Siberian Husky Owner, Trying to start a Husky club
Pennywise
Feb 27 2010, 02:03 PM
Today, let Nico out to play with one of my westies, Marquis. I can witness how rough she is with smaller dogs. She like to climb behind the dog, she like to gallop on top or near them which frightens the dog because she is twice as big. While I was cleaning her pee tray, she run and bang into me. The tray pee + poo went all over the floor, luckily not in my face. Pengsan!! QUOTE(Shadsight @ Feb 26 2010, 03:39 PM) Isn't it too hot for them in Malaysia. If not, I don't mind owning one soon. but still prefer Shiba-Inu. No la, Siberian Huskies are widely available in our country and it is not too hot for them. Dont park them directly under the sun. Make sure there is shade, good ventilation (trees and fans) and water. This should be sufficient for them to live in. Shiba is nice but somehow their brown color coat make them look like mongrels. No offense yah!
Shadsight
Feb 28 2010, 03:06 AM
Oh, means you keep your Husky indoors? or outside with a fan at the car park (with shades). Where to buy/get/acquire a pup ar?
Pennywise
Feb 28 2010, 01:30 PM
Outdoor by the side of the house with shade, not at the car porch. Where to buy ah? Pet Safari had one 2 weeks back, you can go check it out. You sure you want one?
Shadsight
Feb 28 2010, 02:05 PM
Still considering, maybe would prepare everything for it before getting one.
Pennywise
Feb 28 2010, 05:50 PM
Yes, please be prepared if this is your first dog. Many would advice against it if indeed is your first dog. That is good advice cause you need some form of experience before being able to handle a husky. I have had 3 dogs before my first husky and even I find it frustrating some times and husky is smart and naughty, so it takes time to understand them and train them in the right way.
All the best and do post up some pict in the event you get one soon.
cphcphcph
Feb 28 2010, 09:20 PM

QUOTE(Shadsight @ Feb 28 2010, 03:05 PM) Still considering, maybe would prepare everything for it before getting one. hehe...there is plenty of husky breeder in ipoh....since u are from ipoh.. but make sure about the reputation of the breeder... Added on February 28, 2010, 10:37 pmbetween shiba classified as mongrel in japan in the early dayss.... but get akc recognize in 1992 if not mistaken.... This post has been edited by cphcphcph: Feb 28 2010, 10:37 PM
Shadsight
Mar 1 2010, 01:45 AM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Feb 28 2010, 05:50 PM) Yes, please be prepared if this is your first dog. Many would advice against it if indeed is your first dog. That is good advice cause you need some form of experience before being able to handle a husky. I have had 3 dogs before my first husky and even I find it frustrating some times and husky is smart and naughty, so it takes time to understand them and train them in the right way. All the best and do post up some pict in the event you get one soon. No worries, I have plenty of experiences with dogs, i had a German Shepard and a Dachshund before. Mm, I'm currently in Ipoh but hometown in Labuan.
Pennywise
Mar 1 2010, 09:22 AM
Do you have any dogs currently? Are they living with you? Since your hometown is in East Malaysia, I am not sure if it's a difficult process to fly your dog over in the event if you do go home. Good to know you are experienced.
ezee123
Mar 1 2010, 08:28 PM

Hi Everyone, This is my sister's husky, his name is Keno
Pennywise
Mar 2 2010, 07:48 AM
Wow, is that a female? Is she pregnant?
Vinci777
Mar 2 2010, 08:31 AM
hahaha...pretty and big Keno
Shadsight
Mar 2 2010, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Mar 1 2010, 09:22 AM) Do you have any dogs currently? Are they living with you? Since your hometown is in East Malaysia, I am not sure if it's a difficult process to fly your dog over in the event if you do go home. Good to know you are experienced. No... sadly, my German shepherd died last month 2 weeks before CNY. Old age.
Pennywise
Mar 8 2010, 11:30 PM
Shadsight
Mar 8 2010, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Mar 8 2010, 11:30 PM) Too bad Dog Stealing is illegal... hahahaha! Thumbs up for the cute doggy~ Loves
Vinci777
Mar 8 2010, 11:35 PM
her marking is special leh...never see such marking before...maybe need her grow older first...see her marking fade alot or not..haha
Pennywise
Mar 9 2010, 01:32 PM
We leash her to the gate to get her to do her business. After she does her business, we usually let her go or leash her to another rope tied from the first pillar to the forth pillar of our house (That's like 40ft length), so she can roam this 40ft area that's shaded. She lives here too.
However, last night was terrible cause at night, she pee'd 3 times on the floor and poo'ed once. We had to take our time cleaning it up. She also overturn my mom's praying oil and spill all over the floor and turn on the water tap for water play and drinking. We had to shorten her reach from 4 pillars to 3 pillars, so now it's about 32ft x 10ft leash radius.
This morning, she kicked the dustbin and everything fell out. We had to clean up before work. Some times it is frustrating. We are waiting for a month before we bring her sister over to live with us. Hope it helps better when she has someone to play with.
Vinci777, How is her marking special? Sorry I am a first time husky owner so I am not sure what you mean.
Vinci777
Mar 9 2010, 01:49 PM
penny...husky is destructive...no matter how old they are...but try not to giving her up...she don't know what she is doing...she don;t know which is right or wrong to play with...destroy is their hobby... demon destroy so many things...i am angry but after scold her...just lets hope she will learn..like what you say...give her some time...even if her sis is with you already doesn't mean they still won;t destroy...by the time its her sister turn to destroy...hahaha... my solution is make sure around her have nothing...shift those things away so that she can't reach...plants table bin etc...but praying thing i think can't shift de o...right? buy her toy or bones to chew..when she chew something she shouldn't...say NOOOO to her and give her her toy or bone..let them know which they can only chew...it works...but NICO now still a pup...when she grow older...she won't be that destructive anymore (bust still will la) about Nico marking...i dunno explain...hahaha...just special to me
Pennywise
Mar 9 2010, 01:57 PM
Yea, I think they are destroyers too. The thing here is that Nico doesnt get along with my westies so her only play buddy is me. When I am unavailable, she gets upset. So I need to get her a buddy, which so ngam the breeder want to sell her sister, I asked for it for free and he agreed to give it to me.
At least when I leash them on a long leash at the same pillar or gate, they can play with each other. Rather than going around unleashing their might on other things on the home floor, they better unleash it at each other.
At the same time, the praying oil is in a plastic container on the floor, we have to get that removed. Perhaps get a cheap table and put everything up high so it is out of their reach.
Another problem I have with them is that they are intelligent enough to turn on the water tap. This pose a problem with my water bill that went up to RM146 last month.
On top of that is that they step on their poo / pee. I need to find a tray where the poo / pee drops underneath and out of their reach. I havent figure that out yet and once I do, I will train them to do their business there and things would be easier from then on.
Frustration is unavoidable because of the destruction caused at home. On top of that, we have some other reasons too. The thing here is I am trying to work out a situation that will work for all at home. Sheeesh.
Vinci777
Mar 9 2010, 02:49 PM
ya...first...just move things away...
2nd...train them to do their business only at 1 spot...now they still pup..surely will step on their pee and poo...but when they are adult...die die also will avoid stepping on it...haha
3rd...i think you need to buy something to look on your water tap..those tap head which can be remove...when not in use...remove it so that she will not able to open it...better than every month waste water and also pay expensive bill lo right?
if no choice..then last option is to give them to another good home...
haha...gambateh