25 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 >Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V25,, Please follow the format :)

TSpandera999
post Jul 22 2015, 10:07 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(countercounter @ Jul 22 2015, 09:53 PM)
Greetings,

I am currently using a 4 years old laptop with GT540M. (it was one of the top recommended laptop here, back when this thread was still at V12 haha) My currently laptop is still functioning great (the battery has failed, but otherwise this is a really good laptop), but I am looking to get a hybrid/tablet for my new working environment.

Oh and, to be frank, I bought Grey Goo (game) from Steam not long ago, and was kind of letdown when it fails to run on my GT540M. So my current plan is,
1) to get a hybrid or tablet which is good enough to play Grey Goo, within my budget of RM3000.00 max (already stretching my budget, don't plan to top up anymore)
-or-
2) to get a cheaper Windows tablet for my working environment (currently looking at Acer Aspire Switch 10E), AND a full laptop which can play... well, Grey Goo (something like this, with 940M, should work... all within the budget of RM3000.00 max

This Lenovo Yoga 2-in-1 seems interesting, but I doubt its graphic card can work on Grey Goo...

Any advice would be nice.

Thanks in advance.
1. Preferred brand - No preferred brand, although good warranty is a plus. Lenovo should suffice (no need to go for Dell's warranty service; their products don't really fit my criteria at first glance)
2. Budget - RM3000.00 max. Of course the cheaper the better
3. Tablet - for work, smooth OneNote, can operate bigger Excel files smoothly. Hybrid/Laptop - for work, and casual game
4. Screen size - 14 inches or less, for the hybrid laptop. I don't mind 8 or 10 inches tablet for working purpose. 14 - 15 inches, for the laptop.
you can consider this
Asus K401LB- FA003H 14" , i5-5200U , 4GB , 1TB , GT940 2GB , W8.1 : RM2580 kinda slim. nod.gif
Asus TP500LB-CJ003H 15.6” , i5-5200U , 4GB , 500GB + 24GB Msata , GT940M 2GB , W8.1 : RM3070 thumbup.gif
HP Pavilion 14-ab024TX(white), ab025TX(Red) 14” , i7-5500U , 4GB , 1TB , GT940M 2GB / W8.1 : RM2899
do u need portable? easy for moving around.. light...
TSpandera999
post Jul 23 2015, 07:48 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(countercounter @ Jul 22 2015, 10:26 PM)
Good evening Pandera999, thank you for the super swift reply.

Asus TP500LB fits my criteria well. I didn't have it under my radar prior to this, thanks for the suggestion! I am paying a visit to KL next week or so, and plan to check on the laptop at Lowyat. My current laptop is ASUS and I find their keyboard favorable.

Being able to convert into tablet form is a deal breaker for me though. Currently, I will only consider buying a full non-convertible laptop if I have sufficient leftover budget to buy another cheap windows tablet to compliment it.

Having a portable computer is a great plus in my working environment (I am expecting to hold the computer with one hand, and keep the other hand busy most of the time). But I understand I can't be too greedy with a RM3000 budget. Will go and have hand-on test on the 2-in-1 laptops when I pass by Lowyat.
so you prefer getting flex?

did you see Lenovo Yoga 3-14 80JH004HMJ - White or 80JH004GMJ - Light Silver 14” FHD Touch , i5-5200U , 8GB , Hybrid 500GB , W8.1 : RM2899

but its kinda weak in terms of performance...

and btw, that asus tp500lb is asus transformer. its convertible notebook actually. just that, kinda big for transform to tablet sweat.gif 2.26 kg sweat.gif

Check Here
TSpandera999
post Jul 23 2015, 07:52 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jul 23 2015, 01:48 AM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any, as long as it's reliable.
2. Budget - Under RM4,000.
3. Usage - Mostly gaming.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14". 15.6" would still be okay I guess.
5. Preferences - Good looking, something like the Lenovo Y50, Alienware etc. SSD, GTX960M?

This will replace both my Macbook Air & desktop.
alienware... doesnt come with gtx960m... im not sure.. but mostly in malaysia market, few equip with gtx gpu... kinda bloody expensive for normal hardware.

lenovo y50, you need check. i'm not sure which 1 have heat problem.. either 860m series or 960m series... anyhow, please make some reasearch on it.. another alt is

G551JW-DM016H 15.6” FHD , i7-4720 , 4GB , 1TB + 8GB , GTX960 2GB , W8.1 : RM3710
TSpandera999
post Jul 23 2015, 08:04 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(XenoSlasher @ Jul 23 2015, 04:04 AM)
Hey guys, need 2 laptops recommendation for a friend of mine. Different usage.

1. Preferred Brand : Any
2. Budget: 3k total for both
3. Usage: General usage. 1st laptop need to at least capable of doing photo and video editing (adobe photoshop, sony vegas etc) 2nd laptop is just for multimedia purpose (watching movie, web surfing and so on)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14"/15"

Thanks in advance =)
for 1st notebook, here... i'm not sure if this asus still exist or not or EoL
Asus N551ZU-DM022H 15.6” FHD , AMD QC FX-7600P , 4GB , 1TB , AMD Radeon R9 M280X , WIN8.1 : RM2860
*** need check if still exist or not***
Dell Inspiron 7447 14” , i7-4710 / 8GB / 1TB / GTX850M 4GB / W8.1 : RM2999
Asus GL552JX-DM174H 15.6” FHD , i7-4720 , 4GB , 1TB , GTX950 2GB , W8.1 : RM3074

for 2nd notebook
any notebook will do.. but do you need long battery life? hmm.gif in case you outside.. and bring the notebook and surfing. then i suggest for that price, ultrabook 14" will be good choice.

TSpandera999
post Jul 23 2015, 11:58 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jul 23 2015, 11:50 AM)
I see. Thanks guys. Any chance of getting a UHD screen? I think I may fork out around 4500.. Lenoyo Y50 looks amazing but a bit expensive and the GC is 860m only. Actually is there really a difference with 960m?
slightly improvement. not much. just a brand new 860m and improvement
TSpandera999
post Jul 23 2015, 12:01 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jul 23 2015, 11:57 AM)
UHD screen quite useless now.. dun hv 60hz yet... full hd stil better

UHD more for graphical work now
doh.gif

dvd (720 x 480)
HD (1280 x 720)
FHD (1920 x 1080)
UHD (3840 x 2160)

so, u think UHD is quite useless? dont mislead
TSpandera999
post Jul 24 2015, 08:38 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jul 24 2015, 01:23 AM)
I see, the Illegear Z5 with 970m, RM4999, worth it?
yes.. worth thumbup.gif
TSpandera999
post Jul 27 2015, 11:08 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(BlackBananaV6 @ Jul 27 2015, 11:03 AM)

I am owning a MacBook Air 11" Intel i5 which is meant for word processing and web browsing. Thus it is now too small screen size and unefficient for Full HD Gopro video editing.

Preferred brand : Asus, Lenovo, HP
Budget : Below RM3k
Usage : Full HD Amateur Video Editing, may be gaming later
Wishes for  rolleyes.gif  : Full HD IPS display of at least 15.6" size, non-glared display, Bluray writer, Hybrid drive

After much research, I have much liked Asus N551ZU-DM022H - http://www.lazada.com.my/asus-n551zu-dm022...ok-1448098.html

It is an AMD processor and Radeon GPU, with a spare RAM slot for upgrade.

Please comment / advise. drool.gif
pretty good specs for video editing.. comes with quad core and high-end card... pretty good for gaming as well. nod.gif

TSpandera999
post Jul 30 2015, 03:26 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Jul 30 2015, 03:08 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : any
2. Budget : 4.5k n below
3. Usage : Gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Less than 16"

Asus G551JM DM017H RM4,399  15” FHD i7 4720Q 2.6GHz 8GB 1TB 8GB GTX960 4GB WIN 8.1
Lenovo Y50-70 2223 RM4,239  15"UHD  i7 4720Q 2.6GHz 16GB 1TB  GTX 960 4GB WIN 8.1

which one is worth more? or any other contenders?
Illegear z5 is much worth than those 2... better cooling, better warranty services.. internal hardware thumbup.gif
TSpandera999
post Jul 30 2015, 03:30 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Jul 30 2015, 03:28 PM)
I'm travelling abroad most of the time. Afraid it would be a problem if there's anything wrong.
doesnt mean it will be 100% perfect.. as everything is not perfect.. just chances you have defect product is kinda low only for illegear... i buying my notebook last time.. try at shop.. ok.. bring back home.. cant even switch on doh.gif then had wait 2 weeks for notebook fnsh repair and check shakehead.gif
TSpandera999
post Jul 31 2015, 08:19 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

arrive safely in SF, california.. 16hours flight.. phew...
TSpandera999
post Jul 31 2015, 10:29 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jul 31 2015, 10:07 AM)
Go cheong?
QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 31 2015, 10:25 AM)
Wahhh go work or travel? biggrin.gif
DefCon #23 as well as Conference
sweat.gif starting tomorrow.. until nxt week.. laugh.gif until then.. take k thread laugh.gif
TSpandera999
post Jul 31 2015, 10:36 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Jul 30 2015, 06:35 PM)
Flying all around asia pacific for a period of 3-6 months each trip.
you travelling a lot. will you have time for gaming hmm.gif are you malaysian? if so, then you eventually return malaysia. for surely you can send the notebook if there is anything. but so far, in the Illegear thread, din read anyone complain getting defect product once purchase it . can check here for more information
TSpandera999
post Jul 31 2015, 10:44 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(vercingetorix @ Jul 31 2015, 10:42 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: Lenovo other brand will consider if they have good aftersales              services.
2. Budget: 2000 - 3800
3. Usage: Gaming on the go
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Doesn't matter as long it can fit my travel bag im good
14" you have dell 7447 since its offer best service after sales.
specs is pure quad core i7 + gtx850m ddr3 + win8.1/Dos at least rm2999

if you go for 15"
the new acer v nitro with gtx960m is good choice. not that heavy.. but pretty decent for gaming
TSpandera999
post Jul 31 2015, 01:36 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Jul 31 2015, 01:25 PM)
Does acer have good after sales service or onsite?
im not so sure. but yes. they have onsite.. but its kinda extra service. ADD-ONS

ON-SITE REPAIRS

On-site repairs / board swaps are also available and is based on user requirement especially for Out-Of-Warranty equipment. Please check for latest pricing/quote
TSpandera999
post Jul 31 2015, 08:20 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Jul 31 2015, 06:57 PM)
Any Ultrabook priced under rm2500-ish?

need long battery life
for productivity- office, thesis
casual internet
mobiile

tq
mobile means... portability? 13"? hmm.gif
Asus UX305FA 13.3” FHD , M-5Y10 , 4GB , 128GB M.2 SSD , W8.1 : RM2500
Lenovo U41-70 Ultrabook 14” FHD , i5-5200U , 4GB , 256GB SSD , N16V-GM 2G ,W8.1 : RM2599
TSpandera999
post Aug 1 2015, 06:21 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(kimuxaki @ Aug 1 2015, 09:06 AM)
hello, need help here, need to find suitable laptop for my friend here biggrin.gif
A : -
1. Preferred Brand : Lenovo, Dell, Asus
2. Budget - 2500
3. Usage - studies (mostly programming) and need good processor.
4. Preferred size - 14/15 inch

B : -
1. Preferred Brand :Asus, Lenovo, Dell
2. Budget - 3000-4500 (lower is better)
3. Usage - gaming and studies
4. Preferred size - 14 to 15inch.

Thanks!
A. since its a programming related.. 14" might be easier... for portable and good battery life
Asus K401LB- FA003H 14" , i5-5200U , 4GB , 1TB , GT940 2GB , W8.1 : RM2499
Lenovo U41-70 Ultrabook 14” FHD , i5-5200U , 4GB ,256GB SSD , N16V-GM 2G ,W8.1 : RM2499
B. 15" you can consider Asus GL552JX-DM174H 15.6” FHD , i7-4720 , 4GB , 1TB , GTX950 2GB , W8.1 : RM3074
TSpandera999
post Aug 2 2015, 02:19 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Aug 2 2015, 01:31 AM)
hmm... i play starcraft, diablo, battlefield that kind of games.. 
as for screen, i think don't need QHD also can since I'm nt a pro-photog yet.

But that dell xps 15 seems over price thou..

like that i think i left with illegear already...

btw the illegear, if i get the 1TB Toshiba SSHD , do i need a 128GB SSD for programs that i frequently use?

and i've a SSD curently in my laptop's CD ROM slot with it's jacket, can i use it on the Illegear? ( not sure about illegear's built )

btw thanks for replying depite the time @1.30am  notworthy.gif
most basic price without operating system is rm4.2 k... yes.. xps is over your budget... but.. you can customised your notebook. adding msata and raid technology... significantly will improve a bit your hdd. illegear build is much better build quality... and good heat management too... FHD shud be sufficient enuf... for photoshop and fps game...

gosh... just having lunch for day 1 defcon doh.gif
TSpandera999
post Aug 2 2015, 02:21 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 2 2015, 01:12 AM)
M4800 is nothing compare to my m17xr4.. haha... but is still heavy..  sold 2 b4. They buy for PC replacement n cooperation usage... not for carrying around..
cz of size.. m17 is heavy....and 17" with bigger... but among 15".. this m4800 kinda heavy sweat.gif i jz saw 1 dell... that kinda satelite notebook type... if not mistaken.... build in bag... how much is it? laugh.gif saw they demo jz now for remote control and aoe network jamming.. thumbup.gif
TSpandera999
post Aug 2 2015, 10:25 AM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 2 2015, 09:55 AM)
Full spec m4800 8000.. crazy price too...

Should be latitude ultra rugged.... share link pls
how much that high end rugged here? latest price? i believe currently is outdated

what link? laugh.gif there is no link for on going conference. its still on going. might release next month maybe. it dont think the detail will release to public yt.

basically, this report is 10% of everything.

LINK

25 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 >Top

0.0544sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:27 PM