16 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

lucaswjk
post Feb 1 2024, 03:28 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

do u know which is the best selling digital lock?

this one

i couldn't find suitable digital lock for my grill door,
i actually prefer the one using Euro Cylinder but all not suitable for me.
coz my wooden door and my grill gap is really tight. 😕

u all have any recommendations?
mine is stainless steel gate, and require welding which i not really favour.
if no better choice, i might go with this model on top of my existing lock.
lucaswjk
post Feb 2 2024, 07:19 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Feb 2 2024, 08:53 AM)
After think up and down for a day, probably will go to Aqara U100 and keep my old ancient lock retain there, lol ..

Just need to drill a new hole right now.
I be honest with you, u never go wrong with aqara.
it had good quality for both hw and sw.
but this model will going to pull down ur overall aestectic setup.

I have this exact dilemma for my gate.
at least this U100 looks more premium, but still pls think about it.

also u going to poke a hole on ur door, might as well go for mortise lockset.
lucaswjk
post Feb 6 2024, 05:37 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Feb 6 2024, 10:51 AM)
I also have 2 smart plug from crabtek lol, others is smartrul. BTW the unavailable issue was solved when I changed my stock unifi router to a better tenda router. I found that the tuya device keep randomly disconnect and was removed from the dchp list when check inside the router. Stock unifi router sucks anyways, now I have 50+ devices connected without project
i have around same devices as ur...
i can confirmed it for u, if using consumer grade wifi ap...
50 devices basically the limit.

I tried some highend Deco too, they claimed 255 max devices but in actual they barely support around 100 or less.

there are also some other issues, IoT running legacy wifi mode.
they are not stable! you need to create rules to schedule reboot or reconnect once it disconnected.
lucaswjk
post Feb 28 2024, 10:31 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Feb 28 2024, 02:51 PM)
Last night all of sudden, one of my Tapo P100 v1.2 (forgot bought 2020 or 2021) suddenly has this symptom of "on and off" click sounds non-stop.
It is also appears to be offline under Tapo App and Router's client list.

The power current still can go tru though when i test plug something in and unable to press the button to turn it off (the clicking sounds continue)
Unable to factory reset (press and hold 10 seconds above) - meaning the clicking sounds won't stop.

Guess it's .. "dead" or rosak?
Wanna know anyone has this symptom here?
seem like the relay broken, afterall it is a mechanical switch
lucaswjk
post Feb 29 2024, 03:27 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Feb 29 2024, 03:16 PM)
for ZigBee wall switches with neutral, not all support as repeater.. even with Neutral.

i bought 1 from MOES (should be from Tuya), with Neutral, it doesn't act as repeater... only end device.
so be sure with certain products before getting it..

luckily i can return back the switch.
hemmm... i tot zigbee protocol aldy define all zigbee IoT capable of mesh.
lucaswjk
post Mar 1 2024, 09:40 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(eagle7 @ Mar 1 2024, 11:49 AM)
If you know how to handle soldering iron and electronic stuff, the capacitor costs less than a ringgit; otherwise, better buy a new replacement.
i tot nowadays ppl use solder paste/flux and hotgun compared to soldering.

oh thx for the video link
lucaswjk
post Mar 8 2024, 09:47 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 8 2024, 08:27 PM)
if you are non techie, better go Aqara for switches, hub, sensors, it will be much less headache for you in the long run.

Technical guy know how to troubleshoot tuya devices or flash it to ESP firmware, tuya device quality is not consistent as they are not from single manufacturer, when problem occurs, need some technical skills to fix it.
i use sonoff and tuya...
i tell u, no need esphone or tasmota.

no need ha or homeserver, use tuya/aqara apps enuf
ppl that said data collected by ccp this la that la.
pls la, u think u really can be anonymous in this world?
there r so many company capable build ur complete profiles, just that you do not know about it.
lucaswjk
post Mar 8 2024, 11:21 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Mar 8 2024, 10:50 PM)
HA is for more advanced stuff larh. Tuya needs cloud connection right? The cloud thing really puts me off larh, and some stuff only tuya branded stuff is available and i have try to look up if it can even be flashed.

You cant be anonymous but you certainly can try to be more private.
only if u hv time, capacity and expertise.
i took 1 year to install my smartdoor...
i tot i hv time.. but i dont.
my esp32 still in my drawer

i did flash my switch to tasmota.
i hv spare RPI too, mayb if i hv time i will play around.
i did this as hobby...
but smarthome for general population the wall is very high.
pls dont recommend ppl to mod their IoT unless they ask
lucaswjk
post Mar 11 2024, 08:18 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 11 2024, 04:21 PM)
Tasmota firmware does support matter and can be installed on the tx ultimate. But it just shows up as light bulb in the tuya app regardless of the device type.
No issues with the usual smart home eco though (homekit, google, alexa)
tx ultimate is actually esp32.
and can flash esp32-idf, it support matter, bluetooth.
if u mod 1 step further by using esp32 c6, u get zigbee n thread too
lucaswjk
post Mar 14 2024, 06:10 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Mar 14 2024, 05:42 PM)
i think house sudah kena lightning.

1 Wifi wall switch no longer working.

gonna switch the switch to Zigbee version as trial. hopefully no need neutral.
if lightning managed to burn one of ur wall switch, non of your house electric devices are safe.

i remember you can change ur rccb to more sensitive rating to protect from surge and lightning. it will trip more easily...
lucaswjk
post Mar 25 2024, 12:32 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

my Tuya wifi smart lock battery can last 60days only.
I thought at least 4months 😮‍💨

the spec written 4000mah 4-6months

low battery notification only last for 24hrs,
after that it will scare u by refusing to unlock.
man this really make me panic.

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Mar 25 2024, 12:33 PM
lucaswjk
post Mar 25 2024, 03:43 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 25 2024, 01:05 PM)
This is why i never bought those locks that use li-ion battery.  Want find replacement also hard

My tuya smart lock using 4x AA battery so far 7 months in still showing full bar

Hopefully the low battery notification works though
bro battery leaking issue. u better get duracell.
7months... stay alone?

QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 25 2024, 01:06 PM)
hmm.gif I thought these would last longer.

I'm using Phillips EasyKey, the one with face recognition... installed since Dec'22, first set of battery so far.
my face recognition very sensitive, my door always open and it woke up everytime someone pass by. 1m away.
mayb this is the issue
lucaswjk
post Mar 25 2024, 04:20 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 25 2024, 04:13 PM)
with my partner, so 2 people in the house mostly

i mean even if leak I can easily find replacement

for li-ion batteries.... they will wear out eventually and how easy it is to get replacement for the specific battery?
i cant answer this...
the battery size is generic among all the Tuya Smart Lock.
I hope they are still in production after 10 years.

however, I did ask for the spare battery, and it cost only US7.
since Li-ion batteries degrade from manufacture time, there is no reason for me to buy extra now.
lucaswjk
post Mar 26 2024, 01:20 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(kokweng1 @ Mar 26 2024, 09:36 AM)
Your own battery or from original package?
Also wifi should consume more battery compare to zigbee

My aqara A100 initially battery only last like 4months , turn out the original battery is either lemon or old stock.
Replaced all with pana battery , now after 13month still got 57%
Aqara claim can last 18months, not sure how true

Edit: saw your other reply, seem like is using li-on battery instead of AA battery, maybe you can try disable some feature if see last longer ? example those sound when u unlock or alarm if no lock for xx second
one thing i forget to mention...
When my door start to crying low battery, i checked the apps battery %
it still hv 57%
I ignore la, but next day i got panic when the door refused to unlock for initial few times... i had to charge immediately.

either the apps wrong or the stupid door errors
lucaswjk
post Mar 27 2024, 12:16 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Mar 27 2024, 11:57 AM)
I'm considering purchasing a 3-gang smart switch to connect with all my smart LED lights because they support dimming.
If I control them using Google Nest Hub, is that not considered gateway method, but rather Wi-Fi method?
So, if I buy different brands of Zigbee devices like Tuya, Aqara, Xiaomi, and others, can I use just one Zigbee gateway to connect them all and manage them using Google Nest Hub? I'm sorry, I'm quite new to this whole smart home setup.
u only need smart dimming switch and normal dim bulb
lucaswjk
post Mar 27 2024, 07:22 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Mar 27 2024, 03:45 PM)
Anyone used the Smatrul Tuya 16A mini wifi switch with power monitoring can share what attributes is exposed by this switch? Planning to use it to monitor power consumption on airconds at home
someone in this thread actually calculated the amp required by aircon.
it is actually doable.

but i wont recommend this, aircon unit is considered high power electric device. if ur plug unable to deliver sufficient power, u might risk burning ur aircon.

also most of the socket hv different 3 pins.
not sure u saw before, the pins are round one .
this is to prevent ppl from use the plug, especially in bathroom.
lucaswjk
post Mar 27 2024, 09:59 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 27 2024, 09:54 PM)
Saw this one, pretty cheap
Just grabbed one myself to test it out

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.8MxKW

Meaning you’ll just regulate dimming from smart bulbs right
matter gateway can bypass ha?
and support other protocol, eg mqtt, tasmota's http, and esphome

it is good if I able to use it purely for Google home
lucaswjk
post Mar 27 2024, 10:23 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Mar 27 2024, 10:04 PM)
Mqtt - X
Esphome - X
tasmota - Thru matter integration
Comment from another guy mentions doesn’t really display sensors properly on G Home, could be tuya still working on it
my tasmota v13.2.0
ngam² got this in it changelog
Matter support for Virtual Devices controllable via Rules or Berry

but dont understand what it mean

lucaswjk
post Apr 4 2024, 02:56 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Apr 4 2024, 11:28 AM)
Moes probably, or Zemismart
rank it... include smartul
lucaswjk
post Apr 10 2024, 12:05 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Apr 9 2024, 10:56 PM)
You can still flash esphome on the wifi version so it works locally

There’s a trick you can use for any neutral required switches, i tried it on one and still working fine since last year

thanx for sharing. this is useful!!!

I didn't install smart switch at my (stair) storeroom, refused to lay the neutral cable coz seldom use.
I was planning if in the future when I need it, I will just use non neutral switch.
with this, all my switch will be using same model ☺️

16 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.3232sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:54 AM