24 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Income Tax on Foreign Salary Income?, Work in Home in Malaysia.

SUSTOS
post Nov 14 2021, 02:00 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 14 2021, 12:39 AM)
you migrate to SG probably won't come back lah...

If already retired can slowly bring back sgd without tax mah...

by that time surely got new tax laws...

anyways this fsi not yet passed... dunno the fine prints...
Why not laugh.gif SG is too small for retirement, in Malaysia you have beaches to swim, mountains to climb, various places to travel. Ya hopefully this tax won't exist anymore years later.
abcn1n
post Nov 16 2021, 07:44 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 13 2021, 10:39 PM)
bring back cpf is taxable... most likely top up tax... not spared...

Forex gain/loss is included in local company taxes... not sure about individuals... IRB says any $ remitted is taxable unless it has been taxed locally prior

des why ppl if not scratching head is banging the wall...
QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 13 2021, 11:46 PM)
you go work in SG... when retire got SGD 2m and CPF 2m... all SGD 4m is taxable when remitted

this my current understanding ah per the lawyer brief... he mentioned this case
QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 13 2021, 11:56 PM)
So CPF is treated as "income" then. Noted.
QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 14 2021, 12:39 AM)
you migrate to SG probably won't come back lah...

If already retired can slowly bring back sgd without tax mah...

by that time surely got new tax laws...

anyways this fsi not yet passed... dunno the fine prints...
QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 14 2021, 02:00 PM)
Why not  laugh.gif SG is too small for retirement, in Malaysia you have beaches to swim, mountains to climb, various places to travel. Ya hopefully this tax won't exist anymore years later.
If govt start taxing, its unlikely that they will let go this source of revenue. I do think its stupid to tax this as it just discourages people from bringing back $ into Malaysia (which would strengthen RM and bolster the economy). Also encourage the richer people to migrate overseas.
SUSTOS
post Nov 16 2021, 08:16 PM

8,667 posts

It's confirmed.

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20211116/%e7%a8%...8d%8a%e5%b9%b4/

https://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/KM_LHDNM...LUAR_NEGARA.pdf

1st half of 2022 rate is 3%, no auditing done during that period.

Another "article"

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/look...nsourced-income

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 16 2021, 08:20 PM
dwRK
post Nov 16 2021, 08:42 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Nov 16 2021, 07:44 PM)
If govt start taxing, its unlikely that they will let go this source of revenue. I do think its stupid to tax this as it just discourages people from bringing back $ into Malaysia (which would strengthen RM and bolster the economy). Also encourage the richer people to migrate overseas.
the rich ppl no need to bring money back ah... only the poor ppl have no choice, now made even poorer

this mof really heartless... simply blanket tax all remittance

those jump aeroplane ppl send money home to support family... suddenly old retired folks kena pay tax...

ppl already scared bring money in because BNM makes is difficult to sent money back out... now kena tax some more... haiz
JJ93
post Nov 16 2021, 09:07 PM

109 posts

Will dividends/capital gains from local robo investing apps ie Stashaway, Wahed etc be taxed when the money is withdrawn to bank account?
MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 09:15 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(JJ93 @ Nov 16 2021, 09:07 PM)
Will dividends/capital gains from local robo investing apps ie Stashaway, Wahed etc be taxed when the money is withdrawn to bank account?
from the link in post 123,...

Implications on Malaysian Investment Funds
Malaysian funds that invest abroad will also be disadvantaged, as the foreign income remitted by the funds is now taxable.
Investors may then invest through foreign funds or foreign vehicles, instead of Malaysian funds, as the additional tax cost will reduce the investment returns.
Ultimately, this would result in movement of funds abroad to invest in foreign funds.
SUSTOS
post Nov 16 2021, 09:19 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 16 2021, 09:15 PM)

Malaysian funds that invest abroad will also be disadvantaged, as the foreign income remitted by the funds is now taxable.
Investors may then invest through foreign funds or foreign vehicles, instead of Malaysian funds, as the additional tax cost will reduce the investment returns.
Ultimately, this would result in movement of funds abroad to invest in foreign funds.
It is now interesting to watch what will happen to ASNB and EPF dividends. I think EPF will be spared due to its retirement purpose (think 401k and IRA in the US), ASNB less likely as it is purely an investment vehicle for all sorts of purposes.

MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 09:21 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 16 2021, 09:19 PM)
It is now interesting to watch what will happen to ASNB and EPF dividends. I think EPF will be spared due to its retirement purpose (think 401k and IRA in  the US), ASNB less likely as it is purely an investment vehicle for all sorts of purposes.
biggrin.gif just speculation on my side only.... laugh.gif

i think they had already catch wind of that and had been reducing the dividend pay out to try to make it not as a shock to investors... biggrin.gif
JJ93
post Nov 16 2021, 09:51 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 16 2021, 09:15 PM)

Wait. Ayam confused a little bit. Capital gains/dividends will be taxed when remitted back (considered as foreign income). But the initial capital is not being taxed?

Example deposited 5k in robo. One year later cash out all in total 6k. So only 1k is taxable?

It's going to be a headache for apps like Wahed/Best that have both foreign and local investments in a single portfolio. How to differentiate? 😂😂
MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 09:55 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(JJ93 @ Nov 16 2021, 09:51 PM)
Wait. Ayam confused a little bit. Capital gains/dividends will be taxed when remitted back (considered as foreign income). But the initial capital is not being taxed?

Example deposited 5k in robo. One year later cash out all in total 6k. So only 1k is taxable? (my guess is YES,...your own capital money will not be taxed, if you had invested thru local fund managers or local platforms. But my guess also,..if you had transfered out your money "legally" and invested overseas, then kept and shows those transaction details to prove that is your capital, maybe you can avoid paying taxes on the capital when you bring back to M'sia)

It's going to be a headache for apps like Wahed/Best that have both foreign and local investments in a single portfolio. How to differentiate? 😂😂 (my guess again is it will automatic computed and done by the fund house)
This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 16 2021, 10:04 PM
JJ93
post Nov 16 2021, 10:09 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 16 2021, 09:55 PM)

Thanks MUM for your reply and thoughts. Always very insightful. I guess it's even more important now to keep (perhaps even physical) copies of all these transactions moving forward.
MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 10:56 PM

14,854 posts

just read this,...may have potential impact to some forummers here .....

Another common situation, according to Deloitte Malaysia, involves a Malaysian who lives in Johor Baru and commutes daily to Singapore for work.

“He draws a salary from his Singaporean employer. Under the tiebreaker rule, he is a Malaysian tax resident given that his permanent home is in Johor Baru.
Before Jan 1, 2022, he can remit his salary into Malaysia without paying Malaysian tax.
Under the new rule, his remittance would be subject to Malaysian tax,

“The Singapore taxes paid can be used as a set-off. However, he would need to top up the net additional tax and pay the Malaysian tax authorities.
In short, there would be an incremental tax,” it added.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/delo...xation-malaysia
MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 11:00 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(JJ93 @ Nov 16 2021, 10:09 PM)
Thanks MUM for your reply and thoughts. Always very insightful. I guess it's even more important now to keep (perhaps even physical) copies of all these transactions moving forward.
just found this,...

Income vs capital

The first hurdle to cross is to determine whether the monies remitted into Malaysia is income or capital: Income is taxed whilst capital is not.

Taxpayers are going to have difficulties in dealing with this issue since the monies would have been accumulated over a long period of time and unless you have good records, you may have difficulty in arguing that the amount remitted is capital in nature.

What income is taxable?

All types of income will be taxable, and this will include dividend income, interest income, rental income, pension income, employment income, and annuities even though some of these types of income will not be taxable in Malaysia if the income had arisen in Malaysia.

An example would be dividend income paid by Malaysian companies will not be taxable.

more
How is foreign sourced income taxed?
https://www.thesundaily.my/business/how-is-...taxed-AB8535064
Equity
post Nov 16 2021, 11:51 PM

Equity
1,229 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 16 2021, 11:00 PM)
just found this,...

Income vs capital

The first hurdle to cross is to determine whether the monies remitted into Malaysia is income or capital: Income is taxed whilst capital is not.

Taxpayers are going to have difficulties in dealing with this issue since the monies would have been accumulated over a long period of time and unless you have good records, you may have difficulty in arguing that the amount remitted is capital in nature.

What income is taxable?

All types of income will be taxable, and this will include dividend income, interest income, rental income, pension income, employment income, and annuities even though some of these types of income will not be taxable in Malaysia if the income had arisen in Malaysia.

An example would be dividend income paid by Malaysian companies will not be taxable.

more
How is foreign sourced income taxed?
https://www.thesundaily.my/business/how-is-...taxed-AB8535064
Is the budget officially passed in parliament?
MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 11:53 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(terrytan @ Nov 16 2021, 11:51 PM)
Is the budget officially passed in parliament?
i think not yet,...but my guess is very high chances of it being passed....
seldom heard budget proposed items not passed ....
hopefully it may also possible to contain minor changes too

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 16 2021, 11:56 PM
Equity
post Nov 16 2021, 11:58 PM

Equity
1,229 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 16 2021, 11:53 PM)
i think not yet,...but my guess is very high chances of it being passed....
seldom heard budget proposed items not passed ....
hopefully it may also possible to contain minor changes too
Possible if PH win the Melaka election unless some black out magic show again.

This post has been edited by terrytan: Nov 17 2021, 12:43 AM
Vector88
post Nov 17 2021, 08:45 AM

817 posts

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...sidents/2021425

it says:

“If the review found that the income kept abroad originating from Malaysia has not been reported, additional assessment can be imposed together with penalties in accordance with the provisions of the Income Tax Act 1967,” it said.

meaning if u keep ur money overseas and NOT remiited back to Malaysia (though it was originating from Malaysia), it can be taxed ??!!!

This post has been edited by Vector88: Nov 17 2021, 08:55 AM
dwRK
post Nov 17 2021, 09:27 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Nov 17 2021, 08:45 AM)

it says:

“If the review found that the income kept abroad originating from Malaysia has not been reported, additional assessment can be imposed together with penalties in accordance with the provisions of the Income Tax Act 1967,” it said.

meaning if u keep ur money overseas and NOT remiited back to Malaysia (though it was originating from Malaysia), it can be taxed ??!!!
it say... "... has not been reported"... I assume tick the "got foreign account overseas" in the tax form...
MUM
post Nov 17 2021, 09:29 AM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Nov 17 2021, 08:45 AM)

it says:

my guess is,
if you can proof that that money is legally acquired in Malaysia, paid taxes and had documented proof that, that money was transferred out of malaysia previously....
then i guess you should not be taxed...

for it mentioned in your link,...
"IRB will review and examine the income information of Malaysian residents deposited abroad that has been received through tax information exchange agreements with other countries."
If the review found that the income kept abroad originating from Malaysia has not been reported, additional assessment can be imposed together with penalties in accordance with the provisions of the Income Tax Act 1967,” it said.

my guess again,...there should be a threshold of the amount of money before they start the reviews....
more of a concerns if the names are listed in the Pandora papers recently....

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 17 2021, 09:39 AM
dwRK
post Nov 17 2021, 09:42 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 17 2021, 09:29 AM)
my guess is,
if you can proof that that money is legally acquired in Malaysia, paid taxes and had documented proof that, that money was transferred out of malaysia previously....
then i guess you should not be taxed...

something like
"Taxpayers are going to have difficulties in dealing with this issue since the monies would have been accumulated over a long period of time and unless you have good records, you may have difficulty in arguing that the amount remitted is capital in nature."

in the link posted in post 133....
me thinks is related to not disclosing the info in the tax form... then they can penalize you... if can't prove is capital from Malaysia, they can just assume is fsi and tax you again...

anyways... gov getting desperate... stupid things can and are happening...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 17 2021, 09:44 AM

24 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:17 PM