The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive

NightFelix
post Jun 18 2016, 03:14 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

I just found that only 750 EVO 120GB are selling in MY, the 250GB are missing.
NightFelix
post Jun 21 2016, 12:18 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(comingsoon87 @ Jun 20 2016, 03:14 PM)
I building up a new PC. Trying to boot the WIN7 into the SSD. But always at the successfully finish booted and auto restart to login. Thn blue screen. So, i try to remove, exchange cable and boot again still the same happen. So i remove the SSD and boot to my HDD. It works very fine. Then i use the window to check Bios + update SSD firmware everything the forum i search at google and reboot it only with the SSD alone. But still same problem.
Try to download another clean windows 7 ISO.
NightFelix
post Jun 21 2016, 12:42 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

If only got RM300 budget max, can buy which SSD? hmm.gif
NightFelix
post Jun 21 2016, 02:13 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 21 2016, 01:44 PM)
128gb nia and i dont think its enough just 4 windows only laugh.gif 256gb and top up another 150 is more worthwhile rclxms.gif
Was thinking to put into the laptop. budget tight for my friend.
NightFelix
post Jun 21 2016, 02:53 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 21 2016, 02:37 PM)
The cheapest 240GB SSD would be Kingston UV400 240GB at RM235
Link - http://www.lelong.com.my/kingston-ssdnow-u...7-01-Sale-I.htm
Hmm... Kingston seems to be have bad reputation last time. hmm.gif what you think? how reliable of it?
Also, I'm looking at either 250GB Sandisk Ultra II SSD or 250GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
NightFelix
post Jun 21 2016, 02:56 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Jun 21 2016, 02:18 PM)
240GB sandisk ssd plus
I'm looking at this too.
But which one are newer?
Sandisk SSD Plus 240GB or the Sandisk Ultra II 240GB? Name are confusing but looking at their website, the SSD Plus is entry level using MLC while the Ultra II is using TLC. Hmmm
NightFelix
post Jun 23 2016, 05:27 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

pull trigger bought Samsung 850 EVO 250GB @ RM335
NightFelix
post Jul 1 2016, 03:32 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Jul 1 2016, 03:03 PM)
The SSDplus is using TLC not MLC. The performance of the newer cheap TLC drives are all quite poor, around the level or abit above the BX200. Sustained file transfers on those TLC drives will slow down alot once the small write cache is filled up, then it will be slower than a harddisk. But it should be ok for the usual lyn gamer pc.
Bought 850 EVO instead. tongue.gif Thanks for the clarification bro.
NightFelix
post Jul 2 2016, 04:31 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Jul 2 2016, 02:15 PM)
850 EVO = TLC  sweat.gif
Samsung SSD 850 EVO Endurance: Close to Planar MLC NAND
Samsung SSD 850 EVO is the Best SSD for consumers

The 250GB endurance up to 500TB, lets say you use 20GB per day, you can use 46.8 years.
NightFelix
post Jul 8 2016, 12:56 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(nanpengyou @ Jul 8 2016, 12:04 PM)
Yes. I have done some survey too. which brand is highly recommended?
I'm new to this. Thanks.
I think that is the cheapest you can find for 256GB.
NightFelix
post Oct 20 2016, 12:20 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Oct 20 2016, 10:04 AM)
Are you pre-ordering?

I am just waiting for Samsung to phase out the old Samsung 950 Pro so I can get them on the cheap (if any).
Wait for Black Friday then.
NightFelix
post Nov 2 2016, 03:02 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

due to ringgit inflation. we are hardly notice the difference of price drop.
NightFelix
post Nov 6 2016, 01:13 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

NightFelix
post Nov 28 2016, 12:30 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 27 2016, 05:42 PM)
Weird, it used to be Malaysia's PC hardware much cheaper than Indonesia
Actually all the time Malaysia stuff are cheap BUT the earning power here is not high. whistling.gif
NightFelix
post Dec 2 2016, 05:41 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

isn't backup are better using conventional HDD instead of SSD? sweat.gif
NightFelix
post Dec 5 2016, 02:36 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 5 2016, 11:52 AM)
for 240gb-range drives under myr250.00, there is one oem sale thread:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4122898

also, it's better to have an ups for your computer if it's a desktop. it's not just your ssd that is at risk.
Can we check the age/power-on of the SSD by plugin into our PC?
NightFelix
post Dec 19 2016, 09:51 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(Sone Shin @ Dec 18 2016, 07:55 PM)
Hi Guys,

Wanted to ask, today once I put in the SSD inside my laptop, I try to start the laptop with power button it instant close down.

Once I remove the SSD, I can boot up my laptop again.

Any reason why so? Is it my SSD is broken? :?
I think you should clarify more about your situation, like are you using SSD as your primary or secondary (via HDD Caddy method)?
NightFelix
post Jun 8 2017, 12:54 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 4 2017, 01:23 PM)
for mainstream, samsung 850 evo.

for budget ssd, not sure. just go for well-known brands like intel, samsung, crucial, kingston and sandisk.
not sure this been discussed before.

ever wonder the 120GB of WD Green/Blue SSD? Looking for budget one for my friend as Samsung 850 EVO are out of budget.

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Jun 8 2017, 12:55 PM
NightFelix
post Aug 19 2017, 11:37 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Time for new V6.
hmwgbworld

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top