Smart Home, Let's discuss

idoblu
post Jan 16 2017, 09:08 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 16 2017, 09:05 PM)
Ok, understood
It's specific to control one device, or whatever elss at the end of the wire
Yes just think of it as a big switch. What do you want to turn on/off - then put this switch between that and the power plug
rx330
post Jan 17 2017, 12:47 PM

11,811 posts

im using aeotec and fibaro to switch off items
they shud be fixing it this weekend if they can make it

bought a tp link to extend the home wifi, not very stable

@ alucard, here is the problem im facing, since the harmony home would be at the living hall, im thinking wat other way can i use it to voice control the tv/appletv in my room as well

any ideas? the RF extender need to be wired from the hub
another thing i read is the remote that comes to it, can be used to send out IR, not too sure how it works
idoblu
post Jan 17 2017, 01:00 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 17 2017, 12:47 PM)

@ alucard, here is the problem im facing, since the harmony home would be at the living hall, im thinking wat other way can i use it to voice control the tv/appletv in my room as well

another thing i read is the remote that comes to it, can be used to send out IR, not too sure how it works
wah bro fibaro should be able to kautim everything, how come you got many controllers rclxub.gif laugh.gif
rx330
post Jan 17 2017, 01:19 PM

11,811 posts

got a lot controller ar? hahahha

the fibaro is some box to be added behind the main switches

as said the house is to be integrate with vera, but now is how to let it fully controlled by alexa hahaha
alucard89
post Jan 17 2017, 11:29 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 17 2017, 12:47 PM)

Seems like wireless option would be all the devices listed here

https://wiki.ezvid.com/best-ir-remote-exten...CFVcSHwodousEYw

Btw, how many devices can you add with your hamony hub?
idoblu
post Jan 18 2017, 09:21 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 17 2017, 11:29 PM)
Seems like wireless option would be all the devices listed here

https://wiki.ezvid.com/best-ir-remote-exten...CFVcSHwodousEYw

Btw, how many devices can you add with your hamony hub?
rx330 says he stays in small apartment but I wonder what is his definition of "small" is? hmm.gif
6000sf?
ozak
post Jan 18 2017, 09:58 AM

17,022 posts

Wah, nowadays still got this RF and IR extender. Thought already obsolete.

Using 1 back 15yrs ago. Not stable with useless IR. Throw away.
idoblu
post Jan 18 2017, 10:10 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 18 2017, 09:58 AM)
Wah, nowadays still got this RF and IR extender. Thought already obsolete.

Using 1 back 15yrs ago. Not stable with useless IR. Throw away.
give you cloud service you say not secured
give you RF/IR you say obsolete laugh.gif
ozak
post Jan 18 2017, 10:31 AM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 18 2017, 10:10 AM)
give you cloud service you say not secured
give you RF/IR you say obsolete  laugh.gif
It is not the cloud is not secure. It is our net infrastructure is not secure.

I don't no what logic is it if just a program timer, have to go through all this Cloud-> ISP->fiber->wifi router->your wifi bulb. Just to switch ON ?

A simple plug socket timer cost below RM100 already can do it and much much more secure.

RF/IR have been long liau. Analog thing obsolete liau ma. Why you still need this device ? I remember brought it about RM200+.

BTW, can I use my NAS cloud ? I got host cloud in my home.
idoblu
post Jan 18 2017, 10:35 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 18 2017, 10:31 AM)
It is not the cloud is not secure. It is our net infrastructure is not secure.

I don't no what logic is it if just a program timer, have to go through all this Cloud-> ISP->fiber->wifi router->your wifi bulb. Just to switch ON ?

A simple plug socket timer cost below RM100 already can do it and much much more secure.

RF/IR have been long liau. Analog thing obsolete liau ma. Why you still need this device ? I remember brought it about RM200+.

BTW, can I use my NAS cloud ? I got host cloud in my home.
If you dont use cloud, you cannot get it to do things where ever you are on this Earth
If using cloud, you can set up IFTTT - https://ifttt.com
Your smartphone needs to be connected to the device - if you use bluetooth, its only nearby. If you use wifi, you need the cloud.
ozak
post Jan 18 2017, 11:20 AM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 18 2017, 10:35 AM)
If you dont use cloud, you cannot get it to do things where ever you are on this Earth
If using cloud, you can set up IFTTT - https://ifttt.com
Your smartphone needs to be connected to the device - if you use bluetooth, its only nearby. If you use wifi, you need the cloud.
Put that prg into the bulb la. The bulb already have the IP and link to your router modem liau. From your hp apps, straight can find the bulb from where you are. Without need the cloud.

Why that IFTTT site tell me my browser outdate liau? Ask me to use chrome. I think I m outdate. sad.gif
idoblu
post Jan 18 2017, 11:32 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 18 2017, 11:20 AM)
Put that prg into the bulb la. The bulb already have the IP and link to your router modem liau. From your hp apps, straight can find the bulb from where you are. Without need the cloud.

Why that IFTTT site tell me my browser outdate liau? Ask me to use chrome. I think I m outdate. sad.gif
You are obsolete Liao laugh.gif
If the device connects to your router, how your smartphone gonna connect to your device?
Your smartphone can only make one connection at a time - either to the Internet or to the device.
rx330
post Jan 18 2017, 11:36 AM

11,811 posts

@alu
the hub can connect till 8, unless if u buy the elite, then can go till 15
how does the IR repeater work? i connect one unit to the hub, and the other just put in another room? they will connect wirelessly?
each of these IR unit needs to have a power source right?

@idoblu
my current house 1.2k sqf nia, not those 6k sqf penthouse
Tried IFTTT, couldnt really get it to work wat i need
need to experiment more
the speed of it quite fast, i send a trigger from alexa to ifttt from there to philips hue, about 1 second or so
ozak
post Jan 18 2017, 11:43 AM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 18 2017, 11:32 AM)
You are obsolete Liao  laugh.gif
If the device connects to your router, how your smartphone gonna connect to your device?
Your smartphone can only make one connection at a time - either to the Internet or to the device.
I mean why you put the brain at the cloud and not the device.

If you outside HP apps--> modem router--> device.

But now your bulb is not talk direct with you ?
idoblu
post Jan 18 2017, 12:04 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 18 2017, 11:43 AM)
I mean why you put the brain at the cloud and not the device.

If you outside HP apps--> modem router--> device.

But now your bulb is not talk direct with you ?
The brain is at the device but to run the brain you need software. Software is at the cloud
Or maybe I'm wrong - software on your smartphone (app) and the cloud is like a gateway
Kiding
post Jan 18 2017, 08:40 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 18 2017, 11:32 AM)
You are obsolete Liao  laugh.gif
Not true, why the smartphone can't connect to the device? it is also connect to router, both are able to connect to each other as they connect to the local router.

smartphone can make few hundred connections at a time, it can connect to smart devices and internet at the same time

Why some products require cloud? it is because it is easier to maintain the software, upgrade, patching are automatically done, cloud enables product to have more control of your smart home devices.
idoblu
post Jan 18 2017, 09:07 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jan 18 2017, 08:40 PM)
Not true, why the smartphone can't connect to the device? it is also connect to router, both are able to connect to each other as they connect to the local router.

smartphone can make few hundred connections at a time, it can connect to smart devices and internet at the same time

Why some products require cloud? it is because it is easier to maintain the software, upgrade, patching are automatically done, cloud enables product to have more control of your smart home devices.
Got any examples or not?
Kiding
post Jan 19 2017, 12:43 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 18 2017, 09:07 PM)
Got any examples or not?
There are many smart home devices are running locally without connecting to cloud, and managed by smart phone, especially china brand wifi smart devices like tp-link, home automation solutions like wemo, openhab, home assitant, control4, vera all can work without cloud.
idoblu
post Jan 19 2017, 04:02 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jan 19 2017, 12:43 AM)
There are many smart home devices are running locally without connecting to cloud, and managed by smart phone, especially china brand wifi smart devices like tp-link, home automation solutions like wemo, openhab, home assitant, control4, vera all can work without cloud.
ozak there you go....no need cloud service for the above
I think if you look at anything that uses z-wave or zigbee, then there is no need for cloud service.
It's basically using RF

TP-Link and Wemo still using cloud service though.

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 19 2017, 04:03 AM
ozak
post Jan 19 2017, 09:06 AM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 19 2017, 04:02 AM)
ozak there you go....no need cloud service for the above
I think if you look at anything that uses z-wave or zigbee, then there is no need for cloud service.
It's basically using RF

TP-Link and Wemo still using cloud service though.
Let say your bulb company close shop can't sustain. Cloud service sure no more since it need to pay to maintain.

What happen to your bulb and device? Will it stop functioning ?

656 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0193sec    1.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:48 AM