~ Home sweet home renovation journey ~, 18x65, 1506 sq

TSGalaxy Angel
post Jul 5 2017, 04:03 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(ron c @ Jul 5 2017, 01:12 PM)
There is a house in Wangsa Maju that looks almost exactly like this.
How much was your folding gate without the automation?
I was quoted RM2,900 for around 11ft, just for the folding gate.
Mine is swing gate, 12 fts, will need to check back the price.
mrstohchu
post Jul 24 2017, 12:15 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Feb 9 2015, 10:30 PM)
Total paid for MBSA was RM 2544, including RM 1000 deposit for Alam Flora Tong RORO, RM500 deposit for process plan and RM 200 for deposit to put construction materials.
After complete renovation, can get back RM 1200, can't get back the RM500 as my extended kitchen was slab instead of roof.
Means total paid for permit was RM 1344.
Hi, newbie poster here.

I've been a lurker for a while...

Just brought a house and looking to start my reno journey. Planning to extend me house. Can you advice the procedure to do so?

TIA!
mafa2801
post Jul 24 2017, 10:25 AM

765 posts

QUOTE(mrstohchu @ Jul 24 2017, 12:15 AM)
Hi, newbie poster here.

I've been a lurker for a while...

Just brought a house and looking to start my reno journey. Planning to extend me house. Can you advice the procedure to do so?

TIA!
Refer to majlis if u want to have approval for your building / house (MBSA / MBPJ / DBKL etc)..
Normally they have specific design and sometime you will dislike it..

Get quote from several contractors..if agree, then engage them..

Manage ur contractors..u have to frequently pay visit to the progress..because we are working with human here.. biggrin.gif

Having approval from majlis will eventually increase ur house valuation.
Valuers value ur house based on approval. thumbup.gif
mrstohchu
post Jul 25 2017, 09:43 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(mafa2801 @ Jul 24 2017, 10:25 AM)
Refer to majlis if u want to have approval for your building / house (MBSA / MBPJ / DBKL etc)..
Normally they have specific design and sometime you will dislike it..

Get quote from several contractors..if agree, then engage them..

Manage ur contractors..u have to frequently pay visit to the progress..because we are working with human here.. biggrin.gif

Having approval from majlis will eventually increase ur house valuation.
Valuers value ur house based on approval.  thumbup.gif
Mine should be under MBPJ...what do you mean specific design? Thought whole idea is that we are renovating so can come up with our own design?

Sorry~ Newb here. First time renovating 😅

I plan to ask imam to quote once I get the keys. Sourcing around for other contractors too. How many did you speak to before you decided on imam?

This post has been edited by mrstohchu: Jul 25 2017, 09:46 AM
mafa2801
post Jul 25 2017, 11:32 AM

765 posts

QUOTE(mrstohchu @ Jul 25 2017, 09:43 AM)
Mine should be under MBPJ...what do you mean specific design? Thought whole idea is that we are renovating so can come up with our own design?

I plan to ask imam to quote once I get the keys. Sourcing around for other contractors too. How many did you speak to before you decided on imam?
For fast and easy approval by majlis, they will suggest their design..

if you're going for your own design, you must ensure / engage / hire a reliable consultant / engineers / architects and etc which know majlis standards / law / restriction and etc..
Otherwise, might involve lots of design change and etc..which is not free..prepare for panadol actifast!
Reubs
post Jul 25 2017, 11:38 AM

257 posts

I've recently engaged Imam as well. However Imam is not a CIDB certified contractor. In order for you to obtain the CCC aka Certificate of Fitness, your contractor needs to be registered with CIDB.
mrstohchu
post Jul 25 2017, 02:47 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jul 25 2017, 11:38 AM)
I've recently engaged Imam as well. However Imam is not a CIDB certified contractor. In order for you to obtain the CCC aka Certificate of Fitness, your contractor needs to be registered with CIDB.
Hi Reubs, how is Imam's work? Price point? Attitude?
I know hard to achieve cheap / good / fast so I'm hoping for cheap and good. Can accept slow.

Would you recommend him?
mrstohchu
post Jul 25 2017, 02:51 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mafa2801 @ Jul 25 2017, 11:32 AM)
For fast and easy approval by majlis, they will suggest their design..

if you're going for your own design, you must ensure / engage / hire a reliable consultant / engineers / architects and etc which know majlis standards / law / restriction and etc..
Otherwise, might involve lots of design change and etc..which is not free..prepare for panadol actifast!
Urm... to clarify. I am not planning to do major works. No 💰. 😅

Just something like what galaxy angel did which is ground flood extension of 5ft. House has 5ft side land, so just wanting to extend the back half portion out by that extra 5ft.

Thank you to all the sifus for the advise. Will share my reno journey when it starts. Excited and worried at the same time.
mrstohchu
post Jul 25 2017, 02:58 PM

30 posts

Btw, anyone knows why there is that knob above the toilet???

Kinda weird to have something sticking out like that. What do you guys normally do to resolve this 'ugly look' issue?
mrstohchu
post Jul 25 2017, 03:00 PM

30 posts

Kinda weird to have something sticking out like that. What do you guys normally do to resolve this 'ugly look' issue?

Reubs
post Jul 25 2017, 03:42 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(mrstohchu @ Jul 25 2017, 02:47 PM)
I know hard to achieve cheap / good / fast so I'm hoping for cheap and good. Can accept slow.

Would you recommend him?
Hi mrstohchu,

I've only been in contact with him. He's came over to my place once for a site visit. Friendly chap, reasonable as well in terms of pricing.

However as I've mentioned, I did not proceed with him because he isn't registered under CIDB. So there's no way the council will issue the CCC upon completion of my renovation.
Reubs
post Jul 25 2017, 03:57 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(mrstohchu @ Jul 25 2017, 03:00 PM)

I believe that's the water supply tap to your faucet / sink / shower.

You can always change the knob to something that suits your taste.
mrstohchu
post Jul 25 2017, 04:16 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jul 25 2017, 03:57 PM)
I believe that's the water supply tap to your faucet / sink / shower.
You can always change the knob to something that suits your taste.
How about no knob tongue.gif

Wondering why didn't they build it such that it is hidden under the sink. So meaning if i want to address the issue, i got to hack the wall, re-do the piping if i want to shift the supply tab to under the sink/cabinet to hide it?
Reubs
post Jul 25 2017, 05:01 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(mrstohchu @ Jul 25 2017, 04:16 PM)
How about no knob  tongue.gif

Wondering why didn't they build it such that it is hidden under the sink. So meaning if i want to address the issue, i got to hack the wall, re-do the piping if i want to shift the supply tab to under the sink/cabinet to hide it?
Yes, you'd need to hack the wall depending on the position of the piping in the wall. The shutoff valve can be positioned below.
mrstohchu
post Jul 25 2017, 05:38 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jul 25 2017, 05:01 PM)
Yes, you'd need to hack the wall depending on the position of the piping in the wall. The shutoff valve can be positioned below.
Thanks!! thumbsup.gif
TSGalaxy Angel
post Jul 25 2017, 10:33 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jul 25 2017, 03:42 PM)
Hi mrstohchu,

I've only been in contact with him. He's came over to my place once for a site visit. Friendly chap, reasonable as well in terms of pricing.

However as I've mentioned, I did not proceed with him because he isn't registered under CIDB. So there's no way the council will issue the CCC upon completion of my renovation.
Normally CF will issue first only then we can collect the key from developer. At that time you collecting the key, you will also collecting the CF, this is happen to me.
TSGalaxy Angel
post Jul 25 2017, 10:34 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(Reubs @ Jul 25 2017, 05:01 PM)
Anything is possible with $$, but bare in mind of those hacking and reallocation will cost you a lot.
TSGalaxy Angel
post Jul 25 2017, 10:53 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(mrstohchu @ Jul 25 2017, 02:47 PM)

Would you recommend him?
My 5ft extension about RM 20k at that time (no major hacking and re-allocation), 3 years back before GST. For now price will sure increase. You can do a check with Imam, no harm.
As mentioned by other forumer, better get quote from several contractors, compare the price and communicate with them, if they understand what you want and able to do what you want.

Attitude I would say Imam is consider very good, very fast, after completion, got minor issue and you need him, easy to reach and will follow up for you. After sales, the service is very important, my bad experience is with the contractor for auto gate and awning, I also don't know how many time I call them, only come.....

I will engaged with him again for this coming Saturday to do some minor work for my auto gate, and plaster ceiling.
May I know where is your area and name? I can talk with him about your case.
Also, do take note I will not get any commission from Imam by recommend you to him.

Good luck and success for renovation journey, not easy, but can have self satisfaction and learn a lot of things along the journey thumbup.gif

Best Regards:

Steven

This post has been edited by Galaxy Angel: Jul 25 2017, 11:07 PM
TSGalaxy Angel
post Jul 25 2017, 10:56 PM

584 posts

Normally MBPJ will have the standard plan, for your case of 5ft extension, standard plan will do, unless you need to have special design then will need designer to make a drawing.
mrstohchu
post Jul 25 2017, 11:42 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Jul 25 2017, 10:53 PM)
My 5ft extension about RM 20k at that time (no major hacking and re-allocation), 3 years back before GST. For now price will sure increase. You can do a check with Imam, no harm.
As mentioned by other forumer, better get quote from several contractors, compare the price and communicate with them, if they understand what you want and able to do what you want.

Attitude I would say Imam is consider very good, very fast, after completion, got minor issue and you need him, easy to reach and will follow up for you. After sales, the service is very important, my bad experience is with the contractor for auto gate and awning, I also don't know how many time I call them, only come.....

I will engaged with him again for this coming Saturday to do some minor work for my auto gate, and plaster ceiling.
May I know where is your area and name? I can talk with him about your case.
Also, do take note I will not get any commission from Imam by recommend you to him.

Good luck and success for renovation journey, not easy, but can have self satisfaction and learn a lot of things along the journey thumbup.gif

Best Regards:

Steven
Thanks Steven. Appreciate your help. We forummers are very lucky to have someone like you who is willing to share info.

I just concluded the purchase of my house last month. Need to wait for SPA to go through. Lawyer estimate I will get key in mid-Sep.

So right now, I am doing homework, collating list of contractors that I will ask to quote once I have keys.

My house is in BU.

16 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0272sec    1.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:06 PM