M Reits Version 7, Malaysia Real Estate Investment

Smurfs
post Sep 11 2019, 10:46 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 11 2019, 05:14 PM)
... the thing to point out is that IGBReit dividends had been increasing since 2012.
Spot on !

When one invest in REIT, one is looking for consistent DPU yield. Those counter with consistent DPU each year generally their share price wont tumble too much.

In the case of IGBREIT, its growing DPU y-o-y is actually a bonus, investors get both increasing dividend payout each year and as well as share price appreciation.

I did some writing back in March this year, in Trader's thread:

Again, I might be wrong.
Smurfs
post Sep 12 2019, 01:04 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 12 2019, 12:06 PM)
Sibuk on another Reit

Cmmt. Listed Jul 2010.Retail price 98 sen.

The chart...

[attachmentid=10313751]

If bought during ipo retail price at 98 sen, price is now 1.04.
About making couple bottles of beer money I guess.

But the dividend is not bad. Since total collected is 69.46 sen.

[attachmentid=10313752]

But since the chart shows the stock is tanking since 2013, what would happen
if one chased and bought high at 1.90?
Would dividends save the day?

So if I minus out the dividends from fy2010 to fy2012..
The total dividends received would be only 49.75 sen.

So if buy at 1.90, total dividends received is only 49.75.
With share price at 1.04, mati lembu kuat kuat if chased this Reit.

Note the fy2014 dpu plunged... but recovered the next year.
Note the dpu has been declining since fy2015...

How smurf?
Wow CMMT, let me dig back the old history and reply to you biggrin.gif
Smurfs
post Sep 12 2019, 03:35 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 12 2019, 12:06 PM)
Sibuk on another Reit

Cmmt. Listed Jul 2010.Retail price 98 sen.

The chart...

[attachmentid=10313751]

If bought during ipo retail price at 98 sen, price is now 1.04.
About making couple bottles of beer money I guess.

But the dividend is not bad. Since total collected is 69.46 sen.

[attachmentid=10313752]

But since the chart shows the stock is tanking since 2013, what would happen
if one chased and bought high at 1.90?
Would dividends save the day?

So if I minus out the dividends from fy2010 to fy2012..
The total dividends received would be only 49.75 sen.

So if buy at 1.90, total dividends received is only 49.75.
With share price at 1.04, mati lembu kuat kuat if chased this Reit.

Note the fy2014 dpu plunged... but recovered the next year.
Note the dpu has been declining since fy2015...

How smurf?
Some history :

Refer to your chart :

Regarding Dividend Payout :

Probably this is the reason why current yield is high, to compensate the high risk that you would need to bear.
Smurfs
post Sep 12 2019, 04:53 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Sep 12 2019, 04:34 PM)
Like you said, declining DPU is one big flag to watch out for.
Back to basic, REIT is similar to buy property and rent it out to collect rental.

If the property but cannot find tenants, or tenants do not pay rental in time, or tenant paying less and less rental, rugi lo.

No property income, no distribution. laugh.gif
Smurfs
post Sep 27 2019, 06:16 AM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 26 2019, 06:06 PM)
I read on investopedia that we need to look at FFO, but I can't find FFO on Malaysian reits.
What does FFO means? Fund from operation?
Smurfs
post Sep 30 2019, 07:56 AM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 27 2019, 10:24 AM)
Not really sure if the "net property income" stated in the QR matched the definition of FFO.

Other wise cash flow from operation in the cashflow statement can be used as references too?
Smurfs
post Oct 29 2019, 02:16 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(bmwcaddy @ Oct 29 2019, 02:09 PM)
Is this the correct approach to value it? EBITDA is before Principal Repayment and Interest Expenses wor

Anyways, I could be wrong, why cant we measure their performance from their Operational Cash Flow (net of taxes/financing)?
Why not just use "Net Property Income" to measure the performance?

You can find these figures in the Quarterly Report, usually in Section B Review of Performance. Some company even provide NPI breakdown for each property. From the same page, you can also see the property expenses as well.

Try not to over-complicated investing by using complex formulas that requires advanced calculation, keep it simple.
Smurfs
post Nov 18 2019, 03:54 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Nov 18 2019, 03:09 PM)
thts true..but now im contemplating is buying 5 lots enough or shud i cough out more to get 10 lots in one go....but my question was sorta answered when i went n reread past posts..the dividend yield depends on the price we buy in at...
btw when do u think is d best time buy a REIT stock?on EX date?few days later?
Best time to buy?

My suggestions here :

Smurfs
post Dec 8 2019, 05:41 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 8 2019, 05:19 PM)
with the liberation of private GP fees, will healthcare REITs get more revenue?
REIT's income is derived from rental.

REIT does not involved in business.
Smurfs
post Dec 27 2019, 09:50 AM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(ywliang96 @ Dec 27 2019, 09:44 AM)
How REITs increase from their share price actually?

Most of the REIT's keeps increasing like never before, and I'm scared to enter actually lol

is it based on the occupancy rate or the buyer/seller demand in shares?
Of course it is based on buyer/ seller demand.

Why more & more people buy in certain REIT ? Because the REIT's DPU is consistent/ increasing y-o-y.

Smurfs
post Jan 2 2020, 08:04 AM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(prozfromhell @ Jan 1 2020, 03:22 PM)
hmm IGBReit broke the RM 1.90 support liao.
Went in some at RM1.89, wonder if it will laosai even further ornot
What's your expectation / TP for IGBREIT?
Smurfs
post Jan 2 2020, 11:09 AM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jan 2 2020, 10:40 AM)
is this a good time to collect pavreit,since its RM 1.73 and even in economic distress, ppl still go shopping lol..furthermore pavillion is a tourist destination
The only laggard property in PAVREIT's portfolio is DAMEN Mall, with high operating expenses but unable to generate stable income.
Smurfs
post Sep 17 2020, 11:25 AM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Aug 30 2020, 10:01 PM)
I would like to add on to this question. According to this LHDN guideline, Page 2 of 7, item 4.2

"If 90% or more of the total income of a REIT/PTF that is listed on Bursa
Malaysia in the basis year for a YA is distributed to unit holders, the
REIT/PTF is exempted from tax for that YA. However, unit holders are liable
to tax on this distribution of income.
[U] "

Is this referring to the withholding tax? This guideline is quite confusing because it doesnt clearly specify about declaring income tax.

Also, if a REIT distributes dividends of less than 90% of its revenue (which means investors need to declare income tax) (which is also highly unlikely), how does the layman investor know? Is it the dividend statement will indicate any taxable amount?

Distribution from income of reit from rental is subjected to 10% of witholding tax, for eg :

"0.62 sen per unit comprising 0.59 sen taxable and 0.03 sen non-taxable for the second quarter ended 30 June 2020"

The dividend you received is already net of tax.

Hence no further action required from investor side.
Smurfs
post Jun 10 2021, 02:17 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Jun 10 2021, 12:42 PM)
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/igb-...4LSSO8.facebook

IGB commercial trust reit is going to IPO.

Anyone has prospectus willing to share?
Both prospectus and IPO timetable can be found on Bursa's company announcement page.

Look for IGB Commercial REIT.

https://www.bursamalaysia.com/market_information/announcements/company_announcement?keyword=&cat=&sub_type=&company=5299&mkt=&alph=&sec=&subsec=&dt_ht=&dt_lt=#/?category=all

QUOTE(moosset @ Jun 10 2021, 01:34 PM)
what's their portfolio like?

why not combine with IGB reit?
A pureplay office REIT.

Some info that can be found inside the prospectus :

Smurfs
post Jun 11 2021, 01:41 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Jun 11 2021, 11:58 AM)

What about Sunreit?

Opinions at current prices?
With those occupancy rate and the below "forecast" Yield FY 2021, not my cup of tea tongue.gif Somemore they are assuming on 100% payout rate.

SUNREIT?

Let's revisit at my initial writing since last year May 2020 :

My Sinkalan forecast DPU for FY20200 : 7.7sens
Actual DPU FY 2020 : 7.33 sens
To-date FY2021 DPU : 1.67 sens

SUNREIT's major property income is derived from Retail, and with all these never ending MCO CMCO RMCO FMCO, impact on retail sector is REAL and huge.

I doubt SUNREIT is able to pay 7 sens this year....Now lets see the chart :

1.4x level seems a pretty strong support...If i place a bet invest now, most likely i am able to get 4 sens FY2021, which translate to 2.8% yield this year...at the same time, i'm "hoping" the situation will get better and DPU will normalise soon..worth the bet?

Another write up last time :

Yes with worldwide massive fiscal injection to fight covid and central banks shift towards more accommodative policies, low interest rate environment will continue..at least for a year or two.. Yield chasing pension funds and institutional funds still remain invested in REIT.

However, as a tiny retail investor, i will still ask myself whats my expectation to SUNREIT? recovery play? Dividend play? Is there any other options out there?

If i want to buy into a REIT, i aim to collect Rental from it....if i know most of tenants unable to pay me rental, or i have to subsidize their rent for the time being, why should i buy into it? Why now?

Perhaps you can take a look on ATRIUM...now trading at all time high..and there is a valid reasoning to support the rocketed price laugh.gif
Smurfs
post Aug 19 2022, 06:17 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(download88 @ Aug 19 2022, 05:24 PM)
while rising of OPR still unknown in near future, any suggestion or recommendation for now to buy in m-reits?
currently i only holding uoareit (never DCA before)
Just to understand more, what is the purpose you invest in REITS? hmm.gif
Smurfs
post Aug 22 2022, 09:44 AM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Aug 22 2022, 09:24 AM)
UoA Reit recently keep dropping.. any ideas why ah? quarterly earnings not doing so good?

edit: due to this:
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/uoa-...ribution-income

nvm long term should improve
From your article:

On prospects, UOA REIT said the occupancy rates and rental rates continue to be affected by the economic growth.

Occupancy rate will affects Net property Income for REIT, and ultimately affects DPU for REIT.

Less people rent the office -> Less income for the REIT -> Less Dividend Payout -> Less DPU, stock price declined

Please watch out the High dividend yield from UOAREIT, it is due to decline in share price, not increase in DPU.

Smurfs
post Aug 22 2022, 09:55 AM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(reddevil @ Aug 21 2022, 04:53 PM)
hi all sifu, would this (AME REIT) be a good buy to try for ipo?

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/main...hern-peninsular
Some key facts from the prospectus for your consideration :

1. They are assuming 100% distribution rate% , which means they are going to give all taxable income to shareholder. Sustainable? sweat.gif
2. Assuming 90% distribution rate, the adjusted DPU(sens) will 5.87 sens
3. With listing price of 1.15 and adjusted DPU 5.87sens, one will get roughly 5.1% (before withholding tax)

Occupancy Trends

NPI Trends

Happy reading icon_rolleyes.gif
Smurfs
post Sep 20 2022, 02:32 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Sep 20 2022, 12:08 PM)
cant decide between UOA reit or Sentral reit.... Sentral has DY of 8%.... UOA has a DY of 7% .
Which will u guys choose?
Hmm why only UOA or Sentral hmm.gif
Smurfs
post Feb 5 2023, 08:18 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 19 2023, 03:18 PM)
BNM didnt hike..good for mreits.
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Feb 5 2023, 05:52 PM)
Mreits doing very well this year but thread so quiet.

I guess wait till price start to go to second leg up for investor interest to restart. Like in 2019.
Yeah the recent catalyst for MREIT :
1. Interest rate hike slowing down
2. REIT Earning recovery (especially retail REIT, with sector reopening as well as minimal rental assistance provided to tenants)
3. MGS Yield falls

As REIT's yield always compare to other fixed income instruments

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1326sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:31 AM