16 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

lucaswjk
post Jan 19 2024, 09:04 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Jan 19 2024, 08:25 PM)
wow then why suddenly jump to an uncommon ESP32 variant?
u mean c6?
initially wanted s3, better processor but...
if wanted to compared performance, it was much much slower than any Pi in the market.
might as well get c6 for it rare wifi6, bt, zigbee and thread features.

there r also a project i want to do. eg 100 esp32 in mesh/thread network 😁
lucaswjk
post Jan 20 2024, 12:26 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Jan 19 2024, 09:16 PM)
Yea, most people i see just go with devkit probably because cheapest. I also usually go for those.

What projects are they? Rare might have less support tho LOL, but i guess you already did your research.
I have like a dozen still in the packaging that i still havent configured for presence sensor.
multiple sensors using I2C bus, but no points to discuss it now as it still at preliminary stage.

I'm currently in pinch and caught off guard, normally my orders took 3weeks for delivery.
now it arrived in a week. I'm not sure I should be happy or sad...

I still havent buy my buck converter and soldering kits.
to step down 12/24v to 5v, is LM2596 the best? XL series?
and can recommended soldering kits + hot gun?

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jan 20 2024, 12:28 AM
lucaswjk
post Jan 20 2024, 12:42 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Jan 20 2024, 12:33 AM)
Just found out on Z2M's github that there's issue with this particular model caused by a fix that reports 0 value on other tuya zigbee devices.

The voltage spike should not be an issue as the socket is connected to a voltage regulator.
still got ppl use voltage regulator?
u mean UPS?
lucaswjk
post Jan 20 2024, 02:35 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Jan 20 2024, 12:59 AM)
I am just using whatever shopee cheap soldering iron and glue gun, i do want to get a proper soldering station but i dont often need to solder hence why i havent bothered LOL

The buck converter that is fine, but if your Amp rating is lower you can go for MP2307 and MP2315
thanx. compared it and found out MP2307 have hv higher efficiency and lower noise.

official spec written max input 23V but online seller quote max 24V 😅

lucaswjk
post Jan 21 2024, 10:18 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Jan 21 2024, 09:52 PM)
i use both; UPS for internet uptime for eveything that is essential even during outage, and CCTV.

a batch of those round Zigbee sockets with power monitor that i bought will turn off when V>=250V. had to put them after CyberPower AVR (only this brand really bring down from 250V to ≈220V, or after those bulky 2000VA UPS (only ones which output to ≈220V).
our malaysia standard 230v +/- 10
if it >250v, i think u can complaint at TnB
lucaswjk
post Jan 22 2024, 09:43 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Jan 22 2024, 01:02 AM)
earlier i said it's Zigbee round socket. i am mistaken. it's MOES Zigbee 3-pin wall socket.

i already ask TNB; you are slightly wrong.
the range is 230V +10% upper tolerance, not +10V tolerance.
so up to 253V is still within allowable range - but the Zigbee wall sockets w/ power monitor will turn off when it hits 250V. this causes problem if connected directly to wall, so as a workaround, i put AVR or UPS that can reduce to 220V.

it wasn't intended to use AVR or UPS like that.
it's just that the dealer refused/unable to offer firmware/solution to the turn-off, and instead offer to reimburse only the amount of 10% or 1 socket of the whole purchase. each of this cost around ~RM70, so you can imagine my disappointment for buying bulk for home upgrade. end up only usable as trailing gang after AVR or UPS instead of on the wall itself.
really thought +10v 😅

jfyi, the product is perfect for china but not us.
again our standard is 230v, but in china their standard is 220v
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mains_electricity_by_country

lucaswjk
post Jan 26 2024, 10:01 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 25 2024, 07:17 PM)
Your KDK fan using rf signal probably?
about RF, some high security devices use Rolling Codes.
copied also useless
lucaswjk
post Jan 26 2024, 11:29 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 26 2024, 09:16 PM)
infrared because need to point the remote at the fan.

IR use diode 💡
u can check with ur phone camera to see the diode emitting the light,
overtime it become weaker or mayb try to replace ur battery
lucaswjk
post Jan 29 2024, 09:41 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(eagle7 @ Jan 29 2024, 07:24 PM)
It tap directly into the Autogate's control panel board like in the picture.

i m currently researching this...
the motor1 and 2, is the power flow thru it running on 12V?

coz i know esp's gpio is only 3.3v...
can i switch it for 1second to activate the gate?
without resistor or buck converter.
lucaswjk
post Jan 31 2024, 05:15 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Jan 31 2024, 04:05 PM)

I think both are great for Apple Homekit
introduce u the best looking digital lock

Apple watch user will be happy can use NFC or Palm veins

lucaswjk
post Feb 1 2024, 11:33 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Feb 1 2024, 08:20 AM)
The price also wow  sweat.gif
anything that support Apple products, hard to escape premium range 😁
moreover the lock were multi awards winner for design
it also hv full lock feature, except zigbee

disclaimer, actually I'm currently using similar design lock.
ops...
tuya at 1/5 the price.

my only complaint, this is fully automatic lock.
mean DONT HV front mechanical handle/PUSHPULL to open door from outside.
i didn't enable auto lock, but once the door closed, it is similar to locked situations.
everytime hv to use facial recognition to unlock, luckily it is fast...
lucaswjk
post Feb 1 2024, 11:55 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Feb 1 2024, 11:49 AM)
N200 support apple home key ? - using iphone wallet and apple watch
But there are others don't support Apple verified also can cost a fortune  sweat.gif

Aqara A100 and U100 seems to be at a reasonable price which i quite attract to grab one and try.
Since it's a one time upgrade, just dump a one time cost (within budget)
of coz there is always premium product... eg samsung phillips etc
but they are using proprietary apps

oh u might interested in D100, the replacement model for A100.
i think support Siri
lucaswjk
post Feb 1 2024, 12:14 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Feb 1 2024, 12:05 PM)
I dun really trust in voice command to unlock ...  sweat.gif

D100 is double price of A100  bye.gif
good to have but not necessary... mayb oku/elderly will appreciate it more

and I wasn't awared of the price 🫢
I read it was a replacement model
lucaswjk
post Feb 1 2024, 01:39 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(keeycheng @ Feb 1 2024, 01:23 PM)
hi Lucas,

mind to share what is the equivalent model of Tuya lock that you are using? mind to share the link as well?

TIA

lucaswjk
post Feb 1 2024, 01:50 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

let me list down all cons...

1. WiFi only, all my IoT is running on WiFi, so no problem but some ppl might not like it.

2. Remote unlock can only be triggered AFTER user press the doorbell.

3. No front handle

4. No documentation, No brand

5. Require thick door

6. No NFC, but RFID can use ur MyKad

7. No Finger/Palm veins

8. In the door, cannot assign user name. but name can be link using Tuya apps and only viewable in apps.

9. Left door and Right door setting need to configure in the door apps.
lucaswjk
post Feb 1 2024, 01:53 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(keeycheng @ Feb 1 2024, 01:43 PM)
Thanks man, this can be installed on security door as well right?

how you find this device? is the response good?
overall i am pretty happy with it.
facial and fingerprint respond quite fast.

but i only use it less than a month, that y i list out all the cons first

oh ur security door, should be okay as long as u have existing mortise lockset hole.
this one using 6068.

my existing lock is 6085, and i need to modify it

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Feb 1 2024, 01:55 PM
lucaswjk
post Feb 1 2024, 02:05 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(keeycheng @ Feb 1 2024, 01:55 PM)
got it man, i guess the part where no RFID is kinda a push back, but need to sacrifice something for that pricing. Let me do some more research. smile.gif
ehh... it got RFID but no NFC la

RFID u can use MyKad
NFC u can use watch or phone tagging to unlock

if u search hard enuf, u can find palm veins feature too.

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Feb 1 2024, 02:06 PM
lucaswjk
post Feb 1 2024, 02:22 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(keeycheng @ Feb 1 2024, 02:14 PM)
my bad typo there, yeah i meant NFC. let me do some search hah
facial recognition more than enuf, handfree mode. hahaha

QUOTE(TongCN @ Feb 1 2024, 02:15 PM)
Point no.1 : Isn't Wi-Fi lock more battery consumption compare to bluetooth/Hub ?
yup, luckily it use Lithium ion battery, not the AA battery.
can last 6months or u can buy extra battery for US7

and pls dont buy Bluetooth IoT, i read sometime reconnection not reliable. Zigbee better.
lucaswjk
post Feb 1 2024, 02:55 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 1 2024, 02:42 PM)
Got zigbee for this model?
No 2 is pretty much the same limitation for any tuya wifi lock it seems, need user input then can remotely unlock
i found a Tuya lock can do real remote unlock,
i thought this happened to my model only.

and no zigbee for this design, u can try to search ali espresso ☕
lucaswjk
post Feb 1 2024, 03:04 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 1 2024, 03:02 PM)
The one you found that can do remote unlock is zigbee model right?
wifi model, got handle one.
cosr ard rm200 to 400

16 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.3641sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:27 PM