Chubby Hamsters V3, New 3rd thread!

kembara
post Jan 22 2007, 12:12 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

sad.gif RIP...
one of my rc female died few days ago..
dont know what her disease..just look weak before died..x sempat nak bawak g vet
kembara
post Jan 22 2007, 12:30 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

yes that one...
may it RIP...
but..whats RIP meaning actually hehehe
kembara
post Jan 22 2007, 12:35 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

i think RIP is short term la..for what i dont know la
kembara
post Jan 22 2007, 12:55 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

oo reat in peace..like hijjaz song:
moga amanlah dan bahgia dikau di sana...setangkai doa jua fatehah terus kukirimkan
kembara
post Jan 23 2007, 12:39 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

Rena_blue,
Yup I always use it but don’t know RIP is shorterm for what hehe
Btw the RIP hammy is one of lovely and chubby RC..she’s like the queen of the clan..

Dien,
Now you really become LYN photograper aaa…hahah everyday updates pictures..poisoned the people here…hahaha..

Street force,
the reason already give by some of our friend..one of the most important think I repeat..Syrian are nocturnal..night-active animal..so rarely we can see they fighting in the day..at nite we cant see bcoz petshop closed..another thing I want to add..what reanne said before: they sleep together to get warm..not becoz they love each other..

winter white..actually have some already weaned and ready to saperated pups..but the buyer must be interviewed first heheh tongue.gif

kembara
post Jan 25 2007, 04:40 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

hehehe someone have a lot of hamsters as his new signature hehehe
kembara
post Jan 26 2007, 08:23 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

hehehe rite..
from her talk..her exited talk..looks like she is a teenager heheh.. tongue.gif

mealworms fiesta..the latest picture taken today's evening

This post has been edited by kembara: Jan 26 2007, 08:46 PM
kembara
post Jan 28 2007, 05:57 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Jan 26 2007, 09:59 PM)
Aiyer.. can't find mealworms. LoL.. don't know where to buy around PJ area. Sigh..
wah blue heng dont find mealworm yet aaa..so long time aa search..

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Jan 27 2007, 02:55 AM)
My 2 weeks old pups!!!!
Should be 4 agouti, 3 sapphire.
I did a check on their sex, by observing the nipples. If not mistaken, only 1 female.......agouti female.

All eyes are opened, and now starting to fight for food with mummy, and always wander around the tank, noti noti..........
lots of notty rascals heheheh
dont want to sell ke ??
QUOTE(bizen @ Jan 27 2007, 02:38 PM)
I wanna ask.. If a hamster is tapping one leg on the ground real fast... what does that mean? My hamster do that after it finish eating the mealworms this afternoon.. and when i wanna try to grab it.. It tap again but this time avoid my grab... unusual... LoL..=_=
hmm.gif looks like a new habit of hamster to me..
i also never experience that type of habit with my hammies..rabbit had la..

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Jan 27 2007, 09:32 PM)

What pair u bought? is it another syrian? Hehehee...my fren also owned a pair of male syrian...sleeping all day and chubbbbbby²!! Hehehee
my jumpy the syrian also like that..sleep all the day..
grow more older became more sleepier...
if i dont put wheel in his tank at nite..confirm sleep also..so lazy but chubby and cute heheh

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jan 28 2007, 02:44 PM)
also potato need to be cooked first b4 feeding anot? carrots and apples can give wW? hard boiled egG?
i dont know about potato...but carrot and hard boiled egg can give..apple..i dont confirm..bcoz dwarf can easily get diabetes if i am not wrong la..check the first thread..there was list what you can feed and cannot..i think cannot feed dwarf with makanan manis manis laa..if not wrong la..
kembara
post Jan 28 2007, 06:12 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

ermm...cooked better kot..free from any danger heheh
i think give white egg only..bcoz i heard the yolk will make the poo so busuk ma...
kembara
post Jan 28 2007, 06:35 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

if i had not many hamsters..i will be your 1st customer..
but you know...hehehe
kembara
post Jan 29 2007, 11:29 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(Yaozz @ Jan 28 2007, 07:37 PM)
Why is my hamster have no baby although i bought them for a few months already?
may be they are same sex aaa...check them la..sometime petshop cannot be trusted in sexing of animals

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Jan 28 2007, 09:25 PM)
Anyway, I found mealworms alrd. So funny the first time see my ww eating. At first he was sniffing it... outside the plastic container.. then he went closer and he got shocked, can see him back off a bit. Then he started sniffing again then slowly enter.. grabbed one of them and ate. Then he started eating and eating.. can hear the crunchy sound. I think he likes it. LOL..
yeah..congrats blueheng..
now lets train them to be a real carnivores..i mean insectivores hehehe biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Jan 29 2007, 03:23 AM)
i also cant tell wat breed is tat, the shop keeper also blur blur one, when i ask him he just said "hamster la, cute one, its HAMSTER", wahlaooo, blind one also know it is haster la.... sweat.gif but bcos they r so cute so i bought 2 lo.....may the syrians RIP la.....but still i wan to get syrian...later holiday will go n hunt around......i saw the gunipig long long hair one anyone know wat breed is it?? sorry off topic but i wan to get a pair too.....looking forward for d holiday....hehehehehehe....then i can get my syrian n GP... rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
want syrian only??dont want to change to other type hehehe
if want rc or ww contact me aaa heheheh

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 29 2007, 03:38 AM)
Never give raw potato to hamsters... raw potato can be dangerous to animals....

Hmmm... looks like many people getting into hamsters already I see...
crazymouse at last return...heheh
welcome back my frendz.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
many people get new hamster from our new breeder.."dien"

Added on January 29, 2007, 11:38 amthis is the male i talk in my signature..very very like father like son rite..cute and tame although the mom was garang...his sibling, the grey red eyes follow her mom garang..
he was born on 19/11/06 if not mistake..bcoz on 3/12 he's celebrate his two weeks birthday..

posing on a wheel

on his beloved owner palm
user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by kembara: Jan 29 2007, 11:38 AM
kembara
post Jan 29 2007, 08:39 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

guys,have you all experience this problem??
i think my winter white kids got problems...
they pee in their food bowl...but after finished eating la..
kembara
post Jan 30 2007, 11:48 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Jan 30 2007, 12:50 AM)
actually how 2 diff btween RC, WW, and "mini hamster"?? the shop keeper said one la...so blur, for me all look the same only.....me more into syrian.....but since the syrian no stock so i go for this small little cuties.....and i notice they put "golden hamster" also...but look like syrian...i asked then the "boss" told me :"they r golden hasmter la, wat syrian??".....wahlaooooo....faint  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif sorry asking noob questions...but really interest to kno.... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
rc and ww can be different as dien said..in term of colours..and their face and body also bit different if you look carefully..

golden hamster is syrian hamster..same species..sometimes people also called syrian teddy bear hamster...sometime pet shop owner just know to SELL their PETs hehehe

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jan 30 2007, 11:53 AM)
hun show ur new syrian hamster ler!!
hun has new syrian aaa.. x bgtau pun aa
kembara
post Jan 30 2007, 06:04 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 30 2007, 04:56 PM)
Mini hamster is another term for dwarf. Petshop people do not have any clue, they only think that the names are "interesting" and "cool" to attract buyers. No good information on them.

Dwarf hamsters:
Winter whites
Russian Campbells
Roborovski
Chinese Dwarf
Hybrids

WW generally are rounder, their body built is more bullet shape. They only come in 3 colours. Pearl, Agouti and Sapphire. They have 1 dark dorsal stripe on their backs and only the agouti and sapphire got prominant side arches.

RC are slightly bigger than WW, face is more doggy looking. They come in various colours. Breeding them can be tricky coz of recessive genes and so on. Can cause defects if do not breed properly. They have a dorsal stripe and their side arches are a softer shade, not as prominant as WW.

Robos are hyper hamsters. They are the smallest species and are way hyperactive. They need special small cage bars and wheels if in a cage. These hamsters breed fast is they are a bonded or fertile pair. Only come in their golden fawn colour but got another which is called white faced.

Chinese hamsters havea mousy look. Body a bit longish and have a longer tail. Their colours are agouti and dominant spot. They are nice to have since easier to hold and they got strong grips.

Syrians... the original Syrian colour is called Golden.... so a Golden hamster is the original Syrian.... Syrians these days have been bred for such a long time that there are many colours and hair types. So just remember, big hamsters are in deed syrians....

Dien,
Your information is very wrong. Puddings are not Winter Whites. They are HYBRIDS.

Come to Hybrids... now these are the cross of RC and WW. Please do not try to do this at home. The hybrids can carry defects or certain mutations can be dangerous. Puddings, Yellow Blues, Mottleds are hybrid winter whites and some people have done selective breeding to produce them. Yes, they look nice but this in dangerous for it shows we may lose the pure winter whites to hybrids.... not good at all if everyone wants to mixbreed RC and WW to produce new colour. If anyone were to breed hybrids, never outcross to pure WW or RC strain, just stick to breeding pudding with pudding or yellow blue to yellow blues.
now when sifu return we have a lot of information.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
not just a kosong chatting...
remember my friendz..knowledge is important hmm.gif

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 30 2007, 05:08 PM)
I prefer long hair coz can see the teddy bear look... but short hair got nice short velvety fur... so both are actually very nice to have. The short hair the feels nicer than the fur on WW or RC... very velvety hahahah...
you like long hair aaa...thats why you buy for me long hair heheh..
jumpy everytime i get him out must clean some bedding that hanging on his fur..
it is ok if i trim his hair aa..becouse the hair at the bottom so long..i afraid the pee and poo then lekat at the hair..

Added on January 30, 2007, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(aimleeds @ Jan 30 2007, 07:01 PM)
hye guys,

i want to ask about my syrian. why he is afraid of my hand when he is in the cage, but when i handle it outside the cage, he is really tame. he has been with me 4 the past one week. bought him when he is 6 weeks old.
at the early time, my syrian also like that...
but lama lama the hamster will recognize you la...dont worry biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kembara: Jan 30 2007, 06:06 PM
kembara
post Jan 31 2007, 11:41 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 30 2007, 10:56 PM)
Hmm... then probably your hamster got no taste for egg hahahah... I suggest you try steam or boiled chicken breast or fish. My hamsters enjoy fish and chicken. Also you can get sample dog food from petshops and feed them as treats. It gives good protein and minerals.

A hamster cannot change coat in just 3 days.... it takes them 1 month to 2 months. It really depends on the hamster actually. If you give it a dark hide house that is wooden or glass, and keep the tank with no bright sunlight plus in a cool place such as air cond room, sure will change to winter coat.
As said before, it depends on the hamster. Your living room got bright sun light? Even in shadow, and the right environment, a hamster can change winter coat. Not all will change... I see females change more often than males.
1 week, how can he know who you are in just 1 week? It really takes time lah. Petshop hamsters are naturally afraid of hands when entering their cage coz always shocking with grabbings and pinchings... so most petshop hamsters develop phobia.

6 weeks old is really young... so he is at the jumpy stage, easily gets scared and figety. So just keep on handling him. The jumpiness will wear off when older. He also won't be so scared of your hand if you let it see it as a food provider. Hand feed him often.
Hahah, that time most of the hamsters long hair mah...
Delikate is not a very good brand... You should try other brands that are more nutritious. I personally find Harry Hamster, Prestige, Habitrail Classic and LM for hamsters better quality. You got 1 or a pair, is good price lah... I have 20 hamsters, imagine how much I spend on them... I can easily tell you the food bill for my hamsters each month is roughly RM50. For my gerbils another RM50, so means RM100 each month....

Do give carrots and cabbage as treats.... carrots can cause Vitamin A intoxication is too much and can cause diabeties.... Also Cabbage is full of water and sugars... can cause cirit birit if consume too much. I only give carrots twice a week and cabbage once a week. Please try give some apples, pear, jambu, water cress, sawi, spinach, long beans and broccoli. Remember, hamsters are meant to eat more seeds than fresh food, so too much fruits and vegie can cause it to have indigestion problem and diarheaa... careful yah.

Added on January 30, 2007, 9:59 pmDo not simply scare hamster.... turning winter coat is not about being scared... is about feeling warm and safe in a dark hide.

Also, oats... please DO NOT GIVE instant or quick cooking oats... can cause impaction and stomach problems.
Get ROLLED OATS.... not very expensive since RM2.50 to RM4 for 500g
as i said before...a lot lot of information we get when our sifu return...
i remember a word from the lion king 1 1/2 movie: when the student is ready,the teacher will come..
but my question are not answered...can i trim-or cut some hair of my syrian?hehehe

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Jan 30 2007, 11:25 PM)
LMAO! Sorry I forgotten to mention about what type of oats.. of course don't give those Quaker oats you buy in super market yea? LOL thumbup.gif
Btw, crazymouse, dog food.. errr.. any dog food will do? Like those lam pek pek meat ones will do ah?
have problem with dog food?try cat food..but not the commercial one that have colours..
i use cats food as my hammy threats..and for protien..they like it..

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jan 31 2007, 10:06 AM)
simply shot her in the tank n show me 1st ler... no need sit nice nice hahahhaha... cos i never see this color b4 ah!! i want to see!!!!!
agree agree...show from inside the tank first rclxms.gif
kembara
post Jan 31 2007, 08:48 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 31 2007, 12:59 PM)
You wanna trim the hair? No need lah... I never trim and so far never get dirty. But if your Jumpy really is dirty then cut loh.... it doesn't make any difference.
heheh not dirty la..but look tak kemas...so long fur..heheh i think has to sikat2 after this..

mochi,
hamster also need time when you want to change food..slow slow..then they will lear to like it..

Added on January 31, 2007, 9:41 pmcome back for some picture...

this time my only two males...looks like simba and mufasa in the lion king film heheh..two furball eating together..

like father like son..the difference that i can see is only the size..

these my ww rascals..although they are tame but when take picture cannot make them stop move..looks like sengaja mempermainkan me..

This post has been edited by kembara: Jan 31 2007, 09:45 PM
kembara
post Feb 2 2007, 02:07 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 1 2007, 04:42 PM)
wah u give so many carrots? shocking.gif  actually how much is consider too much? i only give two small slices of carrot to each of them. sweat.gif
the carrot is for four hamsters..
only at the time i took picture, the two other waiting for their giliran to eat...
male eat first la hehehe...

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Feb 2 2007, 02:37 AM)
jeng jeng jeng jeng.............THis is the innocent look of my WW pups, haha.............
heheh cute little fella...
what's its name?? biggrin.gif

hun,
thanks 4 info about delikate..
before this, i think delicate is good...because my hammies and gerbils looks like love it..
just buy another two packets this afternoon.. cry.gif

btw todays afternoon i jalan2 in petaling street
i meet a very cute chubby rounded syrian at petsmore..
gerammm want to buy la...so cute and round..
kembara
post Feb 2 2007, 02:23 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 2 2007, 03:11 AM)
I have some syrians looking for good homes only. 2 are sp creams and 7 are black bandeds. PM or email me.
lets me look at the picture first heheh...
you ask hun la if i am good owner or not hehe
kembara
post Feb 2 2007, 11:16 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

QUOTE(michanz @ Feb 2 2007, 08:49 AM)
used to have hamsters..
had 2.after few months..
breed like hell til got hamsters evrwyhere..
so many till @_@ so released them into d jungle..
cannot tahan too many
QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Feb 2 2007, 11:11 AM)
sorry to say that, but release them into the jg means killing them indirectly. Next time dun do that lah, better give away for frens will be better i think.
yes...even in not jungle place there were many enemy of hamster..cats and dog..
in the jungle..the mighty jungle..many predators will eat ur hammies..snakes..wild cats..bird of prey..biawak..civets..
but if the hamster manage to save and breed well in the jungle, we will find a new wild rodent in our country.. hmm.gif
kembara
post Feb 3 2007, 01:42 AM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

mochi,
heheh you did well with those hammies la..
dien will be happy when he look at them heheh

mustang,
just follow what our friend crazymouse said..30 days..about 4 weeks rite?/
but once i saperated my hammy from their mom earlier...about three weeks..luckily they are alive until today...

aimleeds,
wow..also a cute hammy..whats its name, male or female heheh

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0486sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:16 PM