Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.25, D500 out now

mingyuyu
post Jan 6 2016, 09:14 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Ignore the d610, even the mighty d750 also priced not far away from the d500.

And people seemed to really like the AF system of the d750 too.

While both D5 and D500 can shoot 4k, Nikon never really mentioned about other important video related features such as peaking/ zebra etc found in most mirrorless.
mingyuyu
post Jan 8 2016, 01:54 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 7 2016, 10:05 AM)
d500 back view.
the AF-ON button is back on DX biggrin.gif

new rubber nipple also tongue.gif

now the 1dx and d5 having the same nipple.
mingyuyu
post Jan 8 2016, 09:48 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Robberfly(s). tongue.gif

user posted imageRobberfly by GM Yong, on Flickr

Found both of them side by side.
mingyuyu
post Jan 9 2016, 04:32 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 9 2016, 02:35 PM)
Yes indeed a very sexy back !  wub.gif
Need to check the samples. If the dynamic range and noise from the D500 is far better than the full frame D800/D810, then it's something to think about. But then looking at just the AF module of the D500 alone, it's a very tempting idea to jump ship back to DX.
that would be totally impossible laugh.gif
mingyuyu
post Jan 10 2016, 12:55 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 10 2016, 12:20 PM)
Nice! Not in UTAR right?  notworthy.gif
Haven't seen any for quite some time already huhu...

One of my favourite species:

nope, found them at my dad's ginger plantation area. smile.gif

those 2 are the most common species in malaysia right?
mingyuyu
post Jan 10 2016, 04:25 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 10 2016, 02:25 PM)
Awesome! Robberflies are not easy to shoot, particularly the wild types  cry.gif

Yeah I believe so yes, they are the more common ones over here. However, they are very poorly studied huhu... feel free to work on them next time for your FYP or postgraduate studies  brows.gif
The first one that I shot is surprisingly cooperative. It flew away as I approach but returned to the same spot and stayed there for like 5-10 minutes.

Haha I haven't finished my foundation yet (sem 4 cry.gif ).
mingyuyu
post Jan 13 2016, 06:14 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 13 2016, 05:34 PM)
That's why I say the Shashinki RM 9540 pricing as "reasonable". Going by their standards, it could have been worse.
who still shops at that website when the prices are always crazy tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Jan 14 2016, 02:42 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 14 2016, 11:39 AM)
whistling.gif
i still use it lol XD

for me high noise > slow shutter  tongue.gif (a bit too heavy after hugging my camera for few hours walking in trip)

but then it is (if) my trip photo so i don't really care about noise that much XDD

inside is one of the photo from my trip, it is too sexy for my standard so i still have dilemma want to post in facebook or not lol. (dem facebook image now cannot direct copy the code and paste here.)

siapa tu, kasi remove the oink oink la. mad.gif
mingyuyu
post Jan 30 2016, 12:42 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 28 2016, 05:23 PM)
Aiks... Wasn't it you and mingyuyu who mentioned that it's not possible and that you've yet to see a crop sensor besting a full frame in noise performance when I considered shifting from FX to DX?  hmm.gif
of course have to be fair when comparing la, if u mean d500 winning d800/d600/d750 it's unlikely. but winning d700 will not be a problem i guess.
mingyuyu
post Feb 5 2016, 02:44 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 4 2016, 04:38 PM)
I certainly hope it's the VC USD model. biggrin.gif
the older one is just doh.gif
mingyuyu
post Feb 5 2016, 11:32 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 5 2016, 03:40 AM)
I had the older one. Was really cheap but at 300mm you can pengsan because the image will turn out very soft and it CA like crazy.
"artistic" ma brows.gif
mingyuyu
post Feb 6 2016, 02:03 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Long time never touch my camera already, time to warm up yawn.gif

Leaf-Footed Bugs (Coreidae) by GM Yong, on Flickr

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Feb 6 2016, 02:04 AM
mingyuyu
post Feb 11 2016, 12:39 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Feb 8 2016, 11:13 PM)
guys,

sad story time

> was using 28-70 2.8 (old heavy lens) for sunset shoot  at the coastline
> found a spot for my shoot and set up my camera on a tripod
> moved the tripod a bit
> tripod head wasn't secured as i thought it was
> camera moved down and len hit the rock
> tried zooming
> zoom mechanism stuck between 35 and 70, can't zoom out to 28
> heard a crack (this is bad)
> lens won't focus
> sent to Nikon Penang for check up
> quoted price for fixing is RM2.8K (replacing the whole AF system)

No, i didn't put the hood on.
To me, it didn't really felt like a heavy impact on the lens, no dent or anything.

For now, i am missing my mid range zoom and will be a bit hard covering weddings with only a 50 1.8/1.4 and 70-200
Definitely Tokina

Used it before on my previous D90, i'd say it's one the best among the 3, even  comparable to Nikon lens.
gg shocking.gif

for that amount of money you can get another 28-70 tongue.gif

EDIT: By the way anyone knows the value of 28mm f2.8D?

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Feb 11 2016, 12:40 AM
mingyuyu
post Feb 13 2016, 10:11 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Feb 13 2016, 05:52 PM)
recent firmware update for d5500 cause the users cannot autofocus on 3rd party lenses....i dunno whether i should update mine or not...
There's such update? I didn't know shocking.gif
mingyuyu
post Feb 14 2016, 11:50 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Feb 14 2016, 02:23 AM)
yup, you can read in in here...

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/57188226

now I dunno whether I want to update mine or not incase I want to buy sigma lens in the future sweat.gif
No point updating the firmware then, any significant advantage that the firmware provides?
mingyuyu
post Feb 15 2016, 02:07 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 15 2016, 12:50 PM)
Want some opinions.

I m using d750 and 50mm 1.8g, 24-120 f4 and tamron 70-300 usd. Thinking to get d7200 too.
Also, wanted to just share using those existing lens with the d7200.
Will the image quality be impacted with those fx lens on dx body ?
you should ask yourself if you really need such high standard of image quality smile.gif
mingyuyu
post Feb 15 2016, 02:51 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 15 2016, 02:27 PM)
Giler la like that. 😓
I no pixel peeping. Just normal shoot and see sharp no blur.
Kaw tiam liao.
then 100% you wont notice the difference.
mingyuyu
post Feb 15 2016, 05:57 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 15 2016, 05:55 PM)
well, EVF mah.... how about getting nikon DF?  laugh.gif
no EVF also sucky sucky one, my little EOS M can't even last for 3 hours of casual picture taking doh.gif
mingyuyu
post Feb 15 2016, 06:17 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 15 2016, 05:59 PM)
Omg! That is even worst than oly em5 and my fuji.
But, the fuji worst than em5.
I have to carry bunch of spares battery.
my em10 lasted about 250-300 pics with wifi used in the middle of shooting.

anyways, my d7000 can easily go over 1k pics tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Feb 20 2016, 03:41 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Long time never shoot anything yawn.gif Some new shots from few days ago.

Sunset by GM Yong, on Flickr

Rays by GM Yong, on Flickr

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0696sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:39 PM