Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

MMO World of Tanks v4 - Where Tankers Meet, Shoot to thrill, Play to kill.

views

mowlous
post Aug 13 2015, 05:00 PM

Casual
439 posts

I'm fairly new to this game, so far I still don't rly get high pen VS high dmg ...... a lot of friends say go all the way for high penetration but what I want to know is when is high dmg used instead? I mean if it's totally useless why would the game include it right?
mowlous
post Aug 13 2015, 05:50 PM

Casual
439 posts

QUOTE(onghy @ Aug 13 2015, 05:40 PM)
what tier you in?

overall below tier 4, u dont't really know the penetration of shell, except some thick armor tank like B1 or Crusader.

after tier 5, thing get start to get in, bounce shot because your shot unable to penetrate enemy tank's armor.

AP have lower damage, but high penetrate value
HE have high damage, but very low penetrate value

we use AP because the penetration value is high, to pen enemy's weak spot (yes, weak spot, even AP unable to penetrate some thick armor of tank) reliably.

for HE, yes, the max damage is high, but only given the shot penetrate, of your shot do not penetrate, the splash damage will cause less damage on enemy, sometime 0 damage. example, sometime i chasing a light tank, i switch to HE, end up the shots do not penetrate, and doing splash damage less than 100

when to use HE? when you shooting some light armor tank, like spg, or light tank, or when you want reset base cap, you do not have much time to aim for weak spot, so use HE to splash damage enemy tank to reset the base capture.
Currently I got a stug III ausf.g .... VK 30.01 H ....... SU - 5 ( getting tier 5 soon SU-122A) ..... and T-28 (getting tier 5 KV-1)

Best tank base on record . Stug III ...... before this was hetzer.
mowlous
post Aug 19 2015, 12:37 PM

Casual
439 posts

QUOTE(DCXW @ Aug 19 2015, 10:52 AM)
Haha have fun with the Russian SPG.