Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V25,, Please follow the format :)

evofantasy
post Apr 17 2015, 12:37 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 17 2015, 12:19 AM)
U not selling anything u dunno my worries... there r brutal PPL out there...I hv client who break the hinge of the aw17 on the first week... n claim this obvious human error is a pain... not from dell but the PPL who abuse it... unless u tell me xps13 hinge stronger than aw17...
there is a difference when calling something bad vs comparing it with something which is much bigger, much heavier of a different class (comparing apple with oranges).
once again, it said nothing about XPS13-2015 being a badly built model and also how it is inferior to other machines.
how someone abuse their product != build quality of the product. how you think there is a correlation there is beyond me.
I mentioned Linus as one of the reputable person (any PC enthusiast would know him for his work over the years) who actually test it out to be good.

asking one not to consider/ buy a brilliant product just because of human abuse is plain doh.gif
might as well ask everyone to get a Thinkpad X1 Carbon as it survive a drop test from the ceiling (if you dunno this, google it).

---

since you mentioned I am not selling a product, I am as neutral as possible here without any bias as I am stand to gain/ lose nothing from my comments.
evofantasy
post Apr 17 2015, 10:42 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Apr 17 2015, 07:42 AM)
So, no Dell anymore?

I dont really game these days, is it ok if I use gaming laptop to get my job done?
Would it be overkill?

Choices left are now MSI and Illegear only? hmm.gif

Hmm, if you say computer slow mostly because of HDD or RAM,

I worry SSD lifetime only, it might died after some time right? Like my pendrive.
RAM definitely need at least 8GB already.

What about CPU? i7/i5? quad core/dual core? 2.4 above? unsure.gif

Seems like gaming type laptop is only in this range.
SSD is the way to go.
and if you are worried about the lifespan, the lifespan endurance test just ended recently (http://techreport.com/review/27909/the-ssd-endurance-experiment-theyre-all-dead)
so don't worry, SSD do last freaking damn long thumbup.gif

ps: http://techreport.com/review/27062/the-ssd...ain-after-1-5pb and many more by just googling "ssd endurance test"

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Apr 17 2015, 10:43 AM
evofantasy
post Apr 18 2015, 01:06 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Apr 18 2015, 12:16 AM)
I still dont want to go 100% full SSD. (Solution below -Please give feedback)
I killed 2 pendrive of mine. Data corrupt suddenly, its just tragic.

So confirmed my requirements:
Below 5K
Low Profile (Not eye catching)
15" to 17" Full HD (Preferably IPS)
i7-4720HQ (At least 2.4GHz, quad core)
8GB DDR3L RAM at least (Future upgradable to 16GB Dual Channel DDR3)
Storage? 500GB enough. HDD/SSD? No, Solid State Hybrid Drive <-Solution
Graphic card? Make sure no lags in movie and some small games will do.
Optical disc drive is a must!
Cooling and support service is very important.

The answer I got: Illegear Q5... so far.
Any more laptop to add in for comparison?

Feel free to correct any mistakes. smile.gif
with ur budget, get a q5 with a 120gb SSD for ur windows and main programs.
evofantasy
post Apr 18 2015, 02:49 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Apr 18 2015, 12:11 PM)
I dont fully trust SSD yet.
there is no point of trying to convince you is you have the mindset.
SSD is a relatively old technology which is widely used and accepted to be superior (look at how long have the Apple Macs been using them). it was even shown to last longer than HDDs in recent research.
it is up to you ultimately but I for one would not ever buy a laptop without a SSD as it is the single best performance boost for your machine at the moment (considering the healthy budget that you have).

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Apr 18 2015, 02:50 PM
evofantasy
post Apr 18 2015, 04:09 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(vandar59 @ Apr 18 2015, 03:00 PM)
Hi, anyone can help me figure out laptop for my mom. For work and surfing. Work as in microsoft office etc, not those 3d editing or whatnot.

I don't have a preferred brand, but looking at Dell since good CS, so it wouldnt be much of a hassle for her to repair/claim warranty.

Budget < 3k.

Currently looking at Vostro and Inspiron 7000 series, any other recommendations?
agree with getting Dell as their warranty approach is really suitable for the less tech savvy crowd like your mum.
vostro would be a suitable one being thin and light (entry ultrabook class)
evofantasy
post Apr 26 2015, 12:54 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 25 2015, 10:46 PM)
Hi sifus. Im currently looking for a suitable laptop for my father.
At first he was asking me to survey for tab/slate/pads but he changed his mind due to the hassle to type reports on them.
Hope all the sifus can help me pick a suitable laptop.

Preferred Brand: Any (as long they are reliable and provide good after service)
Budget: Less than RM3300
Usage: Mainly for work in office or worksite. (Reports/Emails/Presentations/Schematic & Drawings)
Preferred Specification:
1) Support 3G Simcard (willing to substitute for a portable modem)
2) Lightweight and versatile. Probably 13" screen size

Already checked HP Spectre x360 i7 series..do you think its good for him?
Thanks in advance.

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 25 2015, 10:48 PM)
Emm.. dun think laptop got support simcard le... for the budget I think surface i3 can get kua... spectre how much
doh.gif

these are some of the ultrabooks with LTE
http://www.ultrabookreview.com/4178-ultrabooks-3g-4g-lte/
evofantasy
post May 5 2015, 04:33 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 5 2015, 04:11 PM)
G551JM-DM052H – 15.6” FHD + i7-4710 + 4GBram + 1TB + GTX860 2GB + W8.1 : RM3350+/-

use remaining money for increase ram...

i not that recommend lenovo y50 because.. even its mention 4k UHD screen... but its actually running 48mhz 4k UHD... its below standard (running 60mhz).
im afraid, when u gonna ply ultra setting game... gonna see like blinking at certain part of da game. jz of my thoughts....

lenovo y510p is old model isnt it... i think its better u take new card and new model... gtx860m/gtx960m... dont get trick by 2gb/4gb... when gaming on notebook... 2gb and 4gb not bring any different at all. but performance... more or less the same.
the 48hz thing is actually overblown.
your cpu and gpu would bottleneck even before the screen bottlenecks actually.
don't believe me? watch reputable reviewers like Linus and they would say the same thing.
evofantasy
post May 5 2015, 05:57 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(hafizjumat86 @ May 5 2015, 05:37 PM)
Thanks to all otai and sifus here. Surveying is best part of shopping. Will research again 😀
Would not recommend the MSI GE60 2QD Apache @RM3,699 because it is only a DDR3 GPU (I know there are DDR5 950M but the one in the MSI Malaysia is a DDR3 which is significantly worse).
Paying 3.7k for a DDR3 GPU and other gimmicks would be doh.gif when you can get a DDR5 GTX960M for the same price.
If it is a DDR5 then it would be alright but once again, that price would get you 960M

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 5 2015, 05:59 PM
evofantasy
post May 5 2015, 06:15 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 5 2015, 06:02 PM)
if not mistaken.. mostly notebook that have gtx850m/gtx950m comes with ddr3,,
Yup and when they Google benchmarks, they did not realize most of the benchmark online are all for the DDR5 variant in the overseas market.
evofantasy
post May 6 2015, 11:42 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ May 6 2015, 11:14 AM)
A few points to ponder.

1) The RAM on a majority of ultrabooks, is soldered on. That means, once you buy it, it's for life. Make sure you know which you're getting.
2) 8 GB RAM is probably the minimum acceptable amount of RAM to run windows these days with multi tasking.
3) Core M is significantly weaker than Broadwell U in benchmarks. Whether you will feel it in real life usage, is something you need to check for yourself.
4) The SSDs in a lot of ultrabooks are removable, so upgrading them down the road is an option. Make sure you know which is which.
5) A barebones windows 8 probably needs around 20GBs of space
6) When evaluating a touchscreen model, consider also the hinge tightness. Some models, it is too soft which means everytime you press the screen, it moves.
7) There are some people who love touchscreens on windows, but personally I find it redundant when I have a keyboard and mouse with two finger scrolling.
8) Keyboard layout is an often missed criteria. You will spend a majority of your time with the laptop using the keyboard. Even a small annoyance will become a big problem in the long run. E.g. Some keyboards inverse media functions with function keys (probably the biggest differentiator for most people). Some have small arrow or shift keys. Different people like different layouts. Make sure you like the layout.
9) QHD screens are nice to have, but kills the battery life significantly and also reduces performance as most processors still struggle with the resolution. On a 11 - 13 inch laptop, will you enjoy the difference in resolution between QHD vs FHD and is that enjoyment worth the sacrifice? That is a question only you can answer. Some people plug in more often and only want to watch movies so they prefer the screen. Others want to travel all the time so want battery life.
10) Different people have different tastes, in keyboards, trackpads and screen quality. It is always advisable to go to the shops and test drive them yourself.
11) The after sales service of some brands are rather infamous.
^ this especially the keyboard part if often left out as many would only consider the spec alone. The inverse function keys, you can change it in bios usually (or at least the few laptops I have used). One reason I would advise against the Asus UX305 would be the stupid placement for the power (on the keyboard space itself) which would cause accidental shutdown until you are used to it.
evofantasy
post May 11 2015, 04:41 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(hakim_radzuan @ May 11 2015, 04:23 PM)
hi guys, i'm using 2013 MBP retina display. Going to change to windows notebook since my job have to use win app. What is the best notebook with rm4k-5k price at the moment? with the premium look as MBP and 13 inch too.

if you are using a MBP retina, no need for a change imho.
you can just Parallels or Bootcamp Windows.
evofantasy
post May 12 2015, 07:43 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(HolySatan @ May 12 2015, 07:34 PM)
got any diff GTX850M 4GB & GTX950 2GB? in performance?
850 and 950 both have DDR3 and DDR5.
the performance difference between 2gb and 4gb isn't much but the difference between ddr3 and ddr5 is huge.
so make sure you get the ddr5 one
evofantasy
post May 18 2015, 05:10 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(josh1031 @ May 18 2015, 04:50 PM)
hahhaha.. so is it wrong to say that Dell purposely make low quality/lifespan laptops and focus more on customer + warranty to win customers?
Coz ya without a doubt customer service Dell is best la. Quality of Dell laptops i heard some mixed reviews though.  rclxub.gif
ya thats exactly the reason I choose Asus K401lb. Dunno whether there are any users out thr to give me a review b4 buying.  icon_question.gif
Haih, but Dell Inspiron 7447 swayed me abit with its GTX graphic card + decent price tag.  yawn.gif
priority:
1. good product
2. warranty

i rather have good products without the need to go through the warranty hassle
evofantasy
post May 19 2015, 01:17 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ May 19 2015, 08:14 AM)
not so intense gaming.. acer v nitro black edition is good choice too.. since its related with design+photoshop, u seems need portable, i suggest get acer v nitro.. asus ux303Ln is far behind from acer nitro..  sweat.gif

see new unit Lenovo Y50-70 equip with gtx960m + 12gb ram too
sweat.gif  what you mean bro
MSI WT60 2OK-4K
HP Z1 G2 Workstation - xeon
Toshiba Mobile Workstation Tecra W50-A103X
illegear rs-15
INFO on ILLEGEAR
illegear s5
illegear z5
illegear rs

MSI GE62 2QF-005MY Apache Pro 4K 15.6” UHD 4K IPS , i7-4720HQ , 8GB , 1TB (SATA) 7200rpm ,GTX970M 3GB , W8.1 : RM5999
MSI GE62 2QE-006MY Apache 15.6” FHD IPS , i7-4720HQ , 8GB , 1TB (SATA) 7200rpm , GTX965M 2GB , W8.1 : RM5099
Hp spectre x360  and Dell xps 13 2015 is good contender for macbook pro retina. illegear mostly kinda gaming based notebook. dont expect run on battery for long time  sweat.gif

i'm not sure about lenovo lavie z.. microsoft surface pro 3 battery not much usb port.. and runs hot at certain times.
LavieZ been having quite some issues to the point Lenovo is offering discount.
Rushed product so best to avoid that.
The Thinkpad Carbon from Lenovo would be better if he would like Lenovo.
evofantasy
post May 19 2015, 11:35 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ May 19 2015, 11:31 PM)
zenbook looks dam good. How about the specs wise? worth every dollar?
Zenbook UX305 is pretty much the best bang for buck now for the build quality, form factor and having a SSD.
really hard to beat unless u are gaming.
evofantasy
post May 20 2015, 10:50 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(JungleJerry @ May 20 2015, 09:51 PM)
Was keen to get xps13 but it's kinda over my budget.... blink.gif

Brand: Any was looking at hp15, Lenovo think pad t440, dell Inspiron 5000 series n Vostro
Budget: RM 2k -2.5k
Usage: Work,watch movies, surf net
Preferred Laptop Screen Size: Any

Thanks in advance!
Asus UX305 would be the current "in" product for you meeting your need and price point.
So far not many laptop around the 2-3k range offers a full SSD with such build quality.
evofantasy
post May 25 2015, 02:20 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(hahazero @ May 25 2015, 01:25 AM)
I like the gaming one but unfortunately they do not offer touch screen so yeah more like the ultrabook ones, I want to use it for software like AutoCAD, watch movie and gaming like DOTA, FIFA and for me to carry around my University. So yeah, like everyday use laptop unless I sacrifice the touch screen and go for gaming laptop.
i know the Lenovo Y50 do have touchscreen but I do not think it is for local models.
There are a few others but those are much higher in price like the Razer Blade.

0.0587sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:06 AM