441 posts

closed

This post has been edited by Kelvinwkw: Mar 25 2016, 04:03 PM
DevilKia
post Oct 18 2006, 10:18 AM

Retiring
1,048 posts

how's ur currently working environment? if it's ok to work there and ur salary has been revised.. y not stay.. cos if u go to new company u have to adapt urself to new environment, new boss and new colleague which can be good or otherwise wink.gif
weeluvmal
post Oct 18 2006, 10:26 AM

316 posts

u'll need to start anew if go new place, and most probably be small-potato in MNC, and remain in that role for some years before u can get promoted.

i still think that it's better to be big-shot in small company than small-fish in MNC. once u r a big shot, the option is always open for u to make ur jump, and the offering will be much different from what u'll be getting now.
TSKelvinwkw
post Oct 18 2006, 10:28 AM

441 posts

The working environment is great, i got the full freedom in work, however the only issue is the management.
DevilKia
post Oct 18 2006, 10:33 AM

Retiring
1,048 posts

QUOTE(Kelvinwkw @ Oct 18 2006, 10:28 AM)
The working environment is great, i got the full freedom in work, however the only issue is the management.
well... i can say whereever u go there will be a issue in the management... just it is bad or worst only.. smile.gif
Conquest
post Oct 18 2006, 10:34 AM

307 posts

you after money or working experiences? if money, better to stay. but if otherwise, its good to know new stuff. but since you mentioned management can be an issue in new company, then its best stay out of it coz thats where ur salary is paid on time.
n305er
post Oct 18 2006, 10:37 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

Well, I would advice you to look at the potential extra 30% of whatever you need to be doing to get that 30% raise.

But still, I agree with weeluvmal. It's better to be a big shot in a small company then small potato in a MNC company...

However, a small potato in a MNC company sometimes can give you better oppertunity as well. For example, have you taken into account the benefits you can get via the MNC company compared to the benefits given out by your current company? Travel oppertunity, allowence, profit sharing, employee stock option, etc?

Futhuermore, usually if you got a professional degree and working in a MNC company, they'll be able to help you register as a qualified professional for free and increase your value by a hack of alot after you go through various projects...

It's up to you. Take the risk, or take the safe path. smile.gif
Conquest
post Oct 18 2006, 10:41 AM

307 posts

there's the light side and there's the dark side... but now got the corrupt side... hahah... jk. too much watching game trailers.
TSKelvinwkw
post Oct 18 2006, 10:47 AM

441 posts

But if the reason of revision is due to lots of staff leaving the company? And they try to not letting you go. Whats you all's opinion?
Conquest
post Oct 18 2006, 10:52 AM

307 posts

you're an asset they cant afford to loose, this is the opportunity to demand before they give you more responsibility.

staff leaving can be their own attitude issues or just couldnt bounce back from company scrutiny. you dont have to fall under peer's pressure/influences.
edifgrto
post Oct 18 2006, 11:03 AM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(Kelvinwkw @ Oct 18 2006, 10:08 AM)
Im in situation where i been offer a job in one of the MNC company in Malaysia, however my current salary been revised, and its about 30% more compare to the MNC one.

If you are me, which you would like to choose, go with the MNC ot stay?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

sorry... mind if I ask... what is this MNC company all about? unsure.gif
I did googled... but still no idea what is it?! sweat.gif

se7en
post Oct 18 2006, 11:05 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

MNC = Multi National Company.

This thread will be moved to Jobs & Careers.
M2K2Land
post Oct 18 2006, 11:09 AM

Inevitable 忍者
2,407 posts

QUOTE(Kelvinwkw @ Oct 18 2006, 10:08 AM)
Im in situation where i been offer a job in one of the MNC company in Malaysia, however my current salary been revised, and its about 30% more compare to the MNC one.

If you are me, which you would like to choose, go with the MNC ot stay?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
It depend on what kind of MNC you choose... Think for long term plan rather the short term salary I mean. Compare every aspect of the working and make a rational decision.

Just my 2 cents
edifgrto
post Oct 18 2006, 11:11 AM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Oct 18 2006, 11:05 AM)
MNC = Multi National Company.

This thread will be moved to Jobs & Careers.

Thank you. smile.gif
Oh... Multi National Company... laugh.gif

Threadstarter, stay in your own company is better. It depends on what MNC that actually... it's too general for us to give you accurate advice. As to... what if the MNC is Microsoft? What if the MNC is Google or Yahoo?! Then, the answer is obvious right? wink.gif

However, if not those big fish. It's better to stay...
As just 30% increased salary is really not a bad deal.

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Oct 18 2006, 11:12 AM
TSKelvinwkw
post Oct 18 2006, 11:14 AM

441 posts

Its one of a hardware distributor in Malaysia. It would be inconvenient for me to listing the company name here.

Definitely not Microsoft or Google, however im a IT personnel.

This post has been edited by Kelvinwkw: Oct 18 2006, 11:16 AM
Syd G
post Oct 18 2006, 11:54 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Just my 2 cents. If you're hired by the MNC under an agent (Manpower/EPS/Xcellink/Kelly etc etc), STAY with your current company. Cause you may get to work under the MNC but may not be able to enjoy the perks.

Can name drop lah but they dont treat you the same sweat.gif
Bogardan
post Oct 18 2006, 12:05 PM

Dont only look at salary. Look at the total remuneration package. MNC's usually offer employees very good benefits/perks on top of the basic salary. Take that into consideration as well.
Conquest
post Oct 18 2006, 12:09 PM

307 posts

belum cuba belum tau, you've got secondary experiences from this thread. all up to you to experience first hand. all da best! but be sure to update this thread once you achieve it or not.. hehhe
HonMun
post Oct 18 2006, 12:12 PM

Professor
1,052 posts

Take the 30%, then reapply back to MNC.

if u r good, they will re-consider...
TSKelvinwkw
post Oct 18 2006, 12:17 PM

441 posts

Im in the condition of getting salary increment after i went for interview.

They(MNC)'ve confirm they will hire me.

0.0171sec    1.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:42 PM