22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v9, QE feeds the bull. Ride along...

SUSyklooi
post Mar 5 2015, 07:21 PM

8,188 posts

China's stocks erase this year's gain after growth target is cut Published on Mar 5, 2015 3:17 PM -
HONG KONG (Bloomberg) - China's stocks fell, erasing the benchmark index's gain for the year, after the government set the lowest economic growth target in more than 15 years and concern grew new share offerings will divert funds from existing equities. The Shanghai Composite Index slid 1.4 per cent to 3,233.58 at 1:53 p.m., - See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/business/...h.n48AFvlp.dpuf

Ponzi 2.0 has 35% in HK & China....
SUSyklooi
post Mar 5 2015, 07:38 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 4 2015, 02:17 PM)
My opinion is the same.. as long as there is QE backup supporting the market. Should look alright for the time being (near future)..
hmm.gif hmm.gif
"Putting such considerations to one side, however, there are grounds for caution.
First, the ECB is late to the party. QE came far earlier in the United States, when bond yields were higher and policy could therefore have a stronger influence.
Second, as former US Treasury Secretary Larry Summers has pointed out, US QE was unexpected – and therefore provided the economy with a “jolt” in a way that well-flagged ECB moves may not.
And finally, US QE worked through the capital markets, whereas Eurozone credit is largely bank-based.
Question marks remain over the transmission from QE to bank lending, despite Mr Draghi’s bullishness, though modest signs of life in the latest Eurozone bank lending survey are at least encouraging.
In summary, therefore, the ECB’s announcements may be welcome; they may be necessary; but whether they will be sufficient remains to be seen."

Aberdeen: ECB's QE and Negative Yield Consequences .....March 5, 2015
Author : Aberdeen International Fund Managers Ltd http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...?articleNo=9421

SUSyklooi
post Mar 6 2015, 04:36 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Mar 6 2015, 04:20 PM)
Is it a good time to accumulate for KGF because the price has been dropped a lot recently?
what caused it's dropped?
did it dropped because of income distribution or because the market(s) in which the fund invested in had corrected/crashed thus causing underlying stocks invested by the fund undervalued?
Based on "PAST" performance of KGF......I think anytime is ALSO a GOOD time to invest........buy when market dips (not NAV dipped due to income distribution) is always better.

".....investors should never solely judge if a fund is cheap or expensive based on its fund price. Instead, investors may find it more helpful if they are aware of the valuation (or estimated price-earning ratios) of the underlying equity market which the fund invests in. It is also useful to observe how a fund has performed over a period of time rather than just for short bouts of time. "
http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...?articleNo=2690

btw....KGF just declared income distribution on 26 Feb 2015...thus caused it's NAV to drop.
SUSyklooi
post Mar 6 2015, 05:06 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xinkof @ Mar 6 2015, 04:21 PM)
anyone knows if fund always declare income distribution at the same time every year?
I'm asking for Ponzi 2.0. will it declare on March 2015 according to previous records?
hmm.gif
based
1) on "past" distribution history dates....
2) financial year end date ---31 Mar
3) its distribution policy ----Depending on the level of income (if any) the Fund generates, the Fund aims to distribute part or all of its distributable income on an annual basis.

YES, I think there is a "High' probability of income distribution on Mar 2015 too.
NO, I do know "if a fund always declare income distribution at the same time every year"....I never monitor it for remembrance....just take notice and forget.

rclxms.gif a simple Yes/No to a simple question. that's all... thumbup.gif icon_idea.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 6 2015, 05:13 PM

SUSyklooi
post Mar 6 2015, 08:47 PM

8,188 posts

Malaysian exports contract
• 6 Mar 2015 at 18:49

KUALA LUMPUR — Malaysia's exports contracted by 0.6% on an annual basis in January due to a decline in demand for petroleum and palm-oil based products, the government said Friday.

Exports receipts for January totaled 63.60 billion ringgit (565 billion baht), down from 63.97 billion ringgit a year ago, according to the Department of Statistics.

The agency said that refined petroleum products, which accounted for 5.4% of total exports, fell by 41.8% to 3.4 billion ringgit due to a drop in both value and export volume.

Exports of palm oil and palm-based products, which account for 7.2% of total exports, also decreased by 15.3% to 4.6 billion ringgit.

Export to China, one of the country's largest trading market, dropped by 22.7%.

January imports also slipped year-on-year to 54.6 billion ringgit from 57.6 billion, mainly due to a drop in the purchase of intermediate goods such as fuel and lubricants, which constituted 60.6% of the country's imports.

http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/asean/4907...xports-contract

doh.gif cry.gif
SUSyklooi
post Mar 6 2015, 10:38 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 6 2015, 10:29 PM)
I hate to update my file everytime when funds give distribution.  Help me....!!!
hmm.gif
possible solution that you can do
get fund that does not give out distribution
update it less often
update it once a year
DON't update it at all
Use the FSM holdings as the only one
Pay someone else to update for you

anyone got more to add? notworthy.gif

just a note...do that only if you don't care about the IRR monitoring

SUSyklooi
post Mar 6 2015, 10:53 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 6 2015, 10:45 PM)
My monitoring based on irr is important to me. I based on irr to decide on rebalancing.

I updated my portfolio less frequent now. So will update distribution together if any. Sometimes I stretched till one month just update portfolio.
hmm.gif from your experience in doing that.....just wondering
1) how much changes (ex, drop) in the IRR will you then do the top up?
2) how much % of NAV changes will trigger the top up call?
SUSyklooi
post Mar 6 2015, 11:14 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 6 2015, 11:05 PM)
For top up I am not really looking at irr. Coz long term ma..  Will top up periodically.  If market down just top up more. If market goes up and it I'd time to top up,  ma top up less.

Irr for now is my main reference for rebalancing to lock some profits. Not really on balancing % of market or equity : bond

Not sure if this is correct way or not...  😆
ok,..thanks for the response....

ok,...same question but on another sentence...
"Irr for now is my main reference for rebalancing to lock some profits."

from your experience in doing that.....just wondering
1) how much changes (ex, up) in the IRR will you then lock in profit?
2) how much % of NAV changes will trigger the lock in profit call?
3) how much % of the allocation will you "sell/switch" out? notworthy.gif
SUSyklooi
post Mar 6 2015, 11:44 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 6 2015, 11:35 PM)
I am flexible..  Don't put a fix number. It will depends on that particular time when I am doing it.

1/ when IRR above 20% after 2 years then will consider balance it by lock some profit.

2/ looking at irr ma.  But if less than a year..  I may lock some profit when roi is above 40%

3/ this to be frank will depends where I move the money. Back to equity or bond or fix income. Each market could edition that time. I have no answer for now..
rclxms.gif thanks again for the response...

hmm.gif I thought I did recall someone in this forum did say...taking profit in stock market IS NOT the same as taking profit in funds......
SUSyklooi
post Mar 7 2015, 08:04 AM

8,188 posts

Wall Street did not like the better-than-expected jobs report fearing it could bring rate hikes sooner rather than later.
"You have to think that report makes the likelihood of a June rate increase somewhat higher,"
http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/03/06/...N0M21AP20150306
Blood on the Markets on Monday and the rest of the week(s)?

Attached image(s)
SUSyklooi
post Mar 7 2015, 02:14 PM

8,188 posts

news from our neighbor...EXPECTs almost similar result over here?.....be PREPARED!

Listed firms 2014 profits hit by oil slump....... 7 Mar 2015 at 12:23

Listed companies reported a 11.31% drop in their combined 2014 net profits to 701.59 billion baht on sales totalling 11.51 trillion baht, up 3.61% year-on-year. For the fourth quarter of 2014, their combined...

Net profits, however, fell 11.31% to 11.51 trillion baht, largely due to the shrinking net profits of energy, petrochemical and utility companies, which were hard hit by inventory losses in the wake of...
The most profitable sectors were: banking, information and communication technology, property development, food and beverages and insurance, he said.
http://www.bangkokpost.com/business/financ...it-by-oil-slump

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 7 2015, 02:15 PM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 8 2015, 12:05 PM

8,188 posts

just wake up and got this BAD noise.... doh.gif

Foreign banks tighten lending rules for China state-backed companies Published on Mar 8, 2015 -

SHANGHAI/HONG KONG (Reuters) - Some banks are adopting stricter lending criteria for China's state-owned enterprises (SOEs), demanding collateral from some companies they used to deem as safe as government debt, as Beijing tries to reform its bloated firms and the economy slows.

Such changes in policy suggest some foreign banks are preparing for a rise in defaults in the world's second-largest economy, which is growing at its slowest pace in a quarter of a century and where the government is trying to make the state sector more efficient. - See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/business/...h.9xNIX9jH.dpuf

Ponzi 1.0 got 4.6% in CN
Ponzi 2.0 got 35% in HK/CN
SUSyklooi
post Mar 9 2015, 09:43 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Mar 9 2015, 09:41 AM)
Just sold few funds days ago... Now looking for fund shopping day ahead.
rclxms.gif you are so lucky..... hmm.gif
btw, what made you sold a few funds days ago?.... hmm.gif example,...why not last month?
crystal balls at home? brows.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 9 2015, 09:44 AM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 9 2015, 09:58 AM

8,188 posts

Despite downbeat forecasts on the economy leave your portfolio on the table...Monday, 9 March 2015
.....After all, it’s always about “RTM” – “Reversion To Mean” which means that anything that moves up or down will eventually revert to the long-term historical average return.
So, leave your portfolio on the table. It’s more harmful when you move them in and out with the maddening crowds. The conclusion is that volatility is never non-existent in any year and certainly 2015 won’t be an exception.
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...owds/?style=biz
hmm.gif or "cabut" now and come back to fight another day? hmm.gif

SUSyklooi
post Mar 9 2015, 05:38 PM

8,188 posts

Malaysia’s falling international reserves in the last four months may lead to financial crisis if Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) does not implement adequate measures, according to think tank Institut Rakyat.

Malaysia Foreign Exchange Reserves

Foreign Exchange Reserves in Malaysia decreased to 111679.90 USD Million in January of 2015 from 116978.20 USD Million in December of 2014. Foreign Exchange Reserves in Malaysia averaged 81698.29 USD Million from 1997 until 2015, reaching an all time high of 155165.30 USD Million in August of 2011 and a record low of 20234.20 USD Million in August of 1998. Foreign Exchange Reserves in Malaysia is reported by the Central Bank of Malaysia.

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/f...change-reserves

what is the implication of a falling foreign exchange reserves?
why suddenly fell so steep?
interest rate to rise/fall?
mkt to go up/down?

SUSyklooi
post Mar 9 2015, 07:17 PM

8,188 posts

doh.gif European shares fall as ECB starts buying bonds....Mon Mar 9, 2015

PARIS, March 9 (Reuters) - European shares fell on Monday with investors booking recent lofty gains as the European Central Bank begins its programme of bond purchases, aimed at boosting inflation and growth.

The market has strongly rallied since the start of the year, with the FTSEurofirst 300 surging 14 percent in the run-up to the start of the ECB's quantitative easing programme, under which it will buy 60 billion euros a month of bonds.

"It's 'buy the rumour, sell the news'. European stocks have jumped 15 percent since the start of the year and the positive impact from QE has broadly been priced in by now," Saxo Bank trader Pierre Martin said.

http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/03/09/...N0WB1G220150309

SUSyklooi
post Mar 9 2015, 07:53 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(adamdacutie @ Mar 9 2015, 03:37 PM)
India rocks smile.gif  smile.gif  rclxms.gif
hmm.gif I maybe seriously wrong...but M.O.M comparison.....seems like the ROI is slowing down a lot...or is it just a 1 month incident?...have to monitor again....

data from here....monthly mkt update - india

https://www.fundsupermart.co.in/main/articl...March_iFAST.pdf

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 9 2015, 07:56 PM

SUSyklooi
post Mar 9 2015, 09:37 PM

8,188 posts

Rational Man Versus Psychological Realities....
In this update, Henderson's Chief Economist, Dr Shane Oliver explores how investor psychology influences equity markets. ....Author : Dr Shane Oliver

IMPLICATIONS FOR INVESTORS

The influence of investor psychology on investment markets has several implications. The first is to recognise that markets are not just driven by fundamentals, but also by the irrational expectations and erratic behaviour of millions of investors. But investors also need to recognise that not only are investment markets highly unstable but they can also be highly seductive. The trick here is to be at least aware of past booms and busts, such that when they arise in the future you do not overreact. This is the best defence against Mr Market?s seductive tricks.

Secondly, investors need to recognise their own analytical and emotional capabilities ? in other words be aware of how they are influenced by the lapses of logic and crowd influences noted above.

The third is for investors to choose a strategy which is able to withstand inevitable crises and yet remain consistent with their financial objectives and risk tolerance.

The fourth is to essentially stick to this broad strategy even when surging prices / plunging values might tempt a change.

Finally, if investors are tempted to trade ? they should do so on a contrarian basis. Buy when the crowd is bearish, sell when it is bullish. Extremes of bullishness often signal market tops, whereas extremes of bearishness often signal market bottoms. Contrarian investing though is not fool proof ? just because the crowd looks irrationally bullish (or bearish) does not mean that it cannot get more bullish or bearish, taking the price up (or down) further.

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...?articleNo=1089

Making Money From Investors' Irrational Behaviour
Behavioural finance is the study of how emotions affect our decisions to invest
HOW A BEHAVIOURAL FINANCE FUND WORKS

According to Douglas, the predictable yet irrational behaviour of investors causes mispricing of securities on the stock market. This then presents an opportunity for profit. He claims that asset managers are in a position to exploit this opportunity if they know exactly when to jump in and buy a stock. The goal of the behavioural finance fund is to buy low and sell high.

The Behavioural Finance investment strategy is complex. Ho explains that he measures certain indicators like whether a stock is undervalued, or if investors may have overreacted. He also takes into account longer term trends of a company. This information is processed by a computer software which then selects 60 stocks out of a much larger pool of stocks. These pickings form the fund's holdings. The process is repeated every month. Those stocks that are not on the list, but are still in the fund's holdings are sold off.
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...l?articleNo=404

doh.gif wow,..pening-lah.... rclxub.gif well, just leave it to the FMs....shut off the news reports....come back months later...may vmad.gif and ask WTF...how come my portfolio dropped so much!!! tongue.gif.
..well that is predictable behavior but irrational because if make profit did not say thank you to the FMs.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 9 2015, 09:47 PM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 9 2015, 09:56 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Mar 9 2015, 09:51 PM)
Er, no you can't, ie not just leave to the FM. You need to include the following as well:

Step 1. Decide on the broader market/segment/sector the fund is invested in.

Step 2. Decide on how your selected Fund Manager is performing in relation to other managers in Step 1.

DCA/VCA or any systematic system doesn't help either, because it doesn't distinguish between a good or a bad fund.
in step 1...if the big brother US dropped...I think ALL also kena.....
step 2...ok
SUSyklooi
post Mar 9 2015, 10:15 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Mar 9 2015, 10:06 PM)
Sure, have some input, which is what I was getting at. Rather than leaving it entirely to the FM, and "hope for the best".

BTW, US indices look green at the moment.
i would still leave it to the FMs and hoped for the best...AFTER I had set up a diversified portfolio at the ratio that I am comfortable at, with the monies that can left untouched for a few years.....occasionally review to see how the FMs are doing.....Change if like what you mentioned in step 2...

22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:20 AM