> JUST GOT A J41 JOB OFFER IN GOMEN., WORK - SCOPE?

TSprocontavia
post May 10 2015, 02:57 PM, updated 11y ago

398 posts

[USING MY FRIEND'S ACCOUNT TO POST THIS]

Got a J41 job! I'm grateful that I'm to get a gov job offer.

Just got a call from the HR department of Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia (not JKR sad.gif ) : Told me I'd get a posting letter soon, but when I asked the HR officer of the kind of work i would be doing, he said: "bro, kerja u ialah maintenance of elevators and lifts in hospitals.."

I'm not so worried about the salary as I am about the kind of work I'd actually be doing. So I think the HR officer was just giving a textbook answer and not properly explaining to me what I'd be doing.. With my current job in a Consultant firm, I'm actually over-loaded with all kinds of work - from detailed design, to management, to business development- all sorts of stuff- but the downside is that this Consultant does not pay for my PDP (professional development program) training, and really doesn't pay well either.

Factors which will influence my decision to move to Public / stay in Private :
1) Will I actually be doing "maintenance" or would I be able to be involved in actual design engineering, yada yada? (Note: I'm not going to be assigned to JKR but KKM) Personally, I get satisfaction from learning stuffand I heard that in the government you get to go for training- in fact they'd be more than willing to send you places for training. Is this true?

2) Job security- private sector can kick you out anytime, but everyone seems to assume the government will keep you in service.

3) Pension security - How can you even be sure your pension is secure, let alone your KWSP money. We're just presuming that in about 20 plus yrs when we retire, government will faithfully give money to you?

4) I'm a non-bumi, so I'm worried about the whole "you-aint-us-so-you-wont-go-high". Myth or Reality?

I appreciate all helpful comments/advice,

And can someone give a simple breakdown of the salary & benefits scheme of working for the government?

I heard gaji now will be 2360 +
Elaun Perumahan - 250
Elaun Tetap Perkhidmatan Awam - 300
Elaun Kritikal - 750
Elaun COLA (mengikut lokaliti - 300

This post has been edited by procontavia: May 10 2015, 04:24 PM
SUS+ Blind Target +
post May 10 2015, 03:00 PM

133 posts

your job is to maintain proper working elevators, act fast and save lives sad.gif

frostfox
post May 10 2015, 03:01 PM

the end is near
1,601 posts

QUOTE(procontavia @ May 10 2015, 02:57 PM)

Just got a call from the HR department of Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia (not JKR  sad.gif ) : Told me I'd get a posting letter soon, but when I asked the HR officer of the kind of work i would be doing, he said: "bro, kerja u ialah maintenance of elevators and lifts in hospitals.."

I'm not so worried about the salary as I am about the kind of work I'd actually be doing. So I think the HR officer was just giving a textbook answer and not properly explaining to me what I'd be doing.. With my current job in a Consultant firm, I'm actually over-loaded with all kinds of work - from detailed design, to management, to business development- all sorts of stuff- but the downside is that this Consultant does not pay for my PDP (professional development program) training, and really doesn't pay well either.

1) Will I actually be doing "maintenance" or would I be able to be involved in actual design engineering, yada yada? (Note: I'm not going to be assigned to JKR but KKM) Personally, I get satisfaction from learning stuffand I heard that in the government you get to go for training- in fact they'd be more than willing to send you places for training. Is this true?

2) Job security- private sector can kick you out anytime, but everyone seems to assume the government will keep you in service.

3) Pension security - sigh. this can be a real FML - How can you even be sure your pension is secure, let alone your KWSP money. We're just presuming that in about 20 plus yrs when we retire, government will faithfully give money to you?

4) I'm a non-bumi, so I'm worried about the whole "you-aint-us-so-you-wont-go-high". Myth or Reality?
And can someone give a simple breakdown of the salary & benefits scheme of working for the government?

Elaun Perumahan - 250
Elaun Kritikal - 750
1. don't know
2.yes
3.yes
4.reality

xxx475475
post May 10 2015, 03:08 PM

142 posts

tou will not going to fix and maintaining the elevator/lift by yourself. they got seperate contractor or subs for that. ur job mostly supervise and plan the maintenance process.
SUSSuper Saiya
post May 10 2015, 03:12 PM

280 posts

tahniah
imsushi92
post May 10 2015, 03:15 PM

248 posts

how you apply?
imranzero

238 posts

untung la, u can take out all your epf moneyh...
neokyo

248 posts

41, u do paper work more than sweat work..
azarimy

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(procontavia @ May 10 2015, 06:57 AM)

Just got a call from the HR department of Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia (not JKR  sad.gif ) : Told me I'd get a posting letter soon, but when I asked the HR officer of the kind of work i would be doing, he said: "bro, kerja u ialah maintenance of elevators and lifts in hospitals.."

3) Pension security - sigh. this can be a real FML - How can you even be sure your pension is secure, let alone your KWSP money. We're just presuming that in about 20 plus yrs when we retire, government will faithfully give money to you?

Elaun Perumahan - 250
Elaun Kritikal - 750
first of all, i'm not familiar with the nature of ur work. are u a qualified mech. engineer?

1. the real job scope is very specific to that dept. even with the same post, ur job scope can vary between different government departments. so only ur immediate supervisor/superior can clearly inform u about this.

but on the training part, it's very true. in fact, for me, we're required to fulfill 40 hours of training/improvement programmes per year. that's why u often see government officers going for workshops and talks and training or what not all the time - to fulfill the quota. of course, the amount differs between positions. the depth of the training also differs.

for me, i came to the point where i instruct my HR the stuffs i wanna learn this year and they'll sort the budgets and stuffs. at one time i was pissed with them listing me in programmes that's not even useful to me.

2. yes, it's very, very hard to get fired from government. u can get potong gaji, demoted or transferred (or combinations of those), but unless u commit serious crime, u're safe.

3. u choose between pension or KWSP. i switched to pension long ago. about the security of pensions, well for now our labor union is pretty strong. u touch the pension, we change the government. simple as that.

4. this highly depends on ur boss and the environment u're in. in academia or civil service, u can climb up as high as u want. but in other places, probably not so much. but dont let it deter u. nowadays people are more open, unlike 20-30 years ago.

poooky
post May 10 2015, 03:17 PM

844 posts

Not bad gomen job stable n many perks. Basically d taxpayers r paying for u. But since u non bumi u will get d crumbs n b considered last in promotion or wtv.
pr0pofol
post May 10 2015, 03:21 PM

149 posts

J41 is jurutera awam
u won't do maintenance work la
more towards management work
maybe also involved in tender and building of new hospitals
metaled
post May 10 2015, 03:32 PM

273 posts

1. no, spanar and screw driver are only handle by person below u. u just make sure they repair it, and attend meeting here and there, management work mostly.

2. the biggest fear of all is kena transfer to other places out of state, that will disrupt your life.

3. very secure.

4. connection, and hard work at the correct places/point of course.

tahniah, J41 is quite an ok position.

If u have a good say in a project and the kind of product that will be used, prepare to be on a pay roll and frequent factory acceptance test at oversea, when u reach the higher level one day.

Remember to keep changing location and as remote as possible when the exchange of "power" in an envelope is going to happen. Yes in an envelope only and thick one, where there will be no sight of the "paper" inside. You dont want jealous people CCTV record you receiving them.
Robin Hood
post May 10 2015, 03:33 PM

289 posts

No keneksyun no naik tangga
SUSapj8188
post May 10 2015, 03:39 PM

198 posts

syukur boleh masuk kerja lambat balik awal dan kuih time teh time kuih time teh time kuih time teh time
SUSlaoahpek
post May 10 2015, 03:41 PM

40 posts

i apply so much...non success

syukor dapat gomen work
abcde90
post May 10 2015, 03:44 PM

183 posts

Jurutera operasi hospital?

Gudlak when dealing with syarikat konsesi

Kui kui kui
ihatemynahs
post May 10 2015, 03:51 PM

48 posts

Not to pour cold water, but I wonder whether u'd have the same level of enthusiasm a year or two from now. It does sound like a terribly boring and repetitive job. Anyways, good luck to you.
four_add
post May 10 2015, 03:51 PM

Senior Lurker
842 posts

u got offer for permanent or contact post (J41) ?
AFAIK, all those under J scheme is under JKR, 'gunasama' which means later can change agency if not satifsied with MOH.

u got call from MOH,so contract basis is it ?

also J41 do lots of paperwork, presenation, etc. also can make sebutharga/tender when buying stuf/service...
Zaryl
post May 10 2015, 03:59 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

J41 but still contract bro.

Nowadays gomen job also got contract, 1 year, 2 years.

If the management wants to fire you, they can do so without any valid reasons pun.

Try check balik your agreement.

Other than this, congrats on your new job and good luck!

Selamat menjadi pencacai Jay Ampat Puluh Satu huehuehue
Avex
post May 10 2015, 04:01 PM

570 posts

Ada chance to songlap, good to be rich.
zstan
post May 10 2015, 04:03 PM

15,856 posts

Fixing elevators is a noble job. The lift at jb hospital is so damn old and worn out that it takes so long to even open the door.
and85rew
post May 10 2015, 04:08 PM

Red Devil
877 posts

meeting meeting meeting
TSprocontavia
post May 10 2015, 04:08 PM

398 posts

I'm a Mechanical Eng.

Would appreciate more inputs on the posting location under kementerian kesihatan...

TSprocontavia
post May 10 2015, 04:09 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 10 2015, 03:59 PM)
J41 but still contract bro.

Nowadays gomen job also got contract, 1 year, 2 years.

If the management wants to fire you, they can do so without any valid reasons pun.

Try check balik your agreement.

Other than this, congrats on your new job and good luck!

Selamat menjadi pencacai Jay Ampat Puluh Satu huehuehue
It's a permanent position according to the offer letter
gogocan
post May 10 2015, 04:10 PM

486 posts

U freshgrad or what? Cukur starting $4k.
ohman
post May 10 2015, 04:13 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(apj8188 @ May 10 2015, 03:39 PM)
syukur boleh masuk kerja lambat balik awal dan kuih time teh time kuih time teh time kuih time teh time
Ala.

Karipap lagi.
and85rew
post May 10 2015, 04:15 PM

Red Devil
877 posts

QUOTE(procontavia @ May 10 2015, 04:08 PM)
I'm a Mechanical Eng.
Would appreciate more inputs on the posting location under kementerian kesihatan...
i think it will only be known after u reported to the hq

govt..easy to secure loans la

but..slow working culture
TSprocontavia
post May 10 2015, 04:17 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(four_add @ May 10 2015, 03:51 PM)
u got offer for permanent or contact post (J41) ?
AFAIK, all those under J scheme is under JKR, 'gunasama' which means later can change agency if not satifsied with MOH.

u got call from MOH,so contract basis is it ?

also J41 do lots of paperwork, presenation, etc. also can make sebutharga/tender when buying stuf/service...
hi four_add,

what's AFAIK?

On changing agencies, I suppose that would be totally subject to position availability - I'm from KL so i'd do my best to get a job in KL la. Maybe the office in Putrajaya, don't know yet.

Also, on what basis do you say J41 is for paperwork, tender evaluation, as compared to the rest? Everyone here has not been giving basis to their claims that J41 is like that, especially since this comes under MoH purview. smile.gif
deepan84
post May 10 2015, 04:19 PM

White Rider
2,200 posts

who is ur ketua perkhidmatan? if MOH is taking you in straight without u going thru SPA, its a contract position.
TSprocontavia
post May 10 2015, 04:23 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ May 10 2015, 04:19 PM)
who is ur  ketua perkhidmatan? if MOH is taking you in straight without u going thru SPA, its a contract position.
Ketua not stated, but this letter came through SPA letter head .
deepan84
post May 10 2015, 04:25 PM

White Rider
2,200 posts

QUOTE(procontavia @ May 10 2015, 04:23 PM)
then its tetap la.. but posted to MOH. congrats!
leymahn
post May 10 2015, 04:26 PM

150 posts

well congrats.
Faidzal
post May 10 2015, 04:26 PM

240 posts

Elaun Perumahan - 250
Elaun Kritikal - 750
1. yes, govt. support you in continuuing education. i don't know job scope much, but expect to do lots of paperwork and very little actual engineering work.

2. after you get 'status tetap dan berpencen', basically very hard to get you fired unless you yourself offer to resign

3. pension is quite secure but you need to serve at least 20 years befoer you get full pension (60% of last drawn salary).

4. don't worry so much, but don't expect the govt. to fully follow your typical work culture found in private sector (particularly those who came from chinaman-style companies).

in the sense that the more you accept and tolerate the sometimes peculiar work culture, the higher chance they accept you and promote you.
deepan84
post May 10 2015, 04:30 PM

White Rider
2,200 posts

lemme answer your question

You will be mostly handling and attending meetings. Also supervising on site projects/maintenance. You will most probably not do the maintenance yourself.

yes your job is safe until u sign a new agreement under a new skim saraan which most probably will have a clause to sack u if youre not performing. But dont worry, lotsa lazy ppl in civil service will not agree to this like how SBPA was scrapped.

3) Pension security - How can you even be sure your pension is secure, let alone your KWSP money. We're just presuming that in about 20 plus yrs when we retire, government will faithfully give money to you?

You are guaranteed pension after retirement as per ur agreement after your probationary period. Maybe gratuity will be scrapped though.

Depends on how u lick ur boss shoes. Its all bout networking in civil service. If u work hard but not ok with boss means ull forever be stuck.
four_add
post May 10 2015, 04:34 PM

Senior Lurker
842 posts

QUOTE(procontavia @ May 10 2015, 04:17 PM)
hi four_add,

what's AFAIK?

On changing agencies, I suppose that would be totally subject to position availability - I'm from KL so i'd do my best to get a job in KL la. Maybe the office in Putrajaya, don't know yet.
Also, on what basis do you say J41 is for paperwork, tender evaluation, as compared to the rest? Everyone here has not been giving basis to their claims that J41 is like that, especially since this comes under MoH purview. smile.gif
QUOTE(procontavia @ May 10 2015, 04:23 PM)
AFAIK is 'As Far As I Know'.

Since the letter is from SPA then should be confirmed that you're in 'Gunasama', not closed service under MOH.

Because I have friend here in my agency who's also J41, and he managed maintenance contract and such.

If you'll be posting to Hospital, then you're probably have to monitor the maintenance done by contractor. rarely or no gomen people do lift maintenance by themselves because lack of HR and expertise.
don^don
post May 10 2015, 04:43 PM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

if u really entered the health ministry, please enforce a stricter screening for our food manufacturing industry!!! please, i beg of u!!!
kagamistar
post May 10 2015, 04:52 PM

579 posts

Jurutera biomedic?

SUSneoFluidic
post May 10 2015, 05:00 PM

47 posts

Good luck

If me i will nvr ever step in to work in gomen

Tarak org respek najib hancur gov ministry monyet

Kthxbai
jaytea
post May 10 2015, 05:11 PM

there's a choice between pension and epf.
if you do not think you will work forever in civil service, opt for epf.
take this as a learning experience, learning the ropes and building contacts to owning/partnering your own contractor business later. actually, that's where the real money is - when you branch off on your own.
SUSapj8188
post May 10 2015, 05:15 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ May 10 2015, 04:13 PM)
Ala.

Karipap lagi.
Takpa

Budget approved. Bihun goreng ada skrg.
Miracles
post May 10 2015, 05:20 PM

★ Detective /K ★
1,171 posts

rhoyo you got new colleague!
daus89
post May 10 2015, 07:59 PM

454 posts

Hospital??
Gud luck have fun
feekle
post May 10 2015, 08:10 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(daus89 @ May 10 2015, 07:59 PM)
Hospital??
Gud luck have fun
Eleh..same jer mcm org keje kt pelantar minyak..tempat sama..keje sama..gaji je x same
staylowbutsafe
post May 10 2015, 08:17 PM

15 posts

Welcome aboard, I also Medical officer in KKM. But why jurutera got Elaun Kritikal RM750?

mohdyakup
post May 10 2015, 08:19 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(jaytea @ May 10 2015, 05:11 PM)
take this as a learning experience, learning the ropes and building contacts to owning/partnering your own contractor business later. actually, that's where the real money is - when you branch off on your own.
I second this motion.
idunnolol
post May 10 2015, 08:23 PM

1,044 posts

Lol

Lift maintenance is handled by radicare

Your job is just to supervise it
Faidzal
post May 10 2015, 08:40 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(staylowbutsafe @ May 10 2015, 08:17 PM)
Welcome aboard, I also Medical officer in KKM. But why jurutera got Elaun Kritikal RM750?
any staff that has to do standby work normally can get critical allowance.

and any position that is in short supply in govt. also can get critical allowance.

not necessarily doctors.

sample of govt. workers that can get critical allowance include:

1. Pegawai Kawalan Trafik Udara
2. Pembantu Perubatan
3. Pembantu Teknik Kapal Terbang
4. Penerbit Rancangan
5. Penolong Pegawai Kawalan Trafik Udara
6. Arkitek
7. Arkitek Laut
8. Jururawat
9. Jurutera
10. Jurutera Laut
11. Juruterbang/ Pemeriksaan Juruterbang
12. Juruukur Bahan
13. Malim
14. Pegawai Ehwal Ekonomi (di MIDA)
15. Pegawai Farmasi
Pegawai Laut
17. Pegawai Penyelidikan
18. Pegawai Pergigian
19. Pegawai Perikanan (kejuruteraan)
20. Pegawai Perkhidmatan Pendidikan Lepasan Diploma
(kejuruteraan)
21. Pegawai Perkhidmatan Pendidikan Siswazah
(Kejuruteraan)
22. Pegawai Pertanian (kejuruteraan)
23. Pegawai Pertanian (Kejuruteraan)
24. Pegawai Perubatan
25. Pegawai Undang-undang
26. Pembantu Pegawai Latihan Vokasional
27. Penolong Pegawai Latihan Vokasional/ Pegawai Latihan
Vokasional
28. Pemeriksa Kapal Terbang
29. Pemeriksa Kilang Dan Jentera
30. Pengajar (kejururawatan)
31. Penjaga Jentera Elektrik
32. Penolong Jurutera Laut
33. Penolong Pegawai Laut
34. Penolong Pemeriksaan Kilang Dan Jentera
35. Pensyarah Perubatan
36. Pensyarah Pergigian
37. Pensyarah UiTM (kejuruteraan, perundangan,
kejururawatan, ukur bahan, seni bina dan farmasi
38. Pensyarah Universiti (kejuruteraan, perundangangan
blitzoi
post May 10 2015, 08:49 PM

140 posts

Have you been working for few years in private? if yes, submit your HKG and you will get further increment.
sparktzm
post May 10 2015, 09:03 PM

56 posts

@procontavia, I got the same offer as your mechanical engineer for KKM . Still thinking whether to accept or not.

SUSahter
post May 10 2015, 10:01 PM

266 posts

How long u work in private sector ? Yr basic can jump up few tangga gaji more if you have few yrs of related experience. Hospital support services ie building mantenance, laundry, clinical waste mgmt etc have been outsourced to private sector. Most likely gonna do project / facility mgmnt kind of work.
kaihnsn
post May 10 2015, 10:09 PM

43 posts

J41 Kerja gomen? no better you jadi PTD kalau mau kerja gomen.

mereput kau duduk sana J41 kalau kerja teknikal. i know some J41 working at JPS service 20 years masih J41. gila.
TSprocontavia
post May 21 2015, 08:51 PM

398 posts

OK. so it's Johor and I have to report on, guess what, MONDAY. ARGH.

Still thinking about it and wondering how I can get a decent place to rent in Johor
figuremeout
post May 21 2015, 09:01 PM

~In another life, I would make u stay~
890 posts

I went for the interview but colan simpanan onli. But the salary is lower than what i earn nao so.... It's depressing
TSprocontavia
post May 22 2015, 07:51 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(figuremeout @ May 21 2015, 09:01 PM)
I went for the interview but colan simpanan onli. But the salary is lower than what i earn nao so.... It's depressing
it is indeed lower..
TSprocontavia
post May 22 2015, 07:52 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(figuremeout @ May 21 2015, 09:01 PM)
it is indeed lower..
@riff
post May 22 2015, 07:59 AM

157 posts

liase with DOSH for the PMA license.
maintenance work just push to contractor liao
zarchrykl
post May 22 2015, 08:09 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(karikambingsatu @ May 10 2015, 03:08 PM)
J41 will be penolong pengarah level. You will be doing a lot of management work. Do a lot of working papers and attend meetings.

You won't be doing much of technical hands on works. It will be done by the Technician.

Your job also to design and manage project.

2. Yes
3. Yes
4. Its a mixture of reality and myth.
this is correct... management work not technical maintenance work.. and surely more and lots of work as hospital got lots of building problems... smile.gif. but as now u are working at private,,.. i think u can manage... but beware.. it is sometime more stressfull in Govt as u do all the work...
zarchrykl
post May 22 2015, 08:11 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(procontavia @ May 10 2015, 04:09 PM)
It's a permanent position according to the offer letter
ya Ketua Perkhidmatan is Ketua Pengarah Kerja Raya in JKR but reports to Ketua Setiausaha Kementerian as your employer. your salary will be paid by KKM. permenent is good as now govt freeze new intake..
EternalC
post May 22 2015, 08:21 AM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

main point is point no.4

doppatroll
post May 22 2015, 08:23 AM

1,123 posts

Elaun Perumahan - 250
Elaun Kritikal - 750
Hiding Elaun given by contactor - unknown
your forget this laugh.gif
Naskah
post May 22 2015, 08:35 AM

72 posts

Elaun kritikal?? TS is dreaming!!!

TSprocontavia
post May 22 2015, 12:21 PM

398 posts

Whether maintenance of construction work, I'll take them all. I don't want to be too comfortable with doing the same old same old.

Gaji lower, far away from my home in KL, have to pay rent, doing work which I don't know if I will enjoy as much, it all doesn't make sense. Still I'm going to try anyway. Never ventured never known.
cikalakacikaci
post May 22 2015, 12:26 PM

107 posts

SONGLAP JANGAN LUPA YA.GUDLUCK
CyberSetan
post May 22 2015, 12:30 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Shut up and take the offer.
Grade 41 already pegawai pengurusan/professional level.

All kuli lower grade bow down to you.

I LeL.
TSprocontavia
post May 22 2015, 12:57 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ May 22 2015, 08:18 AM)
since years ago KKM aldy not use JKR service, KKM do their own maintenance and design and build for all hospital, now JKR only monitor the building of hospital project but mostly still under KKM decision
Hi Bereev, thanks for replying. What examples do you have as proof?
firr
post Jun 28 2015, 08:25 PM

256 posts

Already reporting for duty procontavia?
nekkidgramma
post Jun 28 2015, 08:29 PM

42 posts

Remember to always hike up 20% of all receipt and repairs. Songlap yo
wertty
post Jun 28 2015, 08:30 PM

154 posts

Cukurr

Ayam ud41 only
tylertxz
post Jul 10 2015, 07:15 PM

QUOTE(procontavia @ May 22 2015, 12:21 PM)
Whether maintenance of construction work, I'll take them all. I don't want to be too comfortable with doing the same old same old.

Gaji lower, far away from my home in KL,  have to pay rent, doing work which I don't know if I will enjoy as much,  it all  doesn't make sense. Still I'm going to try anyway. Never ventured never known.
Hi @procontavia, how's the job so far? How's the salary, working culture and scope of work?

I've been called into interview for J41 jurutera (awam). I studied Civil Engineering and currently been working in the private sector for more than a year now, it didn't say who I will be working for. Anyone else with anymore experience to share? Would be much appreciated. Thanks!

0.0257sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:41 PM