Smart Home, Let's discuss

ZeneticX
post Oct 15 2022, 04:44 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(SIEWBAO @ Oct 15 2022, 12:34 PM)
Oh no~ dun have Haier aircond in the list.
Whats radar sensor?
So whenever I buy smart gadget, have to check whether can link with Zigbee n home assistant rite? wad else? google assistant?
dont confuse home assistant and google assistant ya..... they are 2 very different things

honestly considering how you are so clueless about everything, i dont recommend home assistant at all. You need some knowledge and technical expertise to set everything up

for now just go youtube or google up some articles to learn the basics of smart home

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 15 2022, 04:45 PM
ZeneticX
post Nov 9 2022, 05:52 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Nov 9 2022, 05:31 PM)
Dropping by just to share that all my tuya zigbee non neutral no capacitor switches and dimmer switches still works fine after 1 year.

Remembered previously some members mentioned that non neutral switches will give way less than 1 year. Glad all of them still works both manually clicking and from app/voice/scene

Recently added a tuya wifi smart lock and setup some scene when I unlock the door to turn on lights(depending on time) and fan via the smart switches, love the convenience.
which brand are you using? is it Moes?
ZeneticX
post Dec 18 2022, 02:12 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

anyone using these smart recessed magnetic track lights? it uses zigbee and on Tuya platform

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i2200332....5c9e49fbvvJo4f
ZeneticX
post Dec 18 2022, 12:07 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Dec 18 2022, 11:47 AM)
I only did some research & contacted a few suppliers. Yours on 220V & I was looking into the DC 48V option for my garage & balcony because I have some solar + DC batteries laying around but KIV for now.
I'm tempted to go for these instead of typical smart light or normal light + smart switch setup. Just unsure about any major cons.... the only thing I can think of is cost and if the driver unit spoil, the whole rail will be down. Another thing is looking for a contractor who knows how to embed the rail into plaster ceiling...

Pros would be the looks of it, and the modularity when it comes to lighting type, can just swap out anytime easily
ZeneticX
post Jan 9 2023, 12:13 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(FinalHistory @ Jan 8 2023, 07:46 PM)
Any post that's friendly for starter like me that do not know anything? I see all the posts here were asking question that they already have a rough ideas on what they want. I totally white paper in this context
first thing , the most basic you have to understand is the communication protocols for smart home - mainly Zigbee and WiFi. Upcoming would be Matter

Zigbee - device communicate with each other through personal area network, a hub is required which will be connected to your router

WiFi - device communicate with each other through 2.4 Ghz network, no hub is required since the devices will be connected to your router directly

once you understand these then its pretty easy imo from this point onwards

next is to know the different ecosystem or brands for smarthomes eg: Tuya, Aqara, Xiaomi etc
ZeneticX
post Jan 9 2023, 02:36 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(FinalHistory @ Jan 9 2023, 10:36 AM)
I agree with you, I am not a fan of talking to google too. Prefer something that can detects motion. Like the lights and fans will auto on if detect any movement.
I went around and read about it, so far what you listed are 2 options, but I have yet to figure out what's the pros and cons of them. "Matter" in this context is a new way to set up a smart home?

I am not sure my Wifi is 2.4 GHz or not, so most probably I will go for Zigbee, which i think is more secure?

Thank you so much both of you for giving me some insight on how to kickstart my journey to have a smart home.
Zigbee
+ frees up congestion on your wifi network
+ might have less latency depending on your area size and location of hub
- need to spend extra on a Zigbee hub

Wifi
+ straightforward to setup as direct connect to wifi network
+ no extra hardware (eg: hub) required
- might congest and slowdown your network if there's too many wifi devices in the same network
- high latency if the wifi network is weak

Your wifi router should have both 2.4ghz and 5ghz network
ZeneticX
post Feb 2 2023, 11:20 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

For those using LG smart appliances with LG ThinQ app... can I check whether Google Home integration is available?

Was planning to buy some LG appliances and just found out today that Google Home integration with ThinQ is dependant on region availability. So far I've found that its available in Sg but not Msia
ZeneticX
post Feb 3 2023, 02:54 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 3 2023, 10:04 AM)
Ok je...

Voice Assistant work fine as well?
ZeneticX
post Feb 4 2023, 10:48 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Feb 4 2023, 05:09 PM)
After seeing your message I was curious as well, since I dont use Google Home, so install and linked my LG fridge. Linking and message notification is fine, but it doesnt have the fridge controllers on the app.
meaning you cant control the fridge from the app? then what's the purpose for linking with app lol. just to check status?
ZeneticX
post Feb 5 2023, 12:11 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 4 2023, 11:19 PM)
My LG fridge is linked, I’m able to change temperature settings.

off topic a bit.... how long have you used your LG fridge? which model? any issues so far?
ZeneticX
post Apr 4 2023, 01:13 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(SIEWBAO @ Apr 4 2023, 10:12 AM)
But idk which brand could support. Is there anyway to check before buying?
You can check Eva M5 by Avenir Lab

https://www.evasmart.co/m5/

Or Trident Arthur+ by Eagle Secure Tech

https://digitallock.com.my/product/trident-arthur-plus/

Both support Tuya. If your budget permits, Eagle Secure Tech also have Lenovo branded smart locks which look nicer and support Tuya as well

https://digitallock.com.my/

Best to visit the physical shop to have a look and consult the salesperson first

ZeneticX
post Apr 6 2023, 01:25 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

just found out that Philips have a smart lock now that supports Tuya / Smartlife instead of their own Easykey app

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/official...ysaArn7EALw_wcB
ZeneticX
post Apr 6 2023, 12:39 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 6 2023, 08:57 AM)
For this price can get face detection too from Tuya!
Face detection in smart lock is a bit of a gimmick for me sweat.gif since the smart lock is not even at your eye level, you need to bend down just to scan your face. Correct me if I'm wrong
ZeneticX
post Apr 6 2023, 02:44 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 6 2023, 01:34 PM)
I've been using Philips DDL702-8HW since Dec'22 until today. So far the face recognition rarely fail at all... and no need to purposely bend down or what... the camera is somewhat angled upwards. Only thing is, its faster la to use fingerprint actually, cause for the lock to wake up, you need stand in front of the lock and it wakes up for the detection. Probably 1-2 seconds.
How's your experience with it so far? Any issues?

Using Li Ion battery or normal battery cells?

My concern with Li Ion is need to charge when its depleted (although most company claim it should last 6 - 12 months), and when the battery health is deteriorated it might be difficult to find replacement

Normal battery cells can just replace anytime and your lock will be ready
ZeneticX
post Apr 19 2023, 01:13 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Apr 19 2023, 02:06 AM)
Is aqara good and considered a having good quality over tuya?

Thinking to install it for my new house.
I know many said Aqara generally is better quality than Tuya

But I recently bought these Tuya switches by Moes and I actually prefer the pressing feel compared to Aqara D1

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.5iPNz

ZeneticX
post Apr 21 2023, 03:39 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Video for Singapore but should be applicable to us as well

ZeneticX
post Jun 5 2023, 05:02 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(K4iz3n @ Jun 5 2023, 04:33 PM)
Any good company that can set up smart home?
Best is learn yourself and setup. Once you know how to do it, you will know its not worth paying the exorbitant prices these companies charge just to do a simple smart home setup. Its not rocket science
ZeneticX
post Jun 5 2023, 07:56 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jun 5 2023, 06:53 PM)
yeah, also if one of those companies have their own smart home app. Then a few years later that company dies along with the server & apps making the smart devices installed useless/dumb.

I’ve seen a fair share of those including some smart bulbs I bought a few years back. Had to flash custom firmware on those
and most of the hardware are rebranded Tuya stuff with marked up prices anyway
ZeneticX
post Jun 24 2023, 03:06 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Jun 24 2023, 01:47 PM)
Tuya working with matter yet? Is a tuya matter bridge available?

Aqara is already working
QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 24 2023, 02:25 PM)
What devices are supporting matter? I sure hope tuya start supporting matter 😅 trying to get it working via offline control with HomeKit.
Not much update from Tuya side about Matter except a few statements and prototype demos...

https://support.tuya.com/en/help/_detail/Kcayjdexazty0

https://www.tuya.com/news-details/tuya-demo...m-Kc2dfaq06pfdc

The thing about Tuya.... they have so many hardware vendors. Even if they have a working concept ready, it might still take some time for the vendors to pick it up and produce a production version for the public

So far I cant find any Tuya Matter hardware available for purchase yet

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 24 2023, 03:07 PM
ZeneticX
post Sep 9 2023, 02:19 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Anyone using those handle style Tuya smart lock? I'm currently using Eva M5. Want to check is it normal that any unlock activity from inside house (exiting from house) is not logged?

A bit dissapointed with this because due to this now, I'm having a hard time figuring out how to do my automation (eg: exit house switch off all lights etc)

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0487sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:10 AM