University MBBS in AIMST or UCSI

TSStella Tee
post Mar 24 2015, 12:30 PM, updated 11y ago

32 posts

Hi guysss, I am SPM 2014 leaver. I m very confused, puzzled and in a deep dilemma right now. I found that Aimst is quite affordable for me to study medic/pharmacy there, and for UCSI I think my parents would be a bit stressed but still Ok unless i hv partial scholarship offer cry.gif . Anyone have any comments regarding the medical faculty of Aimst and UCSI?Which's better in terms of quality of lecturers and facilities(e.g. medical equipment)? Do these two unis have human cadavers for their medical faculty?

1) AIMST in Kedah
~foundation in science: 11k but hv scholarship offer 1k(no terms and condition), so total tuition fee is 9.8k
~living cost (for each semester) : RM530 ONLY !!!!!
~MBBS : 285k ptptn loan: 150k
~Pharmacy : 108k ptptn loan: 68k
~dentistry : 285k ptptn loan: 85k
***NO scholarship for degree programme

2) UCSI in KL
~foundation in science : 19240 but scholarship offer around 9k(terms and condition: have to maintain CGPA of 3.0 in every semester), so TOTAL fee is 11067
~living cost i think around 1k every month, right?
~MD : 317k ptptn loan: 150k
~Pharmacy : 143k ptptn loan: 68k
***Scholarship applicants for MD and Pharmacy must pass an admission interview and gain average CGPA of 3.8 result in foundation in science~Successful applicants hv 10-30% partial scholarship offer. Is the admission inetrview difficult??

This post has been edited by Stella Tee: Mar 24 2015, 04:19 PM
keny2020j
post Mar 24 2015, 12:33 PM

409 posts

living in kl 1 k is enough for pay for room rental + few bills
no included eat
TSStella Tee
post Mar 24 2015, 04:07 PM

32 posts

waa.....really??!! 1k for accommodation only == then, how about the monthly expense of meals? Sir, may i know which college re u studying? sorry for my broken English ==
MassimoTuna
post Mar 24 2015, 07:46 PM

129 posts

AIMST is a university dedicated to health sciences. So I think AIMST would be better.
cnvery
post Mar 24 2015, 08:52 PM

1,831 posts

AIMST will be better compare to UCSI in health sciences
Skyler_Airman
post Mar 24 2015, 09:13 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Stella Tee @ Mar 24 2015, 12:30 PM)
Hi guysss, I am SPM 2014 leaver. I m very confused, puzzled and in a deep dilemma right now. I found that Aimst is  quite affordable for me to study medic/pharmacy there, and for UCSI I think my parents would be a bit stressed but still Ok unless i hv partial scholarship offer cry.gif  . Anyone have any comments regarding the medical faculty of Aimst and UCSI?Which's better in terms of quality of lecturers and facilities(e.g. medical equipment)? Do these two unis have human cadavers for their medical faculty?

1) AIMST in Kedah
~foundation in science: 11k but hv scholarship offer 1k(no terms and condition), so total tuition fee is 9.8k
~MBBS : 285k    ptptn loan: 150k
~Pharmacy : 108k    ptptn loan: 68k
~dentistry : 285k    ptptn loan: 85k

2) UCSI in KL
~foundation in science : 19240 but scholarship offer around 9k(terms and condition: have to maintain CGPA of 3.0 in every semester), so TOTAL fee is 11067
~MD : 317k  ptptn loan: 150k
~Pharmacy : 143k  ptptn loan: 68k
***Scholarship applicants for MD and Pharmacy must pass an admission interview and gain average CGPA of 3.8 result in foundation in science~Successful applicants hv 10-30% partial scholarship offer. Is the admission inetrview difficult??
UCSI Much better I guess, they has established the programme for almost 15 year by now for Pharmacy and 12 years for MD , in fact why do you wish to study in Kampung not City? never been to AIMST before, but been to UCSI, they have separate lab for MD and Pharmacy, check out with the Board of Pharmacy singapore or Australia, how many students from UCSI and Aimst accepted there, UCSI well recognized in both country at the same time UCSI calloborate be USM which the only Uni recognized by Singapore Board, check with the Board of Pharmacy as well, then only you can make your decision ...good luck

limeuu
post Mar 24 2015, 10:34 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Skyler_Airman @ Mar 24 2015, 09:13 PM)
check out with the Board of Pharmacy singapore or Australia, how many students from UCSI and Aimst accepted there, UCSI well recognized in both country at the same time UCSI calloborate be USM which the only Uni recognized by Singapore Board, check with the Board of Pharmacy as well, then only you can make your decision ...good luck
none of both aimst and ucsi's health sciences qualifications are recognised outside of msia....not by spore, not by australia.....
onelove89
post Mar 25 2015, 06:28 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

Not many unis in Malaysia provide cadaver dissections as training these days, not that I know of. UCSI doesn't, not sure of AIMST.

As for pharm in Aus, it's oversaturated with pharmacists. And Doctors in training ie Interns. So think properly if you want to do Medicine.
Archmage Warlic
post Mar 25 2015, 07:31 PM

117 posts

Allow me to introduce you to a third option: Quest International University Perak

Before I begin, allow me to warn you that although the medical course in this university has been given approval and a provisional accreditation, a full accreditation cannot be given as a full accreditation can only be given once the university has produced graduates. As of now, the first batch of medical students in this university are still in their third year, currently going through clinical rotations in Hospital Seri Manjung. Also, the university still does not have a full campus on its own, so right now the classes are held at three separate buildings in Ipoh.

With that being said, the university does have several cadavers for teaching and learning purposes, which I estimate to be around ten to twelve. A small number of body parts are reserved to keep them in pristine condition for display / examination purposes, but students are free to use the remaining cadavers for learning purposes as they see fit. Basically, this university is not lacking in terms of teaching materials (cadavers).
TSStella Tee
post Mar 25 2015, 07:35 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Mar 25 2015, 06:28 PM)
Not many unis in Malaysia provide cadaver dissections as training these days, not that I know of. UCSI doesn't, not sure of AIMST.

As for pharm in Aus, it's oversaturated with pharmacists. And Doctors in training ie Interns. So think properly if you want to do Medicine.
REALLY??!! I know AIMST hv human cadavers but i heard that in the previous year almost 50 medic students in each group to study a cadaver sweat.gif For UCSI, i don`t know and hvnt ask == May i know where re u studying or graduated from? I heard AIMST is dropping and most of their lecturers hv left cry.gif UCSI fee is a bit higher hmm.gif I m really really at a loss now icon_question.gif
TSStella Tee
post Mar 25 2015, 07:39 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Mar 25 2015, 06:28 PM)

REALLY??!! I know AIMST hv human cadavers but i heard that in the previous year almost 50 medic students in each group to study a cadaver sweat.gif For UCSI, i don`t know and hvnt ask == May i know where re u studying or graduated from? I heard AIMST is dropping and most of their lecturers hv left cry.gif UCSI fee is a bit higher hmm.gif I m really really at a loss now icon_question.gif
TSStella Tee
post Mar 25 2015, 07:51 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Archmage Warlic @ Mar 25 2015, 07:31 PM)
Allow me to introduce you to a third option: Quest International University Perak

Before I begin, allow me to warn you that although the medical course in this university has been given approval and a provisional accreditation, a full accreditation cannot be given as a full accreditation can only be given once the university has produced graduates. As of now, the first batch of medical students in this university are still in their third year, currently going through clinical rotations in Hospital Seri Manjung. Also, the university still does not have a full campus on its own, so right now the classes are held at three separate buildings in Ipoh.

With that being said, the university does have several cadavers for teaching and learning purposes, which I estimate to be around ten to twelve. A small number of body parts are reserved to keep them in pristine condition for display / examination purposes, but students are free to use the remaining cadavers for learning purposes as they see fit. Basically, this university is not lacking in terms of teaching materials (cadavers).
After QIUP hv produced their first batch of medic graduates, their medical course sure get full accreditation by MQA and MMC?? How`s the quality of lecturers and facilities like medical equipment there? Are you QIUP medic student? drool.gif
TSStella Tee
post Mar 25 2015, 07:56 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 24 2015, 10:34 PM)
none of both aimst and ucsi's health sciences qualifications are recognised outside of msia....not by spore, not by australia.....
Hello, I hv seen ur comments in several posts related to medical school. May i know where re u studying or graduated from? I really need help cry.gif i m at my wit`s end now. What do you think about AIMST and/or UCSI? Which one you recommend in terms of quality of lecturers and facilities?
BrachialPlexus
post Mar 25 2015, 08:10 PM

246 posts

Do these two unis have human cadavers for their medical faculty?
Cadeveric dissections aren't really as important as people think they are. I didn't find them particularly useful and unless you are extremely partial to the surgical sciences, most doctors forget a good chunk of their anatomy by the time they enter clinical practice anyway. The important bits of anatomy that you'll need for all specialties can be very easily learnt without the help of human cadavers. As such, this is really quite a trivial aspect in the selection of medical schools.

God no. No.

My home back in Ipoh is about 500m from QUIP's main campus and let me assure you, it is quite a sorry excuse for a university, let alone a medical school. It has no proper campus, with it's main block occupying a few middle stories of an old Wisma. As for the 'medical school', it is housed in what used to be an old gymnasium that was renovated. Quite an underwhelming sight to be honest. They plaster their advertisements shamelessly all over Ipoh on posters and streetlights, and if a school has to resort to that to attract students, I dare not imagine the actual state of their courses. QUIP is also another medical school that 'magically' popped-up from the ground with plenty of political strings attached.

I would strongly advise people to think twice about studying at QUIP. Especially for medicine.

This post has been edited by BrachialPlexus: Mar 25 2015, 08:11 PM
limeuu
post Mar 25 2015, 08:12 PM

12,291 posts

cadavers are not vital to medical education....many established med schools all over the world have dispense with it....

if one only wants to work in msia, it doesn't really matter which med school....anyone meeting your budget and convenience will do...none are outstanding anyway....
onelove89
post Mar 25 2015, 08:21 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Stella Tee @ Mar 25 2015, 07:35 PM)
REALLY??!! I know AIMST hv human cadavers but i heard that in the previous year almost 50 medic students in each group to study a cadaver  sweat.gif  For UCSI, i don`t know and hvnt ask == May i know where re u studying or graduated from? I heard AIMST is dropping and most of their lecturers hv left cry.gif UCSI fee is a bit higher  hmm.gif I m really really at a loss now  icon_question.gif
As limeuu said. If you want to work in Msia, any local/private uni that you can get into. Well in Malaysia's case, more of what you can afford, sadly that's the truth. If you are money strapped, STPM/matriks --> local uni pathway will be the way to go. I don't think there will be much difference in terms of teaching/education quality for both these uni, however don't quote me on that, that's just my personal opinion. Same goes to most of the private unis out there offering medicine. (well some are more chaotic than others, QUIP is one of them, CUCMS is another i think) So it comes down to the rest:

1. Choosing your college path: choose a general one, not those foundation programs binding you to one uni.
2. Think properly in terms of doing medicine. It's horrible. but if you love it, it's still horrible, and rewarding.
3. Think properly in terms of doing medicine.
4. Repeat step 2-3.
5. Research heaps. University, the course, future prospect, postgrad.

Good luck! smile.gif
TSStella Tee
post Mar 25 2015, 09:08 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(BrachialPlexus @ Mar 25 2015, 08:10 PM)
Cadeveric dissections aren't really as important as people think they are. I didn't find them particularly useful and unless you are extremely partial to the surgical sciences, most doctors forget a good chunk of their anatomy by the time they enter clinical practice anyway. The important bits of anatomy that you'll need for all specialties can be very easily learnt without the help of human cadavers. As such, this is really quite a trivial aspect in the selection of medical schools.

Thanks for ur advice ya notworthy.gif I wake up to reality already^^ If I choose UCSI, what do u think? Am i taking a risk or taking a chance? == bcoz the fee is a bit high. I m afraid that my parents can`t afford the fee unless i get the partial scholarship offer. If that time my parents really can`t afford it, i think i`ll choose biotechnology. How`s the career prospect and salary of biotechnology? Do you know the quality of lecturers at AIMST and UCSI?

TSStella Tee
post Mar 25 2015, 09:18 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 25 2015, 08:12 PM)
cadavers are not vital to medical education....many established med schools all over the world have dispense with it....

if one only wants to work in msia, it doesn't really matter which med school....anyone meeting your budget and convenience will do...none are outstanding anyway....
Thanks for ur advice too....UCSI is only affordable if i get partial scholarship offer, not knowing i can pass the admission interview and scholarship interview as well as CGPA of 3.8 or not cry.gif If i choose UCSI, seems like taking risk, right? How`s the quality of lecturers at AIMST and UCSI? How`s the career prospect of biotechnology?
TSStella Tee
post Mar 25 2015, 09:50 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Mar 25 2015, 08:21 PM)
As limeuu said. If you want to work in Msia, any local/private uni that you can get into. Well in Malaysia's case, more of what you can afford, sadly that's the truth. If you are money strapped, STPM/matriks --> local uni pathway will be the way to go. I don't think there will be much difference in terms of teaching/education quality for both these uni, however don't quote me on that, that's just my personal opinion. Same goes to most of the private unis out there offering medicine. (well some are more chaotic than others, QUIP is one of them, CUCMS is another i think) So it comes down to the rest:

1. Choosing your college path: choose a general one, not those foundation programs binding you to one uni.
2. Think properly in terms of doing medicine. It's horrible. but if you love it, it's still horrible, and rewarding.
3. Think properly in terms of doing medicine.
4. Repeat step 2-3.
5. Research heaps. University, the course, future prospect, postgrad.

Good luck! smile.gif
Actually, the reason i choose Mbbs/ pharmcay is that I wish to work in hospital or clinic. But i don`t know my strength of will can help me go through all the difficulties or not == I don`t know i can make it or not sweat.gif really puzzled... How about the biotechnology and its career prospect?
limeuu
post Mar 25 2015, 10:06 PM

12,291 posts

what is your spm results?.....
CyberSetan
post Mar 25 2015, 11:24 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Stella Tee @ Mar 25 2015, 09:18 PM)
Thanks for ur advice too....UCSI is only affordable if i get partial scholarship offer, not knowing i can pass the admission interview and scholarship interview as well as CGPA of 3.8 or not  cry.gif  If i choose UCSI, seems like taking risk, right? How`s the quality of lecturers at AIMST and UCSI? How`s the career prospect of biotechnology?
There is always this:

brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

Universitas Gadjah Mada... sounds cool... no?

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Mar 25 2015, 11:25 PM
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 12:15 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 25 2015, 10:06 PM)
what is your spm results?.....
6A+ 3A 1B
Zhik
post Mar 26 2015, 12:19 AM

eeerrrmmmnnn, stupidity has no limit?
1,227 posts

As a ho, i advice u do not take md or pharm, it is saturated . Soon u will see those jobless doctor and pharmacist. Take dentist. U wont regret.
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 12:38 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 25 2015, 11:24 PM)

There is always this:

http://oi39.tinypic.com/ake4bq.jpg 

brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

Universitas Gadjah Mada... sounds cool... no?

Hey, i also got that brochure drool.gif and i called their hotline last week. The person who answered the phone was a doctor named Dr. Ho. He suggested me to study in Russia but hv to pay RM3000 first to "confirm" that u ll get a place in degree programme there......and the flight to Russia cost RM1000 already == The most important is that not sure this agent — Dr. Ho can be trusted or not ==
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 12:45 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(Zhik @ Mar 26 2015, 12:19 AM)
As a ho, i advice u do not take md or pharm, it is saturated . Soon u will see those jobless doctor and pharmacist. Take dentist. U wont regret.
sorry...what is ho? sweat.gif I also feel that pharmacist is saturated already.....but for md, after practise internship in gov hospital, can still choose to continue my doctor job at that hospital, right?? How about biotechnology and its career prospect?
cuz
post Mar 26 2015, 12:48 AM

260 posts

lol... dont take all 3.
Mesti Baca Buku Selalu
CyberSetan
post Mar 26 2015, 05:40 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Stella Tee @ Mar 26 2015, 12:38 AM)
Hey, i also got that brochure  drool.gif  and i called their hotline last week. The person who answered the phone was a doctor named Dr. Ho. He suggested me to study in Russia but hv to pay RM3000 first to "confirm" that u ll get a place in degree programme there......and the flight to Russia cost RM1000 already == The most important is that not sure this agent — Dr. Ho can be trusted or not ==
why Russia when Indonesia is just across the Melaka Straits?
cckkpr
post Mar 26 2015, 09:10 AM

4,516 posts

I thought the clinical rotation is at Ipoh GH. I dont think they have any specialists at Seri Manjung; places like Batu Gajah, Tapah and Kampar have specialist visits maybe once a week or a fortnight.

What is the arrangement like?
Caven Lin
post Mar 26 2015, 09:48 AM

Hi guysss, I am SPM 2014 leaver. I m very confused, puzzled and in a deep dilemma right now. I found that Aimst is  quite affordable for me to study medic/pharmacy there, and for UCSI I think my parents would be a bit stressed but still Ok unless i hv partial scholarship offer cry.gif  . Anyone have any comments regarding the medical faculty of Aimst and UCSI?Which's better in terms of quality of lecturers and facilities(e.g. medical equipment)? Do these two unis have human cadavers for their medical faculty?

1) AIMST in Kedah
~MBBS : 285k    ptptn loan: 150k
~Pharmacy : 108k    ptptn loan: 68k
~dentistry : 285k    ptptn loan: 85k

2) UCSI in KL
~MD : 317k  ptptn loan: 150k
~Pharmacy : 143k  ptptn loan: 68k
Do you know that after studying 2 years in UCSI you need to do clinical training and housemanship in Terengganu. Whereas in AIMST you get to do clinical training and housemanship in SP or in Kedah . Isit ok for you in terms of doing housemanship in terengganu?

Pls correct me if Im wrong.
Caven Lin
post Mar 26 2015, 09:51 AM

Im currently in a situtation like you as Im a spm leaver 2014
I dont know how to choose between AIMST and UCSI

cckkpr
post Mar 26 2015, 11:04 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(Caven Lin @ Mar 26 2015, 09:51 AM)
Im currently in a situtation like you as Im a spm leaver 2014
I dont know how to choose between AIMST and UCSI
AIMST seldom take in students from outside their own foundation courses and UCSI do not have that many places and has also to cater to their own foundation and JPA scholars.

Look into your choices carefully and be prepared for alternatives. Of course, there are places at other not so popular universities.
limeuu
post Mar 26 2015, 11:57 AM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Caven Lin @ Mar 26 2015, 09:48 AM)
Do you know that after studying 2 years in UCSI you need to do clinical training and housemanship in Terengganu. Whereas in AIMST you get to do clinical training and housemanship in SP or in Kedah . Isit ok for you in terms of doing housemanship in terengganu?

You are wrong....it is not housemanship, just the clinical component of a medical course, which must be in a clinical setting....

Housemanship comes AFTER graduation....

But the implication is correct....ts needs to know the clinical component in both options are outside kv....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Mar 26 2015, 12:02 PM
limeuu
post Mar 26 2015, 12:26 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Stella Tee @ Mar 26 2015, 12:15 AM)
6A+ 3A 1B
you 'qualify' based on mmc guidelines...

now go read pagalavan.com.......
chiahau
post Mar 26 2015, 12:29 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

There's always MAHSA/SEGI/UTAR or MSU.
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 12:43 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 26 2015, 05:40 AM)
why Russia when Indonesia is just across the Melaka Straits?
I don`t know.....He juz recommended me to study in Russia..... hmm.gif maybe the uni there is top-ranking uni ==
birdman8
post Mar 26 2015, 12:51 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Zhik @ Mar 26 2015, 12:19 AM)
i think chiropractic will be quite good in future. comparable new field in malaysia and still not so many people doing it.
limeuu
post Mar 26 2015, 01:03 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Stella Tee @ Mar 26 2015, 12:43 PM)
I don`t know.....He juz recommended me to study in Russia..... hmm.gif maybe the uni there is top-ranking uni ==
he makes money from you...that's why...

if you worry about going to sp, kt, you would fly 6000 miles to russia?...
limeuu
post Mar 26 2015, 01:04 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(birdman8 @ Mar 26 2015, 12:51 PM)
i think chiropractic will be quite good in future. comparable new field in malaysia and still not so many people doing it.
that is alternative medicine, and considered by many as smake oil...
birdman8
post Mar 26 2015, 02:15 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 26 2015, 01:04 PM)
that is alternative medicine, and considered by many as smake oil...
it may be considered = smake oil but quite a lot of chiropractic clinics in aus.

This post has been edited by birdman8: Mar 26 2015, 02:20 PM
cckkpr
post Mar 26 2015, 04:47 PM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Mar 26 2015, 12:29 PM)
UTAR has 45 or 50 places only and I think most are reserved for their own foundation students. And that's the whole purpose of having foundation studies.
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 05:54 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Caven Lin @ Mar 26 2015, 09:48 AM)

Hey, nice to meet you....on Lowyat net icon_rolleyes.gif Is there any problem to do clinical training in Terengganu? Not only u, Dr. Pagalavan also mentions /highlights that UCSI medic students practise clinical training in Kuala Terengganu blink.gif hmm.gif SP stands for Sungai Petani, right? Juz now i called the AIMST consultant and she said clinical training will be done in kedah while for the housemanship we can choose any place we want like Sabah, Sarawak, perak, kl......
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 06:05 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 26 2015, 12:26 PM)
you 'qualify' based on mmc guidelines...

now go read pagalavan.com.......
Yesterday, I asked Dr. Pagalavan about AIMST and UCSI, and he recommended AIMST bcoz it is more established drool.gif There re lots of his posts related to medicine, and you want me to read all his posts?! sweat.gif
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 06:25 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Mar 26 2015, 12:29 PM)
MAHSA is good ....but the fee is quite high....For SEGI and UTAR, their MBBS are not recognised by mqa and mmc sweat.gif I never heard MSU.....can u tell me more details about MSU? drool.gif
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 06:29 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(birdman8 @ Mar 26 2015, 12:51 PM)
sorry i m not interested in chiropractic sweat.gif but anyway, thank you for ur suggestion notworthy.gif
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 06:36 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 26 2015, 01:03 PM)
he makes money from you...that's why...

if you worry about going to sp, kt, you would fly 6000 miles to russia?...
So, thats why I didn`t apply it.......now i decide to study in AIMST, but my parents not approve hmm.gif i hv to persuade them to let me go....haha icon_rolleyes.gif

Juz now, chiahau mention MSU.....what do you think about MSU?

What is smake oil? blink.gif sorry for my ignorance==

This post has been edited by Stella Tee: Mar 26 2015, 06:40 PM
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 06:41 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Mar 26 2015, 04:47 PM)
UTAR  has 45 or 50 places only and I think most are reserved for their own foundation students. And that's the whole purpose of having foundation studies.
Besides, UTAR MBBS is not recognised by mqa and mmc sweat.gif
chiahau
post Mar 26 2015, 07:01 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Stella Tee @ Mar 26 2015, 06:41 PM)
Besides, UTAR MBBS is not recognised by mqa and mmc  sweat.gif
MQA only qualify once the 1st batch are out.
onelove89
post Mar 26 2015, 07:03 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(birdman8 @ Mar 26 2015, 02:15 PM)
it may be considered =  smake oil but quite a lot of chiropractic clinics in aus.
quite a lot of clinics doesn't mean they are good for patients. Their 'manipulations' caused a lot of trouble for some of the patients i've seen.
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 08:22 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Mar 26 2015, 07:01 PM)
MQA only qualify once the 1st batch are out.
when does the 1st batch graduate? then after that, sure their MBBS ll be qualified by mqa and mmc?
CyberSetan
post Mar 26 2015, 09:27 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Stella Tee @ Mar 26 2015, 06:36 PM)
So, thats why I didn`t apply it.......now i decide to study in AIMST, but my parents not approve  hmm.gif  i hv to persuade them to let me go....haha icon_rolleyes.gif

Juz now, chiahau mention MSU.....what do you think about MSU?

What is smake oil? blink.gif  sorry for my ignorance==
MSU = Expensive.

You can do medical program twice in Indonesia for the amount it will cost you for studying in MSU....

how do i know this...? I graduated from their Bangalore campus...

If you want to study in a established university....

consider Universitas Gadjah Mada or Padjadjaran enough already lah... both have had their medical faculty established almost Half a Century ago compared to any of our IPTS....
TSStella Tee
post Mar 26 2015, 09:42 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 26 2015, 09:27 PM)
MSU = Expensive.

You can do medical program twice in Indonesia for the amount it will cost you for studying in MSU....

how do i know this...? I graduated from their Bangalore campus...

If you want to study in a established university....

consider Universitas Gadjah Mada or Padjadjaran enough already lah... both have had their medical faculty established almost Half a Century ago compared to any of our IPTS....
How to apply Indonesia uni? through medic ed agent? but i think the agent is not trustworthy....it is better that i apply by myself hmm.gif or you can help me apply? drool.gif If you know more details, you can pm me ^^

This post has been edited by Stella Tee: Mar 26 2015, 09:42 PM
CyberSetan
post Mar 26 2015, 09:44 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Stella Tee @ Mar 26 2015, 09:42 PM)
How to apply? through medic ed agent? but i think the agent is not trustworthy....it is better that i apply by myself hmm.gif or you can help me apply?  drool.gif If you know more details, you can pm me ^^
Just go through the agent lah... that medicprolink have been in business for almost 10 years already...

Google and visit their website....

limeuu
post Mar 26 2015, 10:45 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Stella Tee @ Mar 26 2015, 06:05 PM)
Yesterday, I asked Dr. Pagalavan about AIMST and UCSI, and he recommended AIMST bcoz it is more established  drool.gif There re lots of his posts related to medicine, and you want me to read all his posts?!  sweat.gif
yes...
Caven Lin
post Mar 26 2015, 11:33 PM

QUOTE(Stella Tee @ Mar 26 2015, 05:54 PM)
Hey, nice to meet you....on Lowyat net  icon_rolleyes.gif  Is there any problem to do clinical training in Terengganu? Not only u, Dr. Pagalavan also mentions /highlights that UCSI medic students practise clinical training in Kuala Terengganu  blink.gif  hmm.gif  SP stands for Sungai Petani, right? Juz now i called the AIMST consultant and she said clinical training will be done in kedah while for the housemanship we can choose any place we want like Sabah, Sarawak, perak, kl......
Err .. can we choose any place we want for housemanship? I thought the government will send you anywhere and you are not allowed to choose.
limeuu
post Mar 27 2015, 12:05 AM

12,291 posts

the new system of application for housemanship is online, and the available posts and their availability are listed....if you want a job fast, choose unpopular locations, and you can start immediately....if you want popular locations, then waiting list may be up to a year....

this is based on the present situation....in 5-7 years time when current school leavers graduate, the situation may be different, and there may not be enough jobs, and wait list may be very long...

in addition, housemanship will likely be on contract basis, and on completion, you will need to compete with others for gov jobs....if there are no enough posts, some doctors will NOT get a job with the gov....you will have to look elsewhere for jobs...
Caven Lin
post Mar 27 2015, 10:40 AM

How many years do we require to do housemanship? From what I had been told, the housemanship for AIMST is 2 years while the housemanship for UCSI is 4 years.
Is this true? And if this is true does it mean that the longer the housemanship , the greater the disadvantage???
limeuu
post Mar 27 2015, 11:28 AM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Caven Lin @ Mar 27 2015, 10:40 AM)
How many years do we require to do housemanship? From what I had been told, the housemanship for AIMST is 2 years while the housemanship for UCSI is 4 years.
Is this true? And if this is true does it mean that the longer the housemanship , the greater the disadvantage???
it is amazing for aspirants to be so ignorant of the profession...if you know so little about the profession, why are you interested in it?....

please go read pagalavan.com........the information is all there....don't expect to be spoon fed....
kevin5059
post Apr 12 2016, 05:18 PM

39 posts

I have to agree BrachialPlexus, Quest International University Perak (QIUP) shouldn't be considered as a university at all.

Many of their lectures are fresh graduates, those who just finish their studies and yet couldn't getting a proper jobs in the industry. Yet, they were hired as a teaching staff in that university just to meet the number of student to staff ratio set by the Ministry of Education.

Many of their internal staffs are somehow transfer to the other department during an 'emergency' period just to meet the number of staff, especially when there is an official visit from the MQA or MOE.

Regardless what, QIUP (Quest International University Perak) should be your very last option. UTP and UTAR just next door, why go for such lousy university that sitting on top of a shop lots??

Also, FYI, their Medical students AVERAGE entry CGPA barely touch 3.2X, couldn't imagine how many "unqualified doctors" going to be produced by this school. Hope the government would do something toward this place and stop this quantity game.

Those who still thinking of joining this place, GO AT YOUR OWN RISK, still gentle reminder, UTP and UTAR just next door.

This post has been edited by kevin5059: Apr 12 2016, 05:22 PM
limeuu
post Apr 12 2016, 11:04 PM

12,291 posts

for people with cgpa 3.0, money and a "passion" to be a doctor, qiup my actually be a "preferred' choice....
wjleong15
post Apr 13 2016, 08:28 AM

3,521 posts

QUOTE(kevin5059 @ Apr 12 2016, 05:18 PM)
I have to agree BrachialPlexus, Quest International University Perak (QIUP) shouldn't be considered as a university at all.

Many of their lectures are fresh graduates, those who just finish their studies and yet couldn't getting a proper jobs in the industry. Yet, they were hired as a teaching staff in that university just to meet the number of student to staff ratio set by the Ministry of Education.

Many of their internal staffs are somehow transfer to the other department during an 'emergency' period just to meet the number of staff, especially when there is an official visit from the MQA or MOE.

Regardless what, QIUP (Quest International University Perak) should be your very last option. UTP and UTAR just next door, why go for such lousy university that sitting on top of a shop lots??

Also, FYI, their Medical students AVERAGE entry CGPA barely touch 3.2X, couldn't imagine how many "unqualified doctors" going to be produced by this school. Hope the government would do something toward this place and stop this quantity game. 

Those who still thinking of joining this place, GO AT YOUR OWN RISK, still gentle reminder, UTP and UTAR just next door.
One of the reason why the lack of staff is because their pay is lowest in industry, and too many expatriate lecturers...

requirement set by government is too low, there are lots of student with spm 5B or STPM 3B came interview, but for sure not get accepted eventhough they perform outstanding during interview (I don't mean QIUP, I mean other), during open day their parents still insist to submit application for their children... sweat.gif doh.gif
limeuu
post Apr 13 2016, 08:48 AM

12,291 posts

the minimum requirement is of course ridiculously low, although it was better than without, when people got accepted with d and e grades....but attempts to raise it has been blocked by a gov agency....because it will kill off a few ipts med schools....and some very important people will be very upset....

with jpa scholarships drying up, there are not enough qualified students with straight As with money...but a lot of underqualified people with lots of money...and the priority is that 3-400k income per student taken in...
cckkpr
post Apr 13 2016, 03:12 PM

4,516 posts

Its about time, the number of medical students and universities be reduced as the number of graduates far exceed the places available.

With the new JPA policy of max 250 scholarships or better known now as loans, even better medical schools like IMU, Monash and Numed will be affected as the number of JPA scholars is quite significant.
limeuu
post Apr 13 2016, 05:23 PM

12,291 posts

Cannot.....reducing intake will mean closing some med schools.... Some haven't even reach their breakeven point....that would be politically very incorrect....

A proposed moratorium on number of programmes and number of students is not getting support....the ipta med schools are all still trying to increase numbers.... And only held back by their lack of academic staff....
Alvin L
post Apr 13 2016, 06:03 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 13 2016, 05:23 PM)
Cannot.....reducing intake will mean closing some med schools.... Some haven't even reach their breakeven point....that would be politically very incorrect....

A proposed moratorium on number of programmes and number of students is not getting support....the ipta med schools are all still trying to increase numbers.... And only held back by their lack of academic staff....
I read on the newspaper that UM has actually been reducing the number of med students gradually each year.

This post has been edited by Alvin L: Apr 13 2016, 06:03 PM
limeuu
post Apr 13 2016, 09:43 PM

12,291 posts

ipta gets no money from students....and the gov, instead of cutting down on low quality training in many ipts, have ordered the very established old med schools like ukm, um and usm to cut down on undergraduate intakes and concentrate on postgraduate training...

which they willingly do, as taking less students means less cost, and less work to them....
Alvin L
post Apr 13 2016, 10:38 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 13 2016, 09:43 PM)
ipta gets no money from students....and the gov, instead of cutting down on low quality training in many ipts, have ordered the very established old med schools like ukm, um and usm to cut down on undergraduate intakes and concentrate on postgraduate training...

which they willingly do, as taking less students means less cost, and less work to them....
And the results will be the drop in the quality of medical graduates.
Alvin L
post Apr 13 2016, 10:44 PM

33 posts

Moreover, there will more deserving students with good grades fail to get into medical schools if they couldnt afford the high fees at ipts since scholarship for health-science related degree (mbbs , dentistry, pharmacy ) is almost non-exist.

This post has been edited by Alvin L: Apr 13 2016, 10:46 PM

0.0348sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:18 PM