226 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Sneaker Thread, Also cheap-tier guide.

wira1979
post Feb 24 2016, 11:03 AM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Feb 24 2016, 10:43 AM)
Not just reseller culture, but sneaker culture in general.

Nike SB is dead. Nike AF is dead. Nike Air Max has pretty much gone shitters. Air Jordans, there was never any hype in Malaysia, now folks are buying up new releases, LOL. It seems that the new generation of sneaker enthusiasts really like buying new shoes over previously hard to get pairs.

Just to share some old stuff (some are now sold):
Even though I'm not a fan of Nike, that's a nice collection.

I'm not a collector by any means and purchase sneakers to personally wear for their design/technology but I see where you're coming from.

I believe the shift is more due to age demographic of sneaker buyer nowadays. Although everyone knows who Michael Jordan is, it's not such a big deal with kids nowadays as most of them are into the current stars and that's why you see other brands such as Under Armour coming up (due to that Curry fellow).

With Adidas, they struck gold with Kanye and I think even they didn't expect that he would have such a big influence on streetwear fashion. I'm not a fan of his music but admit that he has a certain way of dressing which funnily enough appeals to this old man (it may also be the influence of the media ... I don't know).

I'm currently on the look-out to purchase some Adidas UB and despite all the technology built into that shoe, the main reason why I'm considering it in the first place was because of Kanye. I saw him wear it once and it just grew from there.

TL; DR : Kids now buy sneakers based on what's hot at the moment and have no interest in what happened in the past.
r3kahsttub
post Feb 24 2016, 11:46 AM

IG: @MTHRFKNWIN
2,278 posts

'Ye has always been just 'Ye. He can sell anything, and people around the world, even those who do not understand what or why, will go for the brands and models he reps.

Personally, I'm more into the aesthetics and both the soles of the Boost and Tubular series look interesting; and since its a solid one-piece with no air unit, I have the impression it can/will last longer than air maxes. My older Nikes that were not stored properly (i.e. not bagged, stored in cool, dry spot) have all had crumbling soles.

Adidas have quite an interesting line-up these days, with many of the colourways released looking really good. But a GR like NMD going for over RM1k at resell is just... wow. Willing buyer willing seller, I guess. I'll stay away :-)
titan
post Feb 24 2016, 12:26 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Feb 24 2016, 11:46 AM)
'Ye has always been just 'Ye. He can sell anything, and people around the world, even those who do not understand what or why, will go for the brands and models he reps.

Personally, I'm more into the aesthetics and both the soles of the Boost and Tubular series look interesting; and since its a solid one-piece with no air unit, I have the impression it can/will last longer than air maxes. My older Nikes that were not stored properly (i.e. not bagged, stored in cool, dry spot) have all had crumbling soles.

Adidas have quite an interesting line-up these days, with many of the colourways released looking really good. But a GR like NMD going for over RM1k at resell is just... wow. Willing buyer willing seller, I guess. I'll stay away :-)

i too have succumb to the temptation of getting the UB because of its looks.. more so after trying them on (the turquoise CW).. the feel and comfort is of a different level..

am not sneaker collector but i do appreciate having a couple in my rotation.. getting them in store for retail is almost impossible - for the nicer CW, buying online from overseas will be too expensive given our weak currency.. only option is turning to resellers and paying for rape price..

probably one of the reasons why business is good for them..

wira1979
post Feb 24 2016, 01:02 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(titan @ Feb 24 2016, 12:26 PM)
i too have succumb to the temptation of getting the UB because of its looks.. more so after trying them on (the turquoise CW).. the feel and comfort is of a different level..

am not sneaker collector but i do appreciate having a couple in my rotation.. getting them in store for retail is almost impossible - for the nicer CW, buying online from overseas will be too expensive given our weak currency.. only option is turning to resellers and paying for rape price..

probably one of the reasons why business is good for them..
Tell me about it. Correct me if I'm wrong, but after trawling the web for some time I noticed that UB's are cheapest in Malaysia at retail.

That's why it's virtually impossible to get the nicer colourways in Malaysia. No one is buying from the web.
andrewtho
post Feb 24 2016, 02:32 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Ironically most of the people who queued for exclusive releases are the resellers.

It's as if these shoes are only bought for trading purpose rather than collecting / wearing anymore.
metaled
post Feb 24 2016, 03:03 PM

273 posts

as what r3kahsttub had mention,

i too came for a time when AF was huge, i still remember my first pair of Mid AF1's, the mid top white/carolina blue(the blue on the toe box) at 2003. Didn't know there is knowledge in storing shoe back then, the mid sole yellowed terribly. They are now sitting in a plastic container in a cool dry no sun light place. Funnily at 2016, mid sole is still solid, the leather is still soft.

then it slow down and SB's is what everybody want. I still remember the days where people camp to cop a pair at Showroom, Miz 29 and then Zone 5 at Sungai Wang. The queue for Tiffany and Hawaii is all i can remember.

Streething is one of the major local forum to get shoe back then.

Jordan is always sitting on shelf and only the true sneaker head buy them. The 3's and 4's when start retro-ed again on 13 or was it 12, they sit on shelf for 2-3 weeks plus before gone. Then suddenly it become all will kena sapu on release day. They looked great, but very uncomfortable for me. Luckily i sold those Jordan. Good luck to anyone that still have a pair that is more then 2 years old.

And then suddenly the Huarache caught on with the main stream crowd for a while, cant understand that. Now it is all adidas.

These days it is wiser to avoid any Nike with Air unit inside. The quality is horrible. I still remember the first time i open up a shoe box to be greeted with midsole which will turn to powder upon touching.

For old people like me, very comfortable runner is all i need now. The boost and tubular line do look very interesting.

*spelling

This post has been edited by metaled: Feb 24 2016, 03:04 PM
fuzzy
post Feb 24 2016, 04:16 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Feb 24 2016, 11:46 AM)

So, 'Ye's to blame for the UB white being sold out like a mofo? vmad.gif vmad.gif
wira1979
post Feb 24 2016, 04:32 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 24 2016, 04:16 PM)
So, 'Ye's to blame for the UB white being sold out like a mofo?  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Ya man. He wore it in one show and everyone loses their minds.

Refer to my previous post and you can buy them at retail from eBay ... just have to be willing to swallow the shipping and import duty.

Only left sizes 8 and 9 though.
r3kahsttub
post Feb 24 2016, 04:35 PM

IG: @MTHRFKNWIN
2,278 posts

Honestly, I cannot differentiate between Ultra Boost and Energy Boost, and all the other Boost models out there. As far as I can tell, sole is the same with a slightly different upper? Anyway, I don't like my EB - they fit smaller and are not very comfortable for running.

The Adidas Boost series have a very interesting silhouette - even without 'Ye I would have bought a pair or two. If you study the design, you'll notice there isn't much to tweak in terms of colour blocking, so in this day of hipster triple black this and triple white that, the Boost and Tubular series sell easily because there are only so many colour palettes.

Of all the Nike silhouettes, my favourite are perhaps the AM87, AM90, and AF1. They have that very classic shape, can have some great colourways, and the occasional use of interesting material. The only gripe I had with Maxes was that the ribbed, nippled design on the sole didn't go very well with driving.

Here are some of my faves:

My small addiction started first with the AF1, then I moved onto Nike SB, Air Max, a few Air Jordans and then back to Air Force 1, where it abruptly ended. I've stopped buying, but I still keep an eye out for good colourways. My older shoes, ones that were stored properly, have stood the test of time, but almost every other pair which I forgot to seal (1999-201x era) have all crumbled. Even my 2002 AF1 Glaciers have crumbly soles.

But, like metaled, I too now prefer comfy footwear. I'm usually in a pair of slippers laugh.gif
Gilthoniel
post Feb 24 2016, 04:36 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Just tried these new UB STs

What do you guys think?

Too sports shoe like?

[attachmentid=6043129]

This post has been edited by Gilthoniel: Feb 24 2016, 04:37 PM

fuzzy
post Feb 24 2016, 04:53 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Feb 24 2016, 04:32 PM)
Ya man. He wore it in one show and everyone loses their minds.

Refer to my previous post and you can buy them at retail from eBay ... just have to be willing to swallow the shipping and import duty.

Only left sizes 8 and 9 though.
I know the history behind it, just teasing biggrin.gif

Nope, as much as I like a good pair of sneakers, I'm not gonna cop one just to put it on display. So it will be used, and it is just not worth the effort for something that is meant to be worn and worn well.

wira1979
post Feb 24 2016, 06:16 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Feb 24 2016, 04:36 PM)
Just tried these new UB STs

What do you guys think?

Too sports shoe like?
Kinda ironic that the supposedly 'Street' version of UB looks chunkier and bulkier than the normal UB.

For the same price, I'd rather go for the original UB.
Yiha9944
post Feb 24 2016, 08:36 PM

241 posts

Hi guys, just saw this thread. I am from Kuching S'wak. Collected a few sneakers.

Well, i got my sneakers yday from ends too. Currently all duty tax is subjected at 6%GST and no longer the sales tax 10%. So actually quite a good news for sneakerhead who order more than Rm500.

Basically, if order from ends which enjoying the "FREE Shipping above USD90 order" will get taxed. Reason being is ends offer their customer free shipping but they still pay full shipping amount to the forwarding company and in this case they are using FedEx.

For example my case, my total order contains three pairs of sneakers at USD185, my final tax is at RM68.94. Our custom was using 4.22 exchange rate when my order arrived for clearance. Therefore, My order itself after exchange rate conversion is at Rm780. The shipping fees ends pay to FedEx is at full amount like i mentioned, so my for case ends paid Rm360 on shipping fees. So the Rm68.94 tax is from my order Rm780 + shipping fees Rm360 smile.gif

Frankly i still find this super duper cheap especially after i divide the shipping fees into three pairs of sneakers, is only rm20+ smile.gif

Hopefully this clear up anybody's doubt on import tax smile.gif
ChiaW3n
post Feb 25 2016, 10:08 AM

3,732 posts

QUOTE(Yiha9944 @ Feb 24 2016, 08:36 PM)

Hi guys, just saw this thread. I am from Kuching S'wak. Collected a few sneakers.

Well, i got my sneakers yday from ends too. Currently all duty tax is subjected at 6%GST and no longer the sales tax 10%. So actually quite a good news for sneakerhead who order more than Rm500.

Basically, if order from ends which enjoying the "FREE Shipping above USD90 order" will get taxed. Reason being is ends offer their customer free shipping but they still pay full shipping amount to the forwarding company and in this case they are using FedEx.

For example my case, my total order contains three pairs of sneakers at USD185, my final tax is at RM68.94. Our custom was using 4.22 exchange rate when my order arrived for clearance. Therefore, My order itself after exchange rate conversion is at Rm780. The shipping fees ends pay to FedEx is at full amount like i mentioned, so my for case ends paid Rm360 on shipping fees. So the Rm68.94 tax is from my order Rm780 + shipping fees Rm360 smile.gif

Frankly i still find this super duper cheap especially after i divide the shipping fees into three pairs of sneakers, is only rm20+ smile.gif

Hopefully this clear up anybody's doubt on import tax smile.gif
Oh no, i just received an email from ends, telling me they refunded my nike air trainer 1 mid, shyt man!

anyone has any idea where can i still get for this pair? please?
wira1979
post Feb 25 2016, 11:29 AM

1,052 posts

Slam Jam having 10% off on their sale items.

Some interesting stuff for Puma and Converse fans if the size is right.

Sucks that the Puma Discs aren't in my size.
andrewtho
post Feb 25 2016, 08:14 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Looks like adidas is dropping another cw for the NMD soon.

Kj42
post Feb 26 2016, 12:00 AM

463 posts

anyone knows whether adidas Malaysia will restock ultra boost triple white?

america and australia retail stores have been restocking them recently if im not mistaken
Gilthoniel
post Feb 26 2016, 05:31 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Anyone here has the Y3 QR run boost? Just wondering How's the sizing like?

Yiha9944
post Feb 26 2016, 07:44 AM

241 posts

In women/BG/GS size?

If so, then u might wanna try out at eastbay or ruvilla
absorb-d
post Feb 26 2016, 08:24 AM

1,115 posts

QUOTE(Kj42 @ Feb 26 2016, 12:00 AM)
anyone knows whether adidas Malaysia will restock ultra boost triple white?

america and australia retail stores have been restocking them recently if im not mistaken
Never carried them in first place

226 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0162sec    1.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:31 AM