Fundsupermart.com v9, QE feeds the bull. Ride along...
Vanguard 2015
Apr 1 2015, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 1 2015, 02:06 PM) just switched my BRIC to China-India Dynamic NO Switching fees! Yes, I believe RHB-OSK will waive the switching fee for intra fund switching if they are closing down a fund. I still haven't switched my RHB-OSK Global Multi Manager fund yet which they are also closing down. Waiting for inspiration. I don't know what to switch into anymore. Maybe RHB-OSK Islamic Bond Fund. This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Apr 1 2015, 03:51 PM
Vanguard 2015
Apr 1 2015, 04:01 PM
It is a good thing that the TA Fund House introduced the TA Dana Afif sukuk fund. Now we can do portfolio rebalancing by switching the profits from the TA European Equity into the TA Dana Afif Fund if necessary.
The only problem now is Aberdeen Islamic World Equity Fund. It does not offer a bond fund. Therefore the only way to take the profits off the table is to switch it into the RHB-OSK Cash Management Fund 2, which is akin to selling the fund. But later we will have to pay the sales charges again when we buy back into the Aberdeen Equity Fund.
This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Apr 1 2015, 04:59 PM
Vanguard 2015
Apr 1 2015, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 1 2015, 04:03 PM)  seem like a "good" fund.... not sure how is the status now....long time did not follow the "inside" of this fund. have to read the annual reports to see what is the latest status...(maybe have to read back the reports of past issues) Managed to get back all the monies? http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=2062Hi Mr. Looi, thanks a lot for the link. It is very helpful. I can only assume that RHB must have recovered all the monies. Recently the RHB OSK Islamic Bond Fund still won the best award for Islamic Bond MYR for the 3 years, 5 years and 10 years category under the Edge-Lipper Malaysian Fund Awards 2015.
Vanguard 2015
Apr 1 2015, 04:39 PM
I just realised that RHB-OSK has taken steps to close down another fund known as RHB OSK Agriculture Fund. They stopped accepting new investment since 27th February 2015. The fund size is only RM0.88 million.
I noticed that there are a number of funds under RHB-OSK which are quite small. For e.g. the RHB-OSK Multi Asset Recovery Strategy Fund only has RM2.31 million.
Even their star performer, RHB-OSK China India Dynamic Growth Fund, only has a fund size of RM16.28 million. It is really small if we compare it to other fund houses.
Does this mean that RHB-OSK will be closing down a number of their small funds in the future because the fund size cannot sustain the expense ratio?
Vanguard 2015
Apr 1 2015, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 1 2015, 04:33 PM) with such good track records....wondering why FSM did not RE-recommending it after it exit from the recommended fund list in Nov 2011? http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=1767different evaluation criteria?  No idea why FSM did that. Maybe we should send an e-mail to Zizi Ng, the customer service manager at FSM, to make an enquiry?
Vanguard 2015
Apr 1 2015, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(yeowhock @ Apr 1 2015, 05:24 PM) I have it, RHB-OSK Islamic Bond Fund, since mid Oct 2014, slowed down n gave a few rounds of negative change(%) towards year end, same for AMB Income Trust, i guess none escape from the oil slide terror up to date return 2.56%  AMB Income still doing their distribution, almost a month d, sloowwww... Thanks for the info. I appreciate it.
Vanguard 2015
Apr 3 2015, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 1 2015, 04:33 PM) with such good track records....wondering why FSM did not RE-recommending it after it exit from the recommended fund list in Nov 2011? http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=1767different evaluation criteria?  Good morning Mr. Looi. I sent an e-mail to FSM on 1st April 2015 enquiring about the RHB-OSK Islamic Bond Fund and received a reply from FSM just now. Dear Zizi, On 10th November 2011, FSM took the RHB Islamic Bond Fund out of the Recommended Fund. Potential new investors were advised not to buy into this fund. This is because of the problem with the Class C Sukuk which the fund was holding. Please see the link at http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=1767 Recently the RHB OSK Islamic Bond Fund still won the best award for Islamic Bond MYR for the 3 years, 5 years and 10 years category under the Edge-Lipper Malaysian Fund Awards 2015. Therefore does this mean that it is safe for new investors to buy into this fund now? Thank you. Best regards,
XXX
Dear XXX,
Thanks for the email.
According to the fund house, they have completed their full redemption on Class C Sukuk on 12 August 2014. We did not receive any further negative information from the fund.
I believe the concern has been removed. You may consider this fund when you are choosing fixed income fund. Nevertheless, I noted that your current portfolio is already well diversified, hence, should similar event happen in the future, the risk should be limited.
We hope this clarify your enquiry.
Happy investing.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance.
Thank you and have a pleasant day.
Regards,
Andy Wong Client Investment Specialist Hotline: (03) 2149 0567 Email: investhelp.my@fundsupermart.com
This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Apr 3 2015, 09:59 AM
Vanguard 2015
Apr 3 2015, 10:20 AM
I just switched my profits from the EISC into the Eastspring Investments Asia Pacific Shariah Equity Fund. The performance of the EIAPS is not bad this year. It outperformed Ponzi 1 and Ponzi 2.
This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Apr 3 2015, 10:22 AM
Vanguard 2015
Apr 3 2015, 10:34 AM
More "noise" from the market. Should we follow the "noise" or shut out the "noise"? News from The Edge Financial Daily today. http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/t...2q-—-analystsQUOTE Tougher market in 2Q — analysts
By Shalini Kumar / The Edge Financial Daily | April 3, 2015 : 9:43 AM MYT
KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysian stocks could be in for further volatility as analysts expect the second quarter (2Q) — which started on April 1 — to be the worst quarter of the year due to the overall negative sentiment and macroeconomic factors weighing on investors’ minds….
“In summary, we continue to think that 2015 will be a year full of shifting sands and uncertainty. Notwithstanding that, we think that the market will be calmer in the second half year (2H15) as the prospect of the United States adjusting its policy rate will be fully priced in by then, making investing decisions easier, accurate and predictable,” it said in a note yesterday. M&A’s KLCI target for the end of 1H15 is 1,840 points, pegged at a price-to-earnings ratio of 16 times, with an “overweight” call on the auto, construction, rubber glove and telco sectors in 2Q. Meanwhile, Maybank Investment Bank Research said it would continue to advocate a defensive strategy in 2Q and has an “overweight” call on the power, construction, O&G, glove, port and technology sectors. Its year-end KLCI forecast remains at 1,830 points. In 1Q, the KLCI rose 3.95% to close at 1,830.78 points on Tuesday…." This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Apr 3 2015, 10:52 AM
Vanguard 2015
Apr 3 2015, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 3 2015, 10:26 AM)  Thanks for the info....I think many readers would appreciates this latest info.... just an added note: RHB-OSK ISLAMIC BOND FUND has Redemption fee: Redeem on or before 1st year is 1.0% of the Repurchase Price per Unit; no redemption fee after the 1st year. so not really good for parking while waiting for opportunity. I agree with you. This fund is meant for long term investment of 1 year or more. It is for asset allocation purpose of 80% equity and 20% bond fund (Note: This allocation is not cast in stone and depends on the individual's age, financial commitments, risk tolerance, etc). RHB-OSK Islamic Bond Fund is also a bit more volatile at 5.31 annualised volatility for the past 3 years as compared to RHB-OSK Bond Fund at 1.84 volatility. But RHB-OSK Islamic Bond Fund has been giving an average annualised return of 8.2% for the past 5 years. Anyway, I have decided to switch my RHB-OSK Multi Manager Fund into this RHB-OSK Islamic Bond Fund. Wish me luck! This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Apr 3 2015, 10:58 AM
Vanguard 2015
Apr 4 2015, 01:50 PM
Eh, FSM forum turned into property forum? Mr Looi is right, the last property rescession that Malaysia had was in the 1980's. Will there be another property bubble burst? Nobody knows. My 2 cents view is that a market correction may be a more accurate description. If it does happen, it will only affect condominiums and office shop lots. If we are expecting a 10% to 20% decrease in prices for landed residential properties, it will never happen. So when is the best time to buy? IMHO, if we are buying for our own long term stay, it does not matter when we buy. In fact we should buy now if we can afford it. No point trying to 'time' the property market. If we are buying for investment...I suggest we have the spare cash to service the housing loan for at least 6 to 12 months in case we can't find a tenant. We can also go to the Malaysian Property Expo at Mid Valley from 4th April 2015 to 5th April 2015 from 2.30 pm onwards for the public talks on property investment. Sorry ah Pink Spider. I am way off topic.
Vanguard 2015
Apr 6 2015, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 6 2015, 04:29 PM) for those that are seeking for "Best" funds for the current period..... 1Q 2015 Top And Bottom Equity Funds: Outstanding Start For Equities http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=5703  RHB OSK funds........ Actually I am curious as to how do they calculate the returns? For example the returns for the RHB-OSK China-India Dynamic Growth Fund for the 2015 1st quarter is stated as 13.2 %. But when I look at my portfolio for the RHB-OSK China-India Dynamic Growth Fund for the 1st quarter, the profit is only around 5.00%. Isn't it supposed to be the same figure as the returns?
Vanguard 2015
Apr 6 2015, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 6 2015, 04:29 PM) for those that are seeking for "Best" funds for the current period..... 1Q 2015 Top And Bottom Equity Funds: Outstanding Start For Equities http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=5703  RHB OSK funds........ No, no and no. No more buying into RHB OSK funds for me please.
Vanguard 2015
Apr 6 2015, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 6 2015, 05:11 PM) Ok thank you. Something wrong somewhere with my portfolio as shown in FSM. I will have to analyse the data again.
Vanguard 2015
Apr 7 2015, 05:01 PM
So what is the conclusion ladies and gentlemen? Should we increase our portfolio for China? I thought of pouring more money into the CIMB-Principal Greater China Equity Fund. I already have the RHB-OSK China-India Dynamic Growth which is about 7% of my total portfolio. Decision, decision....
Vanguard 2015
Apr 7 2015, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 7 2015, 05:23 PM) consulted them, and the advise is that Basket can hold China Vegestable, India Got coconuts, the umbrella can shield bad omens...... so China and India can still go for now.  Walao, this is better than Warren Buffett and Peter Lynch combined.
Vanguard 2015
Apr 7 2015, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(yck1987 @ Apr 7 2015, 05:32 PM) Actually I already consulted advice from CIS. Here's their reply. "For Chinese markets, we expect that the Chinese A-share market can continue its momentum to rally more as China may adopt a more aggressive monetary policy to support and promote credit lending activities in order to maintain a desired economic growth momentum in 2015 and lead to better market sentiment in 1H2015. For India, we are less bullish on them, as their current market performance has been very politically driven. Since Modi’s rise to power, his government has promised reforms that should help the country face some of its economic challenges. Much of the current positive investor sentiment, rides on the expectation that Modi can drive forward these reforms. These reforms should help India’s economy in the long run, however in the event that Modi’s government faces problems in implementing their desired reforms, equity market may turn volatile to reflect the dampening of investor sentiment." Just take it for your reference and judge it.  Thanks a lot. I think I may increase my CIMB China fund to a total of 5%.
Vanguard 2015
Apr 8 2015, 10:18 AM
I had already switched out from Ponzi 1 sometime ago into the Affin Hwang Japan Growth Fund. Is it possible that Ponzi 1 has run its course after a stellar performance of 10 years?
I am a bit nervous about the China markets. Most of the Asian funds already have exposure to the China market. For example, Ponzi 2 has exposure to the China markets as follows:-
Hong Kong 19.95% China 18.05%
So if anything happens to the China market, most of the Asian funds will be affected. I still remember what happened to the PB China Pacific Equity Fund years ago.
I am now waiting for some bullets to arrive. Time to top up my global funds.
This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Apr 8 2015, 10:43 AM
Vanguard 2015
Apr 8 2015, 10:20 AM
The local market is going up because the foreign investors are in again. The best performance in my portfolio thus far are KGF and EISC. Go figure. This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Apr 8 2015, 10:30 AM
Vanguard 2015
Apr 8 2015, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(moon0610 @ Apr 8 2015, 11:37 AM)  yea.. Do you guys think i should buy in again when the time drop a lil now? At least like lower down the average  CIMB Global Titans and Aberdeen Islamic World Equity are both good funds. They are not sector based or country based. These funds will last the distance and perform in the long run. Just hold on to them and be patient. If you wish to recover faster, then practise DCA or better still, DVA. No more lump sum investing for you OK? Good luck and don't panic. This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Apr 8 2015, 11:59 AM