Lol everyone posts when they make money no one posts when they lose money lol.
Traders Kopitiam! V7
Feb 27 2015, 05:37 PM
14,990 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Lol everyone posts when they make money no one posts when they lose money lol.
Mar 10 2015, 07:07 PM
Mar 11 2015, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Mar 11 2015, 06:05 PM) Ouch.. yeah working in OnG now will be tough time.. World recession coming.. US down, UK down.. Asia down.. oil price down.. gold also down Marginal fields are going to be first to be cut... Working in palm oil related industry also not so good now.. CPO price also down a lot.. at least no salary cut yet. This post has been edited by wodenus: Mar 11 2015, 06:33 PM |
Mar 11 2015, 08:09 PM
Mar 12 2015, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(vNirvana @ Mar 11 2015, 10:20 PM) That's why.. im just afraid of my holding power.. still new to the market, cannot tahan any big move... everytime when got news about o&g.. i will start shaking Opportunity cost is always around money market rate right?maybe is time to move to rubber sector in MY ? especially those based on export? I saw your post about karex, is it the right time to collect ? btw, thx you very much arjan gark! for the comment with the gas price so still havent stable, and so many negative news about skpetro.. i was thinking to cut loss or breakeven if possible.. This post has been edited by wodenus: Mar 12 2015, 11:27 AM |
Mar 12 2015, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(gark @ Mar 12 2015, 10:22 AM) Nowdays companies very creative one lar.. got labor lawyers support one. Huh what is an ED's yearly salary.. survive one year and you won't have to work all your life lol.For example, they tend to give 'big' salary in a few allowances, which they can pull later. Also they can be very creative in getting rid of you. Sending you to literary hostile places to work. or isolated in Jungle. The company I work for does have any problem firing people.. I have seen executive directors also kena removed, GM's, manager and even executives. Most without compensation. A few tried to fight in labor court but lost. This is not small company.. >1000 people working in the group. |
Mar 12 2015, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Marf 12 2015, 07:46 PM) A lot of people seems to be worried about opportunity cost.... Then you hold it if you know the fundamentals are still good.I mean it's easy to look back and say..... for example.... one can easily say... ' I saw many people eat Wantonmee at 11 sen....' but since CNY, I did not not so much spare money to chiak the wantonmee like crazy...... now that bloody wantonmee is almost 40 sen... there goes that big opportunity cost.... If only I ........................ Well I dunno ...... looking back is easy.... we can tell which one exactly is an opportunity and which one isn't.............. and what if the opportunity ...... is actually a pitfall? yeah... what if I buy at 11 sen .... and that bloody stock fell back to 9.5 sen? so I am one who knows not how to count opportunity cost........ |
Mar 12 2015, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 12 2015, 08:02 PM) Would that then be defined as an opportunity? Nah opportunity cost is what you lose by holding the stock (if you are not making money from it) and not putting it in FD. QUOTE on the other hand... For a stock with good fundamentals, there's no "wrong" price. The only requirement is that the fundamentals are good and stay good. some could have bought the stock at the wrong price.... and because they bought at a high price... they feel they are compelled to hold the stock... since they feel 'fundamentally the company is still good'..... so they hold and hope their 'investment' recover. Some cases in point: Maybank, IGBREIT, Sunway etc. If the fundamentals are good just buy it. A bit expensive also doesn't matter, if it's good you will eventually make money from it. Only thing is whether it will beat FD or not.. You probably won't lose money (in the long term) investing in a good company with solid fundamentals, unless the fundamentals cease becoming solid. Only problem is you will lose out to FD long term This post has been edited by wodenus: Mar 12 2015, 08:27 PM |
Mar 12 2015, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 12 2015, 08:30 PM) Huh? Yup, I'm serious. As long as the fundamentals are good and stay good you won't lose money. If you get a good price you will beat FD, if you get a bad price you will lose to FD. That is the worst risk if the fundamentals remain sound This is a new type of opportunity cost. LOL! huh? no wrong price? Can just buy any good stock at any price and just hold the stock? So gark, I tell you stocks is so easy to make money. Let me put it this way : the bank is willing to lend you money with those shares as collateral. Do you think they would do that if they thought they'd not make money long term from it? This post has been edited by wodenus: Mar 12 2015, 08:36 PM |
Mar 12 2015, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 12 2015, 08:43 PM) if I'm not mistaken, they would only lend you up to about 70%+++ of the value of your pledged Blue Chip Stocks Yea well wasn't talking about small companies. Do small companies even have good fundamentals anyway.Doesn't apply to normal stocks of small companies. |
Mar 12 2015, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 12 2015, 08:45 PM) Sorry but I seriously do not agree with you at all and I am absolutely amused and bewildered by your definition of opportunity cost. From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opportunity_cost :QUOTE In microeconomic theory, the opportunity cost of a choice is the value of the best alternative forgone, in a situation in which a choice needs to be made between several mutually exclusive alternatives given limited resources. Assuming the best choice is made, it is the "cost" incurred by not enjoying the benefit that would be had by taking the second best choice available. Say you have 10K spare cash. You can choose to keep it in FD or invest it in the market. Say FD rates are 3.5%. For simplicity's sake let us assume that the 10-year average FD rate is 3%. So at the end of 10 years in FD, you would have made a little more than 30% (if we consider compounding as well.) We'll just say you will make 30% to make things easy. Now suppose your investment ends up making you 15% average in that ten years. This means you didn't lose money, but instead made money right? but that's only 15%. So now we compare FD and investment, and we can see that we made the wrong decision, even if we did make money, because we would have made 15% more with less risk. This 15% that we lost is called opportunity cost. So you can see that if we invested the money, we didn't lose money, but we "lost money" compared to FD. We always assume that we made the best choice, but only time will tell whether it was really the best choice. If it turns out that we didn't make the best choice, then we would have lost the money we could have had if we did make the best choice. This money that we "lost" is called the opportunity cost. This is also what I mean when I say, if you invest at the wrong price, and it's a good company with solid fundamentals you won't lose money. You might "lose" money compared to FD, but the ringgit value of your investment will pretty much always be higher. This post has been edited by wodenus: Mar 12 2015, 09:12 PM |
Mar 12 2015, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 7 2015, 02:31 PM) So your portfolio is red. Gambling is luck.. investing is not so much dependent on luck. We have less than 10% of total net worth invested in equities. We can wait.. show me a company with continuously good fundamentals which has actually lost money long term.What is it telling you? 1. You bought the wrong stock. 2. You bought the 'right' stock at the wrong price. Either way you are wrong. When you average down, you are buying more of your 'wrong'.... does this sound right strategy for you? Problem is ... most will DENY number 1. they keep telling themselves they bought the 'right' stock but due to poor luck they say they got it an unlucky price... they always tell themselves, don't worry... I no sell I no lose.... I got the power man! I can hold ... I can wait and wait for the stock to recover...... sometimes.... I guess as LUCK has it... the stock never recover... after many donkey years.... then... also.... due to LUCK again.... they need emergency cash.... now what do they do? they force to swallow the bitter pill... and sell at a heavy loss. |
Mar 12 2015, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(Le Don @ Mar 12 2015, 09:16 PM) Eat too much WontonMi is not good for health LOL.. stay away from the small caps unless you know what you are doing http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/b...-wintoni-shares |
Mar 12 2015, 10:02 PM
Mar 13 2015, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Mar 13 2015, 10:07 AM) Huh? Me pulak.. This. Worst thing that can happen if you buy a blue chip at a bad price.. you don't get to beat FD. In this country blue chips can go on forever.Technically ... if you bought good fundamental stocks at the wrong price, you might NOT lose if you keep for a long long time, BUT your profit margin and compounded gain will be severely hampered. If you enter at very very very wrong price, sometimes even the good fundamentals can't help you.. you might do worse than FD. Now.. if you enter at ANY price at weak stocks, high chance that can say bye bye to your $$$ |
Mar 13 2015, 01:43 PM
Mar 13 2015, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Mar 13 2015, 01:46 PM) Actually you do.. to inflation. That will depend on your personal inflation rate |
Mar 13 2015, 02:04 PM
Mar 13 2015, 02:06 PM
Mar 13 2015, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(gark @ Mar 13 2015, 02:06 PM) Blue chip?.... Still is.. rolling DY is 6.62% As long good company with good fundamentals ok lar.. not all blue chip is good companies also. Lots of them has fallen from grace.. like YTLPower.. used to be a solid divvy counter. Better eat potato chip.. This post has been edited by wodenus: Mar 13 2015, 02:08 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0601sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:46 PM |