7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V36, celebrating 35th anniversary!

SUSadvocado
post Jul 14 2015, 12:09 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Jul 13 2015, 09:56 PM)
better than expected... now only hope the series is more mature & not kids orientated... cool2.gif
I guess this time the pilot just need to shout:"GUNDAMMMMMM..." then the Robot will come to his summons. no need backup pilot fly the robot all the way to the shopping mall to deliver the robot and have to walk back to base.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 14 2015, 12:12 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(kaizor11 @ Jul 13 2015, 04:25 PM)
WIP Shiny Gundam.
weapon and backpack sudah smpai mood malas shakehead.gif
you don't plan on panel lining it? some parts like the wrist pipe hard to panel line after assembled, easier to panel line before assemble.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 17 2015, 10:45 PM

2,948 posts

anyone know how to do shading without making a mess?

i used pencil while it works great on heavy shades, too easy for the fingers to smudge the surface in the process. i would assume those tamiya weathering powder have the same problem.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 18 2015, 12:50 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Jul 17 2015, 11:52 PM)
Been using THIS method all the while, great result.
but i'm asking how not to dirty the kit while shading. powder like tamiya weathering & pencil can easily stain other areas especially when you handle them while shading, i tried eraser it doesn't remove them well and will stain even more if eraser touch other shade areas.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 25 2015, 09:09 PM

2,948 posts

anyone know how painted Beam sabers should look like? trying to paint the solid white saber red/pink with some white in between but google not showing much how they should be painted.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 26 2015, 09:08 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Nawar @ Jul 25 2015, 10:56 PM)
if you meant solid plastic beam sabers.. just use clear colors... or u mean gradient effect painting?

if those transparent than can flex, may need to prime it n then paint... but if u flex/bend a painted part, it can crack or chip the paint...
solid plastic to make it look like in the show, some white in the middle of the blade to make it look like lighting up, i don't think people use transparent or metallic paint, just normal red/pink/white.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 26 2015, 12:54 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chyll2 @ Jul 26 2015, 12:49 PM)
i want to know how a painted saber should look like, can't find much reference online, most painted kits don't show their sabers.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 26 2015, 05:11 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chyll2 @ Jul 26 2015, 01:10 PM)
got example for solid sabers? straight round type. that banshee one is not a good example.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 27 2015, 12:54 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(D-y @ Jul 26 2015, 10:43 PM)
how about something like this?
that saber looks like semi-transparent type. anyway i've seen people fully paint their semi-transparent saber into solid with red/pink/white, just can't find much reference.

i'm working on solid white saber.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 27 2015, 09:35 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chyll2 @ Jul 27 2015, 02:02 AM)
I dont think it being transparent plastic or solid white really matter. If you are working with solid white plastic, just paint it red or green or pink then do a gradient paint for white.
is there a sample picture, for normal straight curve saber? the one looks like a long knife (1 side curve 1 side less curve), that affects how the "beam up" effect looks. also i'm not sure if leaving the bottom part white is how light sabers suppose to work. there's a youtube video how to paint but the video is quite blur. is there no proper sample of how a beam saber like RX-78 look like?
SUSadvocado
post Jul 27 2015, 10:33 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(konn @ Jul 27 2015, 10:13 AM)
like this one? errrr don't ask me how he do it.. bcoz i dont know biggrin.gif
something like this, but the effect is not quite what i want, he hardly put any white around the edge or middle of the saber. i remember i saw in some exhibition with painted sabers, but, long time ago, i can't exactly remember how it looked exactly.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 28 2015, 10:17 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Jul 28 2015, 08:15 PM)
1st gen ew, completely different from the original anime/movies (1st gen original design appear for a brief moment as flashback in the movie, so ew has technically speaking retcon the entire 1st gen design).

2nd gen ew, only 2 has been/about to be made. DH is exactly the same while Altron is slightly different (additional wings n pew pew lazer tail adopted from the anime ver). So the answer to your question is both yes and no.

As for what the rest of the 2nd gen ew gonna look like nobody knows. The modification to Altron opens the flood gates for a similar alteration to the design for the remaining suits except for WZ.

WZ will remain the same as the movie ver. There is no difference in its depiction in GotL except for the additional attachment for the TRB like in the RG. When MG WZ ew is eventually release chances r they just use back the old molds + some runners for the attachment.
I do however wanted to point out to Bandai, u done fk up the naming convention. The movie is called endless waltz, the model is called ver ew but its base on GotL instead. Just name the damn line ver GotL and be done with it, would save us the trouble at least.....
DH looks same but i think there's minor difference, based on wikipedia. Heavy arms & Talgese look pretty similar other than the color, the TV version had better color. Wing Zero is an iconic robot but the angelic style really not for everyone.

the gundam comics are nice to read but other than Origin & those parodies the drawing for the rest are pretty "meh", sometimes you feel they just drawing it for the sake of milking the franchise put no heart in it at all.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 29 2015, 11:18 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Jul 29 2015, 10:10 AM)
I kinda glad they milking W Gundam, so I can finally have the complete Endless Walts Band in future.. thumbup.gif

Still, the manga is so much better than the light novel shit called Frozen Teardrop...
Gundam W has a big fan base because they were created during the cartoon boom, Wing Gundam is probably the 1st Gundam show many watched.

For me it's the epitome of emo Gundam. The starting point where Gundams turn emo. Older Gundam shows had some emo characters but still within normal emotions, Gundam W brought it to a whole new level together with Evangelion.

Design wise, i have a mixed feeling between TV & EW, some designs/colortone are better in TV while some are better in EW. Gundam Wing/Talgese/Heavyarms look better in TV while Altron/Sandrock looks better in EW although TV Sandrock color looks more like desert use.

Also it ruined many SRW games because everytime they are in one they took the spot for 6 main casts in the roster, when they chuck Seed/Destiny in you get like 12 characters from just 2 shows, put 00 in you have 20 characters from just 3 shows which is like half the cast of typical SRW.

Like it or not, 0079 still has the most depth storyline, if you read Origins.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 29 2015, 12:20 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(xein @ Jul 29 2015, 12:01 PM)
If we look at the pilots' background we know the source of their 'emoness'.
You want serious? Go with main characters in their mid 20's or later with 5 years of on the battlefield experience.
not really, 08th MS weren't that impressive, 0083 is ok, CCA is ok, but still 0079 & Z are more serious. Zeta pretty much has the war feel. also the BGM in earlier gundams are much better than newer ones, lots of iconic tunes, not just the OP & EDs. new shows feature fancy instruments but lacks the catchy tune.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 29 2015, 12:44 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Jul 29 2015, 12:35 PM)
I always feel that 0083 is the most serious among the other, since from beginning to the end its all about war, and the main even got caught and prisoned?
you know that's the show that started all the big guns & bazooka thingy right? it's not bad but in terms of depiction of space war 0079 & Z did better. 0080 is more of guerrilla war, while 08th ms is just about how a team can beat Death's jinx.

in terms of drawing approach things started to change at 08th MS, but you notice UC Gundam went back to old type drawing. notice similarity between Baniger & Kamille.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 29 2015, 12:50 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Jul 29 2015, 12:49 PM)
Yea the drawing especially the hair style  biggrin.gif
but too bad Captain Bright will always looks out of place even back in 0079, that two dot eyes doh.gif
Newtype epic failure Katsu too.

SUSadvocado
post Jul 29 2015, 11:28 PM

2,948 posts

is MG 1/100 Hyper Bazooka launcher in any shops?
SUSadvocado
post Jul 29 2015, 11:39 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Jul 29 2015, 01:04 PM)
I actually enjoy 0083 more as it does not potrait a young dude who knew nothing but suddenly turn OP due to New-Type power kind of plot.  It's purely ppl joining up military because they are on war.  0079, Zeta, ZZ, UC pilot mainly piloting Gundam due to coincidence or perhaps like Bright mentioned: "the Gundam choose u" sweat.gif
08th MS & 0080 are also military based.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 29 2015, 11:40 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Nawar @ Jul 29 2015, 11:32 PM)
u mean for hyaku shiki... those acc better PO to secure.. acc sumetime hard to get restock...
never seen any PO for that locally.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 30 2015, 10:27 AM

2,948 posts

SD are more difficult to paint because they don't come with separate parts for different colors, some areas can mask, others like wrist just too narrow to even paint brush. also panel lining is difficult because the lines are too shallow. however i find SD got more character compared to normal ratio.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.1296sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:35 PM