Smart Home, Let's discuss

simmarjit
post Jun 23 2020, 12:00 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(kelvin @ Jun 23 2020, 09:23 AM)
Just tested to tap the neutral line from water heater switch, the water heater ELCB will trip. I believe the water heater ELCB detected the current leakage as the wall switch use some current to operate. No problem when I connect the neutral line for the air-cond switch.
Dont mind me asking, how do you actually do that? I actually purchased a sonoff mini, but I think I might not have a neutral at my switch (haven't opened the switch). I do have an AC switch next to the switch.
simmarjit
post Jul 4 2020, 11:24 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(kelvin @ Jun 23 2020, 12:21 PM)
Just open the AC switch tab  the neutral  line to your sonoff but make sure the neutral line you tab is from DB not to AC. For my case both AC switch and lighting switch are sharing the same casing in the wall, so is easy to tab the wire from AC switch.
Can you assist me? Or anyone else?

I am planning to attach the sonoff mini to only the light switch of a 2 gang (light and fan switch) and I need to get a neutral from the AC right? I have extra wire that I can do that with. I have attached a couple of pictures below.

simmarjit
post Jul 5 2020, 09:46 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 5 2020, 06:08 AM)
That loop wire is the Live wire. Means the Fan and the light is sharing the same L wire.

The AC switch wire connect and disconnect both L and N (Double Pole Switch), unlike Fan and Light switches which only connect and disconnect only L wire. So, the Yellow one is L and the Black one is N.

My question: Is your house wiring single phase or 3-phase? The reason I ask is that because your Light L wire is Red and the AC L wire is Yellow. If 3 phase then, usually the H wire for each phase is different.
3 phase wiring, i noticed that the live wire on a lower floor is blue. Either way, what should I be doing? Need a neutral to the sonofff mini (which I am guessing is just to power it on?) Thanks.
simmarjit
post Jul 7 2020, 06:59 PM

980 posts

Just want to update, I just gave it a go to tap the neutral from the AC, i thought if trip then I can just cancel this plan and go for a no neutral switch instead. Thankfully it works. Linked with the app and on homebridge linked to HomeKit which is nice.

Wish I bought a different color cable tho.

This post has been edited by simmarjit: Jul 7 2020, 07:00 PM
simmarjit
post Jul 8 2020, 11:23 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Jul 8 2020, 09:43 AM)
How u tuck that device into the socket without getting blocked by the switch?
There was enough space for me, and the picture was me testing things first, I had to undo everything and redo with the sonoff at the back and then attach the wires to it. I have everything working now, and I am quite happy with the outcome.
simmarjit
post Jul 8 2020, 11:24 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 8 2020, 09:53 AM)
That's good. Your house probably use 4-pole RCD or probably just normal 3-phase ELCB. This way any phase has common N  thumbsup.gif
Thanks for your help and FUBAR20 as well.
simmarjit
post Jul 9 2020, 11:48 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Jul 9 2020, 10:20 AM)
Planning to buy xiaomi smart devices for home later, anyone can recommend if devices for Malaysia server or China server better? Or basically it's the same? hmm.gif
You want to use with what? HomeKit or Google Home/Alexa? I have a Xiaomi bedside lamp and I only use it through Homekit, and it works great.
simmarjit
post Jul 10 2020, 09:54 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Jul 10 2020, 09:22 AM)
Saw some other sifus mentioned they are using some of it, guess it's quality still acceptable with such price range.
Plan to use Mi Home apps with it but there's region setting which heard some of it saying that if using China region the speed is quite lagging, if so then will need to buy devices compatible with Malaysia region.
Planning to use with Mi Home apps, do you recommend to use other apps like HomeKit/Google Home?
Also may I know how about your region setting? Thanks.
If you’re using through HomeKit you don’t need to configure it with the Mi app any of the region stuff, just need to scan the HomeKit code on the home app and you’ll be able to control it from there.
simmarjit
post Jul 20 2020, 04:45 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(aizat51 @ Jul 20 2020, 11:15 AM)
Just sharing my DIY Smarthome...not so smart yet, but at least now when I say "Hey Siri, Good Night", everything turned off except few lights before goinf to sleep.  smile.gif

DIY IR Blaster
DIY Smart Autogate(full open/close both, left only, right only) and small opening left only, small opening right only with single press.
DIY Home server to integrate Sonoffs(flashed to Tasmota-supports MQTT), homebridge, local Blynk server.

There is a video in my channel for DIY Smart Autogate instruction, currently in Malay, might add English subs and come up with more DIY videos later!
Very nice! What are you using to control the gates? ESP device wired into the auto gate box or just some sort of RF blaster (not sure if the RM Pro can do that).

I have been thinking of getting my CCTV feed on the home app through homebridge, but I have struggling to figure out on how to get my RTSP link (Hikvision set that was configured by another person).

Another thing I wanted to do is making my dumb bell be able to push notification to my devices, maybe set up a shortcut to also bring up the CCTV feed that shows outside of the gate.
simmarjit
post Jul 20 2020, 06:11 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Jul 20 2020, 06:08 PM)
Guys,

What would be the cheapest hub for z wave? My Samsung lock which I've been using for awhile happens to be zw compatible, if the hub is not too exp, thought I'd give it a try.

I know you can just add a Z wave stick adapter to the raspbi to make it a hub, but i am not sure what are the costs for that. You could get a cheap raspberry pi 3 i guess, and the z wave dongle.

Or you could buy a hubitat (heard good things), not sure whats the costs.
simmarjit
post Jul 24 2020, 11:38 AM

980 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 16 2020, 10:08 AM)
Looks like this one not working with Alexa, but cheaper solution.

https://shopee.com.my/Smart-Chain-Roller-Bl...8555.5606458136
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Jul 16 2020, 10:22 AM)

This one also nice what brows.gif
Apparently AM43 can be added to homebridge (someone just developed a plugin a few days back) and home assistant also. Might buy 1 to test it out.
simmarjit
post Jul 30 2020, 11:35 AM

980 posts

Anyone here that has experience with ESPs? Let me know if this idea is feasible.

I want to build a few "Come Down" Buzzer/Alarm which will be controller through home bridge. Like if I toggle a switch (in the home app), the few alarms in various rooms will play some sound indicating the occupant should come down for dinner or whatever, or if they are needed for something. I was thinking of ESP8266, I don't know if I need an Arduino Uno also if I want to play a tune rather than one sound.
simmarjit
post Aug 1 2020, 12:00 PM

980 posts

So did anyone install the 20A smart switch you all were talking about earlier? What does it look like IRL, the ones i saw one shopee are not so pleasant looking.
simmarjit
post Aug 1 2020, 08:16 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Aug 1 2020, 06:42 PM)
Yes bro, installed a few and working, but there's one that I can't seem to connect to the Ewelink cloud, my router picks it up every time I try to connect but not the cloud. Theres also a motion sensor which I've been trying to connect but won't register on the cloud, this one's on the Tuya cloud.
May I know which one you bought? I wish there was a standard design for smart switches even if its from one company, now I am looking at regular switches from terncy or aqara and the 20A I am unsure, all look different from one another.
simmarjit
post Aug 2 2020, 12:37 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Aug 2 2020, 10:35 AM)
Even if the switch stated 16A or 20A it's better to open and check to make sure. I got 1 rated as 16A but when open up it's only using a 10A relay doh.gif
Within 1 week can reached MY, just order some 4gangs + 16A, arriving early next week.
Everything also touch based now, mechanical ones more classy ish.

Decided to go with Aqara instead of Terncy for wall switches.
simmarjit
post Aug 3 2020, 02:00 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Aug 3 2020, 01:19 PM)
yah bro. internet down pun no problem. and the response/delay time really got different local vs over xiaomi/ewilink/tuya server when triggering the action/lights/switch  biggrin.gif
so its faster? I am actually ordering some D1 switches soon.

Having the gateway would be more convenient tho.
simmarjit
post Aug 3 2020, 03:57 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Aug 3 2020, 02:34 PM)
it faster but the slowness also not a big deal actually depend on individual la.
If you are into home assistant then its good to have everything in together a single brain. If you are not into home assistant then the xiaomi/aqara app also not a bad idea. now even can use google assistant or homekit with aqara hub. configure automation also easy via app.

the only challenge is, if your house have other brand like tuya/sonoff/tmall/xiaomi and you want them to talk to each other than no choice u need to go for HA. (not sure google assistant can do)

triggering response time a bit late sure got geh. cos Xiaomi/aqara is the signal from ur house to china mainland server then come back ur house. make sense.
Right now I have a Homebridge server but I realize a lot of you guys are using Home Assistant. Is there a HA app on mobile? And is it noob friendly? I feel Apple Home app is quite easy to use (for my parents).

simmarjit
post Aug 3 2020, 05:20 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Aug 3 2020, 04:55 PM)
Again bro it all depend on your setup. Since you have homebridge i assume you r running other mix brand smart devices as well. I'm in apple eco system also and i like apple home app compare google home app. (personal preference) but i need to use google assistant too cos i need google nest mini speaker.

The only reason you need HA here is to do the automation on those mix brand products integration. If you only want to remote control your devices with apple home then homedridge are perfectly fit into the purpose. no HA is require.

But if really interested to fully customize your dashboard, automation.....  then HA is the way to go. with HA you parents still can operate the same in apple home and siri

My dashboard from pc view
[attachmentid=10547854]

My info db
[attachmentid=10547855]

1 of the automation example that integrated with xiaomi,aqara, sonoff and tuya devices.
[attachmentid=10547856]
Wow that looks good, yea right now i have a Roomba connected, a sonoff mini (which will also be replaced by a D1), a dummy switch, and some other homekit compatible stuff. I might give home assistant a go, i see loads of the geeky youtubers are really doing some crazy things with it.
simmarjit
post Aug 5 2020, 01:28 AM

980 posts

I wonder if those Tuya switches can be flashed with tasmota? Having things local would be better, not sure if possible.

BTW anyone here using RM4 Pro? I just got mine today and I having some trouble.
simmarjit
post Aug 7 2020, 06:33 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(hendry91 @ Aug 7 2020, 06:19 PM)
Anyone know how to wiring multiple two way switches?
Let's say my bedroom have 6 LED downlight, one button for 2 downlight, so I have a three button switches.
I want to add a three button switch beside my bed to turn off the light too, but how?
I would like to use sonoff or any smart switches. How to wiring to make them two way? Is it possible? I prefer wiring to control, instead of wifi connection(portable smart switch)
Maybe if you use Xiaomi Switch, you can use the wireless button to switch off the individual lights (a pair) with 1 button press, 2 button press another set and long hold the final one.

19 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.3279sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:14 AM