M Reits Version 7, Malaysia Real Estate Investment

return78
post Jan 14 2018, 09:03 AM

132 posts

Agreed. There is no sudden hike of rate and the affect should be mild.. Part of the reason might be portion of investor derail from divvy strategy and shift their investment to more appearing stocks for quick bucks in recent bull run.

my 2 cents view is oversupply especially retail and offices properties. Aside from that, the potential threat from online shopping may shrink the demand in long run as well.

Reit with mixed portfolio including hospitality, medical centres probably is more neutral at the moments.

return78
post Jan 27 2018, 09:32 AM

132 posts

I would says if one plan to hold REIT counters more than 7 years, collect slowly now could be a good plan.

Anywhere, some ppl still worry about potential economy recession as it been long due and hesitate to fill up REIT portfolio.

If not mistaken, there're pretty limited choices during 06-07. Axreit, QCapital (MQReit now), Starhill Reit (YTLReit) are among of them. How are they preformed during the last recession?
return78
post Feb 27 2018, 05:44 PM

132 posts

CMMT probably plunged till it's IPO price @ 98 sen. Was holding since IPO and topup since then.

Luckily i had sold all my holding last year at pretty good price. Portion of it hit the jackpot 1.83.
return78
post Feb 27 2018, 06:32 PM

132 posts

Just learned that from another thread Parkson is moved out... Sungei wang is getting worse by days. Not really sure about Tropicana city mall by hearsays mentioned worse then Atria. While Mines is basically take pretty hard hits due to IOI City mall.

In short, most of its KV malls are not performing well and doesn't seem have good chance to recover in near to mid term and further pressure is fueled by raising rate.

While in long run, exceed supply of mall in KV and threat from online eCommerce will make the outlook not apprearing.

Thus, further slash to 0.98 is possible due to gloomy view. Today lowest already touched 1.02 indeed.

This post has been edited by return78: Feb 27 2018, 06:35 PM
return78
post Feb 28 2018, 09:12 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Feb 28 2018, 05:04 AM)
mreit's bear market had arrived....and for how long? well, nobody knows. grab your seat and watch the show  biggrin.gif

i'd been worrying on mreit since rate hike began....i'd been keep on calculating the yield rise (aka price drop) percentage according to potential rate hike effect.... hmm.gif
So, are u increased or decreased ur dividend portfolio now.. or still staying at sideline?
return78
post Feb 28 2018, 01:56 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Feb 28 2018, 10:40 AM)
dividend portfolio? for those with higher EPS growth potential (not reit), i've no worry at all.
as for reit portfolio, i still have some, now sideline, wondering if i should start selling. I should have sold at least half of them 6 months ago while i was quite worried on rate hike effect.
I hold different views on interest rate increase per say but concerns on sustainability these REIT over 5 to 10 years span.

Many REIT had higher exposure on fixed rate instead floating and my understanding impacts may slightly cushion.

Excerpt from news...
------
Some had even predicted the possibility of two rate hikes of 25 bps each for 2018 while MIDF Research’s house expected only one rate hike this year.

Based on the research arm’s sensitivity analysis, earnings per unit (EPUs) of REITs under its coverage are limited to minus 0.2 per cent to minus 2.1 per cent if there is one rate hike of 25bps.

-------

return78
post Mar 1 2018, 10:53 AM

132 posts

If the intent is to catch the bottom for capital gain... isn't it better aim for non-reit with better EPS growth potential.

The purpose of investing in REIT is for stable dividend and capital gain is bonus. More stable business outlook in long run is important.

Be careful while catching the falling knife.... look at those entered CMMT @ 1.2.
return78
post Mar 1 2018, 10:59 AM

132 posts

What i wanted to point out trying to catch the bottom for CMMT might having same risk exposure for other non-reit counter. Perhaps you might misunderstand.
return78
post Mar 1 2018, 11:18 AM

132 posts

Agreed on what you says. i been invest in REIT since 2008 and stock ways back. I sold cmmt at 1.67x average last year. tongue.gif

If you asked me, i might have higher temptation to buy back at such low price... but I do hold on due to various reason says in earlier posts.

This post has been edited by return78: Mar 1 2018, 11:19 AM
return78
post Mar 1 2018, 02:06 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 1 2018, 11:39 AM)
Reit has one last defence protection that is its properties.

Worst to worst, fire-sale the property and get back the capital.

Also, reit transparency is very clear, no hanky panky on account book, any bad or good, instantly show up, but a growth stock can have accounting creativity to look good.
Well says! Absolutely correct... but if there is a chance of fire-sale, what's the impact on its share price, how long it took and the opportunity cost, and what's are the odd it can sell at valuated / desired price? It still need bear some minor loses (assessment fee etc) over years until it get sold. For SW, due to it's mixed ownership, the sales will be more complicated. (SW purchased @ 724mil while current valuation ~ 583mil)

One should very clear on their portfolio allocation and investment strategy... dont take me wrong; i'm not promoting park the allocation of dividend portfolio to growth stock.

When it fall around 1.1x, i was so tempted to buy back with my capital gain, and treat it as free shares, and I asked myself

a> For long terms (5 to 10 years span at least), at current landscape, is CMMT pose higher risk compared to other like REIT.

b> On dividend portfolio front, what my objective? Peace of mind or maximize the potential capital gain on CMMT, what was the feel like on hunting the opportunity letting go CMMT since last 2 years back.

c> If looking for 7%+ dividend for long run, is there any other option?

d> What are the chances DPU slip further in next few quarters.. (Interest hike and harder to secure new tenant due to exceed offering, while existing tenant is leaving...eg: Parkson moved out SW lately).

e> What's are the chance CMMT management make a turn around in such competitive and stiff environment against other retail mall player.

f> Why huge sell off recently by institute player and their entry price is low actually... (eg: EPF was cornerstone investor during IPO).

g> How's the institute players act lately on CMMT counter.. (eg: KWAP & EPF keep dumping CMMT, while EPF do increase their Axreit portfolio)

h> Why CMMT management do additional listing back as the way to pay CMRM's management fee in Sept 17. Isn't that resonate they're in tough situation and so desperate to make acct looks good.

p/s: Someone was sold 13 mil share @ 1.02 yesterday last minutes before closing and noticed some short term trader from i3 trying to make profit on this stock too.

NOTE: Just my 2 cents.. I could be totally wrong and one may make an handsome profit by vesting into CMMT at current dip.

return78
post Mar 1 2018, 05:32 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 1 2018, 04:38 PM)
a) The one high risk is SW, due to its problematic stratified unit that it doesn't own.
If own the whole property, the better alternative may be tearing down and rebuild into new mall, hotels or any other commercial. Mind that SW's land is indeed very valuable due to its location.
Other malls like Gurney, actually it is pretty steady.

c) There is no dividend stocks or growth stocks that can yield more than 5%, (excluded one off special one). That's why reit with >7% yield seems attractive provided they can have consistent DPU.

d) highly DPU may slip, due to drag of SW, as well as not much rental revision upwards potential for others.

e) CMMT has quite strong and good management based on its track record.

f) Fund manager react to its fund movement, and trend. They overbought reit until yield fall to 4% when QE at its height time. Now doing the reverse when interest rate starting to rise.
Typically fund manager will sell aggressive when a particular industry, stock near term future seems gloomy.

h) Many fund managers are getting their fee based on new unit issued/listing, instead of receiving in cash. If they are not doing a good job to maintain DPU, in directly they are paid lesser, as their unit worth become less.
While it free up reit cashflow and a little bit extra DPU for shrareholders.
Quite a norm practice in reit across be it Mreit or Sgreit.
An enlightened perspective... thumbsup.gif Good for those vested interest and made an informed decision.

++
c).. yeah... isnt' there are some M-REIT counters may be more worthy. biggrin.gif

d).. DPU quite certain will be drag by KV properties... KV malls had more than 50% lease expiring in 2018. It's challenging where negative revision rate for Mines (-16.9) and SW (-7.2), while Tropicana merely 0.6% upward in 2017; luckily there was GP and ECM as the savior.
Doubt the trend will be reversed for a better rental revision in short terms. Rate hike should have lesser impact to CMMT due to their exposure on floating rate just around 20%.

return78
post Mar 2 2018, 09:33 AM

132 posts

Yok70 , talk about your view on Tropicana acquisition if you may. SW and Mines was solid acquisition during that junction. I turned caution and started plan for exit since then. Isn't it management had aware of incoming retail mall supply via market research and can't recall any unique proposition of such purchase.
return78
post Mar 7 2018, 05:21 PM

132 posts

Finally.... grap mqreit @ 1.03... which is my first entry price many years back. Hope it can fall further.
return78
post Mar 7 2018, 05:25 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 7 2018, 04:34 PM)

Edited, it seems like one or two entity (I presumed it is fund manager) are eager to liquid this reit.
Keep on throwing until clear their daily stock (the sell Q didn't want to wait one)
As there is only little Q left (especially on sell side) when pre-close started.
I suspected some of them cashing out for foreign owned insurance co stake.
return78
post Mar 20 2018, 10:25 AM

132 posts

Sunreit started its turn for the downward? smile.gif
return78
post Mar 20 2018, 02:59 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 20 2018, 10:27 AM)
One of lowest yield reit in the market that yet to have significant downside correction, while other reit already did whereby most at least drop 10%~15%+ from the high.
Agreed. sold it off couple days back and get ready to reload later. Hopefully it will land 1.4x soon.
return78
post Mar 20 2018, 03:14 PM

132 posts

Btw, seems many are prefer IGBreit over Sunreit. Let's says if both fall within same 6.5-7% DPU. Is IGBreit still more appearing?

Sunreit is more diversified, while IGBreit has higher concentration risk. Any thoughts & opposite views?
return78
post Mar 21 2018, 01:55 PM

132 posts

++Greenfield development may help improve DPU too
return78
post Mar 21 2018, 10:16 PM

132 posts

CMMT
No. of shares issued 2,882,300
Issue Price Malaysian Ringgit (MYR) 1.603
http://klse.i3investor.com/additionalListi...246_5188731.jsp

Sad case for CMRM staff.
return78
post Mar 30 2018, 02:03 PM

132 posts

Visited SW last year and MRT already in operation. And that was the time push me harder let go CMMT.

Connectivity wise, access to MRT is not convenient as blocked by BB (closed for construction). Is BB construction work still on going?

0.0363sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:51 PM