Smart Home, Let's discuss

azbro
post Nov 1 2024, 04:14 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(eagle7 @ Nov 1 2024, 12:12 PM)
Based on the image you shared showing a burned-out or broken PCB track, this damage is likely due to a high voltage surge, such as one caused by a lightning strike.

To prevent this from recurring, replace the damaged wall switch with a new one from a reliable brand of your choice. Additionally, add a MOV/Varistor (10K431K) between the incoming Live and Neutral wires. This applies if you're using a smart switch with a neutral wire setup. If you're using a bypass capacitor, however, the MOV may not function as effectively.

The MOV (Metal Oxide Varistor) will help protect your sensitive electronic devices by absorbing excessive voltage before it reaches them.

Be sure to select a 10D431K specifically, as other values may not provide the same level of protection.

NOTE: Those staying in condo or high-rise building may not require such a protection as the building management already installed some kind of protection to prevent the voltage surge to its tenants.
Thank you, must try this, I wired up all my switches with incoming Neutral already. Only some need to fix up a smart switch. Will try this capacitor thing when I do. Thank you again.

azbro
post Nov 11 2024, 02:07 PM

4,403 posts

Just checking with Sifu in here

I'm using mostly Sonoff ZigBee devices connection with Ewelink for my mother's house.

After a TNB black out of example 2 hours, some devices go offline and some completely disappear
A simple off/on will not make it online back again.

Need to go through setup. Not all the devices but some. And each power outrage, not the same device gets offline. A bit of hassle to setup again.

If it for Tuya also same? Cos I want to built another system using Tuya

This post has been edited by azbro: Nov 11 2024, 02:08 PM
azbro
post Nov 16 2024, 03:25 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Nov 16 2024, 02:33 PM)
anyone covert their analog doorbell to smart?
mine one recently the outdoor button broken.
thinking to upgrade it.

preferred to use the existing 220v wiring and no to battery.

any ideas are welcome, including diy esp.
You mean the doorbell together with Camera?

Or just a simple single button connected to a buzzer in the house.

For me, unless you want to go for Camera type with door bell, better stick to traditional one as more reliable and not rely on WiFi.

Seriously those elcheapo shoppe ones are dem reliable.

If you insist on making it Smart, may be for automation scenes and notifications, I would suggest other sensors for it. Like I said, unless you want to go with the Doorbell with camera type. But that's my opinion

This post has been edited by azbro: Nov 16 2024, 03:30 PM
azbro
post Apr 22 2025, 08:12 AM

4,403 posts

Anyone using Cat Pet Feeder?

Any brand to recommend? As only branded model is from Xiaomi, others never heard off.

azbro
post May 8 2025, 03:22 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ May 8 2025, 02:39 PM)
I have super newbie questions 🙇‍♂️ would like to ask:

1) Are smart switches able to wire for 2 way, specifically smart switch for water heater? One of the smart switch vendors I spoke to suggested that I use app scene/automation function to mimic 2 way switch function instead, I'm not sure if this is recommended...

2) From my understanding, most smart switches are not compatible with DC fans. Would like to ask anyone's experience, do IR/RF blasters work well with remote controlled KDK fans?
First you need a smart home 'system' in your house.

Then, with a smart home system, you can add those WiFi switches appropriate to your item. Then you can link sensors, additional switches, scenes to activate it. Example you can use a sensor to activate the water heater switch. Some expert home they rarely press any switches.
Even my mom's home I automate, half of it are sensors or timer triggered.

For the Fan, you mean is to trigger the fan to move default at a certain condition, or would like to control the fan speed, direction etc too?

azbro
post Sep 13 2025, 11:23 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Sep 13 2025, 10:35 AM)
Hi. I come across this 20A 40A smart wifi switch which they advertise it for water heater. Wonder if it is suitable to replace the normal 20A aircond switch.. Main putpose is to monitor the power usage.

Anyone can recommend suitable smart switch for aircond? Thanks
I think higher amp like 40A should be ok, cos if anything happens, the actual breaker is going to trip, not the switch.

My home uses 20A WiFi switch. No brand, but links with ewelink.
Funny is. No brand one last longer than branded. Lol.
I buy most of my WiFi switches fro KT Smart Solutions in Shopee
But everyone has their own fav brand or seller.
Just make sure to read the comments, compatibility and function with what you are using.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0299sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:25 AM