Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl

SUSsupersound
post Oct 20 2015, 03:11 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Oct 20 2015, 01:10 PM)
I also got offer recently via Linkedin. Someone from HR PETRONAS asking me either want to join the organisation which based in Kerteh for Downstream

After a month submit CV to him, straight go to TA and SI. Luckily passed all the iview. Unfortunately the offer not  so good which reduction from my current salary.

Since I am working as contract staff now and the business in Upstream not so good,I might think to take permanent role's but reduction of the salary.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Well, there's pros and cons on this, for me I'll just take the offer and work for few years. Then will jump to Middle East which will be higher salary.
Gain more experience on this bad time will be good to pave way for later thumbup.gif
While I have no interest on your pay, can say how many % of reduction hmm.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 21 2015, 10:52 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Oct 21 2015, 09:21 AM)
Guys, is Field Development Engineer is a good position? And do u think this position can help me to hop from one to another company?
Only the person that sitting in that post do the best only the post will be good. If he just sleep in that post, he will be flushed out soon.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 21 2015, 11:02 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Oct 21 2015, 10:56 AM)
is about 45% reduction from current salary.. Haha.. Petronas ohh Petronas... the logic is simple for them..taken as this position is permanent or stay with your high salary but ready for no jobs at all due to slow of economy..

I might think better sell goreng pisang... to rich it not depends which company you been hired but how much money u gets in hand.. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Well, that's why I'm willing to get "sacked" and becoming a hawker now but I got under table agreement with my "previous" boss for this icon_rolleyes.gif
The return is I still can go in as visiting engineer and get paid, tax free.
But as permanent staff, you get some extra benefits that not contract staff can get, so is better you read the bloody T&C properly before decide. Like my friend join MNC just because his son got some sickness and require long term treatment.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 21 2015, 02:25 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Oct 21 2015, 11:51 AM)
Huh? I dont get your point.
You need to contribute to the company, not company contribute money to you only whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 21 2015, 02:53 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Oct 21 2015, 02:38 PM)
u dont even answer my question.
Well, is you that never get my point.
As said, any post would be good only if you can perform and contribute.
If your intention is to join a company and get a blind post, guess you only need PLP skills shocking.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 23 2015, 02:50 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Oct 23 2015, 12:08 AM)
Guys, stay strong! Im sure this storm will be over soon.. Any otai that work overseas have any idea about the E&P sector now, what is the progress of shale oil now? seems like org org amerika tak mau back down...still drilling like no tmrw.
A good word of stay strong laugh.gif
Upstream in overseas like Middle East are suffering with this.
Mass hiring in these countries already stopped and only Saudi still doing mass hiring on downstream business since they have 2 mega refineries going to put online by the next 2 years.
Qatar Petroleum every month sure have 3-5 fellows get laid to rest with various excuses from age reached, contract can't be renewed whistling.gif
Shale oil has to be blend with crude oil as it can't really make full range of finished products like crude oil.

SUSsupersound
post Oct 25 2015, 09:40 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(captain_asia @ Oct 24 2015, 12:05 PM)
hi guys, is there any lady working at oil rig? i am girl and i am thinking to study petroleum engineering but i am worried after graduate i will be given a job that requires to work under sun all day. Do offshore engineers work under sun all day? Which degree is more suitable for oil and gas jobs? Chemical engineering or petroleum engineering? Which major do oil companies prefer? will studying petroleum engineering restrict career choices afterwards? can a petroleum engineer work in other industry other than oil and gas? btw, the other industry i mean is those industries that will let me utilize the knowledge i got from my degree not like banking or sales. any help is much appreciated. thank you tongue.gif
Chemical engineering are better than petroleum engineering since petroleum are part of chemical(in general terms).
Also, after you graduated on chemical engineering, your job market are wider. And if you are lucky to join O&G companies, then only continue study on petroleum engineering.
O&G companies don't really bother much on fresh graduates, they prefer jumping frogs with experience.
Best of all, once you acquire both paper and skills, don't limit your self as a kampung hero, go outside of Malaysia and you will be rewarded. The pay you can get easily 4X more than what you earn in Malaysia with extra leaves sometimes.
Then at the same time study business admin.

SUSsupersound
post Oct 25 2015, 06:19 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(captain_asia @ Oct 25 2015, 05:28 PM)
thanks for the reply..may i know do oil companies hire ladies to work offshore? and do they work under sun? does studying engineering at utp provide more chances to get oil and gas jobs?
You won't need to work under hot sun for 1 whole day.
Female operator you mean or engineer? If engineer, likely to have but operator not in Malaysia.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 26 2015, 06:05 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Oct 26 2015, 12:02 PM)
Fyi, Petronas ICT is recruiting new staff now. Saw the advertisement somewhere.
Got post for manager?
Since got 1 manager being charged on songlap money last week thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 30 2015, 08:50 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(zull12 @ Oct 30 2015, 07:47 PM)
Hi otai2 sekalian...

I juz new in this thread...Now looking forward for job for career development in oil and gas industry...I juz graduate from chemical eng... hope u guyz can give some suggestions to me for a good start

P/s: nowadays, it's very hard to fine place that hired graduate eng.
I hope the bold sentence are not what you are typing in your application shocking.gif
Anyway, is all boils down which company you are able to join, be it as contract staff or permanent staff.
If you still got time and money during the waiting period, suggest to take some short term courses like HSSE since now government are pushing hard for this icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 31 2015, 10:18 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ed1torz @ Oct 31 2015, 09:42 AM)
you can't deny the fact due to oil price correction, downsizing on their way rgdlss which company your in..
Nope, this won't happen in Malaysia whistling.gif Especially for petronas.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 31 2015, 05:39 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ed1torz @ Oct 31 2015, 05:04 PM)
glad to hear that. it was all good for a surplus
Don't worry, MAS situation in the making thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Nov 1 2015, 12:04 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Oct 31 2015, 08:23 PM)
Hello all pro and sifu, I'm currently a student who is planning to pursue my degree in O&G Management. Do you guys think it's advisable? And will I get a shot in O&G industries? Because I've asked some people who has a close relationship with the gov. and some big company staffs, they said they don't really look for a fresh graduates with a O&G background but more on other background such as Marketing, Logistics and others...
Please advise me whether is it still worth pursuing with this field smile.gif
As you know, the crude oil crisis game is unstable...
Usually you need chemical engineering background as a start, gaining experience in your way.
Then you need to take some management courses. Like Shell, most of the senior management start their career with chemical engineering and from there they start to climb.
That's what you see in the surface, the actual fact is, you need to sell your self and park in the right jetty. This is the only way to climb up fast. I've seen a fellow becoming a senior manager within 10 years or so, is not because he is good, is because he is selected and playing the office politic game. More experience are better thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Nov 1 2015, 12:06 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(midget33 @ Oct 31 2015, 11:49 PM)
Hi all the sifus here. Do anyone here ever apply or go for face-to-face interview with Exxonmobil Singapore? It is a downstream job, refinery + chemical plant. =)
Try your very best for the interview, be honest.
Now downstream business will be more secured comparing to upstream business thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Nov 1 2015, 12:09 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Nov 1 2015, 04:52 AM)
they wont be coming back at all due to the terms in the layoff
"employees who has been made redundant or taking the redundancy package voluntarily will not be allowed to work/apply for the company in the future"

well, rezeki ada di mana2...god speed.
On this, right and wrong only I can say whistling.gif
If you know the way, you can join back the same company, if lucky, with higher post shocking.gif
But if a Petronas staffs that get laid off, they are more happy to accepting the package, since their path after this will be the Middle East which promise them at least 5X more than what they are earning in Petronas.
Usually Petronas's staffs won't take any VSS as they will resign once they gain some experience. Like Saudi's Satorp, most Malaysians are from Petronas laugh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Nov 1 2015, 01:50 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Nov 1 2015, 12:27 PM)
So basically got O&G Management degree also no use in O&G industry ? :/
Sort of, on middle to senior management post, they don't bother too much on paper.
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs2/view/7896203...view_browse_map
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs2/view/7797181...=0DzBtI5jfpQSY1
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs2/view/7079601...view_browse_map
Just to give you some examples.
When market are good, paper comes first, but with current situations, experience + paper nod.gif
SUSsupersound
post Nov 2 2015, 12:28 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Nov 2 2015, 11:05 AM)
Hm... Then I think I really need to make a deeper consideration on this course :/
Thanks man!
Think properly first as O&G are just iron rice bowl. Iron can get rusted fast tongue.gif
SUSsupersound
post Nov 11 2015, 10:21 PM

11,554 posts

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/319148
When Petronas will follow other companies? Or will they still remain on running all the white elephant projects?
SUSsupersound
post Dec 1 2015, 10:15 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(piggiek @ Nov 30 2015, 11:56 AM)
Yea, just wondering if there any rules that if they rejected me, how many years I cannot apply for the next position? or I still can apply?
Resubmit again, then prepare to get rejected again. Then repeat again, advise from Lowyat forum are good BTW whistling.gif
As an ostrich thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Dec 1 2015, 01:11 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(piggiek @ Dec 1 2015, 11:03 AM)
Mean?
You need better ways to go in to O&G companies but resubmitting application are not the way.
You need to follow the ways how our politicians doing now but all people over here that gave you "good" advise will die die deny this.

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0520sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:10 AM