31 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

adamw
post Dec 19 2018, 04:55 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,351 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Dec 19 2018, 03:46 PM)
How much u selling for?  brows.gif
Rm130 bought in July.
adamw
post Dec 20 2018, 10:59 AM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 20 2018, 10:15 AM)
i read some where can pair as stereo if you got two 3rd gen dots  thumbup.gif
You only bought one? Paid rm76?
adamw
post Dec 20 2018, 11:16 AM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 20 2018, 11:00 AM)
i bought two but havent decided what to do with the other one. Still unopened
Yes, one is not cost effective & 3 I kena 1.5Kg, still in US now trying to add more things to make it 2.4Kg.
adamw
post Jan 6 2019, 10:48 AM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 5 2019, 11:40 AM)
can la, i already paired 51 zigbee devices  laugh.gif
pair your wired switches and smart sockets first
yeelight bulbs using wifi right so not counted
Using zibgee usb stick with your Pi3?
adamw
post Jan 6 2019, 11:07 AM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 6 2019, 10:55 AM)
No, just using mijia hub
I don’t have any pi
this?xiaomi hub
But it mentioned up to 20 smart devices only?
adamw
post Jan 11 2019, 04:15 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(lennylsl @ Jan 11 2019, 04:00 PM)
Thanks for the reply but i've read the frequency stated. I just need confirmation on using a UK hub with China sensors is working. Cheers..
Yes, China & UK is using same frequency.
adamw
post Jan 22 2019, 05:45 PM

3,351 posts

Need to buy a ZigBee dimmer switch urgently, any idea any physical shops that carry this item in Klang Valley?
adamw
post Feb 2 2019, 11:12 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(lennylsl @ Feb 2 2019, 05:33 PM)
Anyone here using Smartthings hub and also Konnected Alarm panel ???
Just got my konnected but will test with HA on Pi3 later.
adamw
post Feb 2 2019, 11:38 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(lennylsl @ Feb 2 2019, 11:21 PM)
Just wondering, you shipped directly and no issues with Tax ah?
I use yellow porter. About a month to reached me.
adamw
post Feb 16 2019, 03:41 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 16 2019, 12:14 PM)
A Failed Video Doorbell Project

I have always wanted a smart video doorbell (even though I have the least use for one) and all the Ring and August type are too expensive and not really suitable for our local use.
So late last year, I put together a plan to rig one up. I already have part of the system with my Mijia hub that serves as the chime and also sends a notification to my phone when a wireless button is pressed. So all I needed was the video and intercom part. I actually already have an IP cam and I can see who it is at the door and it also have an intercom but this camera is too far away from the doorbell and the intercom is not loud enough.

Since I am not using the doorbell button (given by developer), I thought I can insert a small cam into the same hole and make it work like a video doorbell. I will use an ordinary blank plate, drill a hole big enough for the camera to go thru and thats it. Simple and easy. But as it turned out, it was anything but easy.

First for some pictures before I bored you.

The parts needed. I chose the Xiaomi Security Cam as the camera can be separated from its holder. The blank plate is from Schneider AvatarOn series.
The blank plate comes in two parts. The one you screw into the box inside the wall and the front plate. That means I have to make two holes and both holes must be perfectly align in order for the camera to go thru.

Cutting the two holes was the hardest part of this project. As first I got a friend to try making the holes with his laser cutter but that didn't work as the blank plate caught fire....lol. Some materials cant be cut by laser and polycarbonate is one of them. Anyway I then bought a hole saw and try cutting the holes manually. I expected it to be easy as its just soft plastic but it was very difficult. Maybe my hole saw wasn't sharp enough. It took me a couple of days just to make a small hole. And I have to cut two of these, sigh. I was almost certain the two holes would not even line up correctly. I really wanted to give up several times actually.

Eventually it's done - and somehow the two holes did lined up perfectly and the camera can be inserted.

I used ozak idea from this thread - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=85718324
to power the cam. I still haven't tidy up the wires into a box as you can see.

After that, I encountered another problem. It doesn't fit into the 86mm box. The USB cable was in the way at the camera side. And the power side also faces similar problems. There is just not enough space inside the 86mm box.

Anyway this is how it looks like installed - Far right you can see my Xiaomi wireless button.

When the button is pressed -
1. it sound a chime (btw its a star trek doorbell sound) from my xiaomi hub inside my apt.
2. it sends a notification to my phone
3. it wakes up the cam

I decided to put the cam to sleep mode and only turns it on, when the doorbell button is pressed. When it wakes up, a blue LED light on the cam would light up. Everything works except for one little problem. The intercom sound.

First the cam's intercom is not full duplex. That means to talk I got to hold down the button (on my phone) and release it to listen. Its like a walkie talkie. Still ok but you got to get use to it.
Second, since the speaker and mic is inside buried into the hole, the sound is soft - both ways. I cant really make anymore holes.

Anyway to me, this is a failed project. Better just buy one off the shelf from Xiaomi or others lol.  sweat.gif
Just buy a Tuya 1080p Video Door Bell even better video quality than the Ring2. Cloud storage also very affordable but there is setback. Cannot direct download the footage, must playback & click record which is kind of dumb.

This post has been edited by adamw: Feb 16 2019, 04:14 PM

adamw
post Mar 7 2019, 06:56 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 7 2019, 04:46 PM)
As far as I know reading this thread on and off, any WiFi operated switch need more power, thus require N wire. The one that can operate wirelessly without N are those zigbee, BT, etc other than WiFi.
I thought ZigBee & Zwave also need N.
adamw
post Mar 8 2019, 11:00 AM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Mar 8 2019, 09:02 AM)
Malaysia boleh! Petaling Jaya Nia.
Then why don't you use UK standard? For smart socket.

This post has been edited by adamw: Mar 8 2019, 11:01 AM
adamw
post Mar 8 2019, 05:47 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(xyekit @ Mar 8 2019, 11:27 AM)
Hi peeps,

I want to ask what is your choice of security cameras currently?

Are they wired, wireless or wire-free?

Looking for wire-free, rechargeable security cameras recently. Prefer one that can be mounted on the ceiling.
Arlo 4K. That aside, if it's high up on the ceiling should use wire, to troublesum to take out & recharged or change the battery.

This post has been edited by adamw: Mar 8 2019, 05:49 PM
adamw
post Mar 9 2019, 01:55 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(mroys@lyn @ Mar 9 2019, 01:45 PM)
i'm looking for a budget outdoor ip camera for my car porch. anyone has experiences in choosing cctv? which one is better? have power supply and wifi coverage ready.
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i4471392...s670569465.html
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i3931374...s567026140.html
Ask both of them what is the mobile app name then will be able to advise you. If possible run a cat5e to the porch. No matter how wired is still more stable. WiFi only if no choice. And the Lazada details seems fake, overseas order can return in 7 days?

This post has been edited by adamw: Mar 9 2019, 01:56 PM
adamw
post Mar 19 2019, 01:19 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Mar 10 2019, 02:01 PM)
Can try this Digoo Alarm. I am using Digoo Motion sensor with my Tasmotized RF Bridge.

Digoo
Be careful of this brand Digoo!
Sos
adamw
post Mar 19 2019, 01:22 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(mroys@lyn @ Mar 10 2019, 04:13 PM)
i had one region locked yi outdoor. even though the unit had been unlocked but it's still unreliable. i try to look for other brand. i have a mijia 360 for indoor used. anyway, thanks for the suggestion, mijia 360 works perfectly with my mi router.
You can try look for Vimtag, they have 3&4 Mp pan tilt and it is with end to end encryption, safer.
adamw
post Mar 19 2019, 02:21 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Mar 19 2019, 01:46 PM)
Link 404.
Anyway, I only use the sensor and not the camera. Doubt the sensor can send anything outside from my house.  laugh.gif
Try this
My Webpage
adamw
post Mar 22 2019, 10:44 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Mar 22 2019, 04:49 PM)
anyone knows which server does these officially launched versions connect to?
i see there is Singapore server, but not Malaysia (last checked yesterday).
Most CCTV servers are in SG. It should not be an issue.
adamw
post Mar 24 2019, 01:55 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(lennylsl @ Mar 24 2019, 11:37 AM)
Anyone here using Z-wave for their automations? if so... I would like to know what sensors are you using and what brand.

I'm using Smartthings Hub, with Konnected Alarm INTERFACE along with Neo Coolcam's door & motion sensors. Integrated with Alexa and also using Actiontiles for Panels.
Is your Smartthings hub on MY frequency? Zwave devices being sold here mostly proprietary.
adamw
post Mar 24 2019, 08:17 PM

3,351 posts

QUOTE(lennylsl @ Mar 24 2019, 07:45 PM)
i'm on EU Z-Wave frequency as there are more sensors for the EU region.
Few years ago maybe, now many Zwave 919.8MHz devices readily available. Anyway what sensors are you looking for? Maybe I can check it out for you.

31 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.3337sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:15 PM