The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v5, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM89

QuantumEdge
post Jan 20 2022, 10:54 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 20 2022, 10:32 PM)
Happy to hear such feedback. biggrin.gif Didn't expect UniFi is bad for you... I have no issue with UniFi though just that the pricing for new subscribers is a bit off and I cannot relocate UniFi from my hometown to my own place.. laugh.gif

Good to know you are a happy user. rclxms.gif

I already submitted my form for Maxis Fibre. Fingers crossed now. I checked on the site, somehow it shows my condo is not covered but the fact is many of the owners are using Maxis and it is using UniFi infra, I really hope all goes well. sweat.gif
Unifi seems to be rather problematic for the users in the southern region.
I've seen youtube buffering, FB, and Twitter images won't load during the night and of course, Taobao simply being unusable.

Hope it'll be smooth throughout the remaining 2 years lol, I'm expecting to grab Allo after the promo ends.

Yes, my house is not covered according to their website. You'll need to contact Maxis/agent to check for coverage. I didn't notice Maxis is available here until I saw a wifi name popped up as Maxis fiber when cycling down the street. They told me if the area has unifi, you can get Maxis Celcom Digi and Astro no problem.

Make sure you get the promo tho

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Jan 20 2022, 11:01 PM
QuantumEdge
post Jan 21 2022, 09:38 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Jan 21 2022, 09:19 AM)
Hi frutie.. can found you everywhere.. I Also thinking to change, also from unifi.. Where you get the 129 for 300Mbps? so for now,  got a few choice..

1. Free 6 month (coming from unifi). Dunno 24m or 36m contract.
2. Website deal 149 + 9 (ipad 9th gen)
3. 129 * 24m

All for 300Mbps. Currently paying 139 for unifi 300.
I got lobang, PM-ed
1. Free 6 month I've asked, 24 months contract
2. That is for 36 months
3. That's with RM20*24 months rebate, using this at the moment

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Jan 21 2022, 09:46 AM
QuantumEdge
post Jan 21 2022, 05:31 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(kupang @ Jan 21 2022, 04:43 PM)
I thought RM129 Unifi 300Mbps is only available for Unifi customer who has finished contract , not for new customer or existing customer on contract.
correct me if I'm wrong ..
She means Maxis RM129 300mbps
The usual 300mbps plan is RM149
At the moment you can grab it with RM20*24 months of a rebate, hence the RM129 price

Mine is not accurate lah, only 75% of the month before they billed me
QuantumEdge
post Jan 22 2022, 11:14 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(kupang @ Jan 22 2022, 10:59 AM)
so I suppose this speed throttling by TM on their infra applies throughout Malaysia, whenever you port out to Maxis, Celcom or Digi , right ?

well , that sucks lah .. !
I'm afraid I'll have to disagree with the speed throttle, I've seen Maxis and Digi's speed test results on TM infra
No such issues

QUOTE(kupang @ Jan 22 2022, 11:03 AM)
opss, my bad, thanks for clarifying, because TM also got that special price too for enticing existing user to stay with Unifi
But you'll need to wait for TM to give you that special price, you cant lie your way through now
Maxis is easier, new subscribers will get the rebate. While those who port out from Unifi will get 6 months free.

QuantumEdge
post Feb 4 2022, 09:02 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Feb 4 2022, 03:35 PM)
Want ask Siri here, is maxis router 6 good or suggest to upgrade using ASUS router?

Thank You
I tried both, ended up using ASUS router
Mainly because the lack of fuctions
QuantumEdge
post Feb 4 2022, 11:07 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Feb 4 2022, 10:27 PM)
By the way, is the Maxis Wi-Fi router able to upload OpenVPN certificate?
Quote @Kx1229
-No IP&Mac binding option (for Wake On LAN over mobile network)
-No VPN integration
-No Fttp Server
-No DHCP Internet option (Bridge mode = brick mode )

QuantumEdge
post Feb 6 2022, 10:33 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Feb 5 2022, 12:16 AM)
What ASUS router would you recommend? I currently using ASUS AX55
AX55 is good enough, if you got enough budget of course I'll tell you to get AX86U biggrin.gif
I'm using AX58U, mainly because I need merlin with diversion adblock
QuantumEdge
post Feb 6 2022, 05:47 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Feb 6 2022, 05:25 PM)
Where can I get this details? I am considering to switch away from my UniFi to Maxis.
PM-ed
QuantumEdge
post Feb 6 2022, 11:31 PM

1,601 posts

Got something I wanna ask ya...
Did Maxis block Prawnhub?
Cant access it with custom DNS on both ipv4 and ipv6
QuantumEdge
post Feb 8 2022, 10:12 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 8 2022, 02:45 PM)
Cant either with Custom DNS over DNSCrypt

looks like they probably followed TM and now blocks IP...
Time for VPN or proxy I suppose
Darn it, I tried modifying the registry... doesn't work either
In this case I'll 100% switch to Allo once they're ready
Saw them pulling cables onto poles behind my house last week
QuantumEdge
post Feb 9 2022, 02:58 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 9 2022, 01:23 PM)
Probably at some point all ISPs could be forced by MCMC to comply

Cause all ISPs are supposed to block those sites via DNS
For example TIME's stock router doesn't reveal dns settings to you AND hijacks port 53 so if you change the DNS on your PC it will still be forcibly redirected to their DNS servers, have to use DoH or DoT or use own router.
Yeah I've heard about that on TIME, most of my friends switched to 3rd party router anyway
Allo doesn't block access to those websites at the moment, even when using their stock dns.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 9 2022, 02:25 PM)
That's why I said I let them configure on their stock router first then only I change to my own router. biggrin.gif
I remember seeing someone posted this before
Their public IP PPPoE user name and password format is pretty simple
If you are a private IP user
1234567@home.maxis.com.my
pwd: 12345671 (same as PPPoE username but always added a 1 in the end)

when changed to public IP
1234567@public.maxis.com.my
pwd: 12345671 (same as PPPoE username but always added a 1 in the end)

When I request for public ip, they accidentally missed typed a 1 when setting it up remotely. Had to modify it myself.

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Feb 9 2022, 03:02 PM
QuantumEdge
post Feb 15 2022, 10:10 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(mhhee @ Feb 15 2022, 10:09 AM)
Not sure what upgrade, I received SMS last Friday.

Probably just your area, I did not receive any SMS as such
QuantumEdge
post Feb 15 2022, 03:09 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Feb 15 2022, 02:36 PM)
I took the promo and went to TM to submit the transfer request last Friday.  tongue.gif
I dragged 3 people in last week, still waiting for Maxis's confirmation
They are fast with new installations, but for those who transferred from TM takes forever it seems
QuantumEdge
post Feb 17 2022, 11:58 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Feb 16 2022, 10:19 PM)
In dilemma whether want to switch to maxis. Currently with unifi and so far no major issue. So is Maxis really stabil as unifi?
For me lah, I'm 2 months into Maxis
I changed to Maxis because previously Unifi kept having bad ping and high package loss in the night
Youtube, Twitter, FB either video or images wouldn't load on IPv6 connection

Maxis so far 0 problem and they're willing to provide public IP without many questions asked.

Yeah, apart from needing VPN to browse udang hub, all is well
Ping normal on Maxis, tvbox works fine, video conference all normal

If you wanna register for it, I can recommend an agent to you

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Feb 17 2022, 12:01 PM
QuantumEdge
post Feb 17 2022, 12:33 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Feb 17 2022, 12:30 PM)
Is maxis giving sim card as backup?
You'll need to register for Maxis Postpaid, only that comes with sim card when you signup broadband
QuantumEdge
post Feb 17 2022, 01:38 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Feb 17 2022, 01:26 PM)
Heard also many bad review for maxis fibre. Late technical support coz need to depend on tm, frequent service down..
Pros and cons lah
At least on Maxis forum fewer people complained when compared with Unifi
We don't even get a "*** Connection Issue to International Server, Occured usually at night 9-11pm" thread like TM

You get better routing but risk slower tech support
Service down I doubt it is Maxis's problem, most likely they are using the stock rubbish router
QuantumEdge
post Feb 18 2022, 07:54 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(eddyann2 @ Feb 17 2022, 10:53 PM)
just signed up 300mbps. speedtest at max 280mbps no matter what. acceptable by MCMC standards and normal?
What router are you using? Is the test performed on a wired connection?
QuantumEdge
post Feb 18 2022, 11:18 AM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 18 2022, 09:06 AM)
I think that 280Mbps is expected for Maxis riding on TM infra. Thanks tm.
I'm also riding on TM's infra, no such problem
maybe poke their CS?
QuantumEdge
post Feb 18 2022, 02:04 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Feb 18 2022, 01:12 PM)
ping looks higher than TM  tongue.gif
Those 10ms+ tests are on SG servers
I don't play FPS so not noticing any difference in gaming
QuantumEdge
post Feb 23 2022, 11:54 AM

1,601 posts

My friend made the switch to Maxis 300mbps from Unifi 100mbps
He submitted the transfer request on 12/2,
TM contacted him on 16 to confirm his request and finally,
Maxis called on 21/2 telling him the installation date is this Wednesday morning.

Today installed, they only send the Maxis guy here,
Plugged in, setup the Maxis router and tadah new ISP!

0 downtime

The provided router is Huawei LG8245X6

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Feb 23 2022, 12:02 PM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.2221sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:14 AM