Smart Home, Let's discuss

alucard89
post Dec 24 2017, 12:38 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 24 2017, 12:26 PM)
Just ordered the Xiaomi Gateway from gearbest. Hope they send me the version 2. Didn’t buy the kit as I dun need some items.

Actually what’s the difference between the version 1 & 2?

What’s the difference between -
1. Square and round temp and humidity sensor? Are they both zigbee?
2. Rounded and square edges door/window sensor?
3. Body motion sensor with mounting stand and without?
Very confusing.
Even wireless switches got 3 different kinds. Dunno what’s the difference 😅
If use with HA, only version 2 (with fm radio) can pair with, version 1 cannot

1,2 - Same zigbee I guess, just newer models
3 - Newer motion sensor got light sensor now (also, this one only pairs with Gateway version 2)

Don't have the newer switches, so far only the old ones can use with ha and customize other actions.

You got your SHERlock lock yet?

This post has been edited by alucard89: Dec 24 2017, 12:39 PM
alucard89
post Dec 24 2017, 12:47 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 24 2017, 12:40 PM)
Huh which is old which is new switches?
What is this HA?
Were you talking about aqara wireless or the button switch?
Homeassistant
alucard89
post Dec 24 2017, 01:15 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 24 2017, 12:51 PM)
Yes but I got no idea which is new which is old
HomeAssistant is what ? Lol sorry blur here
Not the wall switch right?
From what I see, the aqara square switch doesn't have long press action like the original xiaomi circle switch

It's a free home automation software, another alternative to smart things.
alucard89
post Dec 24 2017, 02:45 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 24 2017, 01:31 PM)
How to run this HA software? Using Raspberry Pie?
No not talking about the wall switch- wall switch only one type.

Asking about the difference between these - which one should I be buying? I noticed some got the name Aqara. Some none. Some says zigbee. Others no mention
Can run on anything, windows too
Raspberry pi just makes it easy to setup with hassio

Aqara is just another brand that's compatible with xiaomi, all are using zigbee
alucard89
post Dec 24 2017, 03:00 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(chillingz @ Dec 24 2017, 02:27 PM)
anyone know where I can get Zigbee door sensor for windows to know if someone break the glass... the 2 piece magnetic sensor doesn't detect if someone break the glass only upon opening.
I think you'll need to vibration sensor for that
Not sure xiaomi has one yet, door sensor is just proximity sensor

alucard89
post Dec 24 2017, 05:56 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 24 2017, 03:49 PM)
So buy which one better for those three sensors?
Thanks for answering my newb questions  confused.gif
Might as well grab the aqara ones since they're newer models

alucard89
post Dec 25 2017, 10:02 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 24 2017, 06:23 PM)
okay thanks  thumbsup.gif
Battery life for those xiaomi sensors are really good also
I've been using them more than a year and I still haven't replace the battery

Also, just tried ifttt and it's pretty nice that I can customize any command instead of using the usual turn on/off "insert device name" with google home.

Do give your review once you got your sherlock smart lock biggrin.gif
alucard89
post Dec 25 2017, 11:05 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 25 2017, 10:32 AM)
apa sherlock smart lock? oh the xiaomi? i totally forgotten about it.
will look into it again. i remember you mentioned got two directions and must choose either one? like left or right?
gearbest selling almost double the RMB price  - https://www.gearbest.com/access-control/pp_1496733.html

so far i bought -
1. gateway
2. wireless switch
3. aqara wall switch double gang
4. temp and humidity sensor
5. water sensor
6. door and window sensor

just one of each to test. except wall switch i bought two

later on i want to get more water sensors, temp & humidity sensors and smoke alarms
how many smoke alarms did you put in your house?
Depending on the door swing it seems

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5539362...r.1.14.6#detail

Why is gearbest censoring the sherlock brand name lol

I don't have smoke alarms yet, maybe need to get one soon.
alucard89
post Dec 25 2017, 08:21 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 25 2017, 01:31 PM)
Seems like cannot fit our locks
Needs key to be on the inside?
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Ah4JGisH3zM
Just asked a seller, seem like need to have vertical keyway lock (with keys on the inside)
I think same like those doorlock for hotel rooms

alucard89
post Dec 26 2017, 03:27 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 26 2017, 03:22 PM)
Seems like got new gateway and new sensor coming

Wah, aqara vibration sensors
Looks like tampered/broken windows will be covered soon
No need to get 3rd party ones, hopefully not too expensive

This post has been edited by alucard89: Dec 26 2017, 03:28 PM
alucard89
post Dec 28 2017, 08:34 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Dec 27 2017, 05:27 PM)

May i know what brand and suggestion for 1/2/3/4/5 gang switch with WiFi support not RF like broadlink.
https://www.itead.cc/sonoff-t1.html

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=554114857768

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=540194306845

No 5 gang yet for now
Also got RF if you wanna control with remote
Pls do note you'll need neutral wire or just connect capacitor
If you use Google home/assistant with ifttt, you can customize your own command

alucard89
post Dec 28 2017, 12:37 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Dec 28 2017, 10:21 AM)
Mostly my broadlink all cable become live. So my light intermittent on althought switch turn off. Any suggestion brand ?
So other than the switch KO for no reason, light intermittent also happens too?
Not looking good for TC2 hmm.gif , I never had issues with chuguan rf switch

This post has been edited by alucard89: Dec 28 2017, 12:37 PM
alucard89
post Dec 28 2017, 12:50 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Dec 28 2017, 09:30 AM)
The capacitor is connected between the L and N at the location where your load is (i.e. at lamp location for example). It is to provide power to the switch electronics since in off position, there suppose to be no power to the switch.
QUOTE(aneip @ Dec 28 2017, 09:48 AM)
Any reference to the capacitor type/value? limitation?
QUOTE(Zot @ Dec 28 2017, 10:17 AM)
I thought it is provided with the switch? So, depends on switch brand I suppose, though probably not much different.

Most of the time the switch just work because of voltage leakage in house wiring. So, sometimes the switch just cannot work. That is why the capacitor is provided.

The voltage rating would be at least 400V but not sure about the capacitor value. Probably around 0.47uF to 1uF? Anyone remember on top of one's head?
I've only installed with neutral wire looped in
Not quite sure how to add this capacitor when installing(this was included with https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?ft=t&id=554114857768)

alucard89
post Dec 28 2017, 05:59 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Dec 28 2017, 05:16 PM)
I switch need N wire, then it needs it. Capacitor is just to leak power through the wire but very low power. Your switch need more power than the capacitor can supply. So, most likely it will not work

Anyway, switches with L and N wires are more reliable and will work in any condition regardless load condition. Unfortunately, unlike in the USA, our wiring do not require the N wire to be loop at switch level but just ceiling  sad.gif
Is there like tutorial/video on how to properly connect the capacitor?

QUOTE(ular_king @ Dec 28 2017, 05:31 PM)
After reading thru the thread there seems to be no reliable RF/WiFI Wall switch.  Basically i just wanna have a switch that i can use timer and remote on/off on it . Any recommendations?
Sonoff T1/YJZK- WIFI & RF switch : Reliable and still working fine, but need to add neutral wire for installation
Broadlink TC2 - Seems like there's always complains about this stopped working in a short time or other issues
Chuguan - This one RF only, I only bought one to test it out and so far so good, same price with sonoff t1 though
Xiaomi Aqara - Only up to 2 gang only, needs gateway for pairing, no need neutral wire

This post has been edited by alucard89: Dec 28 2017, 06:03 PM
alucard89
post Dec 28 2017, 06:19 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ular_king @ Dec 28 2017, 06:12 PM)
All malaysia existing house has Neutral rite?
On the electrical outlet yeah, not for switches
So need to add later
alucard89
post Dec 28 2017, 06:31 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ular_king @ Dec 28 2017, 06:23 PM)
So have to open up and check? So if I find 3 wires it should have neutral correct?
Switches don't have neutral wire behind it
If you're renovating, that's the perfect time to loop neutral wire behind those

QUOTE(Zot @ Dec 28 2017, 06:23 PM)
Never seen one. Your diagram is clear already. Red is Live wire. Blue is N wire, which is lopped in ceiling. The Yellow wire is just dead wire, It is not connected to L because switch is off and not connected to N directly because it is through bulb (bulb is like a resistor).

So, when the switch is connected, it completes the circuit. However, the current through the switch is very low, just enough to power the switch circuitry, the bulb will not light up. Low power bulb has higher resistance, thus limit the supply to the switch, unable to provide enough power to enable switch circuitry to work properly. This is why the capacitor is connected to bypass the bulb so that will allow more current flow to the switch through the capacitor.

Basically the switch (with no N line) will have load limit down to certain min power to certain max power to work properly. Inductive load like traditional florescent bulb may not work due to inductive ballast nature which will oppose the capacitive nature of the switch (capacitive touch switch). You have to replace with electronic ballast to make it work if the switch doesn't work.
Thanks for the explanation.
Is that the reason why wifi/z-wave requires neutral but rf switches just using live wire?

alucard89
post Dec 28 2017, 06:39 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ular_king @ Dec 28 2017, 06:33 PM)
So that means definitely have to ask electrician to add neutral if wanna use switch like sonoff.... damn additional costs again....
Depends on the electrician
In kuantan, this wireman charged for rm15 per outlet to add neutral wire
alucard89
post Dec 29 2017, 02:09 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Dec 29 2017, 12:07 PM)
Bro, you've tried the philips smart led bulb? How's the brightness?

QUOTE(ular_king @ Dec 29 2017, 02:02 PM)
Anyone buy from here before, i found it was the cheapest among all seller.  Anyone know if there are actually fake yeelights?

https://shopee.com.my/Original-Xiaomi-Yeeli...59726.776463386
Pretty much same price in taobao, should be ok

alucard89
post Dec 29 2017, 02:21 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ular_king @ Dec 29 2017, 02:19 PM)
thanks bro, i can't read chinese that's why i can't buy from taobao.....  biggrin.gif
I just use google translate bro
Better get from shoppe anyway since got free shipping
alucard89
post Jan 3 2018, 01:15 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Jan 3 2018, 11:39 AM)
Unfortunately I can't read mandarin, but yes thanks for the suggestion. And I like this switch too (still prefer the old-fashioned "clicking" switch). I will research more on this.

**update: May buy 1 to try. Unfortunately, I need switch that has 1, 2 and 3 gangs/subswitches. Aqara only has 1 and 2 gangs. Also, review stated there's no light indicator or any indicator to indicate if the switch was turned on/off. Is this true? Any other similar switches like Aqara?
Try this one, include capacitor to allow install without neutral wire

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=554114857768

This is another version of sonoff t1

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=555616127507

And this one apparently includes optional adapter for the same purpose I think?

56 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.3430sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:34 PM