Smart Home, Let's discuss

alucard89
post Feb 7 2017, 05:52 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ianlti @ Feb 7 2017, 04:43 PM)
Sonoff is already supported by Alexa FYI. I m getting a few sets once my house is ready for reno.

BTW for those who wanted alternative to Phillips Hue, you can get Yeelight. I got mine working directly with Alexa without the bridge.
Wah nice
What name does it show up as after alexa scans for new devices?
How many bulbs do you have installed
alucard89
post Feb 7 2017, 06:45 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ianlti @ Feb 7 2017, 06:21 PM)
It shows the name you put in yeelight app. You need to install Alexa module in Alexa app. I bought 4 lights only setup two.

I am getting so lazy after installing all these stuff.

Broadlink still haven't setup with my Alexa yet. Need get a bridge for the tasker to work, dunno which Android tablet or tvbox is have good reliability.
Better get tvbox since it doesn't rely on battery, any cheap one will do since only need it as bridge.
Or just use any old android phones and install broadlink rm plugin.
I'm just waiting for confirmation other devices that's setup using ewelink can be controlled with alexa (tantech switch)

https://www.itead.cc/wiki/EWeLink_Introduction

I was gonna grab rf wall switch but I'm holding it off for the moment since remote button sends both on/off commands.
I was expecting similar to rf fans where you have discrete button for turning fan on or off.

Have they released ewelink plugin on the alexa app?
alucard89
post Feb 7 2017, 10:29 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ianlti @ Feb 7 2017, 09:01 PM)
I guess their app haven't approved by amazon yet, but here is the demo video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzfgFl70Ee0&feature=youtu.be
Saw that weeks back, hopefully comes out soon since they did say it'll be out after cny.
Btw, if add device in alexa group, can skip 'tell ewelink to turn on/off device' and just say 'turn on/off device' right?
Or need to wait for future update like logitech harmony app?
alucard89
post Feb 8 2017, 05:46 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Feb 8 2017, 02:24 PM)
There is cheaper voice control, alexa echo dot. Is the voice control as good as alexa echo & able to link to broadlink like its brother?
I'm using one now and yes you can link to broadlink rm using rm tasker app.
Another is pairing broadlink rm with home assistant(can be installed on pc/mac/rpi) which can be controlled using alexa

I don't have the taller amazon echo but from the reviews it's pretty much the same except that it's missing more powerful speaker and built in battery.

I've only used option 2, so far so good and easy to setup
Maybe I'll try the bridge app later
alucard89
post Feb 8 2017, 05:47 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 8 2017, 11:50 AM)
if you group the ewelink device, then u just rename the group and tell it to turn on or off will do
thats how i think it works la  biggrin.gif
That's how expect it should work also
Gonna have to wait till official firmware update
alucard89
post Feb 8 2017, 07:06 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Feb 8 2017, 06:18 PM)
I read some post that mention tasker is less stable & may require to reset the slept off android tv box sometimes. Do u hv this problem?

Which android tv box u use? There is many android tv @ taobao from rm100-250. Dont know which one better, coz worry the android tv turn into sleep or standby mode affect the bridge

If use pc as bridge, home assistant, pc need to turn on 24hours right?
I'm gonna try using android box this weekend, see how stable it will be
Was doing test using my hp as bridge
It's all about os I guess as long as app stays running in the background, since you only need one as bridge, no need buy box that's too expensive
Yeah, so better if you install on something that consumes low power like raspberry pi
Which I intend to try also soon, not to mention you can install android os too on rpi.
alucard89
post Feb 8 2017, 07:07 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 8 2017, 06:31 PM)
echo dots just buy from BHPhotos
postage only $6
BPPhotos NY, really? Or need to use consolidate service like ezbuy buy from us or others too?
alucard89
post Feb 8 2017, 07:10 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 8 2017, 07:08 PM)
Direct from bhphotos
Oh so they support international shipping? Total how much did it cost for you and how long was the postage?

This post has been edited by alucard89: Feb 8 2017, 07:10 PM
alucard89
post Feb 8 2017, 07:30 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 8 2017, 07:17 PM)
10-15 days. This is what their website says. I did not order Echo Dots
[img][/img]
Ok, thanks for the suggestions
Can you estimate what are the taxes that might get charged on this?
alucard89
post Feb 8 2017, 07:43 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 8 2017, 07:36 PM)
Dunno. If order one maybe no tax
It's not cellular device for one and also not above rm500 for gst.
I'll try buying one, hopefully no other charges.
Probably the best offer now with not so expensive shipping charge
alucard89
post Feb 8 2017, 09:09 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Feb 8 2017, 08:51 PM)
Do i need to know basic programming language to operate or install android onto rpi?

U let the tasker run at your android phone background 24/7?? Will ur phone battery drain fast?
I hv one galaxy tab first generation which i keep it sleeping in drawer. How fast this bridge app drain the battery? I dont like to charge my galaxy tab daily which i will not touch it. Feel like android box less hassle

If android phone used as bridge, do we need to keep to android phone on same wifi network to function or can bring the phone around under telco network?
I was using spare phone, so the battery pretty much last the whole day since I didn't use anything else on it
If you don't want to overcharge the tablet all the time,you could try using smart plug/plug with timer that turns on charging every 4-3 hours/day like that

So far need to use same wifi network

Also, for tc2 switch, there are also other touch wall switch rf alternative in taobao.
It's just that I'm a bit hesitant to buy more of it since there's no separate on/off button for the wall switch like remote fans.
Which is where wifi wall switch comes in, there's a bunch out there using their own app of course
Itead also has wifi wall switch, that's controlled with their ewelink app that should be supported by alexa this month

For the rpi, it's pretty easy to setup/install os.
For setting up homeassistant, you might need to go through their wiki/youtube videos for detailed instruction

This post has been edited by alucard89: Feb 8 2017, 09:13 PM
alucard89
post Feb 8 2017, 09:20 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ianlti @ Feb 8 2017, 09:17 PM)
I used to order many stuff from B&H especially lens and camera, never kena tax.

I already have two Echo dot. one will be place at my master bed room. 2nd one living room. maybe i should get two more for kitchen and my home office. too bad the sales is over used to be 40 during bf/Christmas time.
Wah, thanks for confirmation
No tax even for orders above rm500? Or do you request their shop to declare lower value?
So the had sales too on their shop? Thought it was only on amazon
alucard89
post Feb 9 2017, 08:20 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Feb 8 2017, 09:53 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion, scheduled charging device for galaxy tab

I read the same issue that u mention, tc2 no seperate on off switch to control fan. But i dont understand whats the problem with fan control. Can explain in detail? Do u mean tc2 switch use same single command for on&off, broadlink wont know tc2 switch on off status? This is wat i guess wat u mean
Yes exactly that, which can mess with your scene like if you want to turn on all lights/fan in the living room at the same time and you've already got the lights on.
Obviously the same command will turn off the lights off instead, which is I'm leaning towards wifi switches now.
alucard89
post Feb 9 2017, 08:22 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 9 2017, 07:17 PM)
now only 6 %?
not 20 plus 6?
actually for 60 usd. why u so worry about tax
it's not even more than rm.500
Just bought one, we'll see how it goes
Wanted to get another one that's a used unit for echo dot (15usd cheaper) but someone else beat me to it by just a few seconds laugh.gif

This post has been edited by alucard89: Feb 9 2017, 08:22 PM
alucard89
post Feb 10 2017, 08:16 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Feb 9 2017, 08:31 PM)
I just placed order for echo dot at BHphoto. Where u saw the used echo dot? local website?
Echo dot cant detect voice control from another room separated by door right? I saw people mention about voice remote that looks like remote control with mic. But it is handheld & price is almost same as Echo dot. haha
Also on bhp website, if you order the white color there's a used unit sold below (obviusly now no longer available)
Ha, might as well buy another echo dot
Which remote is that anyway?
alucard89
post Feb 10 2017, 08:24 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Feb 10 2017, 04:33 PM)
Where u get ur sonoff? It is not yet compatible with alexa or broadlink right?
There's itead website and toabao shop selling it (around rm19)
If you want to get it within a week, there's taobao option with shipping starts at rm13 for 1st kg and rm6 for next 0.5kg.
alucard89
post Feb 10 2017, 08:25 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 10 2017, 08:18 PM)
Oh yeah that one, might as well buy the fire stick.
alucard89
post Feb 10 2017, 08:45 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 10 2017, 08:28 PM)
good idea. amazon fire tv got any free channels?
i think this would be perfect for my bedroom. i dont need a full fledge echo dot, just something to control my LIFX lights and if this Fire Stick can watch TV, even better
Got if you install kodi of course, mostly paid services

alucard89
post Feb 12 2017, 12:50 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 11 2017, 07:53 AM)
Alexa on your smartphone- https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ebTv_PI2iDY

I just tried it for my LIFX lights and it works! 😅
Nice, but how do you manage your lifx lights or other smart items in groups? Just use alexa app?
alucard89
post Feb 12 2017, 01:26 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 12 2017, 01:10 PM)
you can group them at the Alexa app
but very slow to react because need to go thru two different apps

Anyway I no longer have any interest for Alexa voice control over my devices blush.gif
What's next? Google home?

56 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:51 AM