Planted Aquarium V14
Jun 23 2015, 08:50 PM
1,483 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: PJ |
Wanted to share my male Pearl Gourami. Rarely (or just me?) see this species. Got him from Fish Depot, the last one in the tank. Feed him and the tetras New Life Spectrum Small Fish Formula almost exclusively and my cories Hikari Sinking Wafers.
Related to planted tanks: I just changed to the Up Aqua Pro Z LED light Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jun 29 2015, 08:57 PM
Nov 21 2016, 10:26 AM
Does anyone know where to buy Hikari Bio Pure frozen food? Like brine shrimp, mysis... East Aqua in MidValley no more already.
Jan 4 2018, 02:24 PM
Jan 5 2018, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(hkpoh @ Jan 5 2018, 03:35 PM) PJ. Not sure, sorry. I use Seachem Flourish Excel instead of CO2. This link says no need CO2 though:Hygrophila Polysperma – How to Grow and Care for Hygrophila Polysperma in the Home Aquarium QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Jan 5 2018, 04:00 PM) Sure |
Jan 8 2018, 02:21 PM
Jan 8 2018, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Jan 8 2018, 02:23 PM) That is very far from PJ. I can try posting using PosLaju. Should be fine (I think) cause I bought plants from Penang seller using PosLaju before.QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Jan 7 2018, 10:24 PM) Btw , sifus, where can I buy cheap substrate for aquarium plant. Just need a small bowl. How much do you need? I have extra gravel and sand like below:I am training my fishes to eat and poop inside the bowl with real plants. Hahaha. [attachmentid=9490083] |
Jan 8 2018, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Jan 8 2018, 02:33 PM) Dark colored soil type you can try Seachem Flourite line. But I only grow my plants in sand (for swimming pool filter) with Seachem Flourish Tabs at the roots for nutrients. The fertilizer I use Seachem Flourish liquid fertilizers: Comprehensive Iron Nitrogen Phosphorus Potassium Also Excel as CO2 replacement. The dwarf hygro don't need these things I think. Let me know your details to post the plants and sand/gravel if you want any. I have to trim some soon This post has been edited by secondrate: Jan 8 2018, 08:27 PM |
Jan 9 2018, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Jan 8 2018, 10:53 PM) Thanks again, PMed u my details. Is dwarf hygro easy to buy? Maybe I should check out my local aquarium store first before I trouble u. I didn't see it in local shop like Fish Depot, MidValley pet shop. Actually I bought from Lelong seller in Penang - aquacult QUOTE(CCubeHL @ Jan 9 2018, 12:13 AM) Bro I am interested in some can ah? As I too don’t have much soil, most gravel. Weekends when you free? I don't have soil wor, just gravel/sand. Actually the gravel also not sure put where. This Sunday I'm free I think. I can pass some root tabs along with the sand/gravel. If you use those then don't need soil like ADA Aquasoil. Do you want dwarf hygro plant too?Yes please take my sand from me. I bought 20kg and still have like 10-12kg left! This post has been edited by secondrate: Jan 9 2018, 10:55 AM |
Jan 10 2018, 10:39 AM
Jan 10 2018, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(victorsoo @ Jan 10 2018, 11:50 AM) Dwarf hygro can grow well in gravel without CO2? I'm looking for some easy to grow plants that can thrive in gravel. According to the internet can. I use CO2 replacement (Seachem Excel) but I think should be fine gua, maybe slower growing? I also use a lot of fertilizers (trace and NPK) so mine grows super fast. I can pass you some to try when they regrow. In gravel you can try "water sprite" and cabomba but to me they don't look good and the little leaves get everywhere. Anacharis (elodea) also works but don't use with Excel cause it melts the leaves. If not in gravel can try anubias, Java fern and Java moss. Don't need to be planted. In my pics can see the anubias and Java moss on the big wood in the middle. I also have "giant hygro" (H. corymbosa) but grows slower and needs a lot of potassium supplements. Maybe in a few months I can give them away as well |
Jan 11 2018, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(victorsoo @ Jan 10 2018, 05:25 PM) I have elodea in my tank. Grows like weeds even in gravel and without ferts. I actually have a lot of trouble growing Java fern and moss, they just don't want to grow for me... Also tried cabomba before but I agree with you, the leaves get everywhere and they seem to need very strong light. I think a few people are waiting for your dwarf hygro cuttings already so I will take a number and get in line. Recently I also added 2 Amazon Sword plants. I think they can also grow without CO2 but they need root tabs or soil. I cut a lot each week, the last bunch I sent out was 5-6 stems each 4-5 inches long? But I trimmed them too short this round so need to wait a week or 2 to regrow This post has been edited by secondrate: Jan 11 2018, 01:45 PM |
Jan 15 2018, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Jan 12 2018, 06:48 PM) Sifus, any recommendations on LED lighting for aquarium? Mine is this one: Up Aqua Pro LED Light Z Series[attachmentid=9507244] Anyone got experience with this LED brand? Budget around rm100. Thanks. |
Jan 24 2018, 07:55 PM
Sorry if anyone wants any plants from me or I didn't reply someone. I'm currently recovering from pneumonia
Feb 12 2018, 10:22 AM
Sorry if anyone wanted plants from me last month. I had a hectic 2-3 weeks but back to normal now.
Currently I have these plants to give away: Hygrophila Polysperma (dwarf hygro) Hygrophila Corymbosa (giant hygro, temple plant) Ludwigia Repens (no idea the common name, it is red though) Java fern (still baby) Let me know if anyone is interested. The giant hygro is quite huge, 10-15cm tall. EDIT 13/2: Pictures! Ludwigia Repens (left) and Hygrophila Corymbosa (right). Ludwigia doesn't grow as fast and I just trimmed it on Sunday so it is still small. Only 1 stem to give away (tallest one) for now. Giant hygro is getting very big. I can split them up and give away at least 2-3 stems. Hygrophila Polysperma (left and middle back). Just got trimmed on Sunday too so a bit short but I can trim it again. Java fern babies. Still very small. QUOTE(LJones @ Feb 7 2018, 05:52 PM) sifus, for klang valley (subang kl pj) what are the better local aquatics shops? i went to Natural Aquatics World in Subang and thought tehy are v good. Want to know opinions and i don't want to accidentally buy fish from a place with sick/dying fish again. i bought some from a place in kepong recently and then within 24 hours almost all my fish are dead Try Fish Depot in Aman Suria. My usual shop. Their gourami had ick in December but looks ok already...This post has been edited by secondrate: Feb 13 2018, 10:48 AM |
| Change to: | 0.1134sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:12 AM |