01:28 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Aug 6 2015, 11:31 AM)
Reply on behalf of other sifu, correct me if I'm wrong.

Imported set = AP set. Where warranty is not at Malaysia, and you cannot bring your phone at any local service center. Phone will be send back to China factory for warranty, thus waiting time is much longer.
Thus it is labeled "imported set" where it is imported unofficially from other country (China).
Normally it is cheaper than the Malaysia set or Original set.
Malaysia Set = Original phone that is intended to sell in Malaysia that conform to Malaysia network specification.
You can bring the phone to any local service center for repair, original and genuine part are used and sold.
Because of the good warranty, and genuine original part for Malaysia market, the price is higher than AP set.
Fixed. Ap sets NEVER sent back to origin country for warranty. Instead it will be repaired by the selling shops who are selling the phone. Thats y the time taken is longer because they need to source for the spareparts and not SEND BACK to origin country.
And again,wrong info.
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 8 2015, 01:29 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(Speedodevo @ Aug 6 2015, 07:47 PM)
I've come again.

stay tune for meizu m2. Not note version.
ahbenchai
post Aug 8 2015, 06:24 PM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

any good smart phone under RM400

- all rounded is good enough

thx
Alan Yee
post Aug 8 2015, 09:57 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Aug 8 2015, 01:28 PM)
Fixed. Ap sets NEVER sent back to origin country for warranty. Instead it will be repaired by the selling shops who are selling the phone. Thats y the time taken is longer because they need to source for the spareparts and not SEND BACK to origin country.
And again,wrong info.
Thanks for clarification.
Alan Yee
post Aug 8 2015, 10:30 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(akemasyraf @ Aug 5 2015, 06:05 PM)
Hi, need to recommend my friend between Xiaomi Mi4 and Asus Zenfone 2 ZE551ML 2gb ram. Which one is better? Oh and he didnt mind of no 4g in Mi4. Thanks for helping.
If 4G don't mine, then both are equally ok.

Here are the verdict:

Consider Zenfone 2 over Mi4
1. Bigger screen, 5.5" vs 5"
2. Has micro SD slot
3. 32GB storage vs only 16GB storage (more storage memory is always welcome, but Mi4 only come with 16GB with no expandable option)
4. Has NFC (may not be a drastic feature at the moment, but future proof, Mi4 don't has this)
5. Has 4G (I know your friend don't mind, but 4G is the future, and it is proven to be much faster than 3G in overall internet usage)

Consider Mi4 over Zenfone 2
1. Much lighter, thinner and slimmer, easy for 1 hand use, much slimmer screen bezel
2. Better camera quality
3. Around 50% more brighter screen (well, Zenfone 2 screen is not that dim actually, but much dimmer than Mi4)
4. Better build quality (has side metal frame)

Overall, Zenfone 2 win over Mi4 in features, but Mi4 win over Zenfone 2 on better quality on build, outlook, and camera.

Alan Yee
post Aug 8 2015, 10:33 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(afif95 @ Aug 6 2015, 01:20 PM)
Hi guys, looking for an android phone. Doesn't matter what brand. My budget is about RM 1200+. Will be mainly using it for social media and media. Gaming not so much as I've got my iPad for that.

Looking for the best bang for buck, prefer good camera and smooth experience and Lollipop. Help is much appreciated sifus!
Oneplus One will be the most bang for buck.

Alternative may be ASUS Zenfone 2 (32GB, 4GB RAM edition)
Alan Yee
post Aug 8 2015, 10:44 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Aug 8 2015, 12:20 PM)
brand any brand will do.
prefer dual sim (single sim is ok) n lte.
high ram prefer and mid to high ranger.
budget 800-1200.

current phone z2 n mi4i (dropping thiz phone, iz kind of suck for me)
Around RM1200, best will be Oneplus One, best all rounder at this price range, but only single sim.
Around RM800 to RM900, ASUS Padfone S or ASUS Padfone S Plus may be also considerable, but again, only single sim.

Well, those ASUS Zenfone 2 are around this price range too, may be your best choice among the dual sim phone, but heard only 1 sim can have 4G/3G and sms, another sim just active for calling, need verify by yourself.

Mi4 is around this pricing too, but is very similar to Mi4i, except the different processor, 3GB RAM, and no 4G.

A new midrange phone around this price will be the Samsung Galaxy J7
akemasyraf
post Aug 9 2015, 12:18 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Aug 8 2015, 10:30 PM)
If 4G don't mine, then both are equally ok.

Here are the verdict:

Consider Zenfone 2 over Mi4
1. Bigger screen, 5.5" vs 5"
2. Has micro SD slot
3. 32GB storage vs only 16GB storage (more storage memory is always welcome, but Mi4 only come with 16GB with no expandable option)
4. Has NFC (may not be a drastic feature at the moment, but future proof, Mi4 don't has this)
5. Has 4G (I know your friend don't mind, but 4G is the future, and it is proven to be much faster than 3G in overall internet usage)
Consider Mi4 over Zenfone 2
1. Much lighter, thinner and slimmer, easy for 1 hand use, much slimmer screen bezel
2. Better camera quality
3. Around 50% more brighter screen (well, Zenfone 2 screen is not that dim actually, but much dimmer than Mi4)
4. Better build quality (has side metal frame)

Overall, Zenfone 2 win over Mi4 in features, but Mi4 win over Zenfone 2 on better quality on build, outlook, and camera.
Very well explained! Will show this to my friend, thank you!

127 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:58 AM