> JUST GOT A J41 JOB OFFER IN GOMEN., WORK - SCOPE?

frostfox
post May 10 2015, 03:01 PM

the end is near
1,601 posts

QUOTE(procontavia @ May 10 2015, 02:57 PM)
[USING MY FRIEND'S ACCOUNT TO POST THIS]

Got a J41 job! I'm grateful that I'm to get a gov job offer.

Just got a call from the HR department of Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia (not JKR  sad.gif ) : Told me I'd get a posting letter soon, but when I asked the HR officer of the kind of work i would be doing, he said: "bro, kerja u ialah maintenance of elevators and lifts in hospitals.."

I'm not so worried about the salary as I am about the kind of work I'd actually be doing. So I think the HR officer was just giving a textbook answer and not properly explaining to me what I'd be doing.. With my current job in a Consultant firm, I'm actually over-loaded with all kinds of work - from detailed design, to management, to business development- all sorts of stuff- but the downside is that this Consultant does not pay for my PDP (professional development program) training, and really doesn't pay well either.

Factors which will influence my decision to move to Public / stay in Private :
1) Will I actually be doing "maintenance" or would I be able to be involved in actual design engineering, yada yada? (Note: I'm not going to be assigned to JKR but KKM) Personally, I get satisfaction from learning stuffand I heard that in the government you get to go for training- in fact they'd be more than willing to send you places for training. Is this true?

2) Job security- private sector can kick you out anytime, but everyone seems to assume the government will keep you in service.

3) Pension security - sigh. this can be a real FML - How can you even be sure your pension is secure, let alone your KWSP money. We're just presuming that in about 20 plus yrs when we retire, government will faithfully give money to you?

4) I'm a non-bumi, so I'm worried about the whole "you-aint-us-so-you-wont-go-high". Myth or Reality?
I appreciate all helpful comments/advice,
And can someone give a simple breakdown of the salary & benefits scheme of working for the government?

I heard gaji now will be 2360 +
Elaun Perumahan - 250
Elaun Tetap Perkhidmatan Awam - 300
Elaun Kritikal - 750
Elaun COLA (mengikut lokaliti - 300
1. don't know
2.yes
3.yes
4.reality