Are Malaysian Flanker and Hornet can reach that spots, if it needed in some "urgent measurement" case ? the development is much worrysome than ever. I read at Singaporean defense forum, they are starting to worry too about Chinese activities in SCS can affect their shipping lane and business....
Although Indonesia and Malaysia is sometimes at odds, personnaly i wish if Malaysian economics getting well and can support your modernization programme
well our Jet quantity too small compare to china, than all jet from Peninsular, we need at lease 1 squadron jet fighter in sabah base which only 400-500km to Spratly island.
Err, I have nothing to do with Malaysian Flying Herald and do not write at all on that blog. Edit: Moreover do not recall writing in 2012 anything regarding MiG hours
Exclusive: Boustead Confirms NSM for the Future Gowind class LCS of the Royal Malaysian Navy
On day 2 of the Langkawi International Maritime & Aerospace exhibition, LIMA 2015, currently held in Malaysia, Navy Recognition met with Anuar Murad, Director of the Defence & Security Division at Boustead Heavy Industries Corporation Berhad (BHIC). During our interview, Mr Anuar gave us the latest update on the program and confirmed Malaysia's intend to procure Kongsberg's Naval Strike Missile (NSM) for its future frigates.
“We are now approaching the end of basic design phase two. We have integrated the systems and equipment into the main whole warship design. We have two more combat system equipments that we have not been able to finalize. For the platform systems equipment, we do have all the major ones already in contract and gone through the design review” said Murad Anuar.
Asked about the anti-ship missile capability of the future RMN LCS, Mr Anuar told exclusively to Navy Recognition: “This is one equipment that has been changed as decided by the Government of Malaysia. We have finished the negotiations with Kongsberg Defense Aerospace and we will soon get into contract with Kongsberg for the Naval Strike Missile”.
We chose the NSM instead of the French Exocet so maybe we won't listen to DCNS for the SAM as well Anyway, the chance is still so small that it's probably not even worth discussing about it
if got more money can get ESSM on gowind too. get MK56 vls with dual pack ESSM also ok liao . but MK41 more future protection.
This post has been edited by waja2000: Mar 19 2015, 09:44 PM
Another reason to still use the OTO-Melara pack howitzer, it's light and easy to transport by helicopter, even to the middle of nowhere! A Nuri helicopter could probably transport the gun, the whole crew and a sizeable amount of ammunition in one go.
same like This howitzer is OTO-Melara ? look very old...... like ww2 product.
This post has been edited by waja2000: Mar 21 2015, 12:00 PM
- RMAF Mig29 fly hours only between 1500~1800 hours, airframe is 4000. propose upgrade to 6000hrs = other 25 year usage - no AESA radar upgrade.
seem different news on Mig29 fly hours. is ability rate is low? i think mig29 fly hours seems very low if follow report. if so such low, better no need upgrade , still can use until 4000. but mainly upgrade new glass cockpit. i still support new jet
This post has been edited by waja2000: Mar 21 2015, 07:53 PM
Well I just asked about it. basically for russia you need to look at the airframes flight hour and the airframe age which for our migs 25 years. Also there is an doubt it can last for another 25 as the qoutes say mainly it is depend on the airframes conditions unless they change the whole airframes completely. anyway these is the answer I get. Perhaps atreyuangle have more info on these.
i still stick Mig29 only have 2000 airframe life or 20 year, same like Su-27, all 1990 an Russia jet fighter production only have 2000 airframe life. china also start retirement soon for first batch su-27 getting in 1995 due to reach end lifespan. at the end, dont think upgrade is good idea.
This post has been edited by waja2000: Mar 21 2015, 08:37 PM
for me, if it cheap, might as well upgrade it for another 10 or so years
channel the money for critical system like AWACS, SAM, ldp and others
then 10 years again, just redo the competition. we should improve our radar system as well with proper awacs
well RMAF try hard to get budget, than got RM 9b ..... dont think willing give to other force. buy AWACS around usd 1B , maybe 2nd phase EC725 other usd 500 mil. also Airforce new radar. maybe can MPA maybe under Navy if with ASW module.
This post has been edited by waja2000: Mar 22 2015, 12:34 AM
About the MPA looks like there will not be any purchase for MPA according to Marhalim's article.
ya i know, MPA can't get it soon. wait other few year later。
QUOTE(thpace @ Mar 22 2015, 01:53 AM)
what i think our armed forces should do is
For MPA, get a good long range like P8 or Airbus A320 MPA and put as join procument between the airforce and navy.
i read a euro report said, Airbus military not really push C319/C320 MPA, i sis they (airbus) push low cost C295 MPA. if really want C319/C320 MPA, Airbus military only start production line if confirm order at lease 20 unit (or combine order) from any country forces.
This post has been edited by waja2000: Mar 22 2015, 09:26 PM
I suppose if they take Rafale things would be faster? Since most of the avionics are French and perhaps it was similar to the one used in our Sukhoi's? IINM some of the stuff are south african as well?
Dassult was really desperate for Malaysia business, they really throwing everything in this year Lima.
ya, just like Egypt bought over 3 Rafale (from France AF) which ready to delivery to France Airforce, jet will delivery to Egypt in June later. 3 unit delivery in dec, in return cost much more expensive. if we buy Rafale should be can get first 2-3 unit in 2 year. France Thales much kknow our military communication system and date, which much easy to speed up delivery. same to F18 should can get in 2-3 year.
ya, P8 is nice. if got money should get it. i think C295 also much suitable for our water, tactically and cost. but for AEW should get B737 MESA much suitable to airforce
1) it missing the distinctive top long bow radar (SG are all AH-64D)
2) From the still, look like it not armed (hellfire/ rocket pod) not on its pylon
3) The chain gun is also look like on standby and not turning to pilot head
not all SG Apache with Longbow radar...... same like Indo, Korea, TW apache too. not all with Longbow radar, they use datalink to share info. for ratio 1:2, 1:4.
This post has been edited by waja2000: Mar 23 2015, 01:23 PM