~ Home sweet home renovation journey ~, 18x65, 1506 sq

TSGalaxy Angel
post May 12 2016, 02:04 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ May 12 2016, 01:44 PM)
Ya, thanks for the clarification. Coz my house before I moved in, i think the previous owner had already covered it up permanently. Based on the floor plan that i have, the manhole now is covered with tiles and became a wet kitchen area. so i am thinking if this is common or not since i saw you have extended your wet kitchen area.

thanks.
Dear jootat:

Yup, this is common and mine it is in wet kitchen and cover with tiles, but still can open if needed. If your case already seal for permanently, then just left as is it.
jootat
post May 12 2016, 02:27 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ May 12 2016, 02:04 PM)
Dear jootat:

Yup, this is common and mine it is in wet kitchen and cover with tiles, but still can open if needed. If your case already seal for permanently, then just left as is it.
oh ok ... so which means yours also cover with tiles and only will open if needed? meaning u also need to hack the tiles? Then may be mine also the same case. thanks again.
TSGalaxy Angel
post May 12 2016, 02:51 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ May 12 2016, 02:27 PM)
oh ok ... so which means yours also cover with tiles and only will open if needed? meaning u also need to hack the tiles? Then may be mine also the same case. thanks again.
No need to hack tiles, can just lift it up when needed.
As they will use a square bracket, put in cement and then put the tiles on top.
zuiko407
post May 12 2016, 08:05 PM

2,856 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ May 12 2016, 09:04 AM)
Hi there.. I plan to break front door and change to a bigger ones... then erect another wall after front door to put guanyin..

then back door change.. and behind to have sliding windowns for ventilations.

kitchen cabinets.. and d cement portions..

pm contractor details how is d payments made? To contractors
Around 2k can settle everything
bearbearwong
post May 12 2016, 10:33 PM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(zuiko407 @ May 12 2016, 08:05 PM)
Around 2k can settle everything
2k enough to buy front doors only..
jootat
post May 13 2016, 01:52 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ May 12 2016, 02:51 PM)
No need to hack tiles, can just lift it up when needed.
As they will use a square bracket, put in cement and then put the tiles on top.
okok ... noted smile.gif
TSGalaxy Angel
post Apr 6 2017, 12:00 PM

584 posts

Nearly 3 years after I start the renovation.
Very soon I will start install awning for bacoly and car porch, and auto gate, will share more photos afterward. Stay tune! thumbup.gif
jootat
post Apr 6 2017, 01:17 PM

1,994 posts

it took you 3 years must be a major renovation smile.gif I have just completed my house renovation and it took me almost 5 months. smile.gif
okhui26
post Apr 6 2017, 01:20 PM

147 posts

Nice reno, i also plan to do my renovtion soon, can share the cost for your renovation? Many thanks.

But 3 years to complete the renovation is a bit long...lol
TSGalaxy Angel
post Apr 6 2017, 03:58 PM

584 posts

I should re-phase the wording, hehe.

I means time flies, nearly 3 years after complete my last renovation.
Now is the time for me to do awning (bacoly + car porch) and auto gate.
Will share more photos after complete.
TSGalaxy Angel
post Apr 6 2017, 04:12 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(okhui26 @ Apr 6 2017, 01:20 PM)
Nice reno, i also plan to do my renovtion soon, can share the cost for your renovation? Many thanks.

But 3 years to complete the renovation is a bit long...lol
Already put the cost at first post, but the price is for year 2014... Just for reference.
okhui26
post Apr 6 2017, 04:14 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Apr 6 2017, 04:12 PM)
Already put the cost at first post, but the price is for year 2014... Just for reference.
Oh, didn't notice that, thanks...but nice reno, really nice...
TSGalaxy Angel
post Apr 17 2017, 02:45 PM

584 posts

Just did my awning last weekend, however I noticed during afternoon time, the polycarbonate sheet warping and have gap at the end of aluminum cap, I know that is material expansion due to hot temperature, but is this normal until this?

Refer to attachment below for more info. Hope all sifu can share their point of view.

This post has been edited by Galaxy Angel: Apr 17 2017, 08:47 PM
illidonleong
post Apr 24 2017, 12:05 AM

75 posts

Hi galaxy angel bro,

Do you know where to get the cheapest kitchen cabinet? I'm more interested in cost that ecstatic. Thanks bro.
TSGalaxy Angel
post Apr 25 2017, 12:17 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(illidonleong @ Apr 24 2017, 12:05 AM)
Hi galaxy angel bro,

Do you know where to get the cheapest kitchen cabinet? I'm more interested in cost that ecstatic. Thanks bro.
Dear illidonleong:

For the cost, is very depend what type of materials you want for kitchen cabinet. Once you have decided for the materials, then secondly will be cabinet company.

For my case, I choose 3G glass for top units and base units, table top I choose concrete with tiles.

If budget is a concern, you may go for melamine + concrete table top as that is a cheapest option.

Once you have decided for the materials, can check with few cabinet company for quotation and price comparison.
You can contact Yap, who did my kitchen cabinet, very good follow up and workmanship.

Contact: Yap (018-286 0082), you may tell him you are Steven friend.

illidonleong
post Apr 26 2017, 12:39 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Apr 25 2017, 12:17 PM)
Dear illidonleong:

For the cost, is very depend what type of materials you want for kitchen cabinet. Once you have decided for the materials, then secondly will be cabinet company.

For my case, I choose 3G glass for top units and base units, table top I choose concrete with tiles.

If budget is a concern, you may go for melamine + concrete table top as that is a cheapest option. 

Once you have decided for the materials, can check with few cabinet company for quotation and price comparison.
You can contact Yap, who did my kitchen cabinet, very good follow up and workmanship.

Contact: Yap (018-286 0082), you may tell him you are Steven friend.
Thank you for your reply.

Yap is from Welco right? Any other affordable kitchen cabinet places you did comparison with?

Cheers bro.
TSGalaxy Angel
post Apr 26 2017, 06:48 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(illidonleong @ Apr 26 2017, 12:39 PM)
Thank you for your reply.

Yap is from Welco right? Any other affordable kitchen cabinet places you did comparison with?

Cheers bro.
Yes, he is from Welco.
Last time I did compared nearly 10 of cabinet company. Such as Lavender Kitchen, E&Q Kitchen, SCI, dFormat, Everskill design, Unity Kitchen, Ora-kit... can't recall all of them, but Welco is the one meet my budget.
qwerty223
post Apr 26 2017, 08:40 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Apr 17 2017, 02:45 PM)
Just did my awning last weekend, however I noticed during afternoon time, the polycarbonate sheet warping and have gap at the end of aluminum cap, I know that is material expansion due to hot temperature, but is this normal until this?

Refer to attachment below for more info. Hope all sifu can share their point of view.

Your contractor used material under spec. Tho' I cannot tell if you ask for too cheap or he/she is cutting throat.

Your problem are both expansion and material collapsed on its own weight. You may resort to sealant, but unless it is very expansive performance ones, usually sealant will harden in a year or two and starts leaking again.

In simple term, if you have the chance to change, you may try to ask for "hard" PC panel instead, preferable 4mm above. Anything lower than that will collapse by itself for those flimsy support structure you having there.
TSGalaxy Angel
post Jul 5 2017, 10:34 AM

584 posts

Finally done my awning + auto gate... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Galaxy Angel: Jul 5 2017, 10:41 AM

ron c
post Jul 5 2017, 01:12 PM

45 posts

There is a house in Wangsa Maju that looks almost exactly like this.
How much was your folding gate without the automation?
I was quoted RM2,900 for around 11ft, just for the folding gate.

16 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:42 AM