May 26 2015, 10:18 AM
346 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ May 25 2015, 10:26 PM) of course it is possible. my U senior who was a petronas scholar resigned from petronas after less than one yr service to join slb. she paid the penalty but i guess it is really worth it. now she's working/staying in houston, still with slb. gua macam kenal jer U senior you tu. Seri ker?? If she is the one, she is my schoolmates. working with operator vs oilfield services....both have pros and cons...depending what is 'best' means for you... if you are fresh grad, apply all....the competition is very very tough out there. quick google search can tell you how many people being laid off in this 2-3 month and still on going...get in first, build your network, gain experiences, work hard and go up the ladder...keep humble... |
May 26 2015, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(BaRT @ May 26 2015, 08:55 AM) We're just village heroes. LOL, true true. There is always someone who claimed they are more holier and more valuable than others. The concept of inter-dependency doesn't make sense to them.Office workers who does not develop, just copy and paste. So we chose to.........ignore |
Jun 2 2015, 09:49 AM
Jun 5 2015, 09:01 AM
Jun 12 2015, 02:55 PM
getting bored with the negativity here.
Jun 22 2015, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(jingga @ Jun 22 2015, 01:18 AM) Can anyone suggest any company/contact i can apply for painting inspector position? been shooting lots of CVs but no luck so far. Currently unemployed after finish contract for Turn Around in PCFK. Cheers Bro,Big TA is coming up for PPMSB. Nanti cuba jolok CV kat sana.. |
Jul 31 2015, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jul 30 2015, 08:09 PM) Who told you that/ FDP is such a great scope to be in, you will be involved with Petroleum engineers/subsurface guys and you will eventually become a Leader (Subsurface)..Good $$$$$ Wow, FDP is such a great prospect for you. It is easier for you to rise & make $$$$.PM me for more info.. |
Aug 5 2015, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(Vervain @ Aug 5 2015, 08:41 AM) Heard an official press statement was release. Shell will be pulling out from Sarawak. Anyone got the article? Wow, that is a super big new if it is true. The only article that I found was that they are investing more in Sarawak.http://www.shell.com.my/aboutshell/media-c...r-07042015.html |
Aug 21 2015, 11:52 AM
Sep 1 2015, 08:27 AM
Sep 4 2015, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Sep 4 2015, 09:31 AM) If you can deny the world that : your bullshit is getting lamer by the day. Petronas will take more Chinese and Indian based on population no retrenchment taking place Then, yes, you are right. But the dirty fact says your statement are totally wrong. Or another way is, do prove that petronas work force do have > 30% of non malays working. Check the race population in the contractor in O & G. Is it Malay dominated or Chinese dominated? You kept blaming Petronas for having more Malay but if Petronas doesn't enforce a minimum number of bumi employees in contractor, do you think they will hire any Malay? Heck, check even further for those company that being awarded with mega contract in other industry. Sunway, Gamuda, Mah Sing. Isn't Chinese are dominating and reaping most of the benefits? Yet you are targetting Petronas for being Malay dominated. |
Oct 1 2015, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 1 2015, 10:31 AM) Well, I never thinking of going back to work in O&G, at least I accepted the fact and move on, rather than some of you guys still refuse to accept this fact. When Shell published openly stating they will slash staffs, some still wanted to twist it and put a VSS just to make it look nice its is one thing to talk about your bullshit but it is another when you simply play a death of a person to justify your bullshit. The deceased Drilling Manager is from Vestigo, not your bullshit Alibaba company. Do you think it is easy to rise to Drilling Manager role?Well, 10 of my statement do "baseless" in Lowyat forum, but it never been baseless in reality. Like hiring Shell staffs need Petronas approval are not bust by me where i already know it from the past 10 years, need politician's influence to secure a job in Petronas also is a fact. Oh, almost forgot, a member's friend here that working in Alibaba company got awarded with Petronas projects bought a white Porsche and involving in illegal racing in PLUS highway but later accident and had his brain splashed to another Satria. After some checking on his background, he has direct relation to a political party Another "baseless" fact, most people that recently went for Petronas SI are still not getting a post after > 6 months while 2 of my friends that are not qualified at all managed to get a middle post by going backdoor Your opinion is too narrow and doesn't have any substance to it. Playing victim is yesterday game when all of us know that Chinese race dominated the contract/project/company in Malaysia. Whenever you don't get a position in Petronas, Petronas is rascist. Whenever another race didn't get the position in Petronas, they are incompetent. When you get the role in Petronas, you are good and qualified. If other race get the role in Petronas, they are Alibaba, backdoor connected, politically helped by others. Stop with playing victim. It is boring. As usual you will say that "try to hide the truth, run from reality" crap. |
Oct 1 2015, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Oct 1 2015, 04:26 PM) Yup, you are right on this, that's why after 900 Yeah right, look at the major contractor supporting Petronas and look at the Board of Directors. Or you want me to quote their names?Anyway, still good luck to you on denying Petronas is not an Alibaba protecting and racist company. Again, this is happening in Lowyat but not the reality KNM? Wah Seong? Dialog Group? Muhibbah? Yet I still bet you gonna pick on Sapura (minus the Kencana - another Chinese dominated organization) & THHE. Alibaba? Racist? Take a peek inside man, take a peek and gimme your piece of mind. Look at the so-called diversity in their organization. Oh, I forgot that Petronas is the biggest bigot of all. I choose to join the Chinese dominated company and I excelled in it instead of blaming others racist. I took my chance in O&G as it gives me more challenge and more money. When the economy is bad, just embrace it as the risks comes with the job. What industry isn't impacted? I was around in 2010 when semiconductor manufacturing was impacted. Life isn't rosy in newspaper/publishing company too as physical paper is deemed redundant. Palm oil industry also doesn't look bright now. It is bad but life goes on. Your career is by choice, not shoved down your throat. If you are being VSS, grief for 1 day and get up again. Don't forever play victim. People will pity you one day but the pity will turn to hate. This post has been edited by thoyol: Oct 1 2015, 04:59 PM |
Oct 8 2015, 02:43 PM
spot on. As a HR, I been trying to preach about succession planning as I foresee that it will be a major crisis in the aging O&G. The current economic downturn also dampen the effort to sell the initiative.
QUOTE(Salary @ Oct 8 2015, 02:03 PM) The Oil & Gas industry’s next crisis is not about oil price Oct 1, Tobias Read According to a general consensus, 200,000 professional grade jobs have been lost from the upstream industry in the last twelve months. With new capital expenditure as rare as hens’ teeth, 2016 is shaping up to be another tough year. My expectation is that the overall number of losses will go over 250,000: Obviously, this is not an encouraging statistic. There is also a longer term impact to consider, alongside the awful cost to individuals and families whose very real struggles make up the top line statistics. The headline figure only charts job losses; it does not take into account jobs that are not being created. Budding graduate engineers who are not being hired will have a real, long-term impact on the industry’s talent pool – a point I credit to Bill Thomas of the SWCC. This deficit in new entrants to the talent pool will continue to mount until there is a clear recovery and mothballed graduate schemes are restarted. That may be two to four years out. Those that have exited the industry in the mid to later stages of their career are good people, often some of the most qualified. Those lucky enough to be at the right age for retirement, probably have retired. Those with mortgages and car payments are the most battered and bruised by all this and many have had to find options outside the sector. So what of the great crew change? This was the name given to the impending retirement of large numbers of oil & gas professionals. According to a recent article in the Oil & Gas Financial Journal, 71% are over the age of 50, and they will have prospered during the boom years. Their departure would create a skill shortage that would pose real problems if the recruitment and development of young engineers couldn’t keep pace. This used to preoccupy everybody in the business. Right now, you don’t hear much talk of it. Not surprising really. Who wants to talk about skill shortages when major employers are trying to decide which 20% of their businesses to lay-off? People are retiring? OK. That alleviates some pressure. You’ll have spotted the problem here. It concerns me greatly, and frankly it should concern every CEO of every oil related business: Losing significant numbers from the older end of the workforce, while not bringing in anyone at the younger end will have two main impacts. Firstly, you’ll see a reduction in the pressure to downsize your workforce. You don’t have to lay off people who are retiring, or who were never hired. So that’s comforting. Secondly, you’ll create a massive skill gap in the future workforce. I know that everybody is preparing themselves for longer term low oil prices and recruitment and rebuilding the talent pool is not on anyone’s list of priorities. This is woefully shortsighted. I’m reminded of the story of the man who fell off the roof of a skyscraper. As he looked at his reflection in the glass on the way down he said to himself. ‘Well, so far so good.’ The moral of the story. It’s not how you fall, it’s how you land. This industry will land. In the upstream sector we are in for an extended period of at least three years of under-investment following the recent six years of over-investment and, before we know it, global demand will accelerate, reserves will deplete and productive assets will atrophy. At that point, and I’m thinking now of 2018, the market will rebound, slowly at first but then with a vengeance. At that point the industry is going to kick in again only to find that it has lost much of the talent required to deliver projects. The war for talent will return, contractor rates will rapidly increase regaining recent lost ground and achieving new highs. This may tempt retirees back from their beach retreats and a return to the oil patch for those not too battered by the experience of being forcibly removed during the current cost cutting. While the great crew change was much talked about until last year, it never really bit. Yes wages and day-rates accelerated but never to critical levels. Next time it will bite hard. There is no magic wand and there is nothing we can do about it. This is a market of supply and demand. We can’t force oil companies to invest in graduate schemes or to retain non-critical staff when the market is down. If you are an employee there may be good news ahead; job security for another cycle beacons. If you are an employer then your situation will be more difficult. This will be the actual ‘great crew change’. Talent will be in short supply, supply chain costs will increase, raising break-even and lowering profits. Future talent will come from wider afield. Where once the US and the UK exported ex-pats, those destinations will now become key sources of talent, subject as always to visa restrictions. Other than that there are not many answers. As an employer, look to your behavior now while the tide is out. People have long memories. If you have to fire people, fire people nicely and leave the door open for them to return when you need them. Maintain your contacts in staffing and work closely with key suppliers to secure access to future talent. If you don’t, then you will be forced to simply revert to fundamentals and pay more than the next company. It may not feel like it now, but 2018 is not far away. New years bring new problems and in our industry, the pace of change is rapid. The days when we worried about $145 oil may seem a long way behind us, but I assure you they are right behind us. Just as the next burgeoning crisis is right in front of us. ______________ Tobias Read is the CEO of Swift Worldwide Resources, a world leader in Oil & Gas staffing with thousands of employees across the global industry. Source |
Oct 12 2015, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(Salary @ Oct 11 2015, 05:36 PM) This thread was a good source for reliable information, until someone came along. Wonder what made him so bitter about the major O&G players in Malaysia to the point where he needs to conjure false information to defame the industry and everybody in it. dude, thanks for the long and informative post. The thread has become too bitter as someone clearly has a grudge against O&G.Now I'm being accused of owning 10 cyber identities. I'm more than happy to meet this clown in person, but unfortunately, he spends virtually 24/7 on lyn |
Nov 27 2015, 09:35 AM
My company gave on average 3-5% increment to average staffs. The top technical staffs are getting around 10% increment.
I myself managed to get 12% increment this year. Syukur.. Apparently the chairman felt that the company need to reward the employees during bad turbulent times so the employees will remember the company during the good times. Is it a good move? Financially I don't think so but as a staff, hell yeah!! |
Nov 27 2015, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(MEngineer @ Nov 27 2015, 11:44 AM) Sorry bro. Most of the positions are mainly in inspection role instead of engineering. Based on the market survey that been conducted, the hottest role in O&G right now are Plant Maintenance, Inspection (HSE/QAQC) & Management (Account & HR). Salary wise, it is not wise to jump ship now as management are not ready to offer a higher salary compared to existing package. The supply for other roles are more than demand therefore the term 'Employer is King' are in effect. |
Nov 27 2015, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(mhyug @ Nov 27 2015, 02:37 PM) there's always a saying," companies dont need to look after their clients, just look after their staff and the staff in turn will take care of the clients". i think your chairman thinks the same way. happy workers = you giving the best and above imo. True. I actually about to tender my resignation and join other industry. Suddenly when received this sort of increment, aiyaakkk... Sudah cair.. Haha..p.s the above saying is from richard branson |
Dec 3 2015, 09:50 AM
| Change to: | 0.0487sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:16 PM |