4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Income Tax on Foreign Salary Income?, Work in Home in Malaysia.

MUM
post Oct 13 2021, 02:31 PM

14,854 posts

GSK & Associates, May 24, 2019

FOREIGN-SOURCED INCOME - MALAYSIAN INCOME TAX
Updated: Nov 17, 2020

Foreign-sourced income is NOT subject to tax in Malaysia, except for certain activities, such as banking, insurance, and air and sea transport operations.

References - Income Tax Act, 1967
Section 3 of the Income Tax Act, 1967 (ITA) states that “income shall be charged for the income of any person accruing in or derived from Malaysia or received in Malaysia from outside Malaysia”.
The phrase accruing in or derive from Malaysia means the source of income must be in Malaysia

With effect from YA 2004, foreign source income derived from sources outside Malaysia and received in Malaysia by any person is NOT subject to Malaysian income tax

Section 12 of the Income Tax Act, 1967 is about the determining the source of income or derivation of income

The tax exemption is stated in the Schedule 6, Paragraph 28 of the Income Tax Act, 1967 - click the link below for the PDF copy of the Schedule 6;

www.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Schedule_6.pdf
http://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Schedule_6.pdf

How to determine income derived from Malaysia or Outside Malaysia (Foreign-Sourced)

Derivation of income is defined in Section 12 of the ITA.

Determining the source of income is indeed difficult and often open to discussion and also can be complex and contentious.
There is no exact guide that can be applied to every scenario to determine whether an income is Malaysian-sourced or foreign-sourced.
It depends on the nature of the income and of the business transactions which give rise to such income.

Generally, the income shall be deemed derived from outside Malaysia if the income is attributed directly to activities conducted outside Malaysia.
The burden is on the tax payer to prove that his income is foreign-sourced.

As per the Section 12(1)(a), gross income that is not attributable to operations of business carried on outside Malaysia would be deemed Malaysian derived income.

Therefore, if the gross income is related to the work performed outside Malaysia and the taxpayer wishes to treat it as foreign source income, the taxpayer would need to substantiate that it is attributable to operations of business carried on outside Malaysia.

General points to consider in determining source of income

Where does the contracts concluded - in Malaysia or Outside Malaysia?

Whether the ownership risk of the business is in Malaysia or Outside Malaysia

Whether services are rendered in Malaysia or Outside Malaysia

Briefly on Section 12 (1) & 12 (2):
more ....
https://www.gskassociates.net/post/foreign-...sian-income-tax

latest updates...
In the Budget 2022, it has been proposed that income tax be imposed on residents in Malaysia with income derived from foreign sources and received in Malaysia from Jan 1, 2022. in response to global developments such as the global minimum tax and the recent European Union’s action to include Malaysia in its “grey list”.
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/delo...crease-tax-bill

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 30 2021, 08:19 PM
MUM
post Oct 30 2021, 07:35 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(veiven @ Oct 30 2021, 07:10 PM)
This is confusing, sorry Ayam English is bad,

I’m doing freelance and have some affiliate / commission for what I sold to a U.S company, I get commission in USD.

I shall assume it’s taxable right ?

I haven’t remit any money back atm.
according to this Jun 25, 2019 blog postings

What if your freelance income is from outside of Malaysia?
For freelancers, earning revenue from foreign companies (not based or registered in Malaysia) is not uncommon.
Here’s some good news, income earned from outside Malaysia is excluded from tax as of YA 2004.
https://www.biztory.com.my/freelancer-have-...-in-malaysia-2/

veiven, updated info,...just in case you missed this latest info
but, but
In the Budget, it has been proposed that income tax be imposed on residents in Malaysia with income derived from foreign sources and received in Malaysia from Jan 1, 2022.
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/delo...crease-tax-bill

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 30 2021, 08:17 PM
MUM
post Oct 30 2021, 11:19 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(iammyself @ Oct 30 2021, 11:08 PM)
I can tell you the biztory post is 100% wrong.

There is A LOT of confusion regarding "foreign income."

Foreign Income has a SPECIFIC definition. Not ALL money you make from abroad is considered Foreign Income.
The KEY is the LOCATION where substantial economic activities are performed.

Examples of Foreign Income
1. You live in Johor, commute to work in Singapore daily (pay taxes in Singapore instead)
2. You're a Malaysian YouTuber, you live and make videos in Tokyo that generate revenue from ads.  (pay taxes in Japan instead)
3. You found a job in Australia after graduating in 2015 and worked there until 2019. The salary is foreign income.  (pay taxes in Australia)
4. You're a freelance graphic designer. Your client from the US paid you to work at their US office for x months. (pay taxes in US)
(the above is under double taxation agreement,...where you are taxed once only??)
also
For an individual residing in Malaysia for a period exceeding 183 days, the individual is deemed to be a resident for tax purposes in Malaysia under the ITA 1967.
However, if the said individual does not receive any income deriving from Malaysia and only receives employment income derived from Singapore, then the individual is still not liable for tax in Malaysia.
The resident status of an individual in Malaysia will not automatically result in the income received by the individual to be subjected to Malaysian tax laws.
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/taxp...axable-malaysia

NOT FOREIGN INCOME:-
1. You live in Johor, you travel daily to wholesale nasi lemak to someone in Singapore.
2. You're a Malaysian YouTuber, you live and make videos in Perlis that generate revenue in USD.
3. You found a job in Australia, but you work remotely from your home office in Sabah. You're paid in AUD. It's NOT foreign income.
4. You're a freelance graphic designer. You're based KL, but your clients are from the US.

according to this
With effect from YA 2004, foreign source income derived from sources outside Malaysia and received in Malaysia by any person (other than a resident company carrying on the business of banking, insurance or sea or air transport) is not subject to Malaysian income tax. (exclude the latest Budget 2022 proposed criteria)

https://www.3ecpa.com.my/resources/malaysia...sourced-income/
This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 30 2021, 11:30 PM
MUM
post Oct 31 2021, 12:11 AM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(iammyself @ Oct 31 2021, 12:05 AM)
Tax treatment

Ahmad exercises employment in Singapore because he physically carries out his employment duties in Singapore.
Therefore, he derives employment income from Singapore, which, being not derived from Malaysia, is not subject to income tax in Malaysia.

When Ahmad brought his Singapore earnings to Malaysia to acquire the orchard, the foreign-sourced income received in Malaysia is specifically tax exempt under Paragraph 28 of Schedule 6 of the Income Tax Act.
The rental from the Singapore flat is derived from Singapore because the real property is situated there.
The source of the rental income is in Singapore. Ahmad receiving the rental income in ringgit in Malaysia does not change the fact that it is foreign-sourced income, which, even when received in Malaysia, is specifically tax exempt.

The net proceeds from the sale of the fruits on consignment to the Singapore fruit trader are derived from Malaysia as the fruits are produced in an orchard in Malaysia.
This is subject to tax in Malaysia as business income. The fact that it is paid in a foreign currency and in a foreign country does not change its Malaysian-derived nature. The proceeds must be brought to tax in Malaysia.

very clear don't they?
MUM
post Oct 31 2021, 12:23 AM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(iammyself @ Oct 31 2021, 12:17 AM)
Yes, it's very clear. That's why I shared it.

Anyway, I think there's some misunderstanding here.

I was pointing out that this particular point from the Biztory article is wrong:-

"For freelancers, earning revenue from foreign companies (not based or registered in Malaysia) is not uncommon. Here’s some good news, income earned from outside Malaysia is excluded from tax as of YA 2004."
hmm.gif mind telling where is "wrong"?

"For freelancers, earning revenue from foreign companies (not based or registered in Malaysia) is not uncommon. Here’s some good news, income earned from outside Malaysia is excluded from tax as of YA 2004."

i read as "For freelancers, earning revenue from foreign companies (not based or registered in Malaysia) is not uncommon. (means common)
Here’s some good news, income earned from outside Malaysia (refer to those Freelancers who earn foreign sourced income) is excluded from tax as of YA 2004."
MUM
post Oct 31 2021, 12:40 AM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(iammyself @ Oct 31 2021, 12:30 AM)
For freelancers based in Malaysia, revenue from foreign companies is not considered "foreign source income"...

It's considered locally derived. As such, it's taxable..... in MY.

Recall from the Ahmad's orchard example that "The net proceeds from the sale of the fruits on consignment to the Singapore fruit trader are derived from Malaysia as the fruits are produced in an orchard in Malaysia."

Freelancer = Ahmad
Freelancer's office = orchard
Service performed = fruit
according to this
With effect from YA 2004, foreign source income derived from sources outside Malaysia and received in Malaysia by any person (other than a resident company carrying on the business of banking, insurance or sea or air transport) is not subject to Malaysian income tax. (exclude the latest Budget 2022 proposed criteria)

https://www.3ecpa.com.my/resources/malaysia...sourced-income/

Are all earnings considered taxable and what tax form should freelancers use?
Note: Income earned from foreign companies, in other words, businesses that are not based or registered in Malaysia, are exempted from tax, as of YA 2004. (before the latest Budget 2022 announcement)
https://www.comparehero.my/budgets-tax/arti...eelancer_easier

isn't that same/similar as by biztory?

hmm.gif hmm.gif Ahmad is under business,...in business they have expenses and need to calculates the P/L for tax purposes.
will it be? ....income sourced overseas in not taxed, but the income added into Ahmad business a/c will make the business has more more profits thus be taxed more?? sweat.gif sweat.gif confused.gif

some court cases on Local Income Versus Foreign Income
https://chengco.com.my/wp/2018/03/16/local-...foreign-income/

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 31 2021, 02:04 AM
MUM
post Oct 31 2021, 01:49 AM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(iammyself @ Oct 31 2021, 12:30 AM)
For freelancers based in Malaysia, revenue from foreign companies is not considered "foreign source income"...

hmm.gif i think i am beginning to get what you meant,....
i think you could be right notworthy.gif

thus i think they want to clear off all doubts,..effective Jan 2022, in Budget 2022, they propose the change

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 31 2021, 02:08 AM
MUM
post Nov 5 2021, 11:43 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Nov 5 2021, 11:29 PM)
Hey guys! I'm a freelancer based in Malaysia, my income comes from international clients. I understand that Malaysia will tax me if I bring the income back to Malaysia. Do you have any idea how to keep my income overseas?

Some of the things that crossed my mind:
1. offshore bank account like HSBC premier?
2. apply for a VISA in zero/low tax places like UAE, Mauritius, etc, then get a bank account there?
3. Keeping my funds in Paypal/payoneer/wise accounts?

Thanks for your input!
mind sharing what is the estimated income that is derived from foreign source per year?
since you mentioned that your income comes from international clients.....how do you sustain that income without any income to support your expenses locally?

btw,
for your mentioned item 1 & 2,....are you eligible to apply or do that?

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 5 2021, 11:54 PM
MUM
post Nov 8 2021, 02:00 AM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(leesw2263 @ Nov 8 2021, 01:41 AM)
Hi Ramjade
Let say, if I wish to keep my extra income in Fastsaver account, and amount is growing big few years later, bank will question me?
AS I m thinking to save it for my future kids education in Singapore later. maybe 10 years later...

Appreciate your comments

Lee
while waiting for his response,
you can try his recent 6 Nov post
as in post 16
in this thread
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5212522

on this "This extra income, should I make a declaration to Msia tax department or it is exempted as considered foreign source income?"
In the Budget 2022, it has been proposed that income tax be imposed on residents in Malaysia with income derived from foreign sources and received in Malaysia from Jan 1, 2022.
read the link in post 39 page 2
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3524728/+20

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 8 2021, 02:06 AM
MUM
post Nov 9 2021, 05:58 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(leesw2263 @ Nov 9 2021, 05:25 PM)
Thanks Bro.

Since this foreign source income new regulation will be revised in 2022.

My question is if I continue to accumulate and it may reach certain amount remain in Singapore acct.
I dont have intention to bring back malaysia since my current income is sufficient to cover my expenses here.

All income coming into my spore account with valid documentation ie commission agreement if bank ask to provide, can I leave it there for my future education plan for my kids.

Thank you.
hmm.gif since you will using it over there,...M'sia govt should not have reason to questions you...unless, it you need to bring it back,...then they may question you....

just my guesses only....

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 9 2021, 06:48 PM
MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 09:15 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(JJ93 @ Nov 16 2021, 09:07 PM)
Will dividends/capital gains from local robo investing apps ie Stashaway, Wahed etc be taxed when the money is withdrawn to bank account?
from the link in post 123,...

Implications on Malaysian Investment Funds
Malaysian funds that invest abroad will also be disadvantaged, as the foreign income remitted by the funds is now taxable.
Investors may then invest through foreign funds or foreign vehicles, instead of Malaysian funds, as the additional tax cost will reduce the investment returns.
Ultimately, this would result in movement of funds abroad to invest in foreign funds.
MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 09:21 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 16 2021, 09:19 PM)
It is now interesting to watch what will happen to ASNB and EPF dividends. I think EPF will be spared due to its retirement purpose (think 401k and IRA in  the US), ASNB less likely as it is purely an investment vehicle for all sorts of purposes.
biggrin.gif just speculation on my side only.... laugh.gif

i think they had already catch wind of that and had been reducing the dividend pay out to try to make it not as a shock to investors... biggrin.gif
MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 09:55 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(JJ93 @ Nov 16 2021, 09:51 PM)
Wait. Ayam confused a little bit. Capital gains/dividends will be taxed when remitted back (considered as foreign income). But the initial capital is not being taxed?

Example deposited 5k in robo. One year later cash out all in total 6k. So only 1k is taxable? (my guess is YES,...your own capital money will not be taxed, if you had invested thru local fund managers or local platforms. But my guess also,..if you had transfered out your money "legally" and invested overseas, then kept and shows those transaction details to prove that is your capital, maybe you can avoid paying taxes on the capital when you bring back to M'sia)

It's going to be a headache for apps like Wahed/Best that have both foreign and local investments in a single portfolio. How to differentiate? 😂😂 (my guess again is it will automatic computed and done by the fund house)
This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 16 2021, 10:04 PM
MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 10:56 PM

14,854 posts

just read this,...may have potential impact to some forummers here .....

Another common situation, according to Deloitte Malaysia, involves a Malaysian who lives in Johor Baru and commutes daily to Singapore for work.

“He draws a salary from his Singaporean employer. Under the tiebreaker rule, he is a Malaysian tax resident given that his permanent home is in Johor Baru.
Before Jan 1, 2022, he can remit his salary into Malaysia without paying Malaysian tax.
Under the new rule, his remittance would be subject to Malaysian tax,

“The Singapore taxes paid can be used as a set-off. However, he would need to top up the net additional tax and pay the Malaysian tax authorities.
In short, there would be an incremental tax,” it added.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/delo...xation-malaysia
MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 11:00 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(JJ93 @ Nov 16 2021, 10:09 PM)
Thanks MUM for your reply and thoughts. Always very insightful. I guess it's even more important now to keep (perhaps even physical) copies of all these transactions moving forward.
just found this,...

Income vs capital

The first hurdle to cross is to determine whether the monies remitted into Malaysia is income or capital: Income is taxed whilst capital is not.

Taxpayers are going to have difficulties in dealing with this issue since the monies would have been accumulated over a long period of time and unless you have good records, you may have difficulty in arguing that the amount remitted is capital in nature.

What income is taxable?

All types of income will be taxable, and this will include dividend income, interest income, rental income, pension income, employment income, and annuities even though some of these types of income will not be taxable in Malaysia if the income had arisen in Malaysia.

An example would be dividend income paid by Malaysian companies will not be taxable.

more
How is foreign sourced income taxed?
https://www.thesundaily.my/business/how-is-...taxed-AB8535064
MUM
post Nov 16 2021, 11:53 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(terrytan @ Nov 16 2021, 11:51 PM)
Is the budget officially passed in parliament?
i think not yet,...but my guess is very high chances of it being passed....
seldom heard budget proposed items not passed ....
hopefully it may also possible to contain minor changes too

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 16 2021, 11:56 PM
MUM
post Nov 17 2021, 09:29 AM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(Vector88 @ Nov 17 2021, 08:45 AM)
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...sidents/2021425

it says:

“If the review found that the income kept abroad originating from Malaysia has not been reported, additional assessment can be imposed together with penalties in accordance with the provisions of the Income Tax Act 1967,” it said.

meaning if u keep ur money overseas and NOT remiited back to Malaysia (though it was originating from Malaysia), it can be taxed ??!!!
my guess is,
if you can proof that that money is legally acquired in Malaysia, paid taxes and had documented proof that, that money was transferred out of malaysia previously....
then i guess you should not be taxed...

for it mentioned in your link,...
"IRB will review and examine the income information of Malaysian residents deposited abroad that has been received through tax information exchange agreements with other countries."
If the review found that the income kept abroad originating from Malaysia has not been reported, additional assessment can be imposed together with penalties in accordance with the provisions of the Income Tax Act 1967,” it said.

my guess again,...there should be a threshold of the amount of money before they start the reviews....
more of a concerns if the names are listed in the Pandora papers recently....

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 17 2021, 09:39 AM
MUM
post Nov 17 2021, 09:56 AM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 17 2021, 09:42 AM)
me thinks is related to not disclosing the info in the tax form... then they can penalize you... if can't prove is capital from Malaysia, they can just assume is fsi and tax you again...

anyways... gov getting desperate... stupid things can and are happening...
other than "counter checking" with the tax form,....

for it mentioned in earlier link,...
"IRB will review and examine the income information of Malaysian residents deposited abroad that has been received through tax information exchange agreements with other countries."

for most Malaysians working in Spore but stayed in JB, i think they don't submit ITR form to LHDN.....
so i guess LHDN does not know about the foreign a/c if LHDN just rely on the "tick" for disclosing in the form...

MUM
post Nov 17 2021, 07:10 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Nov 17 2021, 06:49 PM)
G tarak money and implements this rule.. KNS

How this new rule applies to those who works in Singapore and is taxed there and then remit money back to Malaysia?

Claim double tax deduction or need to pay tax again?
i happened to read this earlier...

"As for the impact on individuals, Deloitte Malaysia said one common situation involves rental income earned by a Malaysian tax resident from a real property located outside of Malaysia.

Citing a rental income from Singapore as an example, Deloitte Malaysia said, this income is an FSI and would not be taxed in Malaysia presently, but from Jan 1 next year, the income remitted to Malaysia would be taxed.

“In this case, both countries have the right to tax.
To avoid double taxation on the same rental, Malaysia, being the country of residence, would grant foreign tax credit based on a prescribed formula that takes into account the taxes paid in Singapore against the Malaysian tax payable,” it said.

However, it noted, the Malaysian resident landlord would still need to pay the net tax to the Malaysian government.

Another common situation, according to Deloitte Malaysia, involves a Malaysian who lives in Johor Baru and commutes daily to Singapore for work.

“He draws a salary from his Singaporean employer. Under the tiebreaker rule, he is a Malaysian tax resident given that his permanent home is in Johor Baru.
Before Jan 1, 2022, he can remit his salary into Malaysia without paying Malaysian tax.
Under the new rule, his remittance would be subject to Malaysian tax,

“The Singapore taxes paid can be used as a set-off. However, he would need to top up the net additional tax and pay the Malaysian tax authorities. In short, there would be an incremental tax,” it added.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/delo...xation-malaysia

foresee implementation issues that needed ironing out...
page 6
https://www.pwc.com/my/en/assets/publicatio...-2022-Part2.pdf
MUM
post Nov 17 2021, 07:26 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 17 2021, 07:18 PM)
Bros,...

"Sekiranya berdasarkan semakan, didapati pendapatan yang disimpan di luar negara yang berpunca dari Malaysia masih belum dilaporkan, taksiran tambahan boleh dibangkitkan berserta dengan penalti selaras dengan peruntukan Akta Cukai Pendapatan 1967."

It keeps going back to the above expression in bold. How would you define : berpunca dari Malaysia ? I think if you do freelance work for a foreign entity, that would be : berpunca dari Msia.

If you invest into an SG REIT which has nothing to do with anything form Msia,... nothing berpunca dari Msia anymore.

Secondly,.. why is there no more mention of the expression : remitted back to Msia ?
from this article,....it seems like no remit back will also kena?? sweat.gif cry.gif

“After the expiration of the period, IRB will review and examine the income information of Malaysian residents deposited abroad that has been received through tax information exchange agreements with other countries.

“If the review found that the income kept abroad originating from Malaysia has not been reported, additional assessment can be imposed together with penalties in accordance with the provisions of the Income Tax Act 1967,” it said.

Therefore, IRB said taxpayers are encouraged to participate in this special programme in order to update their tax position.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...sidents/2021425

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0519sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:12 AM